DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 6/18/2026 has been entered. In response to amendment filed on 6/18/2026 claims 4 and 10 were cancelled, claims 1, 3, 7, 9 and 13- 14 are amended. Claims 1- 3, 5- 9 and 11- 14 are pending for examination. Further in light of amendments, previously given rejection based on 35 USC 112 first paragraph as well second paragraph is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 6/18/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 3, 7- 9, 13- 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0247476 A1) in view of Tooher et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0189055 A1) and in further view of Cheng et al CN109587732A.
Regarding claim 1, Chun teaches a method (see Fig. 7A/B and 8, wireless device as a UE here) comprising:
Receiving by a service data adaption protocol (SDAP entity of a user equipment (UE), information related to a Quality of Service (QOS) flow and at least two Sub-QoS flows associated with the QoS flow (see [0124].. The wireless device 701 may receive services through a PDU session. The PDU session may be a logical connection between the wireless device 701 and a DN. The wireless device 701 and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 771 and/or the SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers). The mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers may be determined in the SDAP 772 ….),
wherein a first Sub-QoS flow of the at least two Sub-QoS flows is associated with a first data type and is mapped to a first data radio bearer (DRB), wherein a second Sub-QoS flow of the at least two Sub-QoS flows is associated with a second data type and is mapped to a second DRB (as discussed above in [0124] PDU session associated with QoS flows (i.e. first and second flow) and there is a mapping between QoS flows (i.e. QoS flow 1 ad QoS flow 2 and data radio bearers (i.e. DRB1 (associated with first data type) and DRB2 (i.e. associated with second data type); further refer to QoS model in Fig. 8 see [0131]..The wireless device 801 may apply QoS rules 814 to the uplink packets 812A-812E in accordance with a QoS model. The QoS rules 814 may be associated with the PDU session 810. The QoS rules 814 may be determined by and/or provided to the wireless device 801, for example, based on establishment and/or modification of the PDU session 810 (e.g., if/when the PDU session 810 is established and/or modified). The wireless device 801, based on the QoS rules 814, may classify the uplink packets 812A-812E, map each of the uplink packets 812A-812E to a QoS flow, and/or mark the uplink packets 812A-812E with a QFI; further see [0133].. wireless device 801 may apply resource mapping rules 818 to the QoS flows 816A-816C for operating within the QoS model. The air interface between wireless device 801 and/or the AN 802 may be associated with resources 820. The QoS flow 816A may be mapped to resource 820A, and the QoS flows 816B, 816C may be mapped to resource 820B. The resource mapping rules 818 may be provided by the AN 802. The resource mapping rules 818 may designate more resources for relatively high priority QoS flows for meeting QoS requirements. A high priority QoS flow (e.g., the QoS flow 816A) may, based on the resources, be more likely to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, and/or other satisfy other characteristics associated with QoS rules 814. The resources 820 may comprise radio bearers. The radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers) may be established between the wireless device 801 and the AN 802)
receiving by the SDP entity an uplink data unit from an upper layer (already discussed above see [0131].. One or more applications 808 associated with wireless device 801 may generate uplink packets 812A-812E associated with the PDU session 810. The wireless device 801 may apply QoS rules 814 to the uplink packets 812A-812E in accordance with a QoS model…),
based on one of the first and second data types to which the uplink data unit belongs, submitting, by the SDAP entity, the uplink data unit to a first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity associated with the first DRB or a second PDCP entity associated with the second DRB to which Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type is mapped (as discussed above in Fig. 8 and [0131, 0133] packets are shown in Fig. 8; see [0131]… uplink packets 812A, 812B may be mapped to a QoS flow 816A, an uplink packet 812C may be mapped to a QoS flow 816B, and the remaining packets may be mapped to QoS flow 816C… ; further see [0133] about resource mapping rule… The QoS flow 816A may be mapped to resource 820A (i.e. DRB1), and the QoS flows 816B, 816C may be mapped to resource 820B (i.e. DRB2). The resource mapping rules 818 may be provided by the AN 802. The resource mapping rules 818 may designate more resources for relatively high priority QoS flows for meeting QoS requirements. A high priority QoS flow (e.g., the QoS flow 816A) may, based on the resources, be more likely to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, and/or other satisfy other characteristics associated with QoS rules 814. The resources 820 may comprise radio bearers. The radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers) may be established between the wireless device 801 and the AN 802…. (i.e. hence this way based on one of the first and second data types to which the uplink data unit belongs, submitting the uplink data unit to one of the first and second DRBs to which Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type is mapped; further see Fig. 4 steps 4010, 4020, 4030);
receiving, by the SDAP entity, a downlink data unit received from one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see [0124].. The wireless device 701 may receive services through a PDU session. The PDU session may be a logical connection between the wireless device 701 and a DN. The wireless device 701 and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 771 and/or the SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers)).
But Chun is silent about based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit. Chun is also silent about wherein a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a reserved value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity.
