CTNF 18/549,472 CTNF 100279 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 03/24/2026 has been entered. Response to Amendment The following is an office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 03/24/2026 for response of the final office action mailed on 01/22/2026. Independent Claims 1, 10, 16, and 25 are amended. Claims 2, 11, 17, 26 are previously canceled and Claims 31-34 are newly canceled. Claims 35-38 are newly added. Claims 1, 3-10, 12-16, 18-25, 27-30 and 35-38 are pending in the application. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claims 1, 10, 16, and 25 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 35-38 are objected to because of the following informalities: In Claims 35-38 (line 1 respectively), “the reference signal resource index” should read - -the new reference signal resource index - - -. The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not). Accordingly, on page 13 misnumbered Claim 36, dependent on Claim 16 should read/be renumbered as Claim 37 and misnumbered Claim 37, dependent on Claim 25, should read/be renumbered as Claim 38 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-10, 12-16, 18-25, 27-30 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YI et al. (US 20200350972 A1), hereinafter YI, in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20210235386 A1), hereinafter ZHANG and further in view of WU et al. (US 20230084780 A1), hereinafter WU . Regarding Claim 1, YI teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (FIG. 3; disclosed throughout, wireless device 110/UE), comprising: one or more memories ( FIG. 3, non-transitory memory 315); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (YI, FIG. 3, at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315), configured to: transmit, to a base station (YI, FIG. 3, base station 120), a beam failure recovery request (BFR) based at least in part on a beam failure between a transmit-receive point (TRP) of the base station (YI, FIG. 22-23, first TRP or second TRP; FIG. 28, TRP1 and TRP2 of base station) and a panel of the UE ( YI, Abstract; FIG. 22; FIG. 23, sending a BFR request via TRP1 “based at least in part” on TRP2 failure; see ¶0402, wireless device/UE detects beam failure on TRP2 . . . the wireless device may trigger /transmit a beam recovery request for the second TRP via an uplink resource of the first TRP; [and] FIG. 28, ¶0427, illustrates UE having more than one panel to support more than one TRP (e.g. TRP1 operates with a first panel and TRP2 operates with a second panel); receive, from the base station, a beam failure recovery response based at least in part on the beam failure recovery request (YI, ¶0402-0404 after failure on TRP2, UE sends BFR via TRP1; TRPs update TCI (Transmission Configuration Information) and beam recovery RSs interpreted to correspond to “BFR response”; see also ¶ 0326, the base station may provide the wireless device/UE with one or more uplink resources . . . for a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) used in the beam failure recovery by a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter . . .); select per-TRP-and-panel power control parameters based at least in part on a spatial domain filter corresponding to the new reference signal resource index associated with the new beam ( YI, ¶0437, the wireless device may transmit a first uplink signal via a first uplink resource of the first uplink resources with a first spatial domain filter determined based on a reception of the candidate beam RS); perform, to the base station, [and using the new beam] an uplink channel transmission based at least in part on per-TRP-power control parameters that are associated with the TRP and the panel (YI, FIG. 23, ¶0402; the wireless device/UE may trigger/transmit a SR, or transmit a PUSCH comprising a new candidate beam, or a PUCCH comprising a new candidate beam or a beam recovery request via the cell. The wireless device may transmit the new candidate beam to the first TRP; FIG. 28, ¶0429, in response to a beam failure of a TRP, a panel layout to detect a new candidate beam may be changed (e.g., 4 panels should be used for TRP1 to support the new candidate beam); see also ¶0081, transmission power is preferentially allocated to an uplink signal corresponding to a panel with a lower PL, wherein the per-TRP-and-panel power control parameters include a first power control parameter and a second power control parameter (YI, ¶0282, A UE may determine a transmit power . . . at least based on an initial preamble power / “first power control parameter” and a power -ramping factor / “second power control parameter”), YI does not explicitly teach to perform, to the base station, an uplink channel transmission based at least in part on per-TRP-and-panel power control parameters . . . the first power control parameter indicates a nominal power level with an identifier associated with the TRP and the panel and wherein the first power control parameter indicates a nominal power level with an identifier associated with the TRP and the panel. However, in the analogous art, ZHANG explicitly discloses to perform, to the base station, an uplink channel transmission based at least in part on per-TRP-and-panel power control parameters . . . ( ZHANG, FIG. 5, ¶0177 at S104, terminal/ “UE” transmits (to Network device/“base station”) transmits the uplink signal on the M uplink resources/resource sets, where transmission power for transmitting the uplink signal on the M uplink resources/resource sets is determined based on a first power