DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 6 January 2026. Claims 1-5 and 7 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claims 1 and 4, it is not clear whether “wireless devices” provides antecedent basis for the one or more terminals or the movable base station recited in the claim. Do the wireless devices comprise the one or more terminals and the movable base station? Are the wireless devices some other devices?
Remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7, as understood in light of rejections under 35 USC 112, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson et al. (US 2019/0028172) in view of Goldberg et al. (US 2014/0051451).
For Claim 1, Hudson teaches a system connected via a network to a communication control system, the communication control system being configured to:
acquire actual environment information that affects wireless communication quality of wireless devices (see paragraphs 64-65),
perform changing at least one of a position or an antenna direction of a movable base station, or at least one of a radio wave reflection direction or radio wave reflection power of a reflector in response to a control request from the communication control system (see paragraphs 28, 50, 85-86: control for antenna pointing, selection based on analysis).
Hudson as applied above is not explicit as to, but in a similar field of endeavor Goldberg teaches the system wherein the actual environment information comprises: power information of one or more terminals that uses wireless communication implemented by a multi-wireless system in an actual environment, information obtained by photographing or measuring the actual environment, and information indicating an installation state of the wireless devices (see paragraph 14);
predicting the wireless communication quality based on the actual environment information (see paragraphs 14, 44, 87-88: predicted coverage); and
transmitting a control request for the wireless devices which is based on the prediction (see paragraph 45: indication of new location); and
the system comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions (see paragraph 42) that cause the processor to perform changing at least one of a position or an antenna direction of a base station (see paragraphs 17, 44-45, 87-88).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to employ the environmental information in making predictions as in Goldberg when implementing the system of Hudson. The motivation would be to consider physical structures and other environmental factors when evaluating the RF coverage of a network.
For Claims 2, 5, and 7, Hudson as modified by Goldberg above further teaches the system and non-transitory computer readable recording medium, wherein the control request includes a control parameter for changing at least one of the position or the antenna direction of the movable base station, or at least one of the radio wave reflection direction or the radio wave reflection power of the reflector (see paragraphs 50, 99, 111: antenna selection). Goldberg also teaches changing the position of a base station (see paragraphs 17, 44-45)
For Claim 3, Hudson further teaches the system, wherein the communication control system repeatedly executes acquisition of information, prediction of the wireless communication quality based on the information, and control of wireless equipment based on the prediction (see paragraphs 48, 50, 55-58: dynamic, ongoing operations), and
the processor repeatedly receives a control request from the communication control system, and changes at least one of a position or an antenna direction of a movable base station, or at least one of a radio wave reflection direction or radio wave reflection power of a reflector whenever the control request is received (see paragraphs 48, 50, 55-58: dynamic, ongoing operations; also paragraphs 28, 85-86)).
Claim(s) 4, as understood in light of rejections under 35 USC 112, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson et al. (US 2019/0028172) in view of Goldberg et al. (US 2014/0051451) and Fujita (US 2010/0003925).
For Claim 4, Hudson teaches equipment connected via a network to a communication control system, the communication control system being configured to:
acquire actual environment information that affects wireless communication quality of wireless devices (see paragraphs 64-65); and
to perform transmitting, to the communication control system, attribute data relating to the system (see paragraph 19).
Hudson as applied above is not explicit as to, but in a similar field of endeavor Goldberg teaches the equipment, wherein the actual environment information comprises: power information of one or more terminals that uses wireless communication implemented by a multi-wireless system in an actual environment, information obtained by photographing or measuring the actual environment, and information indicating an installation state of the wireless devices (see paragraph 14),
predicting the wireless communication quality based on the actual environment information (see paragraphs 14, 44, 87-88: predicted coverage); and
transmitting a control request for the wireless devices which is based on the prediction (see paragraph 45: indication of new location),
the equipment comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions (see paragraph 42).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to employ the environmental information in making predictions as in Goldberg when implementing the system of Hudson. The motivation would be to consider physical structures and other environmental factors when evaluating the RF coverage of a network.
The references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Fujita teaches transmitting, to the communication control system, the actual environment information in response to an information acquisition request from the communication control system (see Figure 3, paragraphs 26, 27: request and response for information regarding the environment affecting communication quality).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to request information about the environment as in Fujita when determining how to manage the system of Hudson. The motivation would be to determine where coverage is problematic and make adjustments to resolve the problems with communications.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 6 January 2026 has been entered.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments. However, the amendments have resulted in new rejections under 35 USC 112.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection introduced herein. The claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shen et al. (US 2016/0205667) teaches a system in which actual environment information is used to predict environmental conditions for determining base station parameters.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 2/2/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466