This office action is in response to amendment filed on 9/9/26. Claims 1,6,9-12 are amended and claims 3,12-18 are cancelled. Claims 19-24 are added. Claims 1-2, 4-11,19-24 are pending.
Applicant amends the claims without referencing the support for the claims. For any future amendment, it’s respectfully requested that applicant points to specific pages of the disclosure to assist the examiner in the determination of new matter rejection.
The previous 112 second paragraph rejection is withdrawn due to the amendment. The amendment necessitates new 112 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6,9 ,19,20,are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claims 6,9, the limitation “ wherein the method further comprises sheeting the mixed dough before the resting to form pizza shape”. The examiner cannot locate the limitation. There is no disclosure of sheeting before resting.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “ the same composition” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what it’s referring to. The claim does not set forth any composition for the first dough; thus, it’s unclear what second dough having the same composition as the first dough encompasses. It’s unclear what the same composition means. The recitation of “ the same composition” also does not have any antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4,7-8,11,21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the article “ Making aged pizza dough- chewy and flavorful pizza dough using sponge dough” in view of Jahnke ( 2003/0206994) and James ( 2005/0170049)
For claims 1,11 the article teaches to make dough for pizza. The dough is prepared by the steps comprising preparing a sponge dough by mixing water, flour and yeast, refrigerating the dough overnight, forming a pizza dough, adding the pizza dough to the sponge dough, resting the mixed dough at room temperature for 20 minutes, fermenting the rested dough in a warm place for one hour. The dough can be refrigerated. The preparation of sponge dough is the same as the claimed step of preparing third dough by aging the sponge dough. While the claim recites “ same composition”, there is no parameter defining the composition. The sponge dough contains the basic ingredients such as bread flour, water and yeast as the pizza dough; thus, it’s considered the same composition. Adding the sponge to the pizza dough forms a mixed dough. Fermenting is the same as proofing. ( see entire article)
For claim 2, the article teaches aging the sponge dough in a refrigerator over night. Refrigerator temperature is typically 3-4 degrees and overnight would encompass the claimed 16-23 hours.
For claim 7, the article discloses to heat treat the dough.
The article does not disclose freezing the dough and the ratio as in claim 1, the temperature as in claim 8, the ratio as in claim 11,21,22 and the amount of third dough as in claims 23-24.
Jahnke discloses a method of making frozen bakery product. The bakery product includes pizza dough. The pizza dough is pressed to form pizza crust and baked at 550 degrees F for 5 minutes to form a par baked product which is then frozen. The frozen dough is baked in microwave oven. ( see paragraph 0095-0097)
James discloses a method of making bread product from dough. James discloses the dough can be made from a sponge/dough method when a sponge dough is first prepared by mixing over half the flour. The sponge is then set to ferment for about 3-5 hours depending on the amount of flour incorporated into the sponge. As shown in table II, VI, the ratio of flour in the sponge to dough can vary. Example 3 shows more flour in sponge than the dough and example 7 gives dough with more flour in dough than sponge. ( paragraph 0052)
The article teaches to bake the pizza dough for consumption. However, it’s well known in the art as shown in Jahnke to par bake the dough and freezing for quick reheating at later time for consumption. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to freeze the dough for long term storage. It would also have been have been obvious to par-bake the dough for quick reheating at a later time. It would have been obvious to follow the guideline of Jahnke for the temperature and time and to adjust depending on the degree of cook desired and the temperature used. For instance, it would have been obvious to use lower temperature for longer time or vice versa. The preparation of the dough as shown in the article and the claimed method is by the sponge/dough method. As shown in James, the ratio of the flour in the sponge and the dough can vary and the amount of flour used affects the aging (fermenting) time. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the ratio of sponge dough and main dough as an obvious matter in variation of dough preparation. For instance, one skilled in the art can use more flour in the dough portion and much less flour in the sponge to shorten the aging time of the sponge. Such parameter can readily be determined by one skilled in the art through routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 5-6,9-10,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the article in view of Jahnke and James as applied to claims 1-2,4,7-8,11,21-24 above, and further in view of Cai ( 20170142982) and Leicht ( 2016/0081358).
The article does not disclose the features in claims 5-6, 9-10,19-20.
Cai discloses a method of making dough. The dough is shaped into desired shape such as pizza crust. The shape dough is proofed at temperature of about 26.5-43 degrees C at about 60-90 relative humidity. ( see paragraph 0042)
Leicht discloses food product having crunchy texture. The product includes pizza crust. The crust includes thin crust and thick crust. The thin crust is usually within the range of 3-10mm ( .3-1cm) and thick crust is usually 10-40mm (1-4cm). Leicht discloses a texture analyzer can be used to analyze many aspects of food products such as hardness, chewiness, gumminess etc.. ( see paragraphs 0019, 0023-0024)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to press the dough when desiring to form pizza crust. This step would have been readily apparent to one skilled in the art. It would have been obvious to vary the thickness depending on the textural desired of thick crust, thin crust or any varying intermediates. As shown in Leicht, the thickness claimed is typical of thin or thick crust It would have been obvious to follow the guideline of Cai for the temperature and relative humidity and to optimize depending on the type of crust and the degree of expansion desired. It would have been obvious to vary the time depending on the temperature and degree of proofing desired. Such parameter can readily be determined by one skilled in the art. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art to use texture analyzer as shown in Leicht to determine the texture of the product. It would have been obvious to determine the specific numbers desired to obtain the desirable texture. The dough disclosed in the article comprises flour, yeast and salt. It would have been an obvious matter of preference to sheet the dough before resting as it does not affect the functionality of the dough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the response, applicant argues the article does not teach or suggest the claimed ratio. A new reference is added to address the ratio. The preparation of the dough as shown in the article and the claimed method is by the sponge/dough method. As shown in James, the ratio of the flour in the sponge and the dough can vary and the amount of flour used affects the aging (fermenting) time. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the ratio of sponge dough and main dough as an obvious matter in variation of dough preparation. For instance, one skilled in the art can use more flour in the dough portion and much less flour in the sponge to shorten the aging time of the sponge. Such parameter can readily be determined by one skilled in the art through routine experimentation. Applicant asserts that the claimed range is critical in achieving a superior paste stability. Applicant points to the results shown in table 5. The results only show 3 examples of ratio 5.6, 2.3 and 1.22. This is not fair representation of the ranges recited in the claims. The ratio in claim 1 is from 6-1.5, claim 21 is 3-1.5 and claim 22 is 2 to 1.5. Most importantly, there is no analysis to show that there are statistical differences among the values for resistance, extensibility and elasticity. There is showing that resistance, extensibility and elasticity will be remarkably difference with ratio outside of the claimed range. There is no evidence to show that the results in table 5 are critical. Paragraph 0032 of the instant specification discloses ratio of 9:1 to 3:2 and states that the weight ratio in the range gives satisfactory results. As shown in James, the weight ratio to flour in the sponge dough and main dough can vary. Applicant further argues the article fails to teach or suggest any second dough having the same composition as the first dough. This argument is not persuasive. While the claim recites “ same composition”, there is no parameter defining the composition. The sponge dough contains the basic ingredients such as bread flour, water and yeast as the pizza dough; thus, it’s considered the same composition.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
November 5, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793