DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 9, 19 have been amended. The status of claim 1-20 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that CHEN ‘690 fails to disclose or suggest “wherein the DCI is monitored in a physical downlink control channel PDCCH) common search space (CSS) set configured by mcch-SearchSpace.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments concerning the underlined claim elements. Moreover, the Examiner has made a new ground of rejection to address the newly added claim elements in 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14, 16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEN et al (US 2023/0040690 A1) in view of LEE et al (US 2022/0046613 A1, Provisional application No. 63/062363, filed on August 6, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), CHEN et al (US 2023/0040690 A1) discloses an apparatus (fig. 6, node as base station which includes a transceiver 606, processor 608 and memory 602, section 0182-0185) in a wireless network (see, radio network that comprises a base station and a UE, section 0041, 0043) comprising: a memory (fig. 6, memory 602 coupled to a processor 608, section 0182-0185); processing circuitry coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry (fig. 6, node/the base station which includes a transceiver 606, processor 608 and memory 602, section 0182-0187), configured to operate as a base station in the wireless network (fig. 6, base station which transmits MBS-related control information to a UE, section 0182-0185, section 0007, 0010, see, radio network that comprises a base station and a UE, section 0041, 0043), the processing circuitry (fig. 6, see, transceiver 606 which transmits time/frequency resource information/control information, section 0183) to: transmit to a user equipment (UE) (see, MBS-related control information from the base station to the UE, section 0010, 0013-0014) a signaling configuration (see, MBS-related control information from the base station to the UE, section 0010, 0013-0014, 0144) for reception by the UE of multicast and broadcast services (MBS) (see, MBS-related control information which may indicate an RNTI associated with MBS, low QoS requirements, section 0144, noted: delivery modes as either multicast or unicast, section 069) in a low quality of service (QOS) multicast or broadcast delivery (see, MBS-related control information that includes QoS requirements-low QoS requirements, section 0144, 0081) using an multicast control channel (MCCH) (see, multicast control channel on downlink shared channel, section 0052, noted: MBS control information on the MCCH, section 0112) carried over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled (see, the MBS on the PDCCH/PDSCH, section 0099) by a downlink control information (DCI) (noted: the MBS-related control information on the PDCCH implicitly associated with a DCI, section 0111-0112) holding a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled with a dedicated radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (see, cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a common RNTI or MBS-RNTI #1 that is configured and used to schedule a group-common PDSCH, section 0111) identifying the low QoS (noted: the UE decodes/descrambled the MBS control information, section 0112, section 0081-0082 0144-discloses that the control information includes low QoS requirements) or broadcast reception capability of the UE.
CHEN ‘690 discloses all the claim limitations as set for the above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the DCI is monitored in a physical downlink control channel PDCCH) common search space (CSS) set configured by mcch-SearchSpace.
However, LEE et al (US 2022/0046613 A1, Provisional application No. 63/062363, filed on August 6, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the DCI is monitored in a physical downlink control channel PDCCH) (see, the UE monitors a PDCCH through CSS mapped, the UE monitors the PDCCH through CSS, section 0205-0208), the common search space (CSS) set configured by mcch-SearchSpace (see, the common search space set in relation MBS control information of MCCH, section 0205-0209).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the multicast/broadcast service data reception in which the delivery mode is modified to change from PTM and PTP of CHEN ‘690 with the monitoring od PDCCH search spaces configuration/ search space sets based on MBS control information receives via MCCH as taught by LEE ‘613. The motivation would have been to provide efficient transmission as suggested in section 0004.