control parameter, and the first power control parameter is selected from the N sets of power control parameters; at S101, based on the plurality of antenna panels of the terminal, i.e. “per-panel power control parameters”; ¶0198; ¶0264-0276; see also Claims 4-10), . . . wherein the first power control parameter indicates a nominal power level with an identifier associated with the TRP and the panel (ZHANG, ¶0274-0276, first power control parameter may be determined based on the number of reference signals RS . . . . . .may be set to a lower value, and when the number is small, may be set to a higher value, i.e. a nominal power control parameter) , and wherein the second power control parameter indicates a closed loop index with an identifier associated with the TRP and the panel (ZHANG, ¶0122, . . .UE uses a power control adjustment state with an index I (“closed loop index)”; ¶0177, at S104, update mapping; ¶0198 plurality of panels and sets of power control parameters are considered based on panel switch indication / panel ID,/indication information of the transmission mode, interpreted to correspond to “closed loop” adjustments). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine YI’s beam failure recovery in Multi-TRP scenarios with ZHANG’s device and signal transmission method and system to adapt to uplink power control on a multi-panel terminal. The motivation would be so that uplink transmission power can be more flexibly adjusted, and power efficiency in uplink transmission and uplink transmission performance can be maximized [ZHANG, ¶0015]. YI and ZHANG do not explicitly teach [to] reset to a new beam based at least in part on the beam failure between the TRP of the base station and the panel of the UE, wherein the new beam is associated with a new reference signal resource index identified during beam failure recovery [and perform uplink channel transmission using the new beam]; However, in the analogous art WU explicitly discloses [to] reset to a new beam based at least in part on the beam failure between the TRP of the base station and the panel of the UE, wherein the new beam is associated with a new reference signal resource index identified during beam failure recovery ( WU, ¶0087, Q indexes correspond to Q antenna panels in a first subband respectively, and a first timer is used for the LBT failure detection of the Q antenna panels respectively; [and] ¶0146 when a beam is reset, a first counter is used for the channel failure detection, a first parameter indicates a TRP, and the first counter is reset to an initial value when the TRP is reset);[and] perform uplink channel transmission using the new beam (WU, ¶0006, in view of the above problems, the disclosure provides a solution. In the description of the above problems, an uplink is taken as an example); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine YI’s beam failure recovery in Multi-TRP scenarios and ZHANG’s device and signal transmission method and system to adapt to uplink power control on a multi-panel terminal with WU’s transmission method and device for a radio signal in a wireless communication system. The motivation would be to improve the reliability and quality of communication [WU, ¶0019-0020]. Regarding Claim 3, YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 1. YI further teaches the beam failure recovery request is associated with a per-TRP beam failure recovery , wherein the per-TRP beam failure recovery includes a per-TRP beam failure recovery in a primary cell or a per-TRP beam failure recovery in a secondary cell configured with a physical uplink control channel (YI, FIG. 22-23, TRP1 forwarding for TRP2 corresponds to PCell /”primary cell” relaying for a SCell/”secondary cell”; ¶0402 UE may transmit a beam recovery request via PUCCH (e.g. UE transmits a PUCCH request via TRP1 on behalf of TRP2). Regarding Claim 4, YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 1. YI further teaches receiving, from the base station, a configuration that indicates the per-TRP-and- panel power control parameters, wherein the configuration indicates a first set of parameters associated with a first TRP of the base station and a first panel of the UE and indicates a second set of parameters associated with a second TRP of the base station and a second panel of the UE (YI, ¶0326, BFR response configuring new beams/TCI/RSs (“a configuration”); see also FIG. 23 ¶0402-0404, response configuring updated RSs for TRP1 or TRP2 (“first and second set of parameters”) [and] FIG. 28, ¶0427, wireless device/UE having more than one panel to support more than one TRP (e.g. TRP1 operates with a first panel and TRP2 operates with a second panel, i.e. “per-panel configuration”) , and wherein the beam failure between the TRP and the panel is between either the first TRP and the first panel or between the second TRP and the second panel (YI, ¶0402 when a beam failure is detected on a second TRP / TRP2, the wireless device/UE may transmit a beam recovery request for TRP2 via an uplink resource of the first TRP/TRP1; ; ¶0429 in response to a beam failure of a TRP, a panel layout to detect a new candidate beam may be changed (e.g., 4 panels should be used for TRP1 to support the new candidate beam; see per-panel configuration above; see also ¶0427 shows a first selected beam/beam1/good beam identified by wireless device/UE among beams supported by TRP1 or TRP2; interpreted to correspond to candidate beam and associated panel layouts). Regarding Claim 5, YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 4. YI further teaches the first set of parameters indicates a first set of beam failure detection reference signals a first set of new beam identification reference signals and the second set of parameters indicates a second set of beam failure detection reference signals, a second set of new beam identification reference signals, (YI, 0431, [t]he wireless device/UE may report a first panel layout used for the first new candidate beam along with the first new candidate beam; see also ¶0326; ¶0403-0404 from Claim 4 mapping (above)). YI does not explicitly teach the first set of parameters indicates . . . a first set of default power control parameters . . .