However Tooher teaches regarding wherein, based on the downlink data unit, which includes a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information, being received from one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see Abstract.. Data flows may combine or remap for QoS remapping conditions or state transitions. Data flow remapping may be indicated by triggering a B SR/SR or by multiplexing in the PDU. A non-default set of LCP parameters may be applied for an LCH after a QoS state transition, QoS remapping trigger, or LCP parameter suspension/override. A WTRU may operate according to a QoS adaptation state corresponding to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, and/or logical channels. A WTRU may transition between QoS adaptation states. An RRC configuration and/or a MAC function may adapt to changing QoS requirement(s). QoS requirement(s) may adapt to changing MAC functions. QoS may be associated with survival time(s). QoS may adapt to higher layer indications. Packet forwarding may adapt to QFI in DL for QoS state changes; now refer to [0081]… A WTRU may apply a remapping function (e.g., in the SDAP layer), for example, to dynamically remap a QoS flow to a DRB, e.g., based on a current QoS state and/or based on whether associated QoS requirement(s) are met. A WTRU may combine or remap QoS flows (i.e. flow one and flow two) into a DRB (e.g., the same DRB), for example, based on satisfying one or more remapping conditions and/or based on transitioning between QoS states…. A WTRU may map a QoS flow to a single DRB (e.g., at a given time). For example, RRC may configure a WTRU with a mapping of QFI1 to DRB1 and/or DRB2. The WTRU may map QFI1 to DRB1, for example, in a first QoS state and/or when remapping rules are not triggered. The WTRU may map QFI1 to DRB2, for example, in a second QoS state and/or when remapping rule(s) are triggered; now refer to see claim 17 regarding WTRU receives configuration information, wherein the configuration information indicates a first quality of service (QoS) state associated with a data radio bearer (DRB), a second QoS state associated with the DRB, and a period of time associated with transitioning from the first QoS state to the second QoS state for the DRB; perform a first data transmission, the first data transmission comprising data of the DRB, wherein the first data transmission is performed using transmission settings associated with the first QoS state..; now see claim 18.. wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration, and the second QoS state is associated with a second PDCP configuration; now refer to claim 20…wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first service data adaptation layer (SDAP) configuration, and the second QoS state is associated with a second SDAP configuration; now see claim 21… wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first set of one or more logical channel prioritization (LCP) parameters for the DRB and the second QoS state is associated with a second set of one or more LCP parameters for the DRB) (note: here these parameter values can be fixed while the system operates within a specific QoS adaptation state since a "state" represents a fixed configuration profile at a given time and While the system remains in a particular QoS adaptation state, the parameter values (like priority or bit rate) do not change. They stay at reserved and Adaptation happens when the system switches from one state to another state with a different set of values, rather than changing the values continuously inside the same state),
wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see [0113] A WTRU may be configured with an association between LCHs. A WTRU may imply an association between LCHs, for example, if they share the same DRB, QoS flow, IP flow, data flow, and/or topline application. A WTRU may be configured with an association between LCHs (e.g., per QoS state), and/or may apply/activate an LCH association (e.g., based on activation of a QoS state or triggering a QoS remapping condition)….now see [0114].. State based QoS adaptation may be used. A WTRU may be configured to operate according to at least one QoS adaptation state. A QoS adaptation state may correspond, for example, to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, or logical channels. A group may be referred to as a QoS adaptation group. A WTRU may (e.g., based on transition from a first state to a second state) apply (e.g., simultaneously apply) values corresponding to a second state to parameters of one or more flows; now see [0115] A QoS adaptation state may have one or more parameters. A QoS adaptation state may include, for example, at least one of the following parameter values for a group: … (iii) parameters of a PDCP configuration for a radio bearer (e.g., whether the PDCP entity is configured with more than one RLC entity and/or whether PDCP duplication is configured); (iv) parameters of an SDAP configuration for a PDU session (e.g., a set of mapped QoS flows); and/or (v) parameters of a physical layer (PHY) configuration; further see claim 21 (in context with claim 18 and 17)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Tooher with the teachings of Chun to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit. Chun is also silent about wherein a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a reserved value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
But Chun is silent about based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit; however Cheng teaches Illustratively, it first remaps in the SDAP-PDU for being identified as the first QoS flow comprising remapping instruction information SDAP-PDU, as shown in Figure 6. Wherein, remap instruction information be used to indicate by the first mapping relations switch to the second mapping close System. Second equipment receive it is shown in fig. 6 include remap instruction information SDAP-PDU after, pass through parsing SDAP The instruction information that remaps in Header may recognize that the SDAP-PDU remaps mark for first. For example, the first equipment and Second equipment can arrange the indicating bit that length in SDAP Header is a bit and remap instruction information for carrying. For example, When the data on the indicating bit are 0, the SDAP-PDU where indicating the indicating bit remaps mark for first. When the indicating bit On data when being 1, the SDAP-PDU where indicating the indicating bit is not first to remap mark. Certainly, the embodiment of the present application In to be used to indicate remap instruction information indicating bit length with no restrictions, that is, be used to indicate remap instruction information finger Show that the length of position is not limited to a bit (i.e. here SDAP-PDU identifies a QoS flow with remapping instructions and distinguishes it from other SDAP-PDU (i.e. having other QoS flow) that don’t carry remapping mark). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Chun in view of Tooher to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng teaches as per claim 1, wherein: based on the uplink data unit belonging to the first data type, the uplink data unit is submitted to the first PDCP entity, and based on the uplink data unit belonging to the second data type, the uplink data unit is submitted to the second PDCP entity; Chun already discussed above in [0124] PDU session associated with QoS flows (i.e. first and second flow) and there is a mapping between QoS flows (i.e. QoS flow 1 ad QoS flow 2 and data radio bearers (i.e. DRB1 (associated with first data type) and DRB2 (i.e. associated with second data type); further see [0398] .. one or more packets for a QoS flow may (optionally) be determined, for example, by a protocol entity (e.g., a PDCP entity, an RLC entity, an SDAP entity). A packet for a QoS flow may (optionally) be determined as described herein, for example, by acquiring the packet from a second protocol entity (e.g., an SDAP entity, a PDCP entity, an upper layer). The one or more packets may comprise at least one of a first packet for the QoS flow and/or a second packet for the QoS flow; further see Tooher [0084].. whether a QoS requirement is satisfied, an association between data flows, data arrival from an associated data flow or a QoS flow, a time since a last transmission on a flow, an amount of buffered data for a flow, a data burst volume, an amount of data transmitted, a number of data flows mapped, reception of gNB signaling, channel conditions, a number of PDCP entities..
Regarding claim 3, Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng teaches as per claim 1, wherein submitting the data unit comprising:
including an indicator for the QoS flow and a sub indicator for the Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type; Chun see [0134] (in context with [0131- 0133]) about ... A QoS profile (e.g., each QoS profile) may correspond to a QFI (e.g., the QFI marked on the uplink packets 812A-812E). A QoS profile (e.g., each QoS profile) may comprise QoS parameters. The QoS parameters may comprise/indicate one or both of 5G QoS identifier (5QI) and/or an allocation and retention priority (ARP)..; further see [0092, 0095, 0124, 0135].
