DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 03/17/2025 09/07/2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure:
The language should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: Line 1 “Certain aspects of the present disclosure”, line 2 “For example,” need to be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tooher (US 20190074953 A1).
Claim 1. Tooher teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) ([0106]), comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the one or more processors (Fig. 1B) configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the transceiver, an indication from a network entity configuring the UE with a number of one or more channel state information (CSI) processing units (CPUs) ([0107] [0117] [0128]) allowed to be occupied for UE-initiated CSI feedback ([0106] [0114] [0131-0132]); and transmit, via the transceiver, at least one report including the UE-initiated CSI feedback if one or more conditions are met ([0131]).
Claim 2. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the UE-initiated CSI feedback is based on at least one of CSI reference signals (CSI-RS) or demodulation reference signals (DMRS); and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive, via the transceiver, signaling from the network entity indicating whether the UE-initiated CSI feedback is to be based on CSI-RS, DMRS, or both ([0109] [0112]).
Claim 3. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: use at least one of the CPUs to calculate UE-initiated CSI feedback; and release the at least one CPU after a last symbol of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) carrying the UE-initiated CSI feedback (Examiner note: once a CSI has been generated and transmitted, the corresponding CSI process is completed, terminated, unused and hence no longer used, released).
Claim 4. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more conditions comprises a mismatch being equal to or exceeding a threshold value, wherein the mismatch is between a CSI metric for a scheduled physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a CSI metric calculated as part of the UE-initiated CSI feedback ([0132] a trigger may be a measurement threshold. For example, a trigger may occur when one or more measurements (e.g. RI, CQI, and/or interference) obtained from resources configured by a CSI Process may rise above, and/or fall below a threshold value. FIG. 6 is an example of event triggered CSI feedback, where the event may be a difference between a current measurement and a previously reported measurement being greater than a threshold).
Claim 5. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: use at least one of the CPUs to calculate UE-initiated CSI feedback; and release the at least one CPU without reporting the calculated UE-initiated CSI feedback if the mismatch is less than the threshold value ([0132]) (Examiner note: CSI is not transmitted, the corresponding CSI process is completed, terminated, unused and hence no longer used, released).
Claim 6. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive, via the transceiver, signaling from the network entity indicating the UE can release CPUs used in calculating the UE-initiated CSI feedback if the mismatch is less than the threshold value ([0132]) (Examiner note: CSI is not transmitted, the corresponding CSI process is completed, terminated, unused and hence no longer used, released).
Claim 7. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive, via the transceiver, signaling from the network entity indicating at least one of: the threshold value or a type of CSI metric ([0120] [0130]).
Claim 8. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the CSI metric for the scheduled PDSCH comprises at least one a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) or rank ([0119]).
Claim 9. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: use at least one of the CPUs to calculate UE-initiated CSI feedback; and release the at least one CPU based on a determined time ([0126] [0136]).
Claim 10. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the determined time comprises a number of symbols after the UE starts to use the CPUs to calculate UE-initiated CSI feedback ([0125]).
Claim 11. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the number of symbols is specified or preconfigured, or the number of symbols varies based on a capability of the UE, or both ([0125]).
Claim 12. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to report, to the network entity, a maximum number of CPUs for the UE to use for calculating UE-initiated CSI, wherein the number of CPUs configured by the network entity is less than or equal to the maximum number of CPUs reported by the UE ([0107] [0117] [0128]) ([0106] [0114] [0131-0132]).
Claim 13. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to report, to the network entity, a minimum number of CPUs for the UE to use for network initiated CSI calculation, wherein the number of CPUs configured by the network entity is greater than or equal to the minimum number of CPUs reported by the UE ([0107] [0117] [0128]) ([0106] [0114] [0131-0132]).
Claim 14. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive, via the transceiver, signaling from the network entity configuring or triggering the UE to use one of the CPUs configured for UE-initiated CSI feedback for network initiated CSI feedback ([0107] [0117] [0128]) ([0106] [0114] [0131-0132]).
Claim 15. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the number of one or more CPUs allowed to be occupied is determined based on at least one of: a number of CSI-RS resources, a number of port groups, each port group corresponding to a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a number of CSI hypothesis, or a number of TCI states configured to a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports ([0112]).
Claim 16 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 1; with the addition of being written in the view point of a network entity (e.g., see Fig. 3 the base stations that the UEs are communicating with).
Claim 17 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 2.
