com DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 03/09/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 12/09/2025. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-30 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-12, 20-21 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KUANG et al. (2023/0371118 ), KUANG hereinafter. KUANG teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claim 1, KUANG teaches an apparatus (Fig. 4, UE/Fig.17) for wireless communication (Fig. 4), comprising: at least one receiver (Fig. 16, 1620); one or more processors (Fig. 17, 1720); memory (Fig. 17, memory) coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 17, 1720, processor); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors (Fig. 17 & ¶0312 - ¶0317 & ¶0325) to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the at least one receiver (Fig. 16, 1620) , a wake-up message comprising an indicator of whether an on duration of a discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from a signal transmitted during the on duration (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0006 - When a time domain position of a first DCP <DCP: DCI with CRC scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity, (PS-RNTI), also, known as PDCCH-WUS; see ¶0003 > monitoring occasion is within a first DRX active time, the terminal device determines not to monitor DCP <DCP: DCI with CRC scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity, (PS-RNTI), also, known as PDCCH-WUS; see ¶0003 > on the first DCP monitoring occasion, where the first DCP monitoring occasion is configured on the first group of carriers; and the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, …..; or when a time domain position of a first DCP monitoring occasion is not or is partially within a first DRX active time, the terminal device determines to monitor DCP on the first DCP monitoring occasion, …… FIG. 1-15 & ¶0025 – the terminal device receives, on the first DCP monitoring occasion, first DCP from the network device, where the first DCP includes first indication information and second indication information; and when the first indication information indicates wake-up and the second indication information indicates wake-up, the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device wakes up on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration; or when the first indication information indicates sleep and the second indication information indicates sleep, the terminal device sleeps on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration; or when the first indication information indicates wake-up and the second indication information indicates sleep, the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration;…. FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. A time domain position of the DCP may be a position that is one offset (offset) before “On Duration” in a DRX cycle…. In a carrier aggregation scenario, a DCP is configured only on a primary carrier, but wake-up or sleep indicated by the DCP may be performed on all carriers participating in carrier aggregation. FIG. 11 & ¶0243 - DCI is configured on the first group of carriers, the first group of carriers belongs to FR1, and the second group of carriers belongs to FR2 is used. The DCI received by the UE on FR1 can indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the second group of carriers, and optionally, can also indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the first group of carriers. …. FIG. 11 & ¶0244 - first indication information occupies one bit is used. For example, if a value of the bit is “1”, it indicates that wake-up is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. In other words, with the indication of bit value “0” in the first indication, it instructs the user equipment (UE) to sleep <not to wake up, rather conserve energy or save energy or harvest energy> on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. In fact, the inventive concept of KUANG’s reference focuses on whether the power consumption of a terminal device can be further reduced, as because, when a terminal device (for example, a smartphone, a smart watch, or a smart band) has an energy-saving requirement, for example, if a battery level of a mobile phone is already lower than 20%, the mobile phone has a very strong requirement for power consumption reduction, and KUANG’s invention helps in further saving energy or harvesting energy as disclosed supra, see ¶0140/¶290, in reference to energy-saving <interpreted as harvest energy> pertaining to the aforementioned disclosure); and receive, via the at least one receiver (Fig. 16, 1620) , the signal during the on duration based at least in part on the wake-up message (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. FIG. 11 & ¶0243 - DCI is configured on the first group of carriers, the first group of carriers belongs to FR1, and the second group of carriers belongs to FR2 is used. The DCI received by the UE on FR1 can indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the second group of carriers, and optionally, can also indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the first group of carriers. …. FIG. 11 & ¶0244 - first indication information occupies one bit is used. For example, if a value of the bit is “1”, it indicates that wake-up is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI).
Re. Claim 10, KUANG teaches claim 1.
KUANG further teaches wherein the instructions (Fig. 17 & ¶0312 - ¶0317 & ¶0325) to receive a wake-up message are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive first downlink control information comprising the indicator of whether the on duration of the discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration, the wake-up message comprising the first downlink control information. (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. A time domain position of the DCP may be a position that is one offset (offset) before “On Duration” in a DRX cycle…. In a carrier aggregation scenario, a DCP is configured only on a primary carrier, but wake-up or sleep indicated by the DCP may be performed on all carriers participating in carrier aggregation. FIG. 11 & ¶0243 - DCI is configured on the first group of carriers, the first group of carriers belongs to FR1, and the second group of carriers belongs to FR2 is used. The DCI received by the UE on FR1 can indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the second group of carriers, and optionally, can also indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the first group of carriers. …. FIG. 11 & ¶0244 - first indication information occupies one bit is used. For example, if a value of the bit is “1”, it indicates that wake-up is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI).
Re. Claim 11, KUANG teaches claim 10.
KUANG further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable (Fig. 17 & ¶0312 - ¶0317 & ¶0325) by the one or more processors (Fig. 17, 1720) to cause the apparatus (Fig. 4, UE/Fig.17) to: receive, via the at least one receive, one or more control messages indicating one or more configurations associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration, wherein the indicator in the first downlink control information of whether the on duration of the discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration is based at least in part on the one or more configurations indicated in the one or more control messages (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0008 - the terminal device determines whether to monitor DCP on the first DCP monitoring occasion; and when the terminal device determines not to monitor the DCP on the first DCP monitoring occasion, the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first discontinuous reception DRX on duration associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, and the terminal device wakes up or sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, where the first group of carriers includes one or more carriers configured for the terminal device, the first DRX configuration is applied to the first group of carriers, the first DRX on duration corresponds to the first DRX configuration, the second group of carriers includes one or more carriers configured for the terminal device, the second DRX configuration is applied to the second group of carriers, and the second DRX on duration corresponds to the second DRX configuration. FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI.).