[and] and the second set of parameters indicates a second set of default power control parameters, wherein the first set of default power control parameters or the second set of default power control parameters corresponds to the per-TRP-and-panel power control parameters. However, in the analogous art, ZHANG explicitly discloses the first set of parameters indicates . . . a first set of default power control parameters (ZHANG ¶0122; ¶0125, SRS resource set q.sub.s is provided by higher-layer parameters SRS-ResourceSet and SRS-ResourceSetId. P.sub.O_SRS,b,f,c(q.sub.s) is used to represent target reception power; [and] ¶0128 the “nominal target parameters” correspond to “a first set of default power control parameters”; ¶0178, [t]he first power control parameter may be one or more sets of power control parameters in the N sets of power control parameter; see also ZHANG claim 6 ). . .[and] and the second set of parameters indicates a second set of default power control parameters (ZHANG, ¶0122; ¶0198, a plurality of sets of power control parameters are configured for the M uplink resources/ “a second set of default power control parameters”; see also ZHANG claim 7), wherein the first set of default power control parameters or the second set of default power control parameters corresponds to the per-TRP-and-panel power control parameters (ZHANG, ¶0122 UE configured with multiple power control parameter sets per TRP/panel; ¶0177; ¶0198, the terminal/UE may select an appropriate power control parameter based on the spatial relationship information or the other downlink information (the panel switch indication information, the panel ID, or the indication information of the transmission mode), to flexibly determine uplink transmission power, so as to improve power utilization of the terminal), i.e. “corresponds to the per-TRP-and-panel power control parameters”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine YI’s beam failure recovery in Multi-TRP scenarios with ZHANG’s device and signal transmission method and system to adapt to uplink power control on a multi-panel terminal. The motivation would be so that uplink transmission power can be more flexibly adjusted, and power efficiency in uplink transmission and uplink transmission performance can be maximized [ZHANG, ¶0015]. Regarding Claim 6, YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 1. YI further teaches the beam failure recovery response is associated with a plurality of downlink channel reception occasions and downlink channel repetitions are enabled (YI, ¶0240, wireless device/UE may monitor one or more PDCCHs (“a plurality of reception occasions”) in order to find possible allocation when its downlink reception is enabled; see also ¶0242, a gNB/base station may dynamic ally allocate resources to a wireless device via a C-RNTI on one or more PDCCH; and ¶0243 may transmit a DCI via PDCCH; CS grant may be implicitly reused/”repeated” according to periodicity), wherein a downlink channel reception occasion of the plurality of downlink channel reception occasions starts a symbol count (YI, ¶0239, a starting symbol relative to a first slot of the one or more slots may be indicated (from base station) to the wireless device/UE; ¶0240 downlink assignment may comprise parameters indicating at least modulation and coding format; resource allocation; and/or HARQ information related to DL-SCH . . . e.g., a resource allocation may comprise parameters of resource block allocation; and/or slot allocation, i.e. plurality / multiple DL repetitions and occasions may map to slots/symbols) , wherein the symbol count is associated with a quantity of symbols that separate the beam failure recovery response and a reset to a new beam for the uplink channel transmission (YI ¶0244, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a UE may assume no transmission is intended for the UE, SFI and OFDM symbol preemption, corresponds to a “quantity of symbols”). Regarding Claim 7, YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 6. YI further teaches the downlink channel reception occasion is a first actual transmitted downlink channel repetition or a last actual transmitted downlink channel repetition (YI,¶0240, [t]he wireless device/UE may receive one or more downlink data package on one or more PDSCH scheduled by the one or more PDCCHs (“DL channel repetition”), when successfully detecting the one or more PDCCHs, the successful detection interpreted to correspond to the actual PDCCH reception occasion of “actual transmitted”). Regarding Claim 8, YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 6. YI further teaches the downlink channel reception occasion is a first configured downlink channel repetition or a last configured downlink channel repetition (YI, ¶0241, a gNB/base station may allocate Configured Scheduling (CS) resources for down link transmission to a wireless device/UE. . . [and] may transmit