DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 01/05/2026.
a) Claims 22-41 are pending in the application. Claims 22, 29, 35 have been amended and claims 23-28, 30-34, 36-41 were previously presented.
b) The objection to the Abstract is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that
MolavianJazi fails to disclose each and every element of the amended independent claims (Page 8-9, Remarks).
In response to A) the examiner respectfully disagrees. MolavianJazi explicitly discloses an apparatus to be implemented in a next generation Node B (gNB) (Figs. 1-2, [0040]-[0045] and [0212], lines 12-16, describe a method designed to support efficient data transmission for the next generation (gNB) for fast communication with the UE), the apparatus comprising: memory to store configuration information for a Msg3 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition by a user equipment (UE); (Figs. 2-3, [0010], [0056] and [0059], the memory is connected to the processor and stores various pieces of information associated with an operation of the processor, ”the processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116), which includes all activities for Msg3 PUSCH), and processor circuitry, coupled with the memory to: retrieve the configuration information from memory (Figs. 2-3, [0053]-[0057], lines 1-6, the figures show the processor, transceiver, and memory coupled for performing the method of the invention. the UE, by the processor, can store, execute, retrieve any stored configuration information in the memory to perform a specific operation), wherein the configuration information includes an indication of separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) configured to distinguish UEs associated with the Msg3 PUSCH repetition from UEs associated with no Msg3 PUSCH repetition ([0175], lines 1-3, states “a UE type distinction can be made based on a PRACH configuration. For example, a PRACH configuration can be used to distinguish a UE-type.” and [0178] lines 1-3 states “By using UEs configured with different PRACH configurations, the gNB 102 or network can identify and distinguish UEs from different types.” and in lines 10-14 “a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH.” and [0259], lines 30-34, states “In one example, the UE can be configured by higher layer parameters (e.g., dedicated or broadