DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-16 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 9/6/23.
Claims 1-16 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 9/6/23 and 3/12/26 have been acknowledged.
4. The oaths filed on 1/25/24 have been acknowledged.
5. The mark up or clean copy of the specification filed on 2/15/24 is entered.
7. Claims 1, 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The use of the terms “preferably” , “preferably of”, “more particularly”, “in particular”, “such as”, “in such a way”, “preferentially” or “most preferably” in claims 1, 3-16, respectively, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following such terms or phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05 (h).
Further, claims 4 and 16 is missing a conjunction between items (c) and (d) and claim 4 uses improper Markush Group. Appropriate correction.
10. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2020/0121776 in view of U.S. Pat 10,238,741 and Hoang et al (Plos One, vol. 8, issue 12, p. 1-12, 2013).
The ‘776 publication reaches lentiviral vectors comprising Pb antigens (Fig 1) that readable upon antigenic peptide of a pathogen. Further, the ‘776 publication teaches the lentiviral vector comprising at least 3 antigens ([0009]) or upto 8 antigens at any order including CD8 or CD4 epitopes ([0014, 52, 159], SEQ ID NO88-94). In addition, the lentiviral vector encoding protein of interest is transfected in mammalian cells including 293T (host cells), making stable cell lines in vector comprising HIV-gag-pol in DNAflap (p. 9-10, 13 [155]) and claim 16 is included.
In addition, the ‘776 publication teaches formulation comprising lentiviral vector encoding antigenic compound (claims 42-62). The nucleotides encoding antigen and host cells are disclosed, claims 6-10 are included in this rejection and the formulation comprising lentiviral vector treats infections ([0049]).
Given that the prior art lentiviral vector components of DNAflap including SV40, SV40bGHpolyA, WPRE, b2m promoters of cPPT/CTS, U3, U5, GFP and XhoI/BamHI site (Fig. 11, 21, [121-157], p. 11-13) are identical to pFlap-Sp1beta2m-GFP-WPREm of Fig14 of the instant application readable upon claimed SEQ ID NO:21, claims 5-6 are included in this rejection. The lentiviral vectors utilizes V-SVG or New Jersey serotype ([0034]).
The disclosure of the ‘776 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of MHC-II associated chain set forth in SEQ ID NO:13 and MTb antigenic combinations of EsxH as in claims 1 and 4 of the instant application.
The ‘741 patent teaches the use of MHC-II targeting sequences (note claimed SEQ ID NO:13 is identical to the prior art SEQ ID NO:2) in retroviral vectors including lentiviral vectors (col. 39) and addition of adjuvant of poly(lactide-co-glycolide) derivative (col. 15, 43). The MHC-II targeting epitopes improve antigenicity and targeting (col. 27).
Likewise, Hoang et al. teach EsxH-Ag85A constructs in tuberculosis vaccination and ESAT6 vaccination allows DDA/MPL adjuvants (p. 13). Mtb is a major threat and EsxH vaccines remain unique in prevention and treatment of tuberculosis infection (p. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize MHC-II targeting epitope and ESAT Mtb peptides as in the ‘741 patent and Hoang reference in to the lentiviral vector delivery system taught by the ‘776 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of MHC-II targeting peptide helps to induce antigenic effect and the Mtb antigenic peptides are known to optimize in treatment of tuberculosis and the lentiviral vectors are known to improve delivery of protein of interest and the expression.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
12. Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Application No. 18/030102.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘102 application recites recombinant lentiviral vectors comprising MHC-II and antigenic peptide. Given that the SEQ ID NO:21 is identical, the vector comprises the fusion of the MHC II and antigenic peptide. Further, the antigenic peptide include EsxH.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
13. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
August 10, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641