Regarding claim 2, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: provide the DCI scheduling the PDSCH carrying the MCCH (see, DCI transmitted on group-common PDCH, section 0132-0133, 0112-MCC on which the MBS-related RNTI/MBS traffic/data on a PDSCH) to the UE via a monitored physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) cell specific search space (CSS) configured for MBS (see, the UE decodes the PDCCH addressed MBS-related RNTI for MBS data, UE-specific DCI on which the UE received MBS-related control information, section 0144, 0158, 0165-0166), to enable the UE to receive the DCI via a Type0 PDCCH CSS or a Type0A PDCCH CSS (see, the UE obtains MBS-related control information associated with Type0-PDCCH common search space/CORESET 0, section 0136-0139).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the PDCCH is monitored in a CSS set configured by mcch-searchSpace in a PDCCH-ConfigCommon (see, the UE obtains the MBS-related information via new search space/CORESET , Type0-PDCCH common search space /CORESET 0, section 0136-0139, 0130-MBS related control information via MCCH).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the PDCCH CSS is configured for a CORESET #0 for radio resource control (RRC) RRC_CONNECTED and IDLE mode UE (see, RRC-Idle state in relation to CORESET 0, section 0130-0133), the MCCH received within an initial bandwidth part (BWP) (see, CORESET 0 may be for a group-common PDCCH/PDSCH is an initial BWP, section 0130-0133, 0135-0137).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the PDSCH carrying the MCCH (0130-MBS related control information via MCCH) is received within a common frequency resource (CFR) with a frequency domain region identical to the initial BWP (see, common frequency resource with respect to CORESET on the initial DWP, section 0132-0137).
Regarding claim 6, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: notify the UE of a change (see, the UE is implicitly made aware of dynamic change of MBS delivery between multicast and unicast, section 0074-0075) in MBS configuration (see, dynamic change of MBS delivery between multicast mode (PTM delivery mode) and unicast (point-to-point (PTP) delivery mode, section 0069) via a DCI with CRC scrambled with a modified RNTI (noted: the MBS related control information is received via PDCCH/PDSCH and the CRC is scrambled with RNTI #2 section 0111, 0112) independent of the PDSCH containing a configuration update (see, the network configured the UE to receive based on the switching/changing of the deliver mode, section 074-0075, 0112, 0149)..
Regarding claim 7, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: notify the UE of a change in MBS configuration via the PDSCH containing the dedicated RNTI (see, changing of the MBS delivery between multicast (e.g., PTM delivery mode) and unicast (e.g., point-point delivery mode) based on UE capability report, section 0069, 0074-0075, noted: the MBS related control information is received via PDCCH/PDSCH and the CRC is scrambled with RNTI, section 0111 0112) and the configuration update (see, the network configured the UE to receive based on the switching/changing of the deliver mode, section 074-0075, 0112, 0149).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), CHEN et al (US 2023/0040690 A1) discloses an apparatus (fig. 6, node 600 as UE which includes a transceiver 606, processor 608 and memory 602, section 0182-0185) in a wireless network (see, radio network that comprises a base station and a UE, section 0041, 0043) comprising: a memory (fig. 6, memory 602 coupled to a processor 608, section 0182-0185); processing circuitry coupled to the memory (fig. 6, node as UE which includes a transceiver 606, processor 608 and memory 602, section 0182-0187), the processing circuitry (fig. 6, transceiver 606 configured to receive data and control channels, section 0182-0183) configured to operate as a user equipment (UE) (fig. 6, node as UE which includes a transceiver 606, processor 608 and memory 602, section 0182-0187) in the wireless network (see, radio network that comprises a base station and a UE, section 0041, 0043), the processing circuitry (see, the UE receives MBS data or MBS-related control information from the base station, section 0010, 0013-0014, section 0166), to: receive a signaling configuration (see, MBS-related control information from the base station to the UE, section 0010, 0013-0014) for reception (see, MBS-related control information from the base station to the UE, section 0010, 0013-0014, 0144) of multimedia broadcast services (MBS) in a low quality of service (QOS) multicast delivery or broadcast delivery (see, MBS-related control information that includes QoS requirements-low QoS requirements, section 0144, 0081) using a multicast control channel (MCCH) (see, multicast control channel on downlink shared change channel, section 0052, 0030, 0112-MBS-related control information via MCCH) carried over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled (see, the MBS on the PDCCH/PDSCH, section 0099) by a downlink control information (DCI) (noted: the MBS-related control information on the PDCCH implicitly associated with a DCI, section 0111-0112) holding a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled with a dedicated radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (see, cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a common RNTI or MBS-RNTI #1 that is configured and used to schedule a group-common PDSCH, section 0111) identifying the low QoS capability (see, the serving cell may broadcast MBS-related control information which indicates MBS with high QoS requirements or MBS with low QoS requirements supported by the serving cell based on the UE’s MBS-related capability, section 0080-00281, noted: the UE decodes/descrambles the MBS-related control information, section 0112, section 0081-0082, 0085, 0144) or broadcast capability of the UE.
