DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to communications filed 12/10/2025. Claim 17 is amended. Claims 1-17 are pending in this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been fully considered but are not persuasive regarding the art rejections of record. In response to Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner notes that the combination of Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt, and not Robinson, Charoenruengkit, or Schmidt, singularly, is used to teach the limitations as claimed. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). And as the combination of Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt reasonably teaches the limitations as claimed, the rejection of record is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are the extracting unit, analyzing unit, determination unit, and the generating unit of claim 15. Because the claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites extracting unit, analyzing unit, determination unit, and generating unit claim limitations, which invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-7 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (of record) in view of Charoenruengkit (of record) and Schmidt (of record).
Regarding claims 1 and 12-17, Robinson discloses a method (and a terminal as in claim 15) of audio processing in a terminal device (see Robinson, at least at Figs. 1-3, and related text), the method comprising:
receiving a decoded broadcast feed (see Robinson, at least at [0009], [0012], [0019], [0036], [0054]-[0064], [0069], [0072]-[0074], and other related text), the decoded broadcast feed including a first audio track (see Robinson, at least at [0009], [0012], [0019]-[0020], [0036], [0054]-[0064], [0069], [0072]-[0074], and other related text) ;
receiving content relating to the broadcast feed (see Robinson, at least at [0012], [0019]-[0020], [0072]-[0074], [0078], and other related text), the content comprising a second audio track (see Robinson, at least at [0012], [0019]-[0020], [0072]-[0074], and other related text);
extracting level-related information from the decoded broadcast feed (see Robinson, at least at [0031], [0040], [0066], [0069], and other related text) wherein the level-related information is embedded in the decoded broadcast feed and enables to obtain an indication of an original audio level of the first audio track (see Robinson, at least at [0031], [0040], [0066], [0069], and other related text);
analyzing the first audio track for determining an actual audio level of the first audio track (see Robinson, at least at [0012], [0096]-[0098], and other related text);
determining a gain factor based on the actual audio level and the original audio level (see Robinson, at least at [0012], [0096]-[0098], and other related text); and
generating output by the terminal device based on the first audio track, the second audio track, and the gain factor (i.e., the output signal, see Robinson, at least at [0012], [0096]-[0098], and other related text).
Robinson does not specifically disclose the method of audio processing being in an HbbTV terminal device; or
generating a third audio track for output by the HbbTV terminal device based on the first audio track, the second audio track, and the gain factor.
In an analogous art relating to a system for audio processing, Charoenruengkit discloses generating a third audio track for output by a terminal device based on a first audio, the second audio, and a gain factor (see Charoenruengkit, at least at [0039]-[0041], Fig. 3, and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Robinson to include the limitations as taught by Charoenruengkit for the advantage of more efficiently controlling more audio and allowing for more diverse output options.
Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit does not specifically disclose the method of audio processing being in an HbbTV terminal device.
In an analogous art relating to a system for processing audio, Schmidt discloses a method of audio processing being in an HbbTV terminal device (see Schmidt, at least at [0047], [0053], [0088], [0108], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit to include the limitations as taught by Schmidt for the advantage of more efficiently controlling more diverse types of audio.
Regarding claim 3, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt discloses wherein the level-related information is indicative of the original audio level of the first audio track (see Robinson, at least at [0031], [0040], [0066], [0069], and other related text).
Regarding claim 4, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt discloses wherein analyzing the first audio track involves analyzing audio samples of the first audio track (see Robinson, at least at [0005], [0033], [0070], [0118], and other related text).
Regarding claim 5, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt discloses wherein analyzing the first audio track involves applying a level metering algorithm to the first audio track (see Robinson, at least at [0088], and other related text).
Regarding claim 6, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt discloses wherein determining the gain factor involves comparing the original audio level and the actual audio level to derive the gain factor (see Robinson, at least at [0012], [0028], [0096]-[0098], and other related text).
Regarding claim 7, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt discloses wherein generating the third audio track involves:
adjusting the audio level of the second audio track based on the gain factor (see Robinson, at least at [0012], [0096]-[0098], and other related text); and
mixing the first audio track and the level adjusted second audio track (see Charoenruengkit, at least at [0039]-[0041], Fig. 3, and other related text).
Claims 2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (of record) in view of Charoenruengkit (of record) and Schmidt (of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cremer (of record).
Regarding claim 2, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt does not specifically disclose wherein extracting the level-related information from the decoded broadcast feed involves:
identifying a digital watermark in the decoded broadcast feed; and
analyzing the digital watermark for deriving the level-related information.
In an analogous art relating to a system for processing audio, Cremer discloses extracting level-related information from a feed involves identifying a digital watermark in the feed (see Cremer, at least at [0043], [0063]-[0066], and other related text); and
analyzing the digital watermark for deriving the level-related information (see Cremer, at least at [0043], [0063]-[0066], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt to include the limitations as taught by Cremer for the advantage of more efficiently providing information using more secure methods.
Regarding claim 8, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt, and further in view of Cremer discloses wherein the extracting the level-related information and the analyzing the first audio track are performed for each of a plurality of consecutive time portions (see Cremer, at least at [0034]-[0036], [0043], [0063]-[0067], and other related text); and/or
wherein, if the level-related information is extracted from the decoded broadcast feed in a given time portion, the first audio track is analyzed in the same given time portion (see Cremer, averag at least at [0034]-[0036], [0043], [0063]-[0067], and other related text).
Regarding claim 9, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt, and further in view of Cremer discloses wherein the gain factor is determined in the given time portion (see Cremer, at least at [0034]-[0036], [0043], [0063]-[0067], and other related text) and wherein the gain factor is used for mixing the first audio track and the level adjusted second audio track (see Charoenruengkit, at least at [0039]-[0041], Fig. 3, and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt to include the limitations as taught by Cremer for the advantage of providing more diverse methods of controlling audio levels.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (of record) in view of Charoenruengkit (of record) and Schmidt (of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smirnov (of record).
Regarding claim 10, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt discloses wherein the previous gain factors are determined by comparing the original audio level and the actual audio level of respective previous time portions of the first audio track (see Robinson, at least at [0012], [0096]-[0098], and other related text), but does not specifically disclose wherein determining the gain factor involves determining a current gain factor by calculating a sliding average over a predefined number of previous gain factors.
In an analogous art relating to a system for processing audio, Smirnov discloses determining a gain factor involves determining a current gain factor by calculating a sliding average over a predefined number of previous gain factors (see Smirnov, at least at [0057]-[0058], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt to include the limitations as taught by Smirnov for the advantage of providing more diverse methods of controlling audio levels.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (of record) in view of Charoenruengkit (of record) and Schmidt (of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Panter (of record).
Regarding claim 11, Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt does not specifically disclose synchronizing the first and second audio tracks based on time respective stamps imprinted on the broadcast feed and the second audio track.
In an analogous art relating to a system for processing audio, Panter discloses synchronizing first and second audio tracks based on time respective stamps imprinted on a content and a second audio track (see Panter, at least at col 3, lines 16-50, col 5, lines 5-29, col 7, lines 45-58, and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Robinson in view of Charoenruengkit and Schmidt to include the limitations as taught by Panter for the advantage of providing more diverse methods of controlling audio.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENEA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421