CTFR 18/549,395 CTFR 84737 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED OFFICE ACTION This action is responsive to the communication received March 30 th , 2026. Claims 1, 13, 15, 24, 26, 30 have been amended. Claims 1-30 have been entered and are presented for examination. Application 18/549,395 is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/096018 05/26/2021. Response to Arguments Applicant argues, the references as applied do not disclose for the first plurality of received wireless signals, the second plurality of received wireless signals, or both, using the determined wireless channel to identify the respective RIS- reflected signal . However, Beixiong Zheng et al. discloses in Figure 1 signals bm and d are different would have to be known in order to use Equation 1 and further the choice of IRS reflection pattern has a significant impact on the MSE performance of channel estimation (Figure 1, Equation 1, page 4) . For the reasons above, the rejection of the claims is respectfully maintained. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-10, 12, 15-23, 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beixiong Zheng et al. - Intelligent Reflecting Surface-Enhanced OFDM: Channel Estimation and Reflection Optimization 04/2020 in view of Penna et al. (US 2023/0176174) . Regarding claims 1, 15, 26, 30, Beixiong Zheng et al. discloses a method of channel estimation using an Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS) (see Figure 1 and page 2, Section II [IRS used for channel estimation]) , the method comprising: obtaining first and second measurement information made by a receiving device of a respective first plurality of received wireless signals and second plurality of received wireless signals (see Figure 1 and page2, System Model [receiving device AP, user→AP direct link signals, IRS→AP link signals]) , wherein each of the first plurality of received wireless signals and second plurality of received wireless signals comprises (see Figure 1, b m , d) : a respective RIS- reflected signal that travels a first path from a transmitting device to the receiving device by reflecting off the RIS (see Figure 1, b m , d) , and at least one other wireless signal that travels a second path (see Figure 1, b m , d) ; wherein: the RIS implements a first weight to reflect the RIS-reflected signal of the first plurality of received wireless signals (page 2, Transmission Protocol [pre-designed IRS reflection state]) , and the RIS implements a second weight to reflect the RIS-reflected signal of the second plurality of received wireless signals (page 3, Channel Estimation [all reflection states, suggesting multiple pre-designed IRS reflection states]) ; and determining a wireless channel corresponding to each of the first path and the second path based at least in part on the first and second measurement information, the first weight, and the second weight (pages 2-3, Transmission Protocol [To resolve the superimposed CSI of G and d, each pilot symbol X(i) sent by the user is associated with a pre-designed IRS reflection state φ(i), both of which are known at the AP. Then, based on the (M + 1) consecutive pilot symbols and their pre-designed reflection states, i.e., {X(i), φ(i)}M i=0, the AP can estimate the CSI of G and d, with the details given in Section III-A]) ; and for the first plurality of received wireless signals, the second plurality of received wireless signals, or both, using the determined wireless channel to identify the respective RIS- reflected signal (Figure 1, Equation 1, page 4 [the choice of IRS reflection pattern has a significant impact on the MSE performance of channel estimation; based on IRS reflected pattern from the channel estimation]) . Beixiong Zheng et al. does not explicitly disclose channel estimation for positioning using an Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS). However, Penna et al. discloses performs positioning measurements per the IRS configuration. As examples, the positioning measurements can include AoA, ToA, RSRP, and channel estimation, or some combination of these (paragraph 0100) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the signals received can be used to determine the position of the UE. Regarding claims 2, 16, 27, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 15, 26, and Beixiong Zheng et al. further discloses wherein the determining is performed by the receiving device (see Figure 1, AP) . Regarding claim 3, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 1, and Beixiong Zheng et al. further discloses wherein the receiving device comprises a User Equipment (UE) or a Transmission Reception Point (TRP) (see Figure 1, AP) . Regarding claims 4, 17, 28, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 15, 26, and Beixiong Zheng et al. further discloses wherein the determining is performed by a separate device from the receiving device (see Figure 1, AP [AP performs calculations]) , wherein obtaining the first and second measurement information comprises receiving the first and second measurement information from the receiving device with the separate device (pages 2-3, Transmission Protocol [To resolve the superimposed CSI of G and d, each pilot symbol X(i) sent by the user is associated with a pre-designed IRS reflection state φ(i), both of which are known at the AP. Then, based on the (M + 1) consecutive pilot symbols and their pre-designed reflection states, i.e., {X(i), φ(i)}M i=0, the AP can estimate the CSI of G and d, with the details given in Section III-A]) . Regarding claims 5, 18, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 4, 17, and Beixiong Zheng et al. further discloses wherein the receiving device comprises a UE and the separate device comprises a serving TRP of the receiving device (see Figure 1 [AP and UE]) . Regarding claims 6, 29, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 4, 28, and Beixiong Zheng et al. further discloses wherein the separate device comprises the transmitting device (see Figure 1 [AP and UE]) . Regarding claim 7, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in 4, and Beixiong Zheng et al. further discloses configuring the RIS to implement the first weight to reflect the RIS-reflected signal of the first plurality of received wireless signals (page 2, Transmission Protocol [pre-designed IRS reflection state]) and implement the second weight to reflect the RIS-reflected signal of the second plurality of received wireless signals (page 3, Channel Estimation [all reflection states, suggesting multiple pre-designed IRS reflection states]) . Regarding claim 8, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 7. However, Penna et al. further discloses wherein configuring the RIS comprises indicating, to the RIS, a pattern by which the RIS is to implement the first weight and the second weight (paragraphs 0123-0126 [weights; IRS sweeps the phases Θ according to a pre-defined pattern]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the signals received can be used to determine the position of the UE. Regarding claim 9, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 8. However, Penna et al. further makes obvious indicating, to the receiving device, the pattern by which the RIS is to implement the first weight and the second weight (paragraph 0096 [The UE 110 can prepare based on indications in the signaling 540 to use the corresponding configuration of the IRS system 90 in order to take appropriate measurements.]