CHEN ‘690 discloses all the claim limitations as set for the above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the DCI is monitored in a physical downlink control channel PDCCH) common search space (CSS) set configured by mcch-SearchSpace.
However, LEE et al (US 2022/0046613 A1, Provisional application No. 63/062363, filed on August 6, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the DCI is monitored in a physical downlink control channel PDCCH) (see, the UE monitors a PDCCH through CSS mapped, the UE monitors the PDCCH through CSS, section 0205-0208, noted: the search space set is configured explicitly for a particular cell, section 0154-0156, 0184-0185), the common search space (CSS) set configured by mcch-SearchSpace (see, the common search space set in relation MBS control information of MCCH, section 0205-0209).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the multicast/broadcast service data reception in which the delivery mode is modified to change from PTM and PTP of CHEN ‘690 with the monitoring od PDCCH search spaces configuration/ search space sets based on MBS control information receives via MCCH as taught by LEE ‘613. The motivation would have been to provide efficient transmission as suggested in section 0004.
Regarding claim 10, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) cell specific search space (CSS) configured for MBS for the DCI scheduling (see, the UE decodes the PDCCH addressed MBS-related RNTI for MBS data, US-specific DCI on which the UE received MBS-related control information, section 0144, 0158, 0165-0166) PDSCH carrying the MCCH in the DCI (see, DCI transmitted on group-common PDCH, section 0132-0133) via a type0 PDCCH CSS or a type0A PDCCH CSS (see, the UE obtains MBS-related control information associated with Type0-PDCCH common search space/CORESET 0, section 0136-0139).
Regarding claim 11, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein MCCH provides a mcch-searchSpace configured by an MBS specific PDCCH-ConfigCommon configuration (see, the UE obtains the MBS-related information via new search space/CORESET , Type0-PDCCH common search space /CORESET 0, section 0136-0139).
Regarding claim 12, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the PDCCH CSS is configured for a CORESET #0 for RRC_CONNECTED and IDLE mode (see, for RRC_Idle RRC_Inactive/RRC_Connected UEs, the group-common PDCCH/PDCSH or PDCCH common search space on which the MBS-related control information is transmitted, section 0136-0139, 00071, 0099, 0111).
Regarding claim 14, CHEN ‘690 discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: decode a PDSCH scheduled with a plurality of RNTI types (see, the UE monitors and receives data of the MBS on the frequency resource based on the MBS-related control information, the data of MBS on a PDSCH with a first CRC scrambled by the first RNTI, second CRS scrambled by a second RNTI having a different values, section 0166, 0112) for unicast simultaneously (section 0149, 0157-multicast mode or unicast mode to target UEs) with a PDSCH scheduled with the dedicated RNTI when the UE supports receiving MBS transmissions as multiplexed in a predetermined frequency domain (see, the UE monitors and receives data of the MBS on the frequency resource based on the MBS-related control information, the data of MBS on a PDSCH with a first CRC scrambled by the first RNTI, second CRS scrambled by a second RNTI having a different values, section 0166, 0063-MCCH and MTCH that can be multiplexed).
