DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant files a response, amended claim 1 and 3, and added new claims 11 and 12 on 05/13/2026.
Response to Arguments
Arguments are primarily directed towards the distributed air flow by way of plurality of openings homogenous distributed on said coupling surface as amended in claim 1. The rejection below addresses the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “catching device” in claim 1 and discharging surface in claim 4.
Based on the disclosure, “catching device” is interpreted as a tool comprising a chucking chamber and openings [0033] and [0037] and its equivalents thereof.
Based on the disclosure, “discharging surface” is interpreted as a surface comprising a plurality of openings distributed on it [0095]-[0097] and its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piatkowski (PG-PUB 2006/0278322) in view of Casey (EP0416957) and Regan (US 8,960,745).
Regarding claim 1, Piatkowski teaches a process for forming a thermoplastic material for producing a finished article, the process comprising:
providing a mould comprising a first and a second half-mound, each one having a respective conformation surface (Figure 1 and [0024]-[0025]);
making a semi-finished product in said thermoplastic material, said semifinished
product being air permeable;
closing said mould with said semifinished product interposed between said
conformation surfaces for compressing said semifinished product between said
conformation surfaces [0027];
heating said first and second half-mould for heating said semi-finished
product [0023], [0027],
wherein, subsequently to said closing said mould and heating said first and
second half-mould, opening said mould (Figure 1 and [0025]).
Piatkowski does not teach:
with said semi-finished product coupled to said second half-mould,
contacting a free surface of said semi-finished product with a coupling surface of a
catching device;
generating an air flow which passes through said semi-finished product and through said coupling surface in a distributed way, said air flow being directed from said semi-finished product to said coupling surface, for constraining said semi-finished product to said catching device;
while keeping said air flow passing through semi-finished product and through said coupling surface in a distributed way by way of said plurality of openings homogenously distributed on said coupling surface, removing said semi-finished product from said mould by movement of said catching device;
interrupting said air flow for releasing said semi-finished product from
said catching device and obtaining said finished article; and
(2) air flow passes through said semi-finished product and through said coupling surface in a distributed way by way of a plurality of openings homogenously distributed on said coupling surface.
As to (1), Casey teaches a molding apparatus comprising a first and second half-moulds (Figures 4 and 6) and a catching device for removing objects from the half-moulds and transporting the objects without deforming them (Figures 6 and 7), wherein the objects are molded porous (Col 1, ln 1-46). Casey teaches the catching device includes comprises a lower portion 9 which substantially corresponds in shape to the interior of the mould tool 21 and thus to the part to be moulded (Col 3, ln 12-46). Casey teaches when it is desired to remove the part from the mold the gripper device is fitted over the top part of the part 1 as described above, vacuum is applied to vacuum chambers 10, and simultaneously compressed air is fed, through apertures 12, to the interior of the mould, preferably at a location adjacent the joint between the part 1 and the upper surface of the lower mould tool 22, to assist in separating the part 1 from the tool (Col 4, ln 2-34 and Col 5, ln 5-21).
Casey teaches one or more vacuum inlet pipes 11 are fitted to the top surface of the moulding 8 and lead into the vacuum chamber(s) 10, and a plurality pipes are connected to apertures 12 around the lower peripheral edge of the moulding 8 and these pipes are connected to a central manifold to which is supplied compressed air (Figures 5-7 and Col 3, ln 12-45). Casey teaches the catching device includes vacuum inlet pipes (Figures 5 and 6), wherein a number of these pipes may be provided and further pipe branches may be added to each of the vacuum in lets to apply vacuum to areas within the vacuum chamber where vacuum force might otherwise be insufficient (Col 4, ln 2-34). Casey teaches a high volume low pressure fan is used as a vacuum source to give a vacuum of 20 mbar at a flow rate of 1500 m3/hr for an object with 0.2 square meters (Col 4, ln 39-56).
