DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/4/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 9, 21-22, 25 and 29 have been amended. Claims 4, 24 and 28 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 9-10, 21-23, 25-27 and 29-30 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 21 and 22 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 21-23, 25-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US 2023/0318755, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Babaei (US 2022/0094484).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng discloses a method for processing a discontinuous reception (DRX), performed by a terminal device, the method comprising: determining that a transmission time of a downlink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process feedback of the terminal device is postponed [Zeng discloses a method for determining a target DRX timer corresponding to a HARQ process (Zeng paragraph 0004). Zeng discloses that the feedback for HARQ-ACK information corresponding to target PDSCH may be delayed due to direction collision of transmission resources at the predefined feedback position (i.e. HARQ process feedback of terminal is postponed) (Zeng paragraphs 0026, 0048, 0102)]; and
Processing a downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on a resource for the transmission time postponed [Zeng discloses that in the case where target PDSCH is configured having no feedback of the HARQ-ACK information and having a DRX mechanism enabled, the target DRX timer may include a downlink HARQ round trip time timer and a downlink retransmission timer (Zeng paragraph 0148)].
Although Zeng discloses that the target DRX timer may include a downlink HARQ round trip time timer and a downlink retransmission timer (Zeng paragraph 0148); Zeng does not expressly disclose the features of processing a downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on a resource for the transmission time postponed; wherein processing the downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on the resource comprises: starting a downlink HARQ round trip (RTT) timer of the HARQ process feedback after a transmission end position of the resource.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Babaei discloses that when HARQ feedback is postponed by a certain value, the transmission opportunity to send the DL HARQ feedback may be indicated in a later PDCCH requesting the feedback. The HARQ RTT DL timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL) may be started for the HARQ process in a symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the HARQ feedback. (see Babaei paragraphs 0219 and 0223). Thus, a downlink HARQ timer for the HARQ process feedback is processed based on a resource for the transmission time postponed, where the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is started after a transmission end position of the resource.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng to have the features of processing a downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on a resource for the transmission time postponed; wherein processing the downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on the resource comprises: starting a downlink HARQ round trip (RTT) timer of the HARQ process feedback after a transmission end position of the resource; as taught by Babaei. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enhance processes for determination of timings for the HARQ feedback (Babaei paragraph 0369).
Regarding claim 2, Zeng and Babaei disclose the method according to claim 1. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein a trigger condition that the transmission time of the downlink HARQ process feedback is postponed comprises any one of: a transmission time position of the downlink HARQ process feedback being a transmission time position of a downlink resource configured by a network device; the terminal device failing to access a channel at the transmission time position of the downlink HARQ process feedback; receiving indication information transmitted by a network device, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate that the transmission time of the downlink HARQ process feedback is postponed [Babaei discloses that HARQ-ACK may be deferred until the first available valid PUCCH resource. In an example, the gNB may dynamically indicate of one or more transmission opportunities for the postponed HARQ-ACK to UE. In an example, one or more RRC configuration may indicate K1 value for a SPS transmission in a time window configured by RRC (Babaei paragraph 0223)]; the transmission time position of the downlink HARQ process feedback colliding with transmission of a high-priority signal; or an uplink transmission power of the terminal device failing to transmit the downlink HARQ process feedback. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Zeng and Babaei disclose the method according to claim 1. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein processing the downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on the resource comprises: starting a downlink HARQ retransmission timer of the HARQ process feedback after the transmission end position of the resource [Babaei discloses that when HARQ feedback is postponed by a certain value, the transmission opportunity to send the DL HARQ feedback may be indicated in a later PDCCH requesting the feedback. In one example, the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL may be started in a symbol after the PDSCH transmission for the corresponding HARQ process (i.e. after the transmission end position of the resource) (Babaei paragraph 0219)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Zeng and Babaei disclose the method according to claim 1. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein a downlink data channel corresponding to the HARQ process feedback is a semi- persistent scheduling downlink data channel [Zeng discloses that the feedback for HARQ-ACK information corresponding to target PDSCH may be delayed due to direction collision of transmission resources at the predefined feedback position (Zeng paragraph 0026); and the target PDSCH may be an SPS PDSCH (i.e. semi-persistent scheduling downlink data channel) (Zeng paragraph 0027)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Zeng discloses a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to [Zeng Figure 5 discloses a communication device (e.g. a terminal) including a processor, a memory, a program stored in the memory (Zeng Figure 5, paragraph 0193). Zeng Figure 6 further discloses a terminal comprising a processor, a memory, and various units (Zeng Figure 6, paragraphs 0194-0200)]:
Determine that a transmission time of a downlink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process feedback of the terminal device is postponed [Zeng discloses a method for determining a target DRX timer corresponding to a HARQ process (Zeng paragraph 0004). Zeng discloses that the feedback for HARQ-ACK information corresponding to target PDSCH may be delayed due to direction collision of transmission resources at the predefined feedback position (i.e. HARQ process feedback of terminal is postponed) (Zeng paragraphs 0026, 0048, 0102)]; and
Start a downlink HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer of the HARQ process feedback after a transmission end position of a resource for the transmission time postponed [Zeng discloses that in the case where target PDSCH is configured having no feedback of the HARQ-ACK information and having a DRX mechanism enabled, the target DRX timer may include a downlink HARQ round trip time timer and a downlink retransmission timer (Zeng paragraph 0148)].