Regarding claim 16, the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: simultaneously decode (see, the UE decoded MBS based on the MBS-related control information, section 0144, 0138, 0157-the UEs performs HARQ operations for either the multicast delivery mode), in RRC-IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE mode (see RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE/RRC_CONNECTED UEs, a common frequency resources or an associated MBS BWP) for a group-common PDCCH/Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) may be configured or defined. The group-common PDCCH/PDSCH may be used for MBS data reception, section 0099, 0149, 0157-multicast mode or unicast mode to target UEs) two PDSCHs received as unicast PDSCHs (see, UL resources scheduled by COREST for unicast services, section 0115, 0149-unciast mode) and two PDSCHs received as MBS (see, MBS for a group-common PDCCH/PDSCH, section 0099, 0101) in non-overlapping frequency physical resource blocks (PRBs) (see, frequency resources of an MBS or physical resource blocks (PRBs) may be broadcast/unicast by a cell to a UEs or UE, section 0086-0088, section 0142-non-overlapped COPRESET).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), CHEN et al (US 2023/0040690 A1) discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) (see, the UE receives MBS-related control information on CORESET #2 which may indicate associated search space for decoding the PDCCH addressed by an MBS-related RNTI, section 0142, 0144) in a wireless network (see, radio network that comprises a base station and a UE, section 0041, 0043) comprising: receiving at the UE a signaling configuration (see, MBS-related control information from the base station to the UE, section 0010, 0013-0014) for reception (see, MBS-related control information from the base station to the UE, section 0010, 0013-0014, 0144) of multicast and broadcast services (MBS) (see, MBS-related control information that includes QoS requirements-low QoS requirements, section 0144, 0081) using a multicast control channel (MCCH) (see, multicast control channel on downlink change channel, section 0052) carried over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled (see, the MBS on the PDCCH/PDSCH, section 0099) by a downlink control information (DCI) (noted: the MBS-related control information on the PDCCH implicitly associated with a DCI, section 0111-0112) holding a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled with a dedicated radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (see, cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a common RNTI or MBS-RNTI #1 that is configured and used to schedule a group-common PDSCH, section 0111) identifying the broadcast reception abilities of the UE (see, the serving cell may broadcast MBS-related control information which indicates MBS with high QoS requirements or MBS with low QoS requirements supported by the serving cell based on the UE’s MBS-related capability, section 0080-00281, noted: the UE decodes/descrambles the MBS-related control information, section 0112, section 0081-0082, 0085, 0144); and monitoring by the UE a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see, the UE decodes the PDCCH associated with the search space, section 0144 or obtaining the MBS-related control information from the PDCCH common search space, section 01378-0139) cell specific search space (CSS) (noted: the search space configuration that is broadcasted by the serving cell, section 0081-0082 0086, 0120) configured for MBS for the DCI scheduling, the PDSCH carrying the MCCH in the DCI (see, the serving cell may broadcast MBS-related control information which indicates MBS with high QoS requirements or MBS with low QoS requirements supported by the serving cell based on the UE’s MBS-related capability, section 0080-0082, noted: the UE decodes/descrambles the MBS-related control information, section 0112, section 0081-0082, 0085, 0144).
CHEN ‘690 discloses all the claim limitations as set for the above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the CSS is a common search space set configured by mcch-SearchSpace.
However, LEE et al (US 2022/0046613 A1, Provisional application No. 63/062363, filed on August 6, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the CSS is a common search space set configured by mcch-SearchSpace (see, the UE monitors a PDCCH through CSS mapped, the UE monitors the PDCCH through CSS, section 0205-0208, the common search space set in relation MBS control information of MCCH, section 0205-0209, noted: the search space set is configured explicitly for a particular cell, section 0154-0156, 0184-0185)).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the multicast/broadcast service data reception in which the delivery mode is modified to change from PTM and PTP of CHEN ‘690 with the monitoring od PDCCH search spaces configuration/ search space sets based on MBS control information receives via MCCH as taught by LEE ‘613. The motivation would have been to provide efficient transmission as suggested in section 0004.
Regarding claim 20, CHEN ‘690 discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the PDCCH CSS is configured for a CORESET #0 (see, the UE receives MBS-related control information that is related to Type0-PDCH common search space/CORESET 0, section 0136-0139) for the UE in RRC_CONNECTED and IDLE mode connected State, the monitoring in Type0 PDCCH CSS or Type0A PDCCH CSS configured as part of a PDCCH-ConfigCommon configuration (see, for RRC_Idle RRC_Inactive/RRC_Connected UEs, the group-common PDCCH/PDCSH or PDCCH common search space on which the MBS-related control information is transmitted, section 01376-0139, 00071, 0099, 0111).