Re. Claim 12, KUANG teaches claim 11.
KUANG further teaches wherein the one or more control messages indicating the one or more configurations comprise at least one of: a radio resource control message indicating a set of configurations associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. FIG. 1-15 & ¶0178 - the UE sleeps or wakes up within the second DRX on duration may be indicated by the network device. For example, the network device sends configuration information to the UE. Correspondingly, the UE receives the configuration information from the network device. For example, the configuration information may be sent by using an RRC message, a system message, or another message. The configuration information may be sent on one or more carriers included in the first group of carriers. For example, a primary carrier configured by the network device for the UE belongs to the first group of carriers, and the configuration information may be sent on the primary carrier. Alternatively, the configuration information may be sent on one or more carriers included in the second group of carriers. The configuration information may be configured as follows: When the UE does not perform monitoring on a DCP monitoring occasion, the UE wakes up on the second group of carriers within DRX on duration associated with the DCP monitoring occasion. Alternatively, the configuration information may be configured as follows: When the UE does not perform monitoring on a DCP monitoring occasion, the UE sleeps on the second group of carriers within DRX on duration associated with the DCP monitoring occasion. In this case, the network device may configure, based on a factor such as data transmission and by using the configuration information, the UE to sleep or wake up on the second group of carriers. Also, examiner interprets that only of the claimed limitation to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation.); or a medium access control control element indicating a subset of configurations from the set of configurations associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration.
Re. Claim 20, KUANG teaches claim 1.
KUANG further teaches wherein the apparatus (Fig. 4, UE/Fig. 17) is configured to operate (See ¶0134/¶0243-¶0244 as mentioned in claim 1) as a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4, UE/Fig. 17).
Re. claim 21, KUANG teaches an apparatus (Fig. 4, Access Network device) for wireless communication (Fig. 4), comprising: at least one transmitter (Fig. 16, 1620); one or more processors (Fig. 16, 1610 &¶0090/¶0324-¶0325); memory (¶0090/¶0319/¶0325) coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable (¶0090/¶0319/¶0325) by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4, UE/Fig.17) via the at least one transmitter (Fig. 16, 1620), a wake-up message comprising an indicator of whether an on duration of a discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from a signal transmitted in the on duration (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0006 - When a time domain position of a first DCP <DCP: DCI with CRC scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity, (PS-RNTI), also, known as PDCCH-WUS; see ¶0003 > monitoring occasion is within a first DRX active time, the terminal device determines not to monitor DCP <DCP: DCI with CRC scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity, (PS-RNTI), also, known as PDCCH-WUS; see ¶0003 > on the first DCP monitoring occasion, where the first DCP monitoring occasion is configured on the first group of carriers; and the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, …..; or when a time domain position of a first DCP monitoring occasion is not or is partially within a first DRX active time, the terminal device determines to monitor DCP on the first DCP monitoring occasion, …… FIG. 1-15 & ¶0025 – the terminal device receives, on the first DCP monitoring occasion, first DCP from the network device, where the first DCP includes first indication information and second indication information; and when the first indication information indicates wake-up and the second indication information indicates wake-up, the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device wakes up on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration; or when the first indication information indicates sleep and the second indication information indicates sleep, the terminal device sleeps on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration; or when the first indication information indicates wake-up and the second indication information indicates sleep, the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration;…. FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. A time domain position of the DCP may be a position that is one offset (offset) before “On Duration” in a DRX cycle…. In a carrier aggregation scenario, a DCP is configured only on a primary carrier, but wake-up or sleep indicated by the DCP may be performed on all carriers participating in carrier aggregation. FIG. 11 & ¶0243 - DCI is configured on the first group of carriers, the first group of carriers belongs to FR1, and the second group of carriers belongs to FR2 is used. The DCI received by the UE on FR1 can indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the second group of carriers, and optionally, can also indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the first group of carriers. …. FIG. 11 & ¶0244 - first indication information occupies one bit is used. For example, if a value of the bit is “1”, it indicates that wake-up is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. In other words, with the indication of bit value “0” in the first indication, it instructs the user equipment (UE) to sleep <not to wake up, rather conserve energy or save energy or harvest energy> on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. In fact, the inventive concept of KUANG’s reference focuses on whether the power consumption of a terminal device can be further reduced, as because, when a terminal device (for example, a smartphone, a smart watch, or a smart band) has an energy-saving requirement, for example, if a battery level of a mobile phone is already lower than 20%, the mobile phone has a very strong requirement for power consumption reduction, and KUANG’s invention helps in further saving energy or harvesting energy as disclosed supra, see ¶0140/¶290, in reference to energy-saving <interpreted as harvest energy> pertaining to the aforementioned disclosure.); and transmit for transmission the signal during the on duration based at least in part on the wake-up message (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. FIG. 11 & ¶0243 - DCI is configured on the first group of carriers, the first group of carriers belongs to FR1, and the second group of carriers belongs to FR2 is used. The DCI received by the UE on FR1 can indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the second group of carriers, and optionally, can also indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the first group of carriers. …. FIG. 11 & ¶0244 - first indication information occupies one bit is used. For example, if a value of the bit is “1”, it indicates that wake-up is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI).
Re. Claim 26, KUANG teaches claim 21.
