DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks regarding the art of Donnerhacke, Examiner is not persuaded. As best as Examiner understands, Applicant is trying to parse “acquiring” versus “ascertaining”, but Applicant’s specification does not contain a special definition. Applicant’s specification only contains suggested meanings:
In general, the term “acquiring” data may refer to a direct measurement of that data. The term “ascertaining” data can relate to an indirect calculation of data, in particular a calculation from other previously acquired and/or measured data, which may be related to the actual data to be ascertained…Both terms, i.e. “ascertaining” and “acquiring”, can include saving, displaying and/or other providing of data (Spec. page 7, lines 29-32).
While Applicant states that the “ascertaining step of claim 18, as amended, requires deriving aberrometric data for a lighting state for which data was not directly acquired”, Examiner notes claim 18 does not recite any “derivation” or any “not directly acquired” lighting state data.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In other words, Applicant’s ascertaining is also an acquiring and Applicant’s acquiring is also an ascertaining, as is consistent with Applicant’s own specification.
Regardless of Applicant’s semantics on acquiring and ascertaining, absent any claim language to the contrary, “ascertaining” and “acquiring” are both understood to be any data collection/measurement/calculating/monitoring/etc.
Therefore, at least Donnerhacke’s claims 1 and 2 capture Applicant’s claims 18 and 32 as set forth in the Office Action mailed January 23, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments have resolved the outstanding USC 112(b) issues, unless otherwise noted below.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 has lost the “a), b), d)” designations. Examiner suggests including the “a), b), d)” so as to ensure dependent claims properly refer to steps a), b) and/or d).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) refraction unit configured to acquire… in claims 19, 32, 34
b) a pupil measuring unit configured to acquire…in claims 19, 32, 34
c) an aberrometry measuring unit configured to acquire…in claims 19, 32, 34
d) an aberrometry ascertaining unit configured to ascertain…in claims 32, 34
e) a manipulation device configured to switch…in claim 34
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 26, the claim recites “a latency from a switchover to an onset of a pupil response” which is unclear what the switchover is of/between (MPEP 2173.05(b)). From a switchover of what? For purposes of compact prosecution, such language is optional so will be ignored.
As to claim 30, the claim recites “the previously acquired aberrometric measurement data” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)).
As to claim 31, the claim recites “the following” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-21, 23-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Donnerhacke et al. (US 7,364,299 - Donnerhacke; of record).
As to claim 18, Donnerhacke teaches a method for determining objective measurement data of at least one eye of a user during subjective refraction (Donnerhacke Fig. 3; claim 1), the method comprising
a) acquiring subject refraction data of the at least one eye in a first lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 305, 308; col. 5:30-40; col. 5:59-63; claim 1 - performing subjective testing of visual acuity to verify correction of said refractive errors);
b) acquiring and/or ascertaining pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the first and a second lighting state different from the first lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304, 306; col. 5:25-30; col. 5:40-48; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - projecting light at a second brightness level in the at least one eye of the patient, said second brightness level being different from said first brightness level; monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level);
d) acquiring aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the first or the second lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 307; col. 5:47-60; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level and detecting aberrations at the second pupil size) and ascertaining aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the other one of the first and second lighting states taking into account the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 307; col. 5:47-60; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level and detecting aberrations at the second pupil size).
As to claim 19, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches the method is carried out using a single measuring device (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 301) into which a refraction unit configured to acquire the subjective refraction data (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 308, 305), a pupil measuring unit configured to acquire the pupillometric measurement data (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 306), and an aberrometry measuring unit configured to acquire the aberrometric data (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 307) are integrated (Donnerhacke Fig. 3).
As to claim 20, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches switching between the lighting states without changing an ambient lighting condition (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 301, 304; col. 5:23-33).
As to claim 21, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches a switch between the lighting states is effected by changing brightness of a display unit (Donnerhacke Fig. 3- 304; col. 5:23-33).