Although Zeng discloses that the target DRX timer may include a downlink HARQ round trip time timer and a downlink retransmission timer (Zeng paragraph 0148); Zeng does not expressly disclose the features of starting a downlink HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer of the HARQ process feedback after a transmission end position of a resource for the transmission time postponed.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Babaei discloses that when HARQ feedback is postponed by a certain value, the transmission opportunity to send the DL HARQ feedback may be indicated in a later PDCCH requesting the feedback. The HARQ RTT DL timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL) may be started for the HARQ process in a symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the HARQ feedback. (see Babaei paragraphs 0219 and 0223). Thus, a downlink HARQ timer for the HARQ process feedback is started based on a resource for the transmission time postponed, where the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is started after a transmission end position of the resource postponed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng to have the features of starting a downlink HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer of the HARQ process feedback after a transmission end position of a resource for the transmission time postponed; as taught by Babaei. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enhance processes for determination of timings for the HARQ feedback (Babaei paragraph 0369).
Regarding claim 22, Zeng discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal device, cause the terminal device to perform a method for processing a discontinuous reception (DRX), the method comprising [Zeng Figure 5 discloses a communication device (e.g. a terminal) including a processor, a memory, a program stored in the memory (Zeng Figure 5, paragraph 0193). Zeng Figure 6 further discloses a terminal comprising a processor, a memory, and various units (Zeng Figure 6, paragraphs 0194-0200). An embodiment further provides a computer-readable storage medium (Zeng paragraphs 0206-0207)]:
Determining that a transmission time of a downlink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process feedback of the terminal device is postponed [Zeng discloses a method for determining a target DRX timer corresponding to a HARQ process (Zeng paragraph 0004). Zeng discloses that the feedback for HARQ-ACK information corresponding to target PDSCH may be delayed due to direction collision of transmission resources at the predefined feedback position (i.e. HARQ process feedback of terminal is postponed) (Zeng paragraphs 0026, 0048, 0102)]; and
Processing a downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on a resource for the transmission time postponed [Zeng discloses that in the case where target PDSCH is configured having no feedback of the HARQ-ACK information and having a DRX mechanism enabled, the target DRX timer may include a downlink HARQ round trip time timer and a downlink retransmission timer (Zeng paragraph 0148)].
Although Zeng discloses that the target DRX timer may include a downlink HARQ round trip time timer and a downlink retransmission timer (Zeng paragraph 0148); Zeng does not expressly disclose the features of processing a downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on a resource for the transmission time postponed; wherein processing the downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on the resource comprises: starting a downlink HARQ round trip (RTT) timer of the HARQ process feedback after a transmission end position of the resource.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Babaei discloses that when HARQ feedback is postponed by a certain value, the transmission opportunity to send the DL HARQ feedback may be indicated in a later PDCCH requesting the feedback. The HARQ RTT DL timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL) may be started for the HARQ process in a symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the HARQ feedback. (see Babaei paragraphs 0219 and 0223). Thus, a downlink HARQ timer for the HARQ process feedback is processed based on a resource for the transmission time postponed, where the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is started after a transmission end position of the resource.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng to have the features of processing a downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on a resource for the transmission time postponed; wherein processing the downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on the resource comprises: starting a downlink HARQ round trip (RTT) timer of the HARQ process feedback after a transmission end position of the resource; as taught by Babaei. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enhance processes for determination of timings for the HARQ feedback (Babaei paragraph 0369).