Piatkowski and Casey are both drawn to compression molding. Piatkowski is silent to the particular technique used for removing the molded article, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look elsewhere in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Piatkowski with catching device of Casey, for the benefit or removing the manufactured article without deforming the object.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the said coupling surface of the catching device of Piatkowski in view of Casey such that said coupling surface of the catching device has a conformation corresponding to a conformation of said conformation surface of the first half-mould for the benefit of allowing the catching device to grasp and remove the object without substantially deforming the object, as taught by Casey.
As to (2), Regan teaches a vacuum tool comprising a vacuum generator 102, vacuum distributor 110, distribution cavity 140, and vacuum plate 150 for dispersing vacuum force across a substantial part of the article being lifted, especially in articles that are at least semi-flexible (Figure 1, 5, 17-18, and Col 3, ln 41-Col 4, ln 59). Regan teaches rather than focusing a suction effect on a limited surface area of a flexible part, which may result in bending or creasing of the part once support underneath of the part is removed (e.g., when the part is lifted), dispersing the suction effect across a greater area may inhibit an undesired bending or creasing of the part (Col 3, ln 41-60). Regan teaches a concentrated vacuum (non-dispersed vacuum force) may damage apart once a sufficient vacuum is applied (Col 3, ln 41-60).Regan teaches the plate is coupled, either permanently or temporarily, to the vacuum distributor and comprises various aperture size, shapes, and shaping depending on the material to be manipulated (e.g., porous materials, large materials, light materials) (Figures 5-18 and Col 6, ln 5-21). Regan teaches the plate can include a plurality of apertures homogenously distributed (Figure 5- 18 and Col 9, ln 20-Col 11, ln 30; 10, ln Col 12, ln 11-Col 12, ln 50). Regan teaches a large porous mesh material may require a significant amount of vacuum force to maintain the material against the vacuum tool under normal operating conditions; therefore, to limit the amount of energy placed into the system (e.g., amount of pressurized air to operate a coanda effect vacuum pump, electricity to operate a mechanical vacuum pump) an optimization of the apertures
may be implemented (Col 8, ln 20-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Piatkowski in view of Casey with a vacuum plate comprising a plurality of apertures of Regan for the benefit of dispersing a vacuum force against the article of Piatkowski, thereby preventing undesired bending, creasing, or deformation as taught by Regan.
Regarding claim 2, Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said free surface of said semi-finished product comprises an upper surface of said semifinished product, and wherein said coupling surface of the catching device has a conformation corresponding to a conformation of said conformation surface of the first half-mould, such that the conformation surface of the first half-mould is identical to the coupling surface of the catching device (Casey, Figure 3A-3D and 4 and Col 3, ln 12-46).
Regarding claim 3, Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said air flow has a flow rate per surface extension unit of said coupling surface of 1500 m3/hr with 0.2 square meters surface (Casey, Col 4, ln 39-56), wherein said generating said air flow starts only subsequently to said contacting said free surface of the semi-finished product with said coupling surface of the catching device, wherein said contacting comprises moving said catching device to a first position close to said second half-mould (Casey, Figures 5-7 and Col 3, ln 12-45), and wherein said process comprises moving said catching device from said first position to a second position far from said second half-mould and close to a discharging surface (Casey, Col 2, ln 48-Col 3 ln 45).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Alternatively, assuming arguendo, Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan does not teach said air flow has a flow rate per surface extension unit of said coupling surf ace greater than or equal to 1500 m3/h*m2 and/or less than or equal to 3000 m3/h*m2, Regan teaches rather than focusing a suction effect on a limited surface area of a flexible part, which may result in bending or creasing of the part once support underneath of the part is removed (e.g., when the part is lifted), dispersing the suction effect across a greater area may inhibit an undesired bending or creasing of the part (Col 3, ln 41-60). Regan teaches a concentrated vacuum (non-dispersed vacuum force) may damage apart once a sufficient vacuum is applied (Col 3, ln 41-60).Regan teaches the plate is coupled, either permanently or temporarily, to the vacuum distributor and comprises various aperture size, shapes, and shaping depending on the material to be manipulated (e.g., porous materials, large materials, light materials) (Figures 5-18 and Col 6, ln 5-21). Regan teaches a large porous mesh material may require a significant amount of vacuum force to maintain the material against the vacuum tool under normal operating conditions; therefore, to limit the amount of energy placed into the system, an optimization of the apertures may be implemented (Col 8, ln 20-40).
