DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, directed to figure 2A,2B in the reply filed on 02/06/2026 is acknowledged. The examiner notes that claims 6 and 7 were mistakenly included in Species I. The examiner notes that the limitations of claim 6 require a cup shaped distal portion (which species I exhibits), however the distal portion of the fluid impermeable barrier of species I does not at least partially define the chamber sized to receive a portion of the penis adjacent to the distal portion. Rather chamber for the penis (206) in figure 2A is toward the proximal end (203) not distal end (205). Further, the distal end of species I does not a first tab nor additional tabs. While species 1 has tabs for both attaching the device, seen most proximally, and for creating the chamber (see 213), these tabs are clearly at the defined proximal end of the permeable barrier as they are on the side of the permeable barrier closest to the proximal end of the entire device. The examiner further notes that the cup shaped embodiment and tabs are defined in the instant specification under paragraphs 0060-0062, where said embodiments are directed toward figure 5. Therefore Species III should have including claims 6 and 7 in the requirement for election. Therefore, based on the above information, claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn from consideration as they are pursuant to an unelected species.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 requires “wherein the distal portion of fluid permeable body”. The examiner notes that it is clear that this is a grammatical error that should read “the” fluid permeable body. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 requires, in line 2-3, “a first side edge portion defining a first side slot…a second side edge portion defining a second slot” . The examiner notes that later in line 3, the claim requires “each of the first side slot and the second side slot extending…”. The examiner notes that while the language regarding the first side slot remains consistent, the claim requires the second side slot, while only claiming a second slot. Therefore “the second side slot” lacks antecedent basis in the claim as the presumed same component is referred to as a second slot not a second side slot. The examiner notes that for purposes of examination, it is interpreted that “a second slot” of the claims is “a second slide slot” as later required in the same claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,8, 14-16,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ecklund et al. US 2019/0247222 in view of Cheng et al. US 2004/0176731, hereafter Ecklund and Cheng respectively, where both references were provided in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Ecklund discloses a urine collection device(abstract, figure 16a), comprising: a tube (1679) having an inlet (portion attached to 1694); a fluid permeable body (permeable layer 1690D and wicking layer 1690E, where, in construction the male member is placed adjacent said layers [para. 0188)) having a first side, a second side, a proximal edge, and two side edges extending from the proximal edge towards the inlet (the examiner notes that per para. 0188 as 1690D and 1690E form the fluid permeable barrier. It is interpreted that 1690E is the first side, 1690D is the second side, the proximal edge is the portion adjacent to the proximal edge of the device as a whole, and the two side edges are the perimeters of both 1690D and 1690E));
The examiner notes that while Ecklund discloses a fluid impermeable barrier (1690C) covering and interfacing substantially all of the first side, the proximal edge, and the two side edges of the fluid permeable body effective to prevent fluid communication into the fluid permeable body through the first side, the proximal edge, and the two side edges of the fluid permeable body (seen covering the defined first side and therefore at least a portion of the proximal and side edges), the examiner instead interprets the walls 1690A and 1690B as the fluid impermeable barrier. As seen in construction, figure 16B and 16C, show that said walls form the exterior barrier of the device, and thus cover the entire permeable barrier. While the examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would determine that said walls are fluid impermeable, as they function as the exterior structure of the device and thus allowing fluid through said walls would cause the function of the device to fail, however, the examiner brings in Cheng to specifically teach this limitation.
Cheng teaches a urine collection device and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Cheng teaches that such devices known in the art comprise a wicking material for collecting fluid (wicking material 237, figure 3b), where the device further comprises an outermost layer that is impervious to fluid to prevent leaking (outer impervious layer (236), see para. 0114, see also para. 0028 where impervious layer surrounds the intake layer). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer walls of Ecklund to be fluid impervious to prevent leakage of fluid out of the device. Doing so would yield the predictable result of providing a urine collection device that would prevent leakage out of the outmost layer of the device.
The examiner further notes the Ecklund (in view of Cheng) teaches wherein the fluid impermeable barrier (outer wall formed by 1690A and 1690B) defines an aperture providing fluid communication between the fluid permeable body and at least a portion of the tube (seam 1699, see para. 0193, where said seam in the collection device allows the tube to extend through into the device); and a chamber sized to receive at least a portion of a penis therein to position a portion of the penis adjacent to a portion of the fluid permeable body (internal cavity 1638, see figure 16C).