Regarding claim 7, Chun teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause a service data adaption protocol (SDAP) entity of the UE to perform operations comprising (see Fig. 7A/B and 8, wireless device as a UE here):
Receiving information related to a Quality of Service (QOS) flow and at least two Sub-QoS flows associated with the QoS flow (see [0124].. The wireless device 701 may receive services through a PDU session. The PDU session may be a logical connection between the wireless device 701 and a DN. The wireless device 701 and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 771 and/or the SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers). The mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers may be determined in the SDAP 772 ….),
wherein a first Sub-QoS flow of the at least two Sub-QoS flows is associated with a first data type and is mapped to a first data radio bearer (DRB), wherein a second Sub-QoS flow of the at least two Sub-QoS flows is associated with a second data type and is mapped to a second DRB (as discussed above in [0124] PDU session associated with QoS flows (i.e. first and second flow) and there is a mapping between QoS flows (i.e. QoS flow 1 ad QoS flow 2 and data radio bearers (i.e. DRB1 (associated with first data type) and DRB2 (i.e. associated with second data type); further refer to QoS model in Fig. 8 see [0131]..The wireless device 801 may apply QoS rules 814 to the uplink packets 812A-812E in accordance with a QoS model. The QoS rules 814 may be associated with the PDU session 810. The QoS rules 814 may be determined by and/or provided to the wireless device 801, for example, based on establishment and/or modification of the PDU session 810 (e.g., if/when the PDU session 810 is established and/or modified). The wireless device 801, based on the QoS rules 814, may classify the uplink packets 812A-812E, map each of the uplink packets 812A-812E to a QoS flow, and/or mark the uplink packets 812A-812E with a QFI; further see [0133].. wireless device 801 may apply resource mapping rules 818 to the QoS flows 816A-816C for operating within the QoS model. The air interface between wireless device 801 and/or the AN 802 may be associated with resources 820. The QoS flow 816A may be mapped to resource 820A, and the QoS flows 816B, 816C may be mapped to resource 820B. The resource mapping rules 818 may be provided by the AN 802. The resource mapping rules 818 may designate more resources for relatively high priority QoS flows for meeting QoS requirements. A high priority QoS flow (e.g., the QoS flow 816A) may, based on the resources, be more likely to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, and/or other satisfy other characteristics associated with QoS rules 814. The resources 820 may comprise radio bearers. The radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers) may be established between the wireless device 801 and the AN 802)
receiving an uplink data unit from an upper layer (already discussed above see [0131].. One or more applications 808 associated with wireless device 801 may generate uplink packets 812A-812E associated with the PDU session 810. The wireless device 801 may apply QoS rules 814 to the uplink packets 812A-812E in accordance with a QoS model…); and
based on one of the first and second data types to which the uplink data unit belongs, submitting, by the SDAP entity, the uplink data unit to a first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity associated with the first DRB or a second PDCP entity associated with the second DRB to which Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type is mapped (as discussed above in Fig. 8 and [0131, 0133] packets are shown in Fig. 8; see [0131]… uplink packets 812A, 812B may be mapped to a QoS flow 816A, an uplink packet 812C may be mapped to a QoS flow 816B, and the remaining packets may be mapped to QoS flow 816C… ; further see [0133] about resource mapping rule… The QoS flow 816A may be mapped to resource 820A (i.e. DRB1), and the QoS flows 816B, 816C may be mapped to resource 820B (i.e. DRB2). The resource mapping rules 818 may be provided by the AN 802. The resource mapping rules 818 may designate more resources for relatively high priority QoS flows for meeting QoS requirements. A high priority QoS flow (e.g., the QoS flow 816A) may, based on the resources, be more likely to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, and/or other satisfy other characteristics associated with QoS rules 814. The resources 820 may comprise radio bearers. The radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers) may be established between the wireless device 801 and the AN 802…. (i.e. hence this way based on one of the first and second data types to which the uplink data unit belongs, submitting the uplink data unit to one of the first and second DRBs to which Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type is mapped; further see Fig. 4 steps 4010, 4020, 4030);
receiving, by the SDAP entity, a downlink data unit received from one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see [0124].. The wireless device 701 may receive services through a PDU session. The PDU session may be a logical connection between the wireless device 701 and a DN. The wireless device 701 and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 771 and/or the SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers)).
But Chun is silent about based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit. Chun is also silent about wherein a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a reserved value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity.
However Tooher teaches regarding wherein, based on the downlink data unit, which includes a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information, being received from one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see Abstract.. Data flows may combine or remap for QoS remapping conditions or state transitions. Data flow remapping may be indicated by triggering a B SR/SR or by multiplexing in the PDU. A non-default set of LCP parameters may be applied for an LCH after a QoS state transition, QoS remapping trigger, or LCP parameter suspension/override. A WTRU may operate according to a QoS adaptation state corresponding to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, and/or logical channels. A WTRU may transition between QoS adaptation states. An RRC configuration and/or a MAC function may adapt to changing QoS requirement(s). QoS requirement(s) may adapt to changing MAC functions. QoS may be associated with survival time(s). QoS may adapt to higher layer indications. Packet forwarding may adapt to QFI in DL for QoS state changes; now refer to [0081]… A WTRU may apply a remapping function (e.g., in the SDAP layer), for example, to dynamically remap a QoS flow to a DRB, e.g., based on a current QoS state and/or based on whether associated QoS requirement(s) are met. A WTRU may combine or remap QoS flows (i.e. flow one and flow two) into a DRB (e.g., the same DRB), for example, based on satisfying one or more remapping conditions and/or based on transitioning between QoS states…. A WTRU may map a QoS flow to a single DRB (e.g., at a given time). For example, RRC may configure a WTRU with a mapping of QFI1 to DRB1 and/or DRB2. The WTRU may map QFI1 to DRB1, for example, in a first QoS state and/or when remapping rules are not triggered. The WTRU may map QFI1 to DRB2, for