Based on the teachings of Regan, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been recognized the vacuum force applied to a porous or semi-permeable article is a known result effective variable that influences the structure of the article. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of vacuum suction applied, as suggested by Regan, in order to apply sufficient suction force to engage and transport the article while avoiding applying excessive suction force that would bend or deform the article. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one o ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the suction force applied in the process of Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan and, in doing so, would have applied an air flow having a flow rate per surface extension unit of said coupling surface greater than or equal to 1500 m3/h*m2 and/or less than or equal to 3000 m3/h*m2.
Regarding claim 6, Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan teaches the process as applied to claim 1, comprising:
with said mold closed, admitting a heating fluid between said conformation surfaces, said semi-finished product being permeable to said heating fluid (Piatkowski, [0027]);
evacuating said heating fluid from said mold previously to said opening the mold (Piatkowski, [0029]-[0030]),
wherein the heating fluid is saturated steam (Piatkowski, [0027]) and would therefore be admitted at a temperature greater than or equal to 100°C,
wherein said heating said first and second half-mould is carried out before said closing said mould and at a temperature greater than or equal to 130°C and/or less than or equal to 250°C (Piatkowski, [0023], [0029], [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 11, Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein each of said openings has a section less than or equal to 20 mm2 (apertures with diameters of 0.5 mm to 5 mm would have an area of 0.19 mm2
to 5 mm2) (Regan, Col 8, ln 4-44).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 12, Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein an average distance between said openings is between 1 mm and 9 mm (Regan, Col 8, ln 8-44 and Col 9, ln 20-43).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piatkowski (PG-PUB 2006/0278322) in view of Casey (EP0416957) and Regan (US 8,960,745), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Piana (US 11,186,063).
Regarding claim 7, Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein said product comprises a thermoplastic binder and fiber materials (Piatkowski, [0012]). Piatkowski discusses structural members comprising thermoplastic binders and a non-woven sheet [0003].
Piatkowski in view of Casey and Regan does not teach said thermoplastic material is selected in the group: polyester, polyurethane, polyethylene, polypropylene and polyamide, wherein said semi-finished product comprises a vertically-lapped non-woven fabric, and wherein said semi-finished product comprises a fibers sheet having a plurality of laps oriented so that each lap develops from the conformation surface of the first half-mould to the conformation surface of the second half-mould.
Piana teaches a nonwoven material, which is vertically lapped in its entirety or which includes one or more lapped regions which include vertically lapped fibers (Abstract). Piana teaches vertically lapped nonwovens are lighter in weight than conventional nonwovens and are very flexible and easier to mold than conventional nonwovens (Col 3, ln 25-40). Piana teaches vertically lapped nonwovens are light weight, porous and highly air permeable. Piana teaches the vertically-lapped material can be laminated or molded (Col 4, ln 42-64). Piana teaches the vertically lapped nonwoven comprises 10 to 50 wt. % bi-component elastomeric polyester binder fiber with melting point below 200° C (Col 4, ln 36-41). Piana teaches a single layer embodiment or a multilayered embodiment (Col 4, ln 30-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Piatkowski with the single-layered, vertically-lapped nonwoven fabric of Piana, a known suitable porous non-woven structural member suitable for molding as taught by Piana, to yield the predictable result of providing a steam-permeable structural member as desired by Piatkowski.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are allowed for reasons previously discussed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745