Claim 18. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to: receive at least one UE-initiated CSI feedback and determine that one or more conditions are met upon receiving the at least one UE-initiated CSI feedback, wherein at least one of the one or more conditions comprises a mismatch between a CSI metric for a scheduled physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a CSI metric calculated as part of the UE-initiated CSI feedback being equal to or exceeding a threshold value ([0120] [0130]); transmit signaling indicating the UE can release CPUs used in calculating the UE-initiated CSI feedback if the mismatch between the CSI metric for the scheduled PDSCH and the CSI metric calculated as part of the UE-initiated CSI feedback is less than the threshold value; determine that the one or more conditions are not met when not receiving the calculated UE-initiated CSI feedback, if the mismatch between the CSI metric for the scheduled PDSCH and the CSI metric calculated as part of the UE-initiated CSI feedback is less than the threshold value; and transmit signaling for the UE indicating at least one of: the threshold value or a type of CSI metric ([0120] [0130]) ([0132] a trigger may be a measurement threshold. For example, a trigger may occur when one or more measurements (e.g. RI, CQI, and/or interference) obtained from resources configured by a CSI Process may rise above, and/or fall below a threshold value. FIG. 6 is an example of event triggered CSI feedback, where the event may be a difference between a current measurement and a previously reported measurement being greater than a threshold).
Claim 19 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 8.
Claim 20. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein CPUs used in calculating the UE-initiated CSI feedback are released based on a determined time comprising a number of symbols after the UE starts to use the CPUs to calculate UE-initiated CSI feedback, wherein the number of symbols includes at least one of the following properties: the number of symbols is specified or preconfigured, or the number of symbols varies based on a capability of the UE ([0125]).
Claim 21. Tooher teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to: receive a maximum number of CPUs for the UE to use for calculating UE-initiated CSI; configure the UE with a number of CPUs for the UE to use for calculating UE-initiated CSI that is less than or equal to the maximum number of CPUs reported by the UE; receive a minimum number of CPUs for the UE to use for network initiated CSI calculation; and configure the UE with a number of CPUs for the UE to use for calculating UE-initiated CSI that is greater than or equal to the minimum number of CPUs reported by the UE ([0107] [0117] [0128]) ([0106] [0114] [0131-0132]).
Claim 22 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 14.
Claim 23 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 15.
Claim 24 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 1.
Claim 25 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 2.
Claim 26 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 3.
Claim 27 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 4.
Claim 28 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 5.
Claim 29 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 6.
Claim 30 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 1; with the addition of being written in the view point of a network entity (e.g., see Fig. 3 the base stations that the UEs are communicating with).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and Claims:
WEI (US 20220321189 A1)
Abstract: A user equipment (UE) may report capabilities pertaining to UE feedback processing, such as a number of simultaneous feedback reports that can be processed and reported by the UE for various types of feedback. UE feedback processing capability may depend on channel state information (CSI) processing units (CPUs) available to the UE for feedback processing operations (for performing channel measurements, processing feedback, generating a feedback report, etc.). A UE may report feedback processing capability separately for periodic feedback reporting and for aperiodic feedback reporting, for different types of feedback reporting (for CSI reporting, for beam management reporting, etc.), etc. As such, a UE may more efficiently report capabilities pertaining to UE feedback processing, and a base station may more efficiently configure UE feedback reporting according to UE feedback processing capability.
Onggosanusi (US 20210022026 A1)
[0125] illustrated in diagram 500 of FIG. 5 wherein a UE is configured for measuring/receiving aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) and reporting aperiodic CSI (AP CSI), a DL multi-beam operation starts with the gNB/NW signaling to a UE an aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) trigger or indication (step 501). This trigger or indication can be included in a DCI (either UL-related or DL-related, either separately or jointly signaled with an aperiodic CSI request/trigger) and indicate transmission of AP-CSI-RS in a same (zero time offset) or later slot/sub-frame (>0 time offset). Upon receiving the AP-CSI-RS transmitted by the gNB/NW (step 502), the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS and, in turn, calculates and reports a “beam metric” (included in the CSI, indicating quality of a particular TX beam hypothesis) (step 503). Examples of such beam reporting (supported in Rel.15/16 NR) are CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or SSB resource indicator (SSB-RI) coupled with its associated L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR. Upon receiving the beam report from the UE, the NW/gNB can use the beam report to select a DL TX beam for the UE and indicate the DL TX beam selection (step 504) using the TCI field in the DL-related DCI (that carries the DL assignment, such as DCI format 1_1 in NR). The TCI state corresponds to a reference RS (in this case, an AP-CSI-RS) defined/configured via the TCI state definition (higher-layer/RRC configured, from which a subset is activated via MAC CE for the DCI-based selection). Upon successfully decoding the DL-related DCI with the TCI field, the UE performs DL reception (such as data transmission on PDSCH) with the DL TX beam associated with the TCI field (step 505). In this example embodiment, only one DL TX beam is indicated to the UE.