As to claim 22, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches alternative condition c). Therefore claim 22 limiting step d) is considered optional.
As to claim 23, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches b1) the pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye in at least one of the first and second lighting states are directly measured using a pupillometric measurement of the pupil of the at least one eye fully adapted to a respective one of the first and second lighting states performed during the respective one of the first and second lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304, 306; col. 5:25-30; col. 5:40-48; claim 1; claim 2).
As to claim 24, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 23, and Donnerhacke further teaches b3) the pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye are directly measured in at least one of the first and second lighting states using a pupillometric measurement of the pupil of the at least one eye still fully adapted to a respective one of the first and second lighting states performed during another of the first and second lighting states, and within a latency period after a switchover from the respective one of the first and second lighting states to the another of the first and second lighting states and before the pupil starts adapting to the another of the first and second lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304, 306; col. 5:25-30; col. 5:40-48; col. 8:8-18 claim 1; claim 2).
As to claim 25, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 24, and Donnerhacke further teaches a measurement of the pupillometric data is performed within at most 230ms after the switchover to a darker one of the first and second lighting states (Donnerhacke col. 8:8-18 - aberration measurement and pupil size measurement being simultaneous (i.e. ~ 0ms) with the varying light levels).
As to claim 26, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 24, and Donnerhacke further teaches the alternative limitations of b1 and b3, therefore claim 26 limiting steps b2, b4 is considered optional.
As to claim 27, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches acquiring a brightness of the first and/or second lighting state (Donnerhacke col. 5:5-33; claim 1; claim 2).
As to claim 28, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches steps a), b) or d) are repeated for a different viewing distance of the at least one eye (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 308, 305; col. 5:30-40; col. 5:59-67; col. 6:1-16; col. 7:25-32).
As to claim 29, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches the subjective refraction data, the pupillometric measurement data, and the aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye is acquired and/or ascertained in the first lighting state (Donnerhacke claim 1);
the pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the second lighting state is either directly measured and thereby acquired or is ascertained from data measured during an adjustment of the pupil to the first lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304, 306; col. 5:25-30; col. 5:40-48; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - projecting light at a second brightness level in the at least one eye of the patient, said second brightness level being different from said first brightness level; monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level);
the aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the second lighting state is calculated from the acquired aberrometric measurement data in the first lighting state taking into account the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 307; col. 5:47-60; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level and detecting aberrations at the second pupil size).
As to claim 30, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches the aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the first lighting state are acquired before the subjective refraction data are acquired, and wherein the previously acquired aberrometric measurement data is input as a starting point for the subjective refraction (Donnerhacke col. 5:60-67; col. 6:1-16).
As to claim 31, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, and Donnerhacke further teaches at least acquired and/or ascertained data including at least one of the following is processed, as universal refraction data, to create data for at least one individual eye lens for the user (Donnerhacke col. 2:43-46): the subjective refraction data in the first lighting state, or the pupillometric data in the first and second lighting states, or the aberrometric data in the first and second lighting states (Donnerhacke col. 2:43-46).
As to claim 32, Donnerhacke teaches a measuring device for determining objective measurement data of at least one eye of a user during a subjective refraction, comprising:
a refraction unit configured to acquire subjective refraction data of the at least one eye in a first lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 305, 308; col. 5:30-40; col. 5:59-63; claim 1);
a pupil measuring unit configured to acquire and/or ascertain pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the first and a second lighting state different from the first lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304, 306; col. 5:25-30; col. 5:40-48; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - projecting light at a second brightness level in the at least one eye of the patient, said second brightness level being different from said first brightness level; monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level);
an aberrometry measuring unit configured to acquire aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in at least one of the first and second lighting states (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 307; col. 5:47-60; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level and detecting aberrations at the second pupil size); and
an aberrometry ascertaining unit configured to ascertain aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the other of the first and second lighting states taking into account the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 307; col. 5:47-60; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level and detecting aberrations at the second pupil size).
