Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-15 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #119, R2-2207864 in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0354467 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 14-15; 3GPP discloses a method of receiving a signal by a user equipment, UE, a device for wireless communication, a base station, comprising:
A transceiver (a transceiver is inherent in modern communications of UE, BS (RAN, page 1 introduction); and
A processor (a processor inherent in modern communications of UE, BS (RAN, page 1 introduction) configured to control the transceiver to:
receiving a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration through higher layer signaling (see section 2.1, received DRX);
receiving downlink control information, DCI, in an on-duration of a DRX cycle based on the DRX configuration (see section 2.1, DRX and DCI); and
receiving a downlink signal in an on-duration of a subsequent DRX cycle following the DRX cycle (see: Section 2.1: "• Periodically change the drx start offset [2]: it consists of adapting or changing the drx-startoffset periodically. As the drift becomes large after few cycles and the XR traffic arrival time risk to fall outside the DRX On-Duration, drx-startoffset adjustment can be done by the UE by using for example a counter, e.g. correct the offset every 3 cycles. This solution allows to fully align the C-DRX cycles and the XR traffic periodically. The network configures the adjustment period depending on the length of the On-Duration. Short On-Durations require more frequent offset correction. Longer On-Durations require less frequent offset correction. Dynamically change the drx-startoffset [2]: it is similar to the previous solution but it is done dynamically via Ll signaling". Layer 1 signaling, in the context of XR traffic and connected mode DRX, C-DRX, implies sending the on-duration, i.e., Short On-Duration or Long On-Duration, of the subsequent DRX using DCI information), and
3GPP does not specifically disclose however Xu discloses wherein the DCI comprises first information for adjusting a start of the on-duration of the subsequent DRX cycle (see [0118], UE recedives “The increment or decrement value may be in reference to the default index, or may accumulate across long DRX cycles.”)and second information regarding an accumulated number of times the start of the on-duration of the subsequent DRX cycle has been adjusted (see WU, [0163] UD det4erming a number of DRX cycles, which are the accumulated number of times of on-duration versus off), and
wherein DRX initialization or reconfiguration is performed based on the accumulated number obtained from the second information is different from a number counted by the UE (see WU, [0163] UD determine a number of DRX cycles, which are the accumulated number of times of on-duration versus off, here this is UE determined versus what is received from network/base station as default);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP with that of Xu. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1,
3gpp does not best disclose however Xu best discloses wherein the first information includes an offset value (offset value [0152]) from a start of the subsequent DRX cycle to the start of the on-duration (active versus inactive duration [0005]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP with that of Xu. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 12,
3gpp does not best disclose however Xu best discloses wherein the offset is accumulated for each DRX cycle, and wherein the first information is related to an increment or decrement of the offset value (see increment [0127] regarding offset value);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP with that of Xu. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, 3gpp does not best disclose however Xu best discloses wherein the start of the on-duration of the subsequent DRX cycle is adjustable only once for each DRX cycle (see WU, [0163] UD determine a number of DRX cycles, which are the accumulated number of times of on-duration versus off, here this is UE determined versus what is received from network/base station as default, here adjustment is obviously once);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP with that of Xu. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 1,
Xu better discloses wherein the downlink signal comprises a subsequent DCI received in the on-duration of the subsequent DRX cycle (subsequent DCI messages received [0072]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP with that of Xu. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE transmits a requests for the DRX initialization or reconfiguration based on that the accumulated number in the second information is different from the number counted by the UE (see WU, [0163] UD determine a number of DRX cycles, which are the accumulated number of times of on-duration versus off, here this is UE determined versus what is received from network/base station as default);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP with that of Xu. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the DCI is related to scheduling of traffic having a non-integer periodicity (e.g., for claim 9: See section 2.1: "the corresponding traffic periodicities of XR are non-integer values of {33.33, 16.67, 11.11, 8.33} ms").
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP in view of Xu discloses the non-transitory processor-readable recording medium of claim 1,
Xu better discloses having recorded thereon a program for performing the method of claim 1 (program code – [0078]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP with that of Xu. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 11,
3GPP does not best disclose however Xu best discloses wherein the device is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processing device (see ASIC, [0067]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP with that of Xu. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 13, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: a transceiver, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system (see section 2.1: "UE").
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #119, R2-2207864 in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0354467 A1) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2021/0006356 A1).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1,
3gpp does not best disclose however Xu best disclose wherein the second information includes a value determined based on a modulo operation for the accumulated number (see Khoshnevisan, modulo operation, accumulated number for downlink transmissions for DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP and Xu with that of Khoshnevisan. Doing so would conform to well-known standards in the field of invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ingale et al. (US 2015/0250017 A1) – discloses wherein, based on the reception of the preceding DCI having been missed, an initialization or reconfiguration of the DRX related configuration is performed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643