KUANG further teaches wherein the instructions (¶0090/¶0319/¶0325) to transmit a wake-up message are executable by the one or more processors (Fig. 16, 1610 &¶0090/¶0324-¶0325) to cause the apparatus (Fig. 4, Access Network device) to: transmit for transmission first downlink control information comprising the indicator of whether the on duration of the discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration. (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. A time domain position of the DCP may be a position that is one offset (offset) before “On Duration” in a DRX cycle…. In a carrier aggregation scenario, a DCP is configured only on a primary carrier, but wake-up or sleep indicated by the DCP may be performed on all carriers participating in carrier aggregation. FIG. 11 & ¶0243 - DCI is configured on the first group of carriers, the first group of carriers belongs to FR1, and the second group of carriers belongs to FR2 is used. The DCI received by the UE on FR1 can indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the second group of carriers, and optionally, can also indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the first group of carriers. …. FIG. 11 & ¶0244 - first indication information occupies one bit is used. For example, if a value of the bit is “1”, it indicates that wake-up is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI).
Re. Claim 27, KUANG teaches claim 26.
KUANG further teaches wherein the instructions (¶0090/¶0319/¶0325) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig. 16, 1610 &¶0090/¶0324-¶0325) to cause the apparatus (Fig. 4, Access Network device) to: transmit for transmission one or more control messages indicating one or more configurations associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration, wherein the indicator in the first downlink control information of whether the on duration of the discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration is based at least in part on the one or more configurations indicated in the one or more control messages. (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0008 - the terminal device determines whether to monitor DCP on the first DCP monitoring occasion; and when the terminal device determines not to monitor the DCP on the first DCP monitoring occasion, the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first discontinuous reception DRX on duration associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, and the terminal device wakes up or sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, where the first group of carriers includes one or more carriers configured for the terminal device, the first DRX configuration is applied to the first group of carriers, the first DRX on duration corresponds to the first DRX configuration, the second group of carriers includes one or more carriers configured for the terminal device, the second DRX configuration is applied to the second group of carriers, and the second DRX on duration corresponds to the second DRX configuration. FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI.).
Re. Claim 28, KUANG teaches claim 27.
KUANG further teaches wherein the one or more control messages indicating the one or more configurations comprise at least one of: a radio resource control message indicating a set of configurations associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. FIG. 1-15 & ¶0178 - the UE sleeps or wakes up within the second DRX on duration may be indicated by the network device. For example, the network device sends configuration information to the UE. Correspondingly, the UE receives the configuration information from the network device. For example, the configuration information may be sent by using an RRC message, a system message, or another message. The configuration information may be sent on one or more carriers included in the first group of carriers. For example, a primary carrier configured by the network device for the UE belongs to the first group of carriers, and the configuration information may be sent on the primary carrier. Alternatively, the configuration information may be sent on one or more carriers included in the second group of carriers. The configuration information may be configured as follows: When the UE does not perform monitoring on a DCP monitoring occasion, the UE wakes up on the second group of carriers within DRX on duration associated with the DCP monitoring occasion. Alternatively, the configuration information may be configured as follows: When the UE does not perform monitoring on a DCP monitoring occasion, the UE sleeps on the second group of carriers within DRX on duration associated with the DCP monitoring occasion. In this case, the network device may configure, based on a factor such as data transmission and by using the configuration information, the UE to sleep or wake up on the second group of carriers. Also, examiner interprets that only of the claimed limitation to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation.); or a medium access control control element indicating a subset of configurations from the set of configurations associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 13, 17, 22-23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUANG, in view of LASELVA et al. (2023/0269601), LASELVA hereinafter.
Re. Claims 2 and 22, KUANG teaches claims 1 and 21.
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: decode data from the signal based at least in part on the indicator of the wake- up message indicating that the on duration of the discontinuous reception cycle is not associated with harvesting energy from the signal.
However, in the analogous art, LASELVA explicitly discloses wherein the instructions (Fig. 9 &¶0150) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig. 9, 910) to cause the apparatus to: decode data from the signal based at least in part on the indicator of the wake- up message indicating that the on duration of the discontinuous reception cycle is not associated with harvesting energy from the signal (Fig. 6 & ¶0091 - If the first control information includes a wake-up indication indicating the first device 110 to wake up in a next on-duration, the first device 110 may wake up by starting a drx-onDurationTimer accordingly. Otherwise, if the wake-up indication is not included or the wake-up indication indicates the first device 110 not to wake up, the first device 110 may skip the next on-duration. Fig. 6 & ¶0092 - the second device 120 has data 630-1 to be transmitted to the first device 110-1. The second device 120 may transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 610-1 in a DRX cycle via the transmission beam 122-1 (also referred to as a first transmission beam). The control information is scrambled with a scrambling identifier that is configured for the first device 110-1 for the transmission beam 122-1. Upon detection and reception of the control information, the first device 110-1 starts an on-duration 640-1 to monitor and receive the data 630-1. Similarly, if the second device 120 has data (not shown) to be transmitted to the first device 110-3, it may generate and transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 620-1 via the transmission beam 122-1 which is the serving beam of the first device 110-3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include LASELVA’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Configuration For Multi-Beam Operations in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides a solution for DRX configuration for multi-beam operations by configuring control information efficiently in a case where a plurality of transmission beams are configured for a link between a network device and a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, LASELVA)
Re. Claims 3, KUANG teaches claim 1.