example, in a second QoS state and/or when remapping rule(s) are triggered; now refer to see claim 17 regarding WTRU receives configuration information, wherein the configuration information indicates a first quality of service (QoS) state associated with a data radio bearer (DRB), a second QoS state associated with the DRB, and a period of time associated with transitioning from the first QoS state to the second QoS state for the DRB; perform a first data transmission, the first data transmission comprising data of the DRB, wherein the first data transmission is performed using transmission settings associated with the first QoS state..; now see claim 18.. wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration, and the second QoS state is associated with a second PDCP configuration; now refer to claim 20…wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first service data adaptation layer (SDAP) configuration, and the second QoS state is associated with a second SDAP configuration; now see claim 21… wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first set of one or more logical channel prioritization (LCP) parameters for the DRB and the second QoS state is associated with a second set of one or more LCP parameters for the DRB) (note: here these parameter values can be fixed while the system operates within a specific QoS adaptation state since a "state" represents a fixed configuration profile at a given time and While the system remains in a particular QoS adaptation state, the parameter values (like priority or bit rate) do not change. They stay at reserved and Adaptation happens when the system switches from one state to another state with a different set of values, rather than changing the values continuously inside the same state),
wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see [0113] A WTRU may be configured with an association between LCHs. A WTRU may imply an association between LCHs, for example, if they share the same DRB, QoS flow, IP flow, data flow, and/or topline application. A WTRU may be configured with an association between LCHs (e.g., per QoS state), and/or may apply/activate an LCH association (e.g., based on activation of a QoS state or triggering a QoS remapping condition)….now see [0114].. State based QoS adaptation may be used. A WTRU may be configured to operate according to at least one QoS adaptation state. A QoS adaptation state may correspond, for example, to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, or logical channels. A group may be referred to as a QoS adaptation group. A WTRU may (e.g., based on transition from a first state to a second state) apply (e.g., simultaneously apply) values corresponding to a second state to parameters of one or more flows; now see [0115] A QoS adaptation state may have one or more parameters. A QoS adaptation state may include, for example, at least one of the following parameter values for a group: … (iii) parameters of a PDCP configuration for a radio bearer (e.g., whether the PDCP entity is configured with more than one RLC entity and/or whether PDCP duplication is configured); (iv) parameters of an SDAP configuration for a PDU session (e.g., a set of mapped QoS flows); and/or (v) parameters of a physical layer (PHY) configuration; further see claim 21 (in context with claim 18 and 17)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Tooher with the teachings of Chun to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit. Chun is also silent about wherein a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a reserved value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
But Chun is silent about based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit; however Cheng teaches Illustratively, it first remaps in the SDAP-PDU for being identified as the first QoS flow comprising remapping instruction information SDAP-PDU, as shown in Figure 6. Wherein, remap instruction information be used to indicate by the first mapping relations switch to the second mapping close System. Second equipment receive it is shown in fig. 6 include remap instruction information SDAP-PDU after, pass through parsing SDAP The instruction information that remaps in Header may recognize that the SDAP-PDU remaps mark for first. For example, the first equipment and Second equipment can arrange the indicating bit that length in SDAP Header is a bit and remap instruction information for carrying. For example, When the data on the indicating bit are 0, the SDAP-PDU where indicating the indicating bit remaps mark for first. When the indicating bit On data when being 1, the SDAP-PDU where indicating the indicating bit is not first to remap mark. Certainly, the embodiment of the present application In to be used to indicate remap instruction information indicating bit length with no restrictions, that is, be used to indicate remap instruction information finger Show that the length of position is not limited to a bit (i.e. here SDAP-PDU identifies a QoS flow with remapping instructions and distinguishes it from other SDAP-PDU (i.e. having other QoS flow) that don’t carry remapping mark). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Chun in view of Tooher to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 8, Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng teaches as per claim 7, wherein: based on the uplink data unit belonging to the first data type, the uplink data unit is submitted to the first PDCP entity, and based on the uplink data unit belonging to the second data type, the uplink data unit is submitted to the second PDCP entity; Chun already discussed above in [0124] PDU session associated with QoS flows (i.e. first and second flow) and there is a mapping between QoS flows (i.e. QoS flow 1 ad QoS flow 2 and data radio bearers (i.e. DRB1 (associated with first data type) and DRB2 (i.e. associated with second data type); further see [0398] .. one or more packets for a QoS flow may (optionally) be determined, for example, by a protocol entity (e.g., a PDCP entity, an RLC entity, an SDAP entity). A packet for a QoS flow may (optionally) be determined as described herein, for example, by acquiring the packet from a second protocol entity (e.g., an SDAP entity, a PDCP entity, an upper layer). The one or more packets may comprise at least one of a first packet for the QoS flow and/or a second packet for the QoS flow; further see Tooher [0084].. whether a QoS requirement is satisfied, an association between data flows, data arrival from an associated data flow or a QoS flow, a time since a last transmission on a flow, an amount of buffered data for a flow, a data burst volume, an amount of data transmitted, a number of data flows mapped, reception of gNB signaling, channel conditions, a number of PDCP entities..….
Regarding claim 9, Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng teaches as per claim 7, wherein submitting the data unit comprising:
including an indicator for the QoS flow and a sub indicator for the Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type; Chun see [0134] (in context with [0131- 0133]) about ... A QoS profile (e.g., each QoS profile) may correspond to a QFI (e.g., the QFI marked on the uplink packets 812A-812E). A QoS profile (e.g., each QoS profile) may comprise QoS parameters. The QoS parameters may comprise/indicate one or both of 5G QoS identifier (5QI) and/or an allocation and retention priority (ARP)..; further see [0092, 0095, 0124, 0135].