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the AP could be the recipient of the configuration of the RIS in order to make appropriate measurements. Regarding claim 10, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 1. However, Penna et al. further discloses wherein the first weight is different from the second weight in amplitude, phase, or both (paragraphs 0123-0126 [weights; IRS sweeps the phases Θ according to a pre-defined pattern]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the signals received can be used to determine the position of the UE. Regarding claims 12, 23, the references as combined disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 15, but do not explicitly disclose obtaining third measurement information made by the receiving device of a respective third plurality of received wireless signals comprising: a respective RIS-reflected signal that travels a third path from the transmitting device to the receiving device by reflecting off a second RIS, and at least one other wireless signal that travels the second path; wherein the RIS implements a third weight to reflect the RIS-reflected signal of the third plurality of received wireless signals; and determining a wireless channel corresponding to the third path based at least in part on the third measurement information and the third weight. However, these features are obvious since limitations are merely a repetition of the steps in claim 1. It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the steps of claims 1 could be repeated for another RIS in the network. The motivation for this is to make the system scalable. Regarding claim 19, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 17, and Beixiong Zheng et al. further discloses wherein the network- connected device comprises the transmitting device (see Figure 1 [AP and UE]) . Regarding claim 20, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 15, and Beixiong Zheng et al. further discloses configuring the RIS to implement the first weight to reflect the RIS-reflected signal of the first plurality of received wireless signals (page 2, Transmission Protocol [pre-designed IRS reflection state]) and implement the second weight to reflect the RIS-reflected signal of the second plurality of received wireless signals (page 3, Channel Estimation [all reflection states, suggesting multiple pre-designed IRS reflection states]) . Regarding claim 21, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 20. However, Penna et al. further discloses when configuring the RIS, indicate to the RIS a pattern by whichthe RIS is to implement the first weight and the second weight (paragraphs 0123-0126 [weights; IRS sweeps the phases Θ according to a pre-defined pattern]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the signals received can be used to determine the position of the UE. Regarding claim 22, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 21. However, Penna et al. further makes obvious indicating, to the receiving device, the pattern by which the RIS is to implement the first weight and the second weight (paragraph 0096 [The UE 110 can prepare based on indications in the signaling 540 to use the corresponding configuration of the IRS system 90 in order to take appropriate measurements.]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the AP could be the recipient of the configuration of the RIS in order to make appropriate measurements . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beixiong Zheng et al. - Intelligent Reflecting Surface-Enhanced OFDM: Channel Estimation and Reflection Optimization 04/2020 in view of Penna et al. (US 2023/0176174) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Edge et al. (US 2019/0037529) . Regarding claim 11, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the first plurality of received wireless signals corresponds to a first transmitted Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) having a first identifier (ID) and the second plurality of received wireless signals corresponds to a second transmitted PRS having a second ID. However, Edge et al. suggests wherein the first plurality of received wireless signals corresponds to a first transmitted Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) having a first identifier (ID) and the second plurality of received wireless signals corresponds to a second transmitted PRS having a second ID (see Figure 4 and paragraph 0058 [PRS S1 and PRS S2 have different PRS IDs]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the PRS’s of the combination of the references as applied above could have differing IDs such that a receiver would be able to identify whether the PRSs are direct signals or reflected signals . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 13-14, 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not disclose or make obvious wherein the second path comprises a direct path from the transmitting device to the receiving device, and wherein the method further comprises, for the first plurality of received wireless signals, the second plurality of received wireless signals, or both: using the determined wireless channel to identify the respective RIS- reflected signal; determining a length of the first path based on a timing different between receiving the respective RIS-reflected signal and the respective at least one other wireless signal that travels the direct path; and determining a location of the RIS based at least in part on the determined a length of the first path, a location of the transmitting device, and a location of the receiving device . Claims 14, 25 are dependent on the claims above. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE whose telephone number is (571)270-3937. The examiner can normally be reached 4pm-11:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at (571)270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,395 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,395 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,395 Page 4 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,395 Page 5 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,395 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,395 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,395 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,395 Page 9 Art Unit: 2465