KUANG further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: refrain from decoding data from the signal based at least in part on the indicator of the wake-up message indicating that the on duration of the discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from the signal (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0178 - When the UE does not perform monitoring on a DCP monitoring occasion, the UE sleeps on the second group of carriers within DRX on duration associated with the DCP monitoring occasion. In this case, the network device may configure, based on a factor such as data transmission and by using the configuration information, the UE to sleep or wake up on the second group of carriers. For example, if the network device schedules, on the second group of carriers, the UE to send data or receive data in a DRX cycle associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, the network device may indicate the UE to wake up by using the configuration information. If the network device does not schedule, on the second group of carriers, the UE to send data or receive data in a DRX cycle associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, the network device may indicate the UE to sleep by using the configuration information. FIG. 1-15 & ¶0243 - DCI is configured on the first group of carriers, the first group of carriers belongs to FR1, and the second group of carriers belongs to FR2 is used. The DCI received by the UE on FR1 can indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the second group of carriers, and optionally, can also indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the first group of carriers. …. FIG. 11 & ¶0244 - first indication information occupies one bit is used. For example, if a value of the bit is “1”, it indicates that wake-up is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI.).
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach harvest the energy from the signal based at least in part on the indicator of the wake-up message indicating that at least a portion of the discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from the signal;
However, in the analogous art, LASELVA explicitly discloses harvest the energy from the signal based at least in part on the indicator of the wake-up message indicating that at least a portion of the discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from the signal; (Fig. 6 & ¶0091 - If the first control information includes a wake-up indication indicating the first device 110 to wake up in a next on-duration, the first device 110 may wake up by starting a drx-onDurationTimer accordingly. Otherwise, if the wake-up indication is not included or the wake-up indication indicates the first device 110 not to wake up, the first device 110 may skip the next on-duration. Fig. 6 & ¶0092 - the second device 120 has data 630-1 to be transmitted to the first device 110-1. The second device 120 may transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 610-1 in a DRX cycle via the transmission beam 122-1 (also referred to as a first transmission beam). The control information is scrambled with a scrambling identifier that is configured for the first device 110-1 for the transmission beam 122-1. Upon detection and reception of the control information, the first device 110-1 starts an on-duration 640-1 to monitor and receive the data 630-1. Similarly, if the second device 120 has data (not shown) to be transmitted to the first device 110-3, it may generate and transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 620-1 via the transmission beam 122-1 which is the serving beam of the first device 110-3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include LASELVA’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Configuration For Multi-Beam Operations in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides a solution for DRX configuration for multi-beam operations by configuring control information efficiently in a case where a plurality of transmission beams are configured for a link between a network device and a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, LASELVA)
Re. Claims 4, KUANG teaches claim 1.
KUANG further teaches wherein the indicator of the wake-up message indicates to decode data from the signal and to harvest energy from the signal during the on duration, and the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: harvest energy from the signal based at least in part on the indicator of the wake-up message indicating to harvest energy from the signal (FIG. 1-15 & ¶0025 – when the first indication information indicates sleep and the second indication information indicates sleep, the terminal device sleeps on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration; FIG. 11 & ¶0244 - If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI); and
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach decode the data from the signal based at least in part on the indicator of the wake-up message indicating to decode the data from the signal.
However, in the analogous art, LASELVA explicitly discloses decode the data from the signal based at least in part on the indicator of the wake-up message indicating to decode the data from the signal. (Fig. 6 & ¶0091 - Otherwise, if the wake-up indication is not included or the wake-up indication indicates the first device 110 not to wake up, the first device 110 may skip the next on-duration. Fig. 6 & ¶0092 - the second device 120 has data 630-1 to be transmitted to the first device 110-1. The second device 120 may transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 610-1 in a DRX cycle via the transmission beam 122-1 (also referred to as a first transmission beam). The control information is scrambled with a scrambling identifier that is configured for the first device 110-1 for the transmission beam 122-1. Upon detection and reception of the control information, the first device 110-1 starts an on-duration 640-1 to monitor and receive the data 630-1. Similarly, if the second device 120 has data (not shown) to be transmitted to the first device 110-3, it may generate and transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 620-1 via the transmission beam 122-1 which is the serving beam of the first device 110-3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include LASELVA’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Configuration For Multi-Beam Operations in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides a solution for DRX configuration for multi-beam operations by configuring control information efficiently in a case where a plurality of transmission beams are configured for a link between a network device and a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, LASELVA)
Re. Claims 13 and 29, KUANG teaches claims 12 and 28.
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach wherein the indicator in the first downlink control information indicates a single configuration from the subset of configurations associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration.
However, in the analogous art, LASELVA explicitly discloses wherein the indicator in the first downlink control information indicates a single configuration from the subset of configurations associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0085 - the first control information may include other information to be transmitted to the first device 110, in addition to the wake-up indication and the dormancy indication. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0086 - in scrambling the first control information, the second device 120 may use the first scrambling identifier to scramble the cyclic redundancy check of the first control information. … where the first device 110 is a terminal device and the second device 120 is a network device, the control information is to be transmitted in a PDCCH and thus may be referred to as downlink control information (DCI). … the control information is also referred to as power saving control information or WUS control information, the control information scrambled with the scrambling identifier (e.g., the PS-RNTI) may be referred to as DCI with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI (or DCP for short) or may be referred to as WUS-DCI. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0087 - in addition to the scrambling identifiers, other parameters for the control information may also be configured per transmission beam. …. the second device 120 may generate and transmit the first control information according to one of the configuration settings (for example, the additional parameter set) associated with the first transmission beam, including the location of the wake-up indication in the first control information, the time point for transmitting the first control information, the dormancy indication, and/or the like. The aforesaid disclosure is similar to instant application as recited in ¶0116, for example, “the DCI may active a configuration among many configurations indicated using RRC or the MAC-CE or activate the configuration indicated using RRC or the MAC-CE (e.g., if the RRC or the MAC-CE indicates a single configuration). That is, multiple configurations may be signaled via RRC, one or more configurations may be downselected using MAC-CE, and a single configuration may be indicated in DCI (e.g., WUS DCI).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include LASELVA’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Configuration For Multi-Beam Operations in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides a solution for DRX configuration for multi-beam operations by configuring control information efficiently in a case where a plurality of transmission beams are configured for a link between a network device and a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, LASELVA)
Re. Claim 17, KUANG teaches claim 10.