As to claim 33, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 32, and Donnerhacke further teaches a manipulation device configured to switch between the first and second lighting states by a manipulation of an observation beam path through the refraction unit (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304; col. 5:25-39), the manipulation device comprises a light source (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304; col. 5:25-39).
As to claim 34, Donnerhacke teaches a non-transitory computer program product comprising computer-readable program parts (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 309) which, when loaded and executed, cause a measuring device (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 301) for determining objective measurement data of at least one eye of a user during a subjective refraction, including
a refraction unit configured to acquire subjective refraction data of the at least one eye in a first lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 305, 308; col. 5:30-40; col. 5:59-63; claim 1),
a pupil measuring unit configure to acquire and/or ascertain pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the first and a second lighting state different from the first lighting state (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304, 306; col. 5:25-30; col. 5:40-48; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - projecting light at a second brightness level in the at least one eye of the patient, said second brightness level being different from said first brightness level; monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level),
an aberrometry measuring unit configured to acquire aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in at least one of the first and second lighting states (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 307; col. 5:47-60; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level and detecting aberrations at the second pupil size), and
an aberrometry ascertaining unit configured to ascertain aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the other of the first and second lighting states taking into account the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data of the at least one eye (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 307; col. 5:47-60; claim 1 - monitoring and measuring a first pupil size at said first brightness level and detecting aberrations at the first pupil size; claim 2 - monitoring and measuring a second pupil size at said second brightness level and detecting aberrations at the second pupil size) to perform a method according to claim 18, wherein the non-transitory computer program product at least partially controls and/or regulates a unit selected from a group of units comprising:
the refraction unit (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 309, 305, 308);
the pupil measuring unit (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 309, 304, 306);
the aberrometry measuring unit (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 309, 307);
the aberrometry ascertaining unit (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 309, 307);
a manipulation device configured to switch between the first and second lighting states (Donnerhacke Fig. 3 - 304).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donnerhacke as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Dai (US 2007/0201001).
As to claim 22, Donnerhacke teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above in claim 18, but doesn’t specify in step d), the aberrometric measurement data of the at least one eye in the other of the first and second lighting states are ascertained by:
d1) representing the already acquired aberrometric measurement data in the first or second lighting state in a set of Zernike coefficients, and scaling the set of coefficients using the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data to the other of the first and second lighting state; and/or
d2) cutting out aberrometric data of a pupil shape according to the pupillometric measurement data acquired and/or ascertained for the other lighting state from the acquired aberrometric measurement data of a pupil shape according to the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data belonging to the lighting state for which also the aberrometric measurement data were acquired, and/or
d3) extrapolating the already acquired aberrometric measurement data in the first or second lighting state to the pupil shape according to the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data in the other lighting state.
In the same field of endeavor Dai teaches ascertaining aberrometric data in an eye in one light state (pupil size) from another lighting state by
d1) representing the already acquired aberrometric measurement data in the first or second lighting state in a set of Zernike coefficients, and scaling the set of coefficients using the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data to the other of the first and second lighting state (Dai para. [0002], [0004], [0007]); or
d3) extrapolating the already acquired aberrometric measurement data in the first or second lighting state to the pupil shape according to the acquired and/or ascertained pupillometric measurement data in the other lighting state (Dai para. [0002], [0004], [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to ascertain the data via Zernike scaling or extrapolating since, as taught by Dai, such techniques allow for scaling/extrapolating the aberrations of the eye for different pupil sizes (lighting conditions) based on an original pupil size/lighting condition (Dai para. [0002], [0004], [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dai (US 7,717,562); Dai (Scaling Zernike expansion coefficients to smaller pupil sizes: a simpler formula)1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 May 21, 2026
1 Guang-ming Dai, "Scaling Zernike expansion coefficients to smaller pupil sizes: a simpler formula," J. Opt. Soc. Am. A 23, 539-543 (2006)