9. Claims 8, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US 2023/0040690 A1) in view of LEE et al (US 2022/0046613 A1, Provisional application No. 63/062363, filed on August 6, 2020) as applied to claim 1, 16) and further in view Davydov et al (US 10,925,066 B2, IDS).
The combination of CHEN ‘690 and LEE The discloses all the claim limitations but fails explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit to the UE a preconfigured quasi co-located (QCL) PDCCH and PDSCH demodulation reference signals with associated synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) for at least one of Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread and spatial receiver parameters.
However, Davydov ‘066 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit to the UE a preconfigured quasi co-located (QCL) PDCCH (see, the gNB transmits synchronization block (SS), QCL indication associated with antenna ports to the UE, col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 10, col. 8, line 62 to col. 9, line 21, claim 8, 10-the DMRS is received dover PDCCH or PDSCH) and PDSCH demodulation reference signals with associated synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) (see, SSB block and DMRS antenna ports and beam reference signals in a DCI scheduling the PDSCH, col. 5, line 45 to col. 6, line 10, col. 7, line 49 to col. 8, line 16) for at least one of Doppler shift, Doppler spread (fig. 6, see, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average delay, col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 10) , average delay fig. 6, see, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average delay, col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 10), delay spread (fig. 6, see, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average delay, col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 10, col. 7, line 36-67) and spatial receiver parameters (see, spatial parameters, col. 8, line 62 to col. 9, line 21).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined multicast/broadcast service data reception in which the delivery mode is modified to change from PTM and PTP of CHEN ‘690 and LEE ‘613 with the Quasi-co-location method and apparatus for demodulating the SSB block associated with Doppler spread, Doppler shift and spatial receiving parameters as taught by Davydov ‘066. The motivation would have been to provide efficient resource utilization.
The combination of CHEN ‘690 and LEE ‘613 discloses all the claim limitations but fails explicitly disclose:
Regarding claim 17, the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the PDCCH and a PDSCH demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) as quasi co-located (QCL) with associated synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) with respect to at least one of Doppler shift, Doppler spread average delay, delay spread and spatial receiver parameters.
Regarding claim 18, the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive service for a QCL Type A source reference signal (RS) and a QSL Type D source RS through a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state configuration for an MCCH configuration quasi co-located with an SS/PBCH block.
However, Davydov ‘066 from a similar field of endeavor discloses:
Regarding claim 17, the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the PDCCH (see, the gNB transmits synchronization block (SS), QCL indication associated with antenna ports to the UE, col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 10, col. 8, line 62 to col. 9, line 21, claim 8, 10-the DMRS is received dover PDCCH or PDSCH) and a PDSCH demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) as quasi co-located (QCL) with associated synchronization signals/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) (see, SSB block and DMRS antenna ports and beam reference signals in a DCI scheduling the PDSCH, col. 5, line 45 to col. 6, line 10, col. 7, line 49 to col. 8, line 16) with respect to at least one of Doppler shift, Doppler spread (fig. 6, see, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average delay, col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 10) , average delay fig. 6, see, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average delay, col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 10), delay spread (fig. 6, see, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average delay, col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 10, col. 7, line 36-67) and spatial receiver parameters (see, spatial parameters, col. 8, line 62 to col. 9, line 21).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined multicast/broadcast service data reception in which the delivery mode is modified to change from PTM and PTP of CHEN ‘690 and LEE ‘613 with the Quasi-co-location method and apparatus for demodulating the SSB block associated with Doppler spread, Doppler shift and spatial receiving parameters as taught by Davydov ‘066. The motivation would have been to provide efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claim 18, the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive service for a QCL Type A source reference signal (RS) and a QCL Type D source RS through a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state configuration for an MCCH configuration quasi co-located with an SS/PBCH block (see, SSB block and DMRS antenna ports and beam reference signals in a DCI scheduling the PDSCH, one or more BWPS associated with QCL paramters in relation to one or more CSI-RS antenna ports, col. 5, line 45 to col. 6, line 10, col. 7, line 49 to col. 8, line 19).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined multicast/broadcast service data reception in which the delivery mode is modified to change from PTM and PTP of CHEN ‘690 and LEE ‘613 with the Quasi-co-location method and apparatus for demodulating the SSB block associated with Doppler spread, Doppler shift and spatial receiving parameters as taught by Davydov ‘066. The motivation would have been to provide efficient resource utilization.