KUANG further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to (Fig. 17 & ¶0312 - ¶0317 & ¶0325) cause the apparatus to: receive second downlink control information indicating whether the apparatus is to switch to an active state or remain in an inactive state during a second on duration of a second discontinuous reception cycle (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0006 - When a time domain position of a first DCP monitoring occasion is within a first DRX active time, the terminal device determines not to monitor DCP on the first DCP monitoring occasion, where the first DCP monitoring occasion is configured on the first group of carriers; and the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the first DCP monitoring occasion, …..; or when a time domain position of a first DCP monitoring occasion is not or is partially within a first DRX active time, the terminal device determines to monitor DCP on the first DCP monitoring occasion, …… FIG. 1-15 & ¶0025 – the terminal device receives, on the first DCP monitoring occasion, first DCP from the network device, where the first DCP includes first indication information and second indication information; and when the first indication information indicates wake-up and the second indication information indicates wake-up, the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device wakes up on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration; or when the first indication information indicates sleep and the second indication information indicates sleep, the terminal device sleeps on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration; or when the first indication information indicates wake-up and the second indication information indicates sleep, the terminal device wakes up on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration, and the terminal device sleeps on the second group of carriers within the second DRX on duration;…. FIG. 1-15 & ¶0134 - an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. The PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as DCP in the standard, and a signal form of the DCP may be DCI. A time domain position of the DCP may be a position that is one offset (offset) before “On Duration” in a DRX cycle…. In a carrier aggregation scenario, a DCP is configured only on a primary carrier, but wake-up or sleep indicated by the DCP may be performed on all carriers participating in carrier aggregation. FIG. 11 & ¶0243 - DCI is configured on the first group of carriers, the first group of carriers belongs to FR1, and the second group of carriers belongs to FR2 is used. The DCI received by the UE on FR1 can indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the second group of carriers, and optionally, can also indicate sleep or wake-up of the UE on the first group of carriers.);
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach decode data from a second signal during the second on duration based at least in part on reception of the second downlink control information.
However, in the analogous art, LASELVA explicitly discloses decode data from a second signal during the second on duration based at least in part on reception of the second downlink control information. (Fig. 6 & ¶0091 - Otherwise, if the wake-up indication is not included or the wake-up indication indicates the first device 110 not to wake up, the first device 110 may skip the next on-duration. Fig. 6 & ¶0092 - the second device 120 has data 630-1 to be transmitted to the first device 110-1. The second device 120 may transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 610-1 in a DRX cycle via the transmission beam 122-1 (also referred to as a first transmission beam). The control information is scrambled with a scrambling identifier that is configured for the first device 110-1 for the transmission beam 122-1. Upon detection and reception of the control information, the first device 110-1 starts an on-duration 640-1 to monitor and receive the data 630-1. Similarly, if the second device 120 has data (not shown) to be transmitted to the first device 110-3, it may generate and transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 620-1 via the transmission beam 122-1 which is the serving beam of the first device 110-3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include LASELVA’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Configuration For Multi-Beam Operations in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides a solution for DRX configuration for multi-beam operations by configuring control information efficiently in a case where a plurality of transmission beams are configured for a link between a network device and a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, LASELVA)
Re. Claim 23, KUANG teaches claim 22.
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach wherein the wake-up message indicates to decode data from the signal and to harvest energy from the signal during the on duration.
However, in the analogous art, LASELVA explicitly discloses wherein the wake-up message indicates to decode data from the signal and to harvest energy from the signal during the on duration. (Fig. 6 & ¶0091 - Otherwise, if the wake-up indication is not included or the wake-up indication indicates the first device 110 not to wake up, the first device 110 may skip the next on-duration. Fig. 6 & ¶0092 - the second device 120 has data 630-1 to be transmitted to the first device 110-1. The second device 120 may transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 610-1 in a DRX cycle via the transmission beam 122-1 (also referred to as a first transmission beam). The control information is scrambled with a scrambling identifier that is configured for the first device 110-1 for the transmission beam 122-1. Upon detection and reception of the control information, the first device 110-1 starts an on-duration 640-1 to monitor and receive the data 630-1. Similarly, if the second device 120 has data (not shown) to be transmitted to the first device 110-3, it may generate and transmit control information with a wake-up indication during an occasion 620-1 via the transmission beam 122-1 which is the serving beam of the first device 110-3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include LASELVA’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Configuration For Multi-Beam Operations in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides a solution for DRX configuration for multi-beam operations by configuring control information efficiently in a case where a plurality of transmission beams are configured for a link between a network device and a user equipment (UE) operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, LASELVA)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUANG, in view of Zhou et al. (2023/0209532), Zhou hereinafter.
Re. Claims 7, KUANG teaches claim 1.
