DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (EP 3767737) in view of Wang (CN106848472; translation provided by Google Patents 02/04/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Na et al. teaches a method for recovering an active metal of a lithium secondary batter which meets the preamble method for recovering a lithium precursor from a lithium secondary battery (paragraph 2). Na et al. teaches cathode active material mixture may be prepared in a powder form through a physical method such as grinding which meets the limitation preparing cathode powder from a cathode of the lithium secondary battery (paragraph 42). Na et al. teaches the recovered cathode may be thermally treated before the grinding treatment at a temperature of 100 to 500 ̊C (paragraph 43). Na et al. teaches the cathode active material mixture may be subjected to a hydrogen reduction to prepare the preliminary precursor mixture which meets the limitation of reducing the cathode active material mixture to form a preliminary precursor mixture (paragraph 46). Na et al. teaches premium lithium precursor may be obtained as a lithium precursor substantially consisting of lithium hydroxide which meets the limitation of recovering a lithium precursor from the preliminary precursor mixture (paragraph 55). Na et al. does not teach preparing a cathode active material mixture by mixing the cathode powder with a calcium compound.
Wang teaches a method for efficiently recovering lithium from waste lithium which comprises the steps of roasting and sorting the waste lithium iron phosphate batteries to obtain lithium-containing positive electrode powder (abstract). Wang teaches spraying calcium-containing powder to absorb the generation of fluorine-containing gas in the roasting process at a roasting temperature is 200-1200 ℃ (page 2, lines 1-5; page 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to spray calcium powder during the thermal treatment step taught by Na et al. because calcium-containing powder absorbs the generation of fluorine-containing gas.
Regarding claim 2, Na et al. teaches a used cathode which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of wherein the cathode comprises a waste cathode derived from scrap (paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 3, Na et al. teaches cathode active material mixture may be prepared in a powder form through a physical method such as grinding which meets the limitation wherein the step of preparing the cathode powder comprises dry pulverizing the cathode of the lithium secondary battery (paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 4, Na et al. teaches a used cathode which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of wherein the cathode comprises a current collector and a cathode active material layer formed on the current collector and including a binder and a cathode active material, and the cathode powder comprises components derived from the cathode active material and the binder (paragraph 40).
Regarding claims 5-7, Wang teaches a method for efficiently recovering lithium from waste lithium which comprises the steps of roasting and sorting the waste lithium iron phosphate batteries to obtain lithium-containing positive electrode powder (abstract). Wang teaches spraying calcium-containing powder to absorb the generation of fluorine-containing gas in the roasting process at a roasting temperature is 200-1200 ℃ which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of reacting a component derived from the binder with the calcium compound to at least partially remove the component (page 2, lines 1-5; page 3). Wang teaches calcium oxide (page 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to spray calcium powder during the thermal treatment step taught by Na et al. because calcium-containing powder absorbs the generation of fluorine-containing gas.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the mass ratio of the battery waste to the calcium-containing powder is 0.1-3000 which encompasses wherein reacting the calcium compound with the cathode powder comprises mixing the cathode powder with a calcium compound containing 0.5 to 1.5 times more calcium element than fluorine element contained in the cathode powder (page 2).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches spraying calcium-containing powder to absorb the generation of fluorine-containing gas in the roasting process at a roasting temperature is 200-1200 ℃ which encompasses wherein the step of preparing the cathode active material mixture comprises performing heat treatment on the cathode powder and the calcium compound together at a temperature of 300 to 600°C (page 2, lines 1-5; page 3).
Regarding claims 10, and 11, Na et al. teaches the cathode active material mixture may be subjected to a hydrogen reduction to prepare the preliminary precursor mixture which meets the limitation of wherein the reduction treatment comprises dry reduction using a hydrogen gas (paragraph 46). Na et al. taches hydrogen reduction at a temperature range of 400 to 700 ℃ which encompasses 400 to 600°C (paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 12, Na et al. teaches preliminary lithium precursor may be obtained as a lithium precursor substantially composed of lithium hydroxide by the water washing treatment which meets the limitation of wherein the step of recovering the lithium precursor from the preliminary precursor mixture comprises obtaining a lithium precursor hydrate by washing the preliminary precursor mixture with water (paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 13, Na et al. in view of Wang does not teach wherein a selectivity of lithium hydroxide in the lithium precursor hydrate is 97% or more. It is clear that the percentage of the lithium hydroxide taught by Na et al. in view of Wang would necessarily produce a selectivity of lithium hydroxide in the lithium precursor hydrate is 97% or more because the method of making taught by Na et al. in view of Wang is the same or similar method of claimed. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. I, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 02/04/2026