DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janitch (PG Pub 20080061772).
Considering claim 1, Janitch (Figure 5) teaches a sensing assembly for use in a piezoelectric liquid level sensor (abstract), comprising: a first piezoelectric sensing module (68A + paragraph 0038) arranged on a magnetostrictive wire (64 + paragraph 0038) and adapted to receive an ultrasonic guided wave signal propagating along the magnetostrictive wire; a second piezoelectric sensing module (68B + paragraph 0038) arranged on the magnetostrictive wire and spaced apart from the first piezoelectric sensing module (paragraph 0068) and an isolation layer (90 + paragraph 0041) arrange don the magnetostrictive wire between the first piezoelectric sensing module and the second piezoelectric sensing module and adapted to block the ultrasonic guided wave signal from propagating to the second piezoelectric sensing module (paragraphs 0037-0041).
Considering claims 2 and 16, Janitch (Figures 5 + 8a) teaches wherein the isolation layer comprises a material selected from a group consisting of rubber, asphalt, glass and composite material (90 + paragraph 0041).
Considering claims 14 and 20, Janitch (Figures 1-3) teaches comprising an outer protection layer (40 + paragraph 0033) enclosing the first piezoelectric sensing module, the second piezoelectric sensing module and the isolation layer.
Considering claim 15, Janitch (Figures 1-5) teaches a piezoelectric liquid level sensor comprising: a magnetostrictive wire (48 + paragraph 0033); the sensing assembly, the sensing assembly (68A + 68B + paragraph 0038) being arranged on the magnetostrictive wire; a probe rod (40 + paragraph 0033) in which the magnetostrictive wire is arranged and a floating element (26 + paragraph 0043) surrounding the probe rod and being slidable along the probe rod.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Considering claim 3, the prior art does not teach a matching layer arranged on the magnetostrictive wire and adapted to transmit a mechanical wave vibrating; a plurality of piezoelectric rings segments arranged around the matching layer, and forming a first gap and a second gap between the plurality of piezoelectric ring segments in combination with the rest of the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Furthermore, claims 4-13, which depend upon claim 3, would also be allowable if they depended on an independent and allowable claim.
Considering claim 17, the prior art does not teach a matching layer arranged on the magnetostrictive wire and adapted to transmit a mechanical wave vibrationg; a plurality of piezoelectric ring segments arranged around the matching layer, and forming a first gap and a second gap between the plurality of piezoelectric ring segments in combination with the rest of the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Furthermore, claims 18, which depend upon claim 17, would also be allowable if they depended on an independent and allowable claim.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837