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: harvest energy from a second signal during a second on duration, decode data from the second signal during the second on duration, or both, independent of reception or decoding of a second wake-up message associated with the second on duration of a second discontinuous reception cycle.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou532 explicitly discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: harvest energy from a second signal during a second on duration, decode data from the second signal during the second on duration, or both, independent of reception or decoding of a second wake-up message associated with the second on duration of a second discontinuous reception cycle (Fig. 31-36 & ¶0319 - a first PS indication block, corresponding to a first cell group, may comprise at least one of: a first wake-up indication for the first cell group, first PDCCH skipping indication(s) for one or more cells of the first cell group, first search space switching indication(s) for one or more cells of the first cell group, or first SCell dormancy indication(s) for one or more cells of the first cell group. A second PS indication block, corresponding to a second cell group, may comprise at least one of: a second wake-up indication for the second cell group, second PDCCH skipping indication(s) for one or more cells of the second cell group, second search space switching indication(s) for one or more cells of the second cell group, or second SCell dormancy indication(s) for one or more cells of the second cell group, Fig. 31-36 & ¶0323 - in response to the first PS indication(s) indicating a wake-up for DRX on duration, the wireless device may start a DRX on duration timer of the first DRX configuration corresponding to the first cell group. In response to the first PS indication(s) indicating a wake-up for DRX on duration, the wireless device may start monitoring PDCCH on one or more cells of the first cell groups in a first DRX on duration (e.g., 1.sup.st unicast DRX on Duration in FIG. 32) according to the first DRX configuration corresponding to the first cell group. In response to the first PS indication(s) indicating a go-to-sleep for DRX on duration, the wireless device may not start a DRX on duration timer of the first DRX configuration corresponding to the first cell group. Fig. 31-36 & ¶0349 - the base station may transmit to the wireless device, a first DCI (1st DCI) scheduling a first TB via a unicast PDSCH. The wireless device may determine the first DCI scheduling the first TB via the unicast PDSCH based on at least one of: the first DCI being received with a UE-specific RNTI, or the first TB being scrambled by the UE-specific RNTI, etc. Fig. 31-36 & ¶0352 - the base station may transmit to the wireless device, a second DCI (2nd DCI) scheduling a second TB via an MBS PDSCH. The wireless device may determine the second DCI scheduling the second TB via the MBS PDSCH based on at least one of: the second DCI being received in a search space (or a CORESET) dedicatedly configured for the MBS configuration; the second DCI being received with a group-common RNTI configured with the MBS configuration;).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Zhou532’s invention of Scheduling Adaptation And Power Saving for Multicast And Broadcast Services in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in providing a plurality of services catering for high reliability/low latency along with improved power savings for a wireless device operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0076, Zhou532)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUANG, in view of Zhou et al. (20210243763), Zhou hereinafter.
Re. Claim 15, KUANG teaches claim 12.
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive second downlink control information indicating a different configuration from the configurations in the subset of configurations associated with harvesting energy from a signal transmitted during a second on duration of a second discontinuous reception cycle.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou763 explicitly discloses wherein the instructions (Fig. 3, 316) are further executable (Fig. 3 & ¶0229) by the one or more processors (Fig.3, 314) to cause the apparatus to: receive second downlink control information indicating a different configuration from the configurations in the subset of configurations associated with harvesting energy from a signal transmitted during a second on duration of a second discontinuous reception cycle. (Fig. 25-31 & ¶0437 - a power saving mode may be based on a power saving channel (e.g., a wake-up channel (WUCH)). The power saving channel may comprise a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH) dedicated for the power saving mode. The parameters of a power saving channel-based power saving mode configuration may comprise at least one of: a time window indicating a duration when the base station may transmit a power saving information (e.g., a wake-up information, or a go-to-sleep information) via the power saving channel; parameters of a control resource set (e.g., time, frequency resource and/or TCI state indication of the power saving channel); a periodicity of the transmission of the power saving channel; a DCI format of the power saving information; a BWP on which the wireless device may monitor the power saving channel; and/or a cell on which the wireless device may monitor the power saving channel. Fig. 25-31 & ¶0439 - As shown in FIG. 27, the wireless device may communicate with the base station in the full function mode. The base station may transmit to the wireless device, a first command (e.g., 1st command in FIG. 27) indicating enabling a power saving (e.g., PS as shown in FIG. 27) operation, e.g., when a data service is suitable for the PS mode, or the wireless device may work in the PS mode due to a reduced available processing power at the wireless device. The first command may be a DCI with a first DCI format (e.g., one of DCI format 0-0/0-1, 1-0/1-1, or 2-0/2-1/2-2/2-3 already defined in 3GPP NR specifications) or a second DCI format (e.g., a new DCI format to be defined in future). The first command may be a MAC CE, or an RRC message. The wireless device may, in response to receiving the first command, enable (or activate) the PS mode and/or switch to the PS mode from the full function mode. In an example, in the PS mode, the wireless device may: monitor for the PS signal/channel (e.g., WUS in FIG. 27); not transmit PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS/PRACH (e.g., before detecting/receiving the PS signal/channel); not receive PDSCH (e.g., before detecting/receiving the PS signal/channel); not monitor PDCCHs (e.g., before detecting/receiving the PS signal/channel); and/or start monitoring the PDCCHs (e.g., in response to detecting/receiving the PS signal/channel). Fig. 25-31 & ¶0442 - the first configuration parameters may indicate one or more PS parameters of a plurality of power saving modes. The one or more PS parameters of a first power saving mode (e.g., PS mode 1 as shown in FIG. 28) may indicate at least one of: one or more first search spaces and/or one or more first control resource sets (e.g., SS1/CORESET1 in FIG. 28); one or more first DCI formats (e.g., DCI format 0-0, 1-0, or any other DCI format); and/or one or more first PS signal parameters (e.g., PS signal format; periodicity; time/frequency location). The one or more PS parameters of a second power saving mode (e.g., PS mode 2 as shown in FIG. 28) may indicate at least one of: one or more second search spaces and/or one or more second control resource sets (e.g., SS1/CORESET1 and SS2/CORESET2 as shown in FIG. 28); one or more second DCI formats; and/or one or more second PS signal parameters.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Zhou763’s invention of Transmission and Reception of Power Saving Command in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it an efficient mechanism for a wireless device having a plurality of data services with different data traffic patterns (e.g., periodic, aperiodic, data arrival pattern, event-trigger, small data size, or burst type), when the wireless device changes a data service from a first data service to a second data service which is not suitable for power saving, semi-statically/dynamically disabling the power saving may be beneficial for a quick data packet delivery as expected, while the wireless device operates in a plurality of frequency ranges (e.g., Low Frequency <=6 GHz & High Frequency <= 6 GHz, 30 GHz, or 70 GHz) in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0433, Zhou763).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUANG, in view of Yi et al. (2020/0314816), Yi hereinafter.