Regarding claim 2, Ecklund and Cheng teach the urine collection device of claim 1, wherein: the fluid impermeable barrier includes a bottom portion (1690A) defining an opening sized to receive at least a portion of a penis therethrough (aperture 1624), a top portion (1690B) opposite to the bottom portion (see figure 16a), a proximal end region (end with aperture 1624 and connecting to adhering members 1626A and B), a distal end region (end opposite proximal, seen with tubing 1630), and a proximal edge portion (fig. 16A, 1618B, where the edge portion is interpreted as the edge of the wall 1690A that forms a portion of the aperture) defining a proximal slot (narrow portion leading into the aperture), the fluid impermeable barrier defining the chamber between the top portion and the bottom portion of the fluid impermeable barrier (chamber 1638 formed between both walls); the fluid permeable body is positioned within the chamber (where figure 16A shows walls encompassing the defined permeable body, where para. 0188 places the defined permeable body within the chamber) and includes a distal portion positioned in or proximate to the distal end region of the fluid impermeable barrier (where the interpretation of the distal portion of the permeable body is consistent with the distal end of the walls), the proximal edge being positioned within the proximal slot such that the proximal edge interfaces the proximal edge portion of the fluid impermeable barrier (where the permeable barrier 1690E comprises a top edge (interpreted as a proximal edge portion of the impermeable barrier, is within the chamber formed by the wall and thus the proximal slot, and further where the penis received in the chamber is placed between the permeable layers); and the tube extends into the chamber and the inlet is positioned within the chamber proximate to the distal end region of the fluid impermeable barrier (figure 16a where the tube is seen extending into the defined chamber and where para. 0193, discloses that the seam in the collection device allows the tube to extend through into the device). An annotated figure highlighting the limitations mapped for claim 2 is provided below.
Regarding claim 3, Ecklund and Cheng teach the urine collection device of claim 2, wherein: the fluid impermeable barrier includes an additional edge portion (1618B) defining an additional slot (defining the right portion of the slot as seen in figure 16a) surrounding the opening such that the fluid impermeable barrier extends continuously from the bottom portion of the fluid impermeable barrier, through the opening, and at least partially into the chamber (figure 16a, where the barrier is seen to extend the length of the device); and the fluid permeable body includes an additional edge (proximal edge of the portion of the fluid permeable barrier 1690D) positioned within the additional slot such that the additional edge interfaces the additional edge portion of the fluid impermeable barrier and surrounds at least a portion of the opening (where said permeable barriers are within the chamber and interface with the opening as the permeable barrier edges are configured to receive the penis per para. 0188).
Regarding claim 4, Ecklund and Cheng teach the urine collection device of claim 2 wherein: the fluid impermeable barrier includes a first side edge portion defining a first side slot and a second side edge portion defining a second slot, each of the first side slot and the second side slot extending at least partially between the proximal edge portion and the distal end region of the chamber; and the two side edges of the fluid permeable body include a first side edge positioned within the first side slot such that the first side edge interfaces the first side edge portion and a second side edge positioned within the second side slot such that the second side edge interfaces the second side edge portion. See annotated figure below. The examiner notes that the bottom wall of the impermeable barrier (1690B) has corresponding side edge portions to the ones identified in the annotated figure, such that, when the top and bottom impermeable barrier portions are combined, the side edges and corresponding side edges form a completed barrier with a chamber inside. The areas at which the top and bottom are joined are interpreted as the side slots of the claimed limitation. Further, the permeable barrier has corresponding side edges which are interpreted to be interfaced within the impermeable barrier side edges and slots as the permeable layers form a space within the chamber formed by the impermeable barrier side edges. See also figure 16B.
Regarding claim 5, Ecklund and Cheng teach the urine collection device of claim 2, wherein the distal portion of fluid permeable body covers the inlet. The examiner notes that as seen in figure 16a, the distal portion of the permeable body (1690E and 1690D) overlays the inlet of tubing (1679). The examiner notes that per the rejection of claim 1, the tubing is attached to the layer (1694) and thus it is interpreted that the permeable membranes (Which cover layer 1694) further covers the inlet.
Regarding claim 8, Ecklund and Cheng teach the urine collection device of claim 1,wherein the fluid permeable body includes a fluid permeable porous fiber structure (para. 0190, where the permeable layer 1690D can be a natural or synthetic fiber layer with a moisture transfer channel through the layer [thus interpreted to be porous]) and an outer fluid permeable wicking material (Ecklund wicking layer 1690E, interpreted to be an outer layer since said layer forms at least an outer layer of the fluid permeable barrier [see second side per the annotated figure under the rejection of claim 14).
