DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 12/04/2025.
Claims 1-7 and 18-30 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 18-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 18 and25 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 16 recites “at least one of multicast PDSCH or broadcast PDSCH, or PDSCH common to UEs” having multiple “or” limitations, suggests to amend first phrase “or” with semicolon “;” for clarity purpose. Similar issue exists in claims 18 and 25.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 18-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo et al. (US 2020/0106566 A1) in view of Gao et al. (US 2022/0271873 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yeo teaches a method for generating semi-static Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) codebook (HARQ ACK codebook see Yeo: ¶[0102-0103]), comprising determining at least one of a set of occasions for candidate Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) receptions or a bit length of an HARQ Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook based on first configuration information (unicast PDSCH (table 3) and multicast PDSCH table (table 4) see Yeo: ¶[0114-0116]),
wherein the first configuration information comprises one or more of a first time domain resource allocation table, a second time domain resource allocation table, a first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1, or a second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 (Pseudo-code 1.2 the candidate PDSCH reception are determine each element K set according to union of the PDSCH table; unicast PDSCH (table 3) and multicast PDSCH table (table 4); and where index of slot timing value K1,k in set K1for serving cell c see Yeo: ¶[0114-0116]; Tables 3-4),
wherein the HARQ feedback timing value k1is a positive integer (K1 values be between 1-8 see Yeo: ¶0103]);
wherein the first time domain resource allocation table is a time domain resource allocation table for unicast PDSCH or User Equipment (UE)-specific PDSCH (first time domain table (see table3) for unicast PDSCH see Yeo: ¶[0098]; ¶[0115]; Table 3);
the second time domain resource allocation table is a time domain resource allocation table for at least one of multicast PDSCH or broadcast PDSCH, or PDSCH common to UEs (second time domain table (see Table 4) for multicast PDSCH see Yeo: ¶[0099]; ¶[0115]; Table 4);
the first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 is the set of HARQ feedback timing values associated with unicast PDSCH, the UE-specific PDSCH, UE-specific Downlink Control Information (DCI), or DCI for scheduling the unicast PDSCH (K1 information, which is timing information relating to timing at which the HARQ-ACK is transmitted, may be transmitted in DCI, a candidate set including possible K1 values may be transmitted by higher layer signaling, and a single value in the candidate set may be determined through the DCI see Yeo: ¶[0101]; ¶[0115]; ¶[0103]); and
the second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 is the set of HARQ feedback timing values associated with at least one of the multicast PDSCH or broadcast PDSCH, the PDSCH common to the UEs, DCI common to the UEs, or DCI for scheduling the multicast PDSCH and/or broadcast PDSCH (The K1 candidate values corresponding to information on timing of HARQ-ACK feedback on the PDSCH may be determined, as default values, to be {1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8}, and the set of the K1 candidate values may be configured by the base station or a transmitting end through higher layer signaling. The set of K1 candidate values may be configured to be {2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16}, and one value in the set may be indicated by DCI see Yeo: ¶[0101]; ¶[0115]; ¶[0103]).
Yeo does not explicitly teaches wherein the first configuration information comprises: at least one of a first domain resource allocation table and a first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1, at least a second time domain resource allocation table and a second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1.
However, Gao teaches the wherein the first configuration information comprises: at least one of a first domain resource allocation table and a first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1, at least a second time domain resource allocation table and a second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 (different DCI formats 1_0 and 1_1, each DCI format having K1 can set between 1-8 and for a type 1 HARQ codebook, the proposed solution includes of allowing J>1 PDSCHs in a slot with overlapping time domain resource allocations and allocating J times of HARQ codebook entries for each K1 comparing to NR Rel-15 HARQ codebook see Gao: ¶[0078]; ¶[0107]; Table 4; ¶[0068]) in order to enable for multiple downlink semi-persistent scheduling configured for a UE with possibly overlapping timing domain resource allocations (Gao: ¶[0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Yeo to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein the first configuration information comprises: at least one of a first domain resource allocation table and a first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1, at least a second time domain resource allocation table and a second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 as taught by Gao in order to enable for multiple downlink semi-persistent scheduling configured for a UE with possibly overlapping timing domain resource allocations (Gao: ¶[0105]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Yeo taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Yeo further teaches wherein the UE-specific PDSCH is a PDSCH scheduled by DCI where Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) is scrambled with a UE-specific Radio Network Temporary Identity (RNTI), the UE-specific DCI is DCI where the CRC is scrambled with the UE-specific RNTI, the PDSCH common to the UEs is a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI where the CRC is scrambled with a common RNTI to UEs, and the DCI common to the UEs is DCI where the CRC is scrambled with the common RNTI to UEs (RNTI; CRC and schedule information related to G-RNTI “For example, when the terminal decodes DCI, the terminal checks a CRC by scrambling or descrambling an RNTI to the CRC” see Yeo: ¶[0091]; ¶[0118]; ¶[0150-0151]; ¶[0181]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Yeo taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Yeo further teaches wherein the determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration information comprises one of:
a first mode in which, in the case that the first time domain resource allocation table and the second time domain resource allocation table are activated or available, determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the union of row indexes of the first time domain resource allocation table and the second time domain resource allocation table, or in the case that a specific K1 is included in both the first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 and the second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1, determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the union of row indexes of the first time domain resource allocation table and the second time domain resource allocation table (Unicast Table 3 and multicast Table 4 corresponding to Row indexes and HARQ feedback timing value K; and the collected HARQ-ACK feedback bits may be called together with a HARQ-ACK codebook see Yeo: ¶[0099-0102]; ¶[0115});
a second mode in which, in the case that the first time domain resource allocation table and the second time domain resource allocation table are activated or available, determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the union of row indexes of a time domain resource allocation table, where the time domain resource allocation table is the first time-domain resource allocation table or the second time-domain resource allocation table which is determined by the type of the received PDSCH or the type of the DCI for scheduling the PDSCH, or in the case that the specific K1 is included in both the first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 and the second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1, determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the union of row indexes of a time domain resource allocation table, where the time domain resource allocation table is the first time- domain resource allocation table or the second time-domain resource allocation table which is determined by the type of the received PDSCH or the type of the DCI for scheduling the PDSCH; or
a third mode in which, in the case that only one of the first time domain resource allocation table and the second time domain resource allocation table is activated or available, determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the union of row indexes of the activated or available time domain resource allocation table, or in the case that the specific K1 is only included in the first set of HARQ feedback timing values K1 or the second set of HARQ feedback timing values K1, determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the union of row indexes of the first time domain resource allocation table or the second time domain resource allocation table associated with the specific K1.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Yeo taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Yeo further teaches wherein the determining the bit length of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the first configuration information comprises determining the bit length of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on a maximum value of first element quantity and second element quantity, the first element quantity is the quantity of elements in the first set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions determined based on the first time domain resource allocation table, and the second element quantity is the quantity of elements in the second set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions determined based on the second time domain resource allocation table (A terminal may determine the number of HARQ-ACK bits by using the union of a unicast PDSCH mapping allocation table and a multicast PDSCH mapping allocation table and “The base station may receive the HARQ-ACK feedbacks, generate parity CBs, based on the maximum number of CBs having failed to be decoded, and then transmit the generated parity CBs” See Yeo: ¶[0099]; ¶[0212]; ¶[0082]; ¶[0105]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Yeo taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Yeo further teaches wherein subsequent to the determining the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration information, the method further comprises determining the bit length of the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the quantity of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions in the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions (the number of HARQ-bits the size of the HARQ ACK codebook based on set of determine set of candidate PDSCH receptions see Yeo: ¶[0105]).
Regarding claim 6, Yeo taught the method according to claim 3 as described hereinabove. Yeo further comprising determining HARQ-ACK information bits based on at least one of a decoding result of the PDSCH at each occasion for candidate PDSCH reception in the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions or a length of the HARQ-ACK codebook (feedback information include a result of decoding of data corresponding to transmission see Yeo: ¶[0224]; ¶[0059]; ¶[0065]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Yeo taught the method according to claim 6 as described hereinabove. Yeo further teaches wherein the determining the HARQ-ACK information bits based on at least one of the decoding result of the PDSCH at each occasion for candidate PDSCH reception in the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions or the length of the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises:
in the case that the quantity of elements in the determined set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions is smaller than the maximum value of the first element quantity and the second element quantity, determining the corresponding HARQ-ACK information bits based on the decoding result of the PDSCH at each occasion for candidate PDSCH reception in the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions, and adding Negative ACK (NACK) bits until a bit length is equal to the bit length of the HARQ-ACK codebook (NACK feedback of notify of decoding failure and determine the number of HARQ-ACK bit by union of a unicast and multicast PDSCH mapping allocation “When HARQ-ACK feedback having 1 bit is transferred, if the value of HARQ-ACK is 0 (i.e., NACK), mcs is determined to be 0, and if the value of HARQ-ACK is 1 (i.e., ACK), mcs is determined to be 6. When HARQ-ACK feedback having 2 bits is transferred” see Yeo: ¶[0094]; ¶[0096-0097]); or
in the case that the quantity of elements in the determined set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions is equal to the maximum value of the first element quantity and the second element quantity, determining the corresponding HARQ-ACK information bits based on the decoding result of the PDSCH at each occasion for candidate PDSCH reception in the set of occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions.
Regarding claims 18-24, they are rejected for the same reason as the method of claims 1-7 as set forth hereinabove. Claims 18-24, they recites a user equipment that performs the same functionalities as the method of claims 1-7 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claims 25-30, they are rejected for the same reason as the method of claims 1-7 as set forth hereinabove. Claims 25-30, they recites a network side device that performs the same functionalities as the method of claims 1-7 as described hereinabove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
March 19, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478