DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al. (JP2012229481).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka et al. a method of separately collecting valuable materials such as nickel and lithium from used lithium ion batteries which meets the limitation a method for recovering a lithium precursor from a lithium secondary battery (lines 5-20). Yoshioka et al. teaches disassembly of used lithium ion batteries after preliminary roasting can be performed using a crushing facility including a crusher, and the particle size after disassembly is not excessively fine which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of pulverizing a cathode of the lithium secondary battery to provide a cathode powder (lines 150-160). Yoshioka et al. teaches the cathode comprising a lithium-transition metal oxide as a cathode active material (lines 95-110). Yoshioka et al. teaches an appropriate amount of an alkaline earth metal hydroxide such as Ca (OH) 2 or Mg (OH) 2 to the powdered product and mixing it with air containing appropriate moisture which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of after pulverizing, mixing the cathode powder with a calcium compound to provide a cathode active material mixture (lines 180-190). Yoshioka et al. teaches reducing the cathode active material mixture to form a preliminary precursor mixture; and recovering a lithium precursor from the preliminary precursor mixture (lines 215-225).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshioka et al. teaches used lithium ion batteries in which the positive electrode active material is various lithium composite oxides, aluminum and copper used in battery case materials and current collectors, and cobalt constituting the positive electrode active material which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of wherein the cathode comprises a waste cathode derived from scrap (lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka et al. teaches disassembly of used lithium ion batteries after preliminary roasting can be performed using a crushing facility including a crusher wherein the step of pulverizing comprises dry pulverizing the cathode of the lithium secondary battery.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshioka et al. teaches lithium ion batteries in which the positive electrode active material is various lithium composite oxides, aluminum and copper used in battery case materials and current collectors, and cobalt constituting the positive electrode active material which meets the limitation of wherein the cathode comprises a current collector and a cathode active material layer formed on the current collector and including a binder and a cathode active material, and the cathode powder comprises components derived from the cathode active material and the binder (lines 10-20).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Yoshioka et al. teaches wherein the step of mixing or the step of reducing comprises reacting a component derived from the binder with the calcium compound to at least partially remove the component (lines 250-280).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshioka et al. teaches wherein the component derived from the binder comprises a fluorine component and a carbon component (lines 250-280).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshioka et al. teaches wherein the step of mixing comprises mixing the cathode powder with a calcium compound containing 0.5 to 1.5 times more calcium element than fluorine element contained in the cathode powder (lines 395-405).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshioka et al. teaches wherein the step of mixing comprises performing heat treatment on the cathode powder and the calcium compound together at a temperature of 300 to 600°C (lines 195-205).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshioka et al. teaches wherein the step of reducing comprises dry reduction using a hydrogen gas or a carbon-based material (lines 215-225).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshioka et al. teaches wherein the step of reducing is performed at a temperature is-of 400 to 600°C (lines 215-225).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshioka et al. teaches the first step in the separation and recovery method of the present invention is a method in which used lithium ion batteries are immersed in water in which alkaline earth metal hydroxide is dissolved or suspended which meets the limitation of wherein the step of recovering comprises obtaining a lithium precursor hydrate by washing the preliminary precursor mixture with water (lines 110-115).
Regarding claims 13-15, Yoshioka et al. teaches wherein the lithium-transition metal oxide has a composition represented by Formula 1: LixM1aM2bM3eOy (Formula 1) wherein M1, M2 and M3 are each a transition metal selected from Ni, Co, Mn, Na, Mg, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Cu, Zn, Ge, Sr, Ag, Ba, Zr, Nb, Mo, Al, Ga or B, 0<x<1.1,2<y<2.02, 0<a<1, 0<b<1, 0<c<1, and 0<a+b+c<1 (lines 95-110).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshioka et al. teaches wherein the step of reducing further includes a carrier gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, helium, or argon (lines 245-250).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 07/24/2062