Regarding claim 13, Chun teaches an apparatus for a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause a service data adaption protocol (SDAP) entity of the UE to perform operations comprising (see Fig. 7A/B and 8, wireless device as a UE here):
Receiving information related to a Quality of Service (QOS) flow and at least two Sub-QoS flows associated with the QoS flow (see [0124].. The wireless device 701 may receive services through a PDU session. The PDU session may be a logical connection between the wireless device 701 and a DN. The wireless device 701 and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 771 and/or the SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers). The mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers may be determined in the SDAP 772 ….),
wherein a first Sub-QoS flow of the at least two Sub-QoS flows is associated with a first data type and is mapped to a first data radio bearer (DRB), wherein a second Sub-QoS flow of the at least two Sub-QoS flows is associated with a second data type and is mapped to a second DRB (as discussed above in [0124] PDU session associated with QoS flows (i.e. first and second flow) and there is a mapping between QoS flows (i.e. QoS flow 1 ad QoS flow 2 and data radio bearers (i.e. DRB1 (associated with first data type) and DRB2 (i.e. associated with second data type); further refer to QoS model in Fig. 8 see [0131]..The wireless device 801 may apply QoS rules 814 to the uplink packets 812A-812E in accordance with a QoS model. The QoS rules 814 may be associated with the PDU session 810. The QoS rules 814 may be determined by and/or provided to the wireless device 801, for example, based on establishment and/or modification of the PDU session 810 (e.g., if/when the PDU session 810 is established and/or modified). The wireless device 801, based on the QoS rules 814, may classify the uplink packets 812A-812E, map each of the uplink packets 812A-812E to a QoS flow, and/or mark the uplink packets 812A-812E with a QFI; further see [0133].. wireless device 801 may apply resource mapping rules 818 to the QoS flows 816A-816C for operating within the QoS model. The air interface between wireless device 801 and/or the AN 802 may be associated with resources 820. The QoS flow 816A may be mapped to resource 820A, and the QoS flows 816B, 816C may be mapped to resource 820B. The resource mapping rules 818 may be provided by the AN 802. The resource mapping rules 818 may designate more resources for relatively high priority QoS flows for meeting QoS requirements. A high priority QoS flow (e.g., the QoS flow 816A) may, based on the resources, be more likely to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, and/or other satisfy other characteristics associated with QoS rules 814. The resources 820 may comprise radio bearers. The radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers) may be established between the wireless device 801 and the AN 802)
receiving an uplink data unit from an upper layer (already discussed above see [0131].. One or more applications 808 associated with wireless device 801 may generate uplink packets 812A-812E associated with the PDU session 810. The wireless device 801 may apply QoS rules 814 to the uplink packets 812A-812E in accordance with a QoS model…); and
based on one of the first and second data types to which the uplink data unit belongs, submitting, by the SDAP entity, the uplink data unit to a first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity associated with the first DRB or a second PDCP entity associated with the second DRB to which Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type is mapped (as discussed above in Fig. 8 and [0131, 0133] packets are shown in Fig. 8; see [0131]… uplink packets 812A, 812B may be mapped to a QoS flow 816A, an uplink packet 812C may be mapped to a QoS flow 816B, and the remaining packets may be mapped to QoS flow 816C… ; further see [0133] about resource mapping rule… The QoS flow 816A may be mapped to resource 820A (i.e. DRB1), and the QoS flows 816B, 816C may be mapped to resource 820B (i.e. DRB2). The resource mapping rules 818 may be provided by the AN 802. The resource mapping rules 818 may designate more resources for relatively high priority QoS flows for meeting QoS requirements. A high priority QoS flow (e.g., the QoS flow 816A) may, based on the resources, be more likely to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, and/or other satisfy other characteristics associated with QoS rules 814. The resources 820 may comprise radio bearers. The radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers) may be established between the wireless device 801 and the AN 802…. (i.e. hence this way based on one of the first and second data types to which the uplink data unit belongs, submitting the uplink data unit to one of the first and second DRBs to which Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type is mapped; further see Fig. 4 steps 4010, 4020, 4030);
receiving, by the SDAP entity, a downlink data unit received from one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see [0124].. The wireless device 701 may receive services through a PDU session. The PDU session may be a logical connection between the wireless device 701 and a DN. The wireless device 701 and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 771 and/or the SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers)).
But Chun is silent about based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit. Chun is also silent about wherein a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a reserved value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity.
However Tooher teaches regarding wherein, based on the downlink data unit, which includes a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information, being received from one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see Abstract.. Data flows may combine or remap for QoS remapping conditions or state transitions. Data flow remapping may be indicated by triggering a B SR/SR or by multiplexing in the PDU. A non-default set of LCP parameters may be applied for an LCH after a QoS state transition, QoS remapping trigger, or LCP parameter suspension/override. A WTRU may operate according to a QoS adaptation state corresponding to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, and/or logical channels. A WTRU may transition between QoS adaptation states. An RRC configuration and/or a MAC function may adapt to changing QoS requirement(s). QoS requirement(s) may adapt to changing MAC functions. QoS may be associated with survival time(s). QoS may adapt to higher layer indications. Packet forwarding may adapt to QFI in DL for QoS state changes; now refer to [0081]… A WTRU may apply a remapping function (e.g., in the SDAP layer), for example, to dynamically remap a QoS flow to a DRB, e.g., based on a current QoS state and/or based on whether associated QoS requirement(s) are met. A WTRU may combine or remap QoS flows (i.e. flow one and flow two) into a DRB (e.g., the same DRB), for example, based on satisfying one or more remapping conditions and/or based on transitioning between QoS states…. A WTRU may map a QoS flow to a single DRB (e.g., at a given time). For example, RRC may configure a WTRU with a mapping of QFI1 to DRB1 and/or DRB2. The WTRU may map QFI1 to DRB1, for example, in a first QoS state and/or when remapping rules are not triggered. The WTRU may map QFI1 to DRB2, for example, in a second QoS state and/or when remapping rule(s) are triggered; now refer to see claim 17 regarding WTRU receives configuration information, wherein the configuration information indicates a first quality of service (QoS) state associated with a data radio bearer (DRB), a second QoS state associated with the DRB, and a period of time associated with transitioning from the first QoS state to the second QoS state for the DRB; perform a first data transmission, the first data transmission comprising data of the DRB, wherein the first data transmission is performed using transmission settings associated with the first QoS state..; now see claim 18.. wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration, and the second QoS state is associated with a second PDCP configuration; now refer to claim 20…wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first service data adaptation layer (SDAP) configuration, and the second QoS state is associated with a second SDAP configuration; now see claim 21… wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first set of one or more logical channel prioritization (LCP) parameters for the DRB and the second QoS state is associated with a second set of one or more LCP parameters for the DRB) (note: here these parameter values can be fixed while the system operates within a specific QoS adaptation state since a "state" represents a fixed configuration profile at a given time and While the system remains in a particular QoS adaptation state, the parameter values (like priority or bit rate) do not change. They stay at reserved and Adaptation happens when the system switches from one state to another state with a different set of values, rather than changing the values continuously inside the same state),
wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see [0113] A WTRU may be configured with an association between LCHs. A WTRU may imply an association between LCHs, for example, if they share the same DRB, QoS flow, IP flow, data flow, and/or topline application. A WTRU may be configured with an association between LCHs (e.g., per QoS state), and/or may apply/activate an LCH association (e.g., based on activation of a QoS state or triggering a QoS remapping condition)….now see [0114].. State based QoS adaptation may be used. A WTRU may be configured to operate according to at least one QoS adaptation state. A QoS adaptation state may correspond, for example, to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, or logical channels. A group may be referred to as a QoS adaptation group. A WTRU may (e.g., based on transition from a first state to a second state) apply (e.g., simultaneously apply) values corresponding to a second state to parameters of one or more flows; now see [0115] A QoS adaptation state may have one or more parameters. A QoS adaptation state may include, for example, at least one of the following parameter values for a group: … (iii) parameters of a PDCP configuration for a radio bearer (e.g., whether the PDCP entity is configured with more than one RLC entity and/or whether PDCP duplication is configured); (iv) parameters of an SDAP configuration for a PDU session (e.g., a set of mapped QoS flows); and/or (v) parameters of a physical layer (PHY) configuration; further see claim 21 (in context with claim 18 and 17)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Tooher with the teachings of Chun to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit. Chun is also silent about wherein a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a reserved value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
But Chun is silent about based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit; however Cheng teaches Illustratively, it first remaps in the SDAP-PDU for being identified as the first QoS flow comprising remapping instruction information SDAP-PDU, as shown in Figure 6. Wherein, remap instruction information be used to indicate by the first mapping relations switch to the second mapping close System. Second equipment receive it is shown in fig. 6 include remap instruction information SDAP-PDU after, pass through parsing SDAP The instruction information that remaps in Header may recognize that the SDAP-PDU remaps mark for first. For example, the first equipment and Second equipment can arrange the indicating bit that length in SDAP Header is a bit and remap instruction information for carrying. For example, When the data on the indicating bit are 0, the SDAP-PDU where indicating the indicating bit remaps mark for first. When the indicating bit On data when being 1, the SDAP-PDU where indicating the indicating bit is not first to remap mark. Certainly, the embodiment of the present application In to be used to indicate remap instruction information indicating bit length with no restrictions, that is, be used to indicate remap instruction information finger Show that the length of position is not limited to a bit (i.e. here SDAP-PDU identifies a QoS flow with remapping instructions and distinguishes it from other SDAP-PDU (i.e. having other QoS flow) that don’t carry remapping mark). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Chun in view of Tooher to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Chun teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause a service data adaption protocol (SDAP) entity of the UE to perform operations comprising (see Fig. 7A/B and 8, wireless device as a UE here):
Receiving information related to a Quality of Service (QOS) flow and at least two Sub-QoS flows associated with the QoS flow (see [0124].. The wireless device 701 may receive services through a PDU session. The PDU session may be a logical connection between the wireless device 701 and a DN. The wireless device 701 and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 771 and/or the SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers). The mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers may be determined in the SDAP 772 ….),
wherein a first Sub-QoS flow of the at least two Sub-QoS flows is associated with a first data type and is mapped to a first data radio bearer (DRB), wherein a second Sub-QoS flow of the at least two Sub-QoS flows is associated with a second data type and is mapped to a second DRB (as discussed above in [0124] PDU session associated with QoS flows (i.e. first and second flow) and there is a mapping between QoS flows (i.e. QoS flow 1 ad QoS flow 2 and data radio bearers (i.e. DRB1 (associated with first data type) and DRB2 (i.e. associated with second data type); further refer to QoS model in Fig. 8 see [0131]..The wireless device 801 may apply QoS rules 814 to the uplink packets 812A-812E in accordance with a QoS model. The QoS rules 814 may be associated with the PDU session 810. The QoS rules 814 may be determined by and/or provided to the wireless device 801, for example, based on establishment and/or modification of the PDU session 810 (e.g., if/when the PDU session 810 is established and/or modified). The wireless device 801, based on the QoS rules 814, may classify the uplink packets 812A-812E, map each of the uplink packets 812A-812E to a QoS flow, and/or mark the uplink packets 812A-812E with a QFI; further see [0133].. wireless device 801 may apply resource mapping rules 818 to the QoS flows 816A-816C for operating within the QoS model. The air interface between wireless device 801 and/or the AN 802 may be associated with resources 820. The QoS flow 816A may be mapped to resource 820A, and the QoS flows 816B, 816C may be mapped to resource 820B. The resource mapping rules 818 may be provided by the AN 802. The resource mapping rules 818 may designate more resources for relatively high priority QoS flows for meeting QoS requirements. A high priority QoS flow (e.g., the QoS flow 816A) may, based on the resources, be more likely to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, and/or other satisfy other characteristics associated with QoS rules 814. The resources 820 may comprise radio bearers. The radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers) may be established between the wireless device 801 and the AN 802)
receiving an uplink data unit from an upper layer (already discussed above see [0131].. One or more applications 808 associated with wireless device 801 may generate uplink packets 812A-812E associated with the PDU session 810. The wireless device 801 may apply QoS rules 814 to the uplink packets 812A-812E in accordance with a QoS model…); and
based on one of the first and second data types to which the uplink data unit belongs, submitting, by the SDAP entity, the uplink data unit to a first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity associated with the first DRB or a second PDCP entity associated with the second DRB to which Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type is mapped (as discussed above in Fig. 8 and [0131, 0133] packets are shown in Fig. 8; see [0131]… uplink packets 812A, 812B may be mapped to a QoS flow 816A, an uplink packet 812C may be mapped to a QoS flow 816B, and the remaining packets may be mapped to QoS flow 816C… ; further see [0133] about resource mapping rule… The QoS flow 816A may be mapped to resource 820A (i.e. DRB1), and the QoS flows 816B, 816C may be mapped to resource 820B (i.e. DRB2). The resource mapping rules 818 may be provided by the AN 802. The resource mapping rules 818 may designate more resources for relatively high priority QoS flows for meeting QoS requirements. A high priority QoS flow (e.g., the QoS flow 816A) may, based on the resources, be more likely to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, and/or other satisfy other characteristics associated with QoS rules 814. The resources 820 may comprise radio bearers. The radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers) may be established between the wireless device 801 and the AN 802…. (i.e. hence this way based on one of the first and second data types to which the uplink data unit belongs, submitting the uplink data unit to one of the first and second DRBs to which Sub-QoS flow associated with corresponding data type is mapped; further see Fig. 4 steps 4010, 4020, 4030);
receiving, by the SDAP entity, a downlink data unit received from one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see [0124].. The wireless device 701 may receive services through a PDU session. The PDU session may be a logical connection between the wireless device 701 and a DN. The wireless device 701 and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 771 and/or the SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers)).
But Chun is silent about based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit. Chun is also silent about wherein a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a reserved value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity.