Regarding claim 23, Zeng and Babaei disclose the terminal device according to claim 21. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein a trigger condition that the transmission time of the downlink HARQ process feedback is postponed comprises any one of: a transmission time position of the downlink HARQ process feedback being a transmission time position of a downlink resource configured by a network device; the terminal device failing to access a channel at the transmission time position of the downlink HARQ process feedback; receiving indication information transmitted by a network device, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate that the transmission time of the downlink HARQ process feedback is postponed [Babaei discloses that HARQ-ACK may be deferred until the first available valid PUCCH resource. In an example, the gNB may dynamically indicate of one or more transmission opportunities for the postponed HARQ-ACK to UE. In an example, one or more RRC configuration may indicate K1 value for a SPS transmission in a time window configured by RRC (Babaei paragraph 0223)]; or an uplink transmission power of the terminal device failing to transmit the downlink HARQ process feedback. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 25, Zeng and Babaei disclose the terminal device according to claim 21. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: start a downlink HARQ retransmission timer of the HARQ process feedback after the transmission end position of the resource [Babaei discloses that when HARQ feedback is postponed by a certain value, the transmission opportunity to send the DL HARQ feedback may be indicated in a later PDCCH requesting the feedback. In one example, the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL may be started in a symbol after the PDSCH transmission for the corresponding HARQ process (i.e. after the transmission end position of the resource) (Babaei paragraph 0219)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 26, Zeng and Babaei disclose the terminal device according to claim 21. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein a downlink data channel corresponding to the HARQ process feedback is a semi-persistent scheduling downlink data channel [Zeng discloses that the feedback for HARQ-ACK information corresponding to target PDSCH may be delayed due to direction collision of transmission resources at the predefined feedback position (Zeng paragraph 0026); and the target PDSCH may be an SPS PDSCH (i.e. semi-persistent scheduling downlink data channel) (Zeng paragraph 0027)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 27, Zeng and Babaei disclose the storage medium according to claim 22. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein a trigger condition that the transmission time of the downlink HARQ process feedback is postponed comprises any one of: a transmission time position of the downlink HARQ process feedback being a transmission time position of a downlink resource configured by a network device; the terminal device failing to access a channel at the transmission time position of the downlink HARQ process feedback; receiving indication information transmitted by a network device, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate that the transmission time of the downlink HARQ process feedback is postponed [Babaei discloses that HARQ-ACK may be deferred until the first available valid PUCCH resource. In an example, the gNB may dynamically indicate of one or more transmission opportunities for the postponed HARQ-ACK to UE. In an example, one or more RRC configuration may indicate K1 value for a SPS transmission in a time window configured by RRC (Babaei paragraph 0223)]; the transmission time position of the downlink HARQ process feedback colliding with transmission of a high-priority signal; or an uplink transmission power of the terminal device failing to transmit the downlink HARQ process feedback. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 22.
Regarding claim 29, Zeng and Babaei disclose the storage medium according to claim 22. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein processing the downlink HARQ timer of the HARQ process feedback based on the resource comprises: starting a downlink HARQ retransmission timer of the HARQ process feedback after the transmission end position of the resource [Babaei discloses that when HARQ feedback is postponed by a certain value, the transmission opportunity to send the DL HARQ feedback may be indicated in a later PDCCH requesting the feedback. In one example, the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL may be started in a symbol after the PDSCH transmission for the corresponding HARQ process (i.e. after the transmission end position of the resource) (Babaei paragraph 0219)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 22.
Regarding claim 30, Zeng and Babaei disclose the storage medium according to claim 22. Zeng and Babaei further disclose wherein a downlink data channel corresponding to the HARQ process feedback is a semi-persistent scheduling downlink data channel [Zeng discloses that the feedback for HARQ-ACK information corresponding to target PDSCH may be delayed due to direction collision of transmission resources at the predefined feedback position (Zeng paragraph 0026); and the target PDSCH may be an SPS PDSCH (i.e. semi-persistent scheduling downlink data channel) (Zeng paragraph 0027)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 22.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/4/2025 with respect to claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been revised according to the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414