[0126], the term “Resource Indicator”, also abbreviated as REI, is used to refer to an indicator of RS resource used for signal/channel and/or interference measurement. This term is used for illustrative purposes and hence can be substituted with any other term that refers to the same function. Examples of REI include the aforementioned CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) and SSB resource indicator (SSB-RI). Any other RS can also be used for signal/channel and/or interference measurement such as DMRS.
[0130] - [0131]
[0134] The core features pertaining to UE-initiated/triggered reporting are steps 602 (along with 603) and 606 in flowchart 600. In 602 and 603, UE-k initiates the beam reporting instead of waiting for the gNB/NW to request the report. Step 606 is basically the recurrence of 602 wherein UE-k keeps monitoring and measuring the pertinent measurement RS. Whether or not the UE can initiate/trigger AP beam/CSI reporting can solely be up to the UE, or it can also be configured/indicated by the gNB/NW (e.g. via higher layer or dynamic MAC CE or/and DCI signaling). Or, optionally, it is based on the K.sub.k value. For instance, if K.sub.k>t, a certain threshold, then the UE can initiate/trigger beam/CSI reporting.
[0139]
[0145] Optionally, the NW/gNB can signal the set of reserved resources dynamically via L1 and/or L2 DL control (PDCCH and/or MAC CE). These resources will be used for transmitting the AP beam/CSI report. In addition, UE-k is also configured with at least one measurement RS resource such as CSI-RS (NZP and/or ZP CSI-RS), SSB, or other RS types such as SRS (e.g. if beam correspondence holds). The measurement RSs are utilized to measure channel and/or beam quality such as CSI and/or beam metric. In addition, any of the measurement RSs can serve as a reference RS for beam indication (e.g. representing a TCI state). The beam metric can represent link quality associated with data (PDSCH) and/or dedicated control (PDCCH). Examples of such metric include L1-RSRP, L1-SINR, CQI, or hypothetical BLER, possibly accompanied with at least one measurement RS resource index/indicator.
[0146] - [0148] [0151]- [0154]
Tooher (US 20190074953 A1)
[0005] A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may comprise a memory, a processor, and/or a transceiver. The processor may be configured with one or more Channel State Information (CSI) Processes. The processor may be configured with one or more feedback resources. The processor may be configured to determine at least one of: a ranking of the one or more CSI Processes, and/or an occurrence of a condition of use of at least one of the one or more feedback resources. The processor may be configured to map a number of the one or more CSI Processes to the at least one of the one or more feedback resources based on at least one of: the ranking of the one or more CSI Processes, and/or the occurrence of the condition of use of the at least one of the one or more feedback resources. The processor may be configured to initiate a feedback report of at least one of the one or more CSI Processes. The transceiver may be configured to send the feedback report of the at least one CSI Process of the one or more CSI Processes using a mapped feedback resource of the one or more feedback resources.
[0062] [0064]- [0067]
[0070] In WTRU-centric transmission, a (e.g. one or more, or each) WTRU may be served by a set of transmission and/or reception points where the set may be WTRU-specific. A transmission point set may be adapted dynamically without requiring (e.g. some amount and/or a large amount of) reconfiguration signaling. Stated somewhat differently, the techniques described herein may provide for an (e.g. optimal) set of transmission points per WTRU to be adapted dynamically and/or maintained without requiring what may be perhaps large amounts of configuration and/or reconfiguration signaling. The described techniques may provide for an elimination and/or reduction in configuration and/or reconfiguration reference signals (e.g. for measurement reporting and/or for demodulation). The described techniques may provide for an elimination and/or reduction in reconfiguring of CSI reporting, for example to support multiple transmission hypotheses.
[0106]- [0116]
[0117] A feedback resource may have a condition of use. A WTRU may determine from one or more conditions of use for one or more feedback resources the appropriate CSI Process measurements to report using one or more feedback resources. For example, a WTRU may be configured with one or more, or two CSI Processes and/or a single feedback resource. The feedback resource may have a condition that the WTRU may report measurements for the CSI Process with highest CQI. A WTRU may provide a CSI Process ID in the feedback report. For example, a new (e.g., fresh and/or previously unused) flag may be provided, e.g., when reporting a reporting type (e.g. RI). An eNB may know from the presence of the new flag that the report includes a CSI Process ID, the reporting type (e.g. RI) and/or other specified content associated with a new flag. A report may provide an indication about which condition(s) was/were met for the CSI Process to have been chosen for a feedback resource. FIG. 5 is an example of a WTRU configured with a (e.g. single) set of feedback resources for a subset of CSI Processes. The WTRU may select the appropriate CSI Process' feedback reports for one or more, or each, feedback instance, perhaps for example based on one or more measurement criteria.
[0118]- [0138]
TSAI (US 20190222282 A1)
([0033] [0054] [0083)
/H.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465