However Tooher teaches regarding wherein, based on the downlink data unit, which includes a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information, being received from one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see Abstract.. Data flows may combine or remap for QoS remapping conditions or state transitions. Data flow remapping may be indicated by triggering a B SR/SR or by multiplexing in the PDU. A non-default set of LCP parameters may be applied for an LCH after a QoS state transition, QoS remapping trigger, or LCP parameter suspension/override. A WTRU may operate according to a QoS adaptation state corresponding to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, and/or logical channels. A WTRU may transition between QoS adaptation states. An RRC configuration and/or a MAC function may adapt to changing QoS requirement(s). QoS requirement(s) may adapt to changing MAC functions. QoS may be associated with survival time(s). QoS may adapt to higher layer indications. Packet forwarding may adapt to QFI in DL for QoS state changes; now refer to [0081]… A WTRU may apply a remapping function (e.g., in the SDAP layer), for example, to dynamically remap a QoS flow to a DRB, e.g., based on a current QoS state and/or based on whether associated QoS requirement(s) are met. A WTRU may combine or remap QoS flows (i.e. flow one and flow two) into a DRB (e.g., the same DRB), for example, based on satisfying one or more remapping conditions and/or based on transitioning between QoS states…. A WTRU may map a QoS flow to a single DRB (e.g., at a given time). For example, RRC may configure a WTRU with a mapping of QFI1 to DRB1 and/or DRB2. The WTRU may map QFI1 to DRB1, for example, in a first QoS state and/or when remapping rules are not triggered. The WTRU may map QFI1 to DRB2, for example, in a second QoS state and/or when remapping rule(s) are triggered; now refer to see claim 17 regarding WTRU receives configuration information, wherein the configuration information indicates a first quality of service (QoS) state associated with a data radio bearer (DRB), a second QoS state associated with the DRB, and a period of time associated with transitioning from the first QoS state to the second QoS state for the DRB; perform a first data transmission, the first data transmission comprising data of the DRB, wherein the first data transmission is performed using transmission settings associated with the first QoS state..; now see claim 18.. wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration, and the second QoS state is associated with a second PDCP configuration; now refer to claim 20…wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first service data adaptation layer (SDAP) configuration, and the second QoS state is associated with a second SDAP configuration; now see claim 21… wherein the first QoS state is associated with a first set of one or more logical channel prioritization (LCP) parameters for the DRB and the second QoS state is associated with a second set of one or more LCP parameters for the DRB) (note: here these parameter values can be fixed while the system operates within a specific QoS adaptation state since a "state" represents a fixed configuration profile at a given time and While the system remains in a particular QoS adaptation state, the parameter values (like priority or bit rate) do not change. They stay at reserved and Adaptation happens when the system switches from one state to another state with a different set of values, rather than changing the values continuously inside the same state),
wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity (see [0113] A WTRU may be configured with an association between LCHs. A WTRU may imply an association between LCHs, for example, if they share the same DRB, QoS flow, IP flow, data flow, and/or topline application. A WTRU may be configured with an association between LCHs (e.g., per QoS state), and/or may apply/activate an LCH association (e.g., based on activation of a QoS state or triggering a QoS remapping condition)….now see [0114].. State based QoS adaptation may be used. A WTRU may be configured to operate according to at least one QoS adaptation state. A QoS adaptation state may correspond, for example, to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, or logical channels. A group may be referred to as a QoS adaptation group. A WTRU may (e.g., based on transition from a first state to a second state) apply (e.g., simultaneously apply) values corresponding to a second state to parameters of one or more flows; now see [0115] A QoS adaptation state may have one or more parameters. A QoS adaptation state may include, for example, at least one of the following parameter values for a group: … (iii) parameters of a PDCP configuration for a radio bearer (e.g., whether the PDCP entity is configured with more than one RLC entity and/or whether PDCP duplication is configured); (iv) parameters of an SDAP configuration for a PDU session (e.g., a set of mapped QoS flows); and/or (v) parameters of a physical layer (PHY) configuration; further see claim 21 (in context with claim 18 and 17)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Tooher with the teachings of Chun to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit. Chun is also silent about wherein a Sub-QoS flow indicated by the Sub-QoS flow information is re-mapped to a DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a reserved value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB associated with other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity, wherein, based on the Sub-QoS flow information having a certain value, all of the at least two Sub-QoS flows are remapped to the DRB related to other one of the first PDCP entity and the second PDCP entity; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
But Chun is silent about based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit; however Cheng teaches Illustratively, it first remaps in the SDAP-PDU for being identified as the first QoS flow comprising remapping instruction information SDAP-PDU, as shown in Figure 6. Wherein, remap instruction information be used to indicate by the first mapping relations switch to the second mapping close System. Second equipment receive it is shown in fig. 6 include remap instruction information SDAP-PDU after, pass through parsing SDAP The instruction information that remaps in Header may recognize that the SDAP-PDU remaps mark for first. For example, the first equipment and Second equipment can arrange the indicating bit that length in SDAP Header is a bit and remap instruction information for carrying. For example, When the data on the indicating bit are 0, the SDAP-PDU where indicating the indicating bit remaps mark for first. When the indicating bit On data when being 1, the SDAP-PDU where indicating the indicating bit is not first to remap mark. Certainly, the embodiment of the present application In to be used to indicate remap instruction information indicating bit length with no restrictions, that is, be used to indicate remap instruction information finger Show that the length of position is not limited to a bit (i.e. here SDAP-PDU identifies a QoS flow with remapping instructions and distinguishes it from other SDAP-PDU (i.e. having other QoS flow) that don’t carry remapping mark). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Chun in view of Tooher to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on a SDAP header size of the downlink data unit, obtaining by the SDAP entity, a remapping indicator, QoS flow information and Sub-QoS flow information from the downlink data unit; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 5- 6, 11- 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0247476 A1) in view of Tooher et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0189055 A1) and in further view of Cheng et al CN109587732A and further in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0150782 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng teaches as per claim 1, but Chin is silent about wherein, based on the second Sub-QoS flow being re-mapped to the first DRB, a next uplink data unit belonging to the second Sub-QoS flow is delivered to the first PCP entity; Liu; see [0074]... the SDAP layer 506 may generate a standalone SDAP PDU 522 that includes control information containing an indication that a final SDAP data PDU associated with a QoS flow (e.g., QoS flow 516a) has been transmitted on the old DRB (e.g., DRB1 520a) upon detection of a remapping configuration change (e.g., remapping QoS flow 516a from DRB1 520a to DRB2 520b). Such detection may, for example, be based on a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message or reflective mapping; now see [0075].. the SDAP PDU 522 may therefore, be considered an SDAP control PDU functioning as an “end marker” SDAP PDU in the SDAP layer 506. The SDAP layer 506 may generate the SDAP control PDU 522 after transmitting the last/final SDAP data PDU (e.g., Pkt2 518b) for QoS flow 516a to DRB1 520a. The SDAP control PDU 522 may also be provided to the old DRB (e.g., DRB1 520a) and processed by the PDCP entity 508a to preserve the order of the end marker SDAP control PDU 522. Using the example above, the SDAP control PDU 522 may be assigned the next PDCP sequence number (e.g., SN=903) by the PDCP entity 508a. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein, based on the second Sub-QoS flow being re-mapped to the first DRB, a next uplink data unit belonging to the second Sub-QoS flow is delivered to the first PCP entity; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 6, Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng and Liu teaches as per claim 5, wherein:
based on the next uplink data unit belonging to the first data type, the uplink data unit is submitted to the second PDCP entity to which the first Sub-QoS flow is mapped, and
based on the next uplink data unit belonging to the second data type,
the uplink data unit is submitted to the first PDCP entity to which the second Sub-QoS flow is mapped; Liu see [0064].. The QoS flow to DRB mapping by NB 408 is based on the QFI and the associated QoS profiles (i.e. QoS parameters and QoS characteristics). For example, in the uplink, the NB 408 may control the mapping of QoS Flows 418a-418c to DRBs 414a and 414b using reflective mapping or explicit configuration. In reflective mapping, for each DRB 414a and 414b, the UE 406 monitors the QFI(s) of the downlink packets and applies the same mapping in the uplink That is, for a DRB (e.g., DRB 414a), the UE 406 maps the uplink packets belonging to the QoS flows(s) 418a and 418b corresponding to the QFI(s) and PDU Session 412 observed in the downlink packets for that DRB 414a. To enable this reflective mapping, the NB 408 marks downlink packets over the radio interface (Uu) with the QFI. In explicit configuration, the NB 408 may configure by RRC an uplink “QoS Flow to DRB mapping.” The UE 406 may apply the latest update of the mapping rules regardless of whether the update is performed via reflecting mapping or explicit configuration; further see [0074- 0075] and Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 11, Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng teaches as per claim 7, but Chun fails to teach about wherein, based on the second Sub-QoS flow being re-mapped to the first DRB, a next uplink data unit belonging to the second Sub-QoS flow is delivered to the first PDCP entity; Liu; see [0074]... the SDAP layer 506 may generate a standalone SDAP PDU 522 that includes control information containing an indication that a final SDAP data PDU associated with a QoS flow (e.g., QoS flow 516a) has been transmitted on the old DRB (e.g., DRB1 520a) upon detection of a remapping configuration change (e.g., remapping QoS flow 516a from DRB1 520a to DRB2 520b). Such detection may, for example, be based on a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message or reflective mapping; now see [0075].. the SDAP PDU 522 may therefore, be considered an SDAP control PDU functioning as an “end marker” SDAP PDU in the SDAP layer 506. The SDAP layer 506 may generate the SDAP control PDU 522 after transmitting the last/final SDAP data PDU (e.g., Pkt2 518b) for QoS flow 516a to DRB1 520a. The SDAP control PDU 522 may also be provided to the old DRB (e.g., DRB1 520a) and processed by the PDCP entity 508a to preserve the order of the end marker SDAP control PDU 522. Using the example above, the SDAP control PDU 522 may be assigned the next PDCP sequence number (e.g., SN=903) by the PDCP entity 508a. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein, based on the second Sub-QoS flow being re-mapped to the first DRB, a next uplink data unit belonging to the second Sub-QoS flow is delivered to the first PCP entity; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Chun in view of Tooher and Cheng and Liu teaches as per claim 11, wherein:
based on the next uplink data unit belonging to the first data type, the uplink data unit is submitted to the second PDCP entity to which the first Sub-QoS flow is mapped, and
based on the next uplink data unit belonging to the second data type,
the uplink data unit is submitted to the first PDCP entity to which the second Sub-QoS flow is mapped; Liu see [0064].. The QoS flow to DRB mapping by NB 408 is based on the QFI and the associated QoS profiles (i.e. QoS parameters and QoS characteristics). For example, in the uplink, the NB 408 may control the mapping of QoS Flows 418a-418c to DRBs 414a and 414b using reflective mapping or explicit configuration. In reflective mapping, for each DRB 414a and 414b, the UE 406 monitors the QFI(s) of the downlink packets and applies the same mapping in the uplink That is, for a DRB (e.g., DRB 414a), the UE 406 maps the uplink packets belonging to the QoS flows(s) 418a and 418b corresponding to the QFI(s) and PDU Session 412 observed in the downlink packets for that DRB 414a. To enable this reflective mapping, the NB 408 marks downlink packets over the radio interface (Uu) with the QFI. In explicit configuration, the NB 408 may configure by RRC an uplink “QoS Flow to DRB mapping.” The UE 406 may apply the latest update of the mapping rules regardless of whether the update is performed via reflecting mapping or explicit configuration; further see [0074- 0075] and Fig. 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Hong et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0234239 A1) teaches For the corresponding PDU session in the uplink, the UE may evaluate the uplink packet for the uplink packet filter in the packet filter set in the QoS rule in ascending order based on the priority of the QoS rule until the matching QoS rule is found. The UE may bind the uplink packet to the QoS flow using a QoS flow identifier (QFI) matching the corresponding QoS rule. Alternatively, the UE may additionally classify different user plane traffic (e.g., sub-stream/data unit/sub-flow/frame) belonging to one QoS flow using a packet filter set described below and bind the uplink packet to the corresponding sub-QoS flow using the identifier and/or corresponding additional indication information described in the disclosure; see [0162].
Reference Yang et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0172049 A1) teaches about .. In these embodiments, the CRAN or vBBUP can implement a RAN function split, such as a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) split wherein Radio Resource Control (RRC) and PDCP layers are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and other L2 protocol entities are operated by individual BS 111; a Media Access Control (MAC)/Physical (PHY) layer split wherein RRC, PDCP, RLC, and MAC layers are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and the PHY layer is operated by individual BS 111; or a “lower PHY” split wherein RRC, PDCP, RLC, MAC layers and upper portions of the PHY layer are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and lower portions of the PHY layer are operated by individual BS 111. This virtualized framework allows the freed-up processor cores of the BS 111 to perform other virtualized applications; see [0069].
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479