Re. Claim 18, KUANG teaches claim 10.
Yet, KUANG does not expressly teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive second downlink control information indicating whether the apparatus is to switch to an active state or remain in an inactive state during a second on duration of a second discontinuous reception cycle; and harvest energy from a second signal during the second on duration, decode data from the second signal during the second on duration, or both in accordance with a default configuration based at least in part on reception the second downlink control information.
However, in the analogous art, Yi explicitly discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive second downlink control information indicating whether the apparatus is to switch to an active state or remain in an inactive state during a second on duration of a second discontinuous reception cycle (Fig. 29-41 & ¶0456 - The wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising the first command indicating a BWP switching without changing a power state. The wireless device may receive a second DCI comprising the second command indicating transitioning to a second power state. Fig. 29-41 & ¶0466 - a wireless device may switch a power saving state in response to receiving a command indicating a transition of a power saving state. The wireless device may not switch a power saving state in response to receiving a command indicating a transition of a bandwidth part while keeping a same PS index. FIG. 35 shows an example. A first power state (e.g., PS1) may start in response to starting of drx-onDurationTimer and may end in response to receiving a scheduling DCI comprising a resource assignment for a unicast DL or UL data in a cell. A second power state (e.g., PS2) may start in response to receiving the scheduling DCI or starting of drx-inactivityTimer and may end in response to the end of DRX activeTime or starting of the DRX Off Duration.); and harvest energy from a second signal during the second on duration, decode data from the second signal during the second on duration, or both in accordance with a default configuration based at least in part on reception the second downlink control information (Fig. 29-41 & ¶0456 - The wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising the first command indicating a BWP switching without changing a power state. The wireless device may receive a second DCI comprising the second command indicating transitioning to a second power state. Fig. 29-41 & ¶0453 - FIG. 30 shows that a BWP may comprise one or more sets of parameters mapping to one or more power saving states. For example, a default BWP may comprise two sets of parameters, wherein a first set of parameters is associated with a power saving state (PS1). A second set of parameters is associated with a second power sate (e.g., a normal state, PS2). Fig. 29-41 & ¶0481 - the base station may further transmit the downlink data channel with a gap from the DCI, wherein a value of the gap is the scheduling offset. In an example, the base station may further transmit a second DCI comprising a BWP index indicating the BWP of the cell and the indication to apply the minimum scheduling offset value. In an example, the base station may further transmit one or more second RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a list of time-domain resource allocations, wherein a time-domain resource allocation comprises an offset value between a DCI and a corresponding downlink data scheduled by the DCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KUANG’s invention of a communication method for reducing power consumption of UE (User Equipment) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Yi’s invention of Interaction Between Power Saving Adaptation And Bandwidth Part Adaptation in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it an efficient mechanism for a joint operation between bandwidth part adaptation and power saving adaptation, in turns, offers a lower latency and lower overhead in adapting parameters, such as a set of SearchSpaces (SSs), a set of CORESETs, cross-slot scheduling, measurement configurations, and/or the like, impacting UE power consumption operating in the 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (¶0435, Yi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8-9, 14, 16, 19, 24-25 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 5 – wherein the instructions to harvest the energy and decode the data are executable by the one or more processors to occur concurrently during at least a portion of the on duration, wherein the instructions to obtain the wake-up message are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: obtain a parameter in the wake-up message that indicates a fraction of power allocated for harvesting energy during the at least the portion.
Claim 6 – wherein the instructions to harvest the energy are executable by the one or more processors to occur during a first portion of the on duration and the instructions to decode the data are executable by the one or more processors to occur during a second portion of the on duration, the first portion and the second portion being non-overlapping in time, and wherein the instructions to obtain the wake-up message are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: obtain a parameter in the wake-up message that indicates a first duration of the first portion, a second duration of the second portion, an order of the first portion and the second portion, a gap between the first duration and the second duration, or a combination thereof.
Claim 8 – wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: harvest energy from the second signal during the second on duration, decode data from the second signal during the second on duration, switch to an active state during the second on duration, or perform some combination thereof based at least in part on a first parameter associated with whether the apparatus is to switch to the active state during the second on duration, a second parameter associated with whether to harvest the energy, a third parameter associated with whether to decode the data, a fourth parameter associated with whether to harvest the energy and to decode the data, or any combination thereof.
Claim 9 – Depends on claim 8.
Claim 14 – wherein the subset of configurations indicated in the medium access control control element comprises the single configuration, and the indicator in the first downlink control information indicates, by default, the single configuration associated with harvesting energy from the signal transmitted during the on duration.