10. Claims 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US 2023/0040690 A1) view of LEE et al (US 2022/0046613 A1, Provisional application No. 63/062363, filed on August 6, 2020) as applied to claim 1, 9 above and further in view Chatterjee et al (US 2021/0058956 A1, IDS).
The combination of CHEN ‘690 and LEE ‘613 discloses decoding of the MBS related content s+3crambled by the RNTI or C-RNTI on the PDCCH/PDSCH in the above rejection btu fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13, the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a plurality of PDSCHs for decoding by the UE when a faster processing time (capability #2 processing time) is not required by the UE for unicast PDSCH.
Regarding claim 15, the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive MBS transmissions at the UE independent of requiring decoding the PDSCH when the UE supports a faster hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-ACK (capability #2 processing time) capability, and when MBS transmissions of physical resource blocks (PRBs) are frequency domain multiplexed with unicast in a predetermined frequency range thereby allowing the UE to prioritize MBS over unicast receptions.
However, Chatterjee et al (US 2021/0058956 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 13, the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a plurality of PDSCHs for decoding by the UE when a faster processing time (capability #2 processing time) is not required by the UE for unicast PDSCH (see, the UE supporting Capability 2 processing time for the concerned configuration, the UE may expect HARQ-ACK or PUSCH time-lines that satisfies capability 2 or capability 1, capability 2 for short PDSCH durations, section 052-0056, 0018-minimum processing time, noted: CHEN discloses unicast or multicast mode based on UE capability report, section 0074-0075, 0145-0147).
Regarding claim 15, CHEN ‘690 as modified by Chatterjee ‘956 discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive MBS transmissions at the UE independent of requiring decoding the PDSCH when the UE supports a faster hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-ACK (capability #2 processing time) capability (Chatterjee ‘956, see, the UE may expect the HARQ-ACK or PUSCH time-lines that satisfies capability 2 or capability 1, section 0052-0056, 0018-miminum processing time), and when MBS transmissions of physical resource blocks (PRBs) are frequency domain multiplexed with unicast in a predetermined frequency range thereby allowing the UE to prioritize MBS over unicast receptions (CHEN ‘690, see, the UE monitors and receives data of the MBS on the frequency resource based on the MBS-related control information, the data of MBS on a PDSCH with a first CRC scrambled by the first RNTI, second CRS scrambled by a second RNTI having a different values, section 0166, 0063-MCCH and MTCH that can be multiplexed, section 0074-0075-change of delivery mode from multicast to unicast).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined multicast/broadcast service data reception in which the delivery mode is modified to change from PTM and PTP of CHEN ‘690 and CHEN ‘613 with the processing of PDSCH based on capabilities as taught by Chatterjee ‘956. The motivation would have been to provide a more efficient apparatus by having a minimum processing time of HARQ-ACK.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Piggin et al (US 2014/0044071 A1) discloses decoding /monitoring common search space with respect to MCCH wherein the DCI is located in the common search space (section 0039, 0052-0053).
PARK et al (US 2018/0049247 A1) discloses receiving configuration signal in relation to SC-RNTI-based SC-MCCH that is transmitted through type-1 CSS (section 0009, 0058-0060, 01710197).
Lin et al (US 2012/0127913 A1) discloses scrambling the DCI with an M-RTN and transmission the DCI in a common search space (section 0007, 005, 0086-0096).
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473