Regarding claim 14, Ecklund teaches a method of collecting urine, the method comprising: positioning a penis on a first side of a fluid permeable body in a chamber of a urine collection device (figure 16A-D,20, para. 0065). The examiner notes that per paragraph 0065, the embodiments described have an aperture through which a penis is inserted into. The aperture of figure 16A is [1624, per paragraph 0184] is part of the attachment member. The device itself further comprises an opening (1636) for providing access to the internal cavity (para. 0187). Therefore the penis is inserted through both aperture 1624 and opening 1636 in use. Per paragraph 0188, the device comprises permeable layer (1690D) and wicking layer (1690E), where, in construction the male member is placed on layer 1690D [para. 0188). Thus the penis is positioned on a first side of a fluid permeable body in a chamber formed by the barrier (joining of layers 1690A and 1690B). The first side is interpreted as the top side of 1690D.
Ecklund further teaches the fluid permeable body having a second side opposite to the first side (bottom side of 1690E), a proximal edge, and two side edges extending from the proximal edge towards a distal end region of the urine collection device (see annotated figure below, where the distal end of the permeable layers corresponds to the distal end of the device); drawing urine through the fluid permeable body to an inlet of a tube at the distal end region of the urine collection device (para. 0192 where urine is egressed through the device to outlet 1630, where outlet includes a tube (1679)), wherein substantially all of the second side, the proximal edge, and the two side edges of the fluid permeable body are covered and interfaced by a fluid impermeable barrier such that the urine is drawn only through the first side of the fluid permeable body positioned against the penis (para. 0188, figure 16A,16C, where the permeable area is surrounded by impermeable barriers 1690A,B); and drawing at least some of the urine through the inlet of the tube and out of the urine collection device (para. 0192).
As seen in construction, figure 16B and 16C, show that said walls form the exterior barrier of the device, and thus cover the entire permeable barrier. While the examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would determine that said walls are fluid impermeable, as they function as the exterior structure of the device and thus allowing fluid through said walls would cause the function of the device to fail, however, the examiner brings in Cheng to specifically teach this limitation.
Cheng teaches a urine collection device and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Cheng teaches that such devices known in the art comprise a wicking material for collecting fluid (wicking material 237, figure 3b), where the device further comprises an outermost layer that is impervious to fluid to prevent leaking (outer impervious layer (236), see para. 0114, see also para. 0028 where impervious layer surrounds the intake layer). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer walls of Ecklund to be fluid impervious to prevent leakage of fluid out of the device. Doing so would yield the predictable result of providing a urine collection device that would prevent leakage out of the outmost layer of the device.
.
Regarding claim 15, Ecklund and Cheng teach the method of claim 14, further comprising inserting a penis through an opening in a bottom portion of the fluid impermeable barrier. As detailed under the rejection of claim 14, the penis is inserted through aperture 1624. As seen in figure 16A said aperture is at the bottom of the device. Further, opening 1638 in figure 16C is also interpreted to be on the bottom of the device as this is the patient facing side.
Regarding claim 16, Ecklund and Cheng teach the method of claim 15, wherein inserting a penis through an opening in a bottom portion of the fluid impermeable barrier includes inserting the penis through the opening in the bottom portion of the fluid impermeable barrier, a portion of the fluid impermeable barrier covering an edge of the fluid permeable body at least partially surrounding the opening such that the penis is positioned between a top portion of the fluid impermeable barrier and the portion of the fluid impermeable barrier covering the edge of the fluid permeable body at least partially surrounding the opening. . As detailed under the rejection of claim 15, the penis is inserted through aperture 1624 of Ecklund . As seen in Ecklund figure 16A said aperture is at the bottom of the device. Further per the rejection of claim 14, the impermeable barrier is defined as Ecklund 1690A and 1690B which join to make the entire chamber. As such it is interpreted that at least a portion of the barrier covering the edge of the permeable body at least partially surrounds the opening such that the penis is positioned between a top portion of the fluid impermeable barrier (1690A) at least surround the opening, since the opening is located within the outer perimeter of the impermeable portion (1690B), and the top portion (1690A) combines with the bottom portion (1690B) to form the chamber for the penis and collection of urine. Thus the entire impermeable barrier perimeter surrounds the opening. As such the prior art reads to the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 18, Ecklund and Cheng teach the method of claim 14,wherein the fluid permeable body includes a fluid permeable porous fiber structure (para. 0190, where the permeable layer 1690D can be a natural or synthetic fiber layer with a moisture transfer channel through the layer [thus interpreted to be porous]) and an outer fluid permeable wicking material (Ecklund wicking layer 1690E, interpreted to be an outer layer since said layer forms at least an outer layer of the fluid permeable barrier [see second side per the annotated figure under the rejection of claim 14).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW WRUBLESKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781