Claim 16– wherein the one or more configurations comprise a configuration to harvest energy within one or more frequency ranges in the on duration, a configuration of a fraction of power allocated for harvesting energy in the on duration, a configuration of a first portion of the on duration in which to harvest energy and a second portion of the on duration in which to decode data, a configuration of filters or beams to use for harvesting energy in the on duration, a configuration of the signal from which to harvest energy, or a combination thereof.
Claim 19 – wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: obtain second downlink control information indicating whether the apparatus is to switch to an active state or remain in an inactive state during a second on duration of a second discontinuous reception cycle; obtain a control message indicating a single configuration associated with harvesting energy from a second signal transmitted during the second on duration, wherein the second downlink control information indicates, by default, the single configuration associated with harvesting energy from a second signal during the second on duration; and harvest energy from the second signal during the second on duration, decode data from the second signal during the second on duration, or both based at least in part on the single configuration.
Claim 24 – wherein the wake-up message indicates to harvest the energy and decode the data concurrently during at least a portion of the on duration, wherein the instructions to output for transmission the wake-up message are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: output for transmission a parameter that indicates a fraction of power allocated for harvesting energy during the portion.
Claim 25 – wherein the wake-up message indicates to harvest the energy during a first portion of the on duration and to decode the data during a second portion of the on duration, the first portion and the second portion being non- overlapping in time, wherein the instructions to output for transmission the wake-up message are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: output for transmission a parameter that indicates a first duration of the first portion, a second duration of the second portion, or both.
Claim 30 – Depends on claim 25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/09/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 21 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments at page 12 as submitted on 03/09/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts,”the wakeup scheme described in Kuang does not describe that ''an indicator of whether an on duration of a discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from a signal transmitted during the on duration," as recited in independent claim 1 (emphasis added). For example, Kuang describes a wakeup signal (referred to as a PDCCH-WUS) that indicates whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. Kuang ,i, i [0134], [0244]. Kuang further describes that the PDCCH-WUS may be scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI). Kuang ,i [0003]. However, though Kuang describes whether a UE is to sleep or wake within a DRX, Kuang does not include any indication of whether any duration is ''associated with harvesting energy from a signal." In fact, Kuang does not appear to describe energy harvesting at all. Further, the description of scrambling a DCI with a PS-RNTI is merely a way of detecting that the DCI is related to power saving and is not the same as energy harvesting. The use of a power saving identifier in no way contributes or implies the use of energy harvesting, nor does scrambling a message with a PS-RNTI indicate ''whether an on duration of a discontinuous reception cycle is associated with harvesting energy from a signal transmitted during the on duration," as recited in independent claim 1.”, See at least at page 12 of remarks as submitted on 03/09/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, KUANG discloses that an indication signal (PDCCH-WUS [Wingdings font/0xF3] PDCCH-WUS is also referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003) that is also referred to as a wake-up signal. The indication signal can indicate, based on the current DRX mechanism, whether the UE needs to wake up or sleep in a subsequent DRX active time. See ¶0134 along with Fig. 1-15. KUANG further discloses that first indication information occupies one bit is used. For example, if a value of the bit is “1”, it indicates that wake-up is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. If the value of the bit is “0”, it indicates that sleep is performed on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. See ¶0244 along with Fig. 1-15.
In other words, with the indication of bit value “0” in the first indication, it instructs the user equipment (UE) to sleep <not to wake up, rather conserve energy or save energy or harvest energy> on the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI. In fact, the inventive concept of KUANG’s reference focuses on whether the power consumption of a terminal device can be further reduced, as because, when a terminal device (for example, a smartphone, a smart watch, or a smart band) has an energy-saving requirement, for example, if a battery level of a mobile phone is already lower than 20%, the mobile phone has a very strong requirement for power consumption reduction, and KUANG’s invention helps in further saving energy or harvesting energy as disclosed supra, see ¶0140/¶290, in reference to energy-saving <interpreted as harvest energy> pertaining to the aforementioned disclosure .
In fact, the inventive concept of KUANG, is to save power consumption for a terminal device <or User Equipment, UE> when the terminal device operates with a plurality of carriers belonging to a plurality of frequency ranges (e.g., FR1 < lower than 6 GHz, 5G/NR > and FR2 < greater than or equal to 6 GHz, 5G/NR >, see ¶0131) and impacts to a plurality of DRX configurations <e.g., DRX on duration, DRX inactivity timer, see at least Fig. 9, Fig. 11, Fig. 13-15> belonging to the plurality of frequency ranges. The indication signal, PDCCH-WUS (also, referred to as downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (DCP), See ¶0003), as received by the terminal device, operating with the plurality of carriers belonging to a plurality of frequency ranges (e.g., FR1 and FR2 as explained supra), saves power consumption or harvest energy when the value of the bit is “0” as carried in the indication signal, indicates to “sleep” for the first group of carriers within the first DRX on duration associated with the DCI as disclosed supra. Similarly, the inventive concept of the instant application, focuses on the energy harvesting or energy saving when a user equipment, UE/ terminal device, receives configurations from a network for energy harvesting, the configurations contain one or more configuration parameters indicating frequency ranges for performing energy harvesting such that the UE may adjust an energy harvesting circuit configuration, with WUS indicate to either decode data or to harvest energy during on duration of a DRX cycle, pertaining to a plurality of frequency ranges as disclosed at least in ¶0039/¶0117/¶0130/¶0168 of the instant application. In other words, the inventive concept of KUANG, is very similar to the inventive concept of the instant application, quite a contrast to applicant’s assertion at least at page 12 of remarks as submitted on 03/09/2026.
There are NO specific allegations for any other references, hence, moot.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claim 21.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KUANG.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 21, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467