a DCI via a PDCCH addressed to a Configured Scheduling-RNTI (CS-RNTI) activating the CS resources. The DCI may comprise parameters indicating that the downlink grant is a CS grant. The CS grant may be implicitly reused according to the periodicity defined by the one or more RRC messages, until deactivated, the periodicity interpreted to span “a first or a last configured downlink repetition”). Regarding Claim 9, YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 6. YI further teaches the downlink channel reception occasion is a first scheduled downlink channel repetition or a last scheduled downlink channel repetition (YI, ¶0240, a gNB/base station may transmit a downlink control information comprising a downlink assignment to a wireless device/UE via one or more PDCCHs. . . gNB may dynamically allocate resources to a wireless device via a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) on one or more PDCCHs; [t]he wireless device/UE may monitor the one or more PDCCHs in order to find possible allocation when its downlink reception is enabled . . .[and] may receive one or more downlink data package on one or more PDSCH scheduled by the one or more PDCCHs, when successfully detecting the one or more PDCCHs; see also ¶0242, for dynamic scheduling for UL grants). Regarding Claim 10, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 1, and is rejected based on the same rationale of Claim 1 ( a base station for wireless communication (YI, FIG. 3, base station 120, base station 1, 120A), comprising: a memory (YI, non-transitory memory 322 ); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (YI, at least one processor 321 A, and at least one set of program code instructions 323 A stored in non-transitory memory 322 ). Regarding Claims 12-14, the claims disclose similar features of Claims 4-6 respectively, and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 4-6. Regarding Claim 15, YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 14. YI further teaches the downlink channel reception occasion is a first actual transmitted downlink channel repetition or a last actual transmitted downlink channel repetition (YI ¶0240, see Claim 7 above); the downlink channel reception occasion is a first configured downlink channel repetition or a last configured downlink channel repetition (YI ¶0241, see Claim 8 above); or the downlink channel reception occasion is a first scheduled downlink channel repetition or a last scheduled downlink channel repetition (YI, ¶0240; ¶0242, see Claim 9 above). Regarding Claims 16 and 18-24 , the claims disclose similar features of Claims 1 and 3-9 respectively, and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 1 and 3-9, in method form ( a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) , YI FIG. 22-23, ¶0400; FIG. 26, ¶0414 beam failure recovery procedure) Regarding Claims 25 and 27-30 , the claims disclose similar features of Claims 10 and 12-15 respectively, and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 10 and 12-15, in method form ( a method of wireless communication performed by a base station , YI FIG. 22-23, ¶0400; FIG. 26, ¶0414 beam failure recovery procedure). Regarding Claim 35 , YI and ZHANG and WU teach Claim 1. YI does not explicitly teach the reference signal resource index is associated with a downlink pathloss estimate. However, in the analogous art, ZHANG explicitly discloses the reference signal resource index is associated with a downlink pathloss estimate ( ZHANG, ¶0016; FIG. 3, ¶0133, [0128] PL.sub.b,f,c(q.sub.d) is a path loss calculated by the UE by using an index q.sub.d of a reference signal on a downlink BWP; ¶0168, the path loss reference signal pathloss RS means that the terminal estimates a downlink path loss (PL) based on strength of a received reference signal for estimating a path loss and considers that an uplink path loss is equivalent to the downlink path loss; see also ¶0168). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine YI’s beam failure recovery in Multi-TRP scenarios with ZHANG’s device and signal transmission method and system to adapt to uplink power control on a multi-panel terminal. The motivation would be so that uplink transmission power can be more flexibly adjusted, and power efficiency in uplink transmission and uplink transmission performance can be maximized [ZHANG, ¶0015]. Regarding Claims 36-38 , the claims disclose similar features of Claim 35, and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 35 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. (US 20230344497 A1): Abstract; ¶0003, an apparatus and a method for beam reporting, beam indication and scheduling of data transmission during beam management; ¶0203, ¶0213 Matsumura et al. (US 20220295302 A1): Abstract; a terminal and a radio communication method that can appropriately perform a BFR procedure; FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 9, ¶0067. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY L WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7694. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TRACY L WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465 /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 5 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 9 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 10 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 11 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 12 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 13 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/549,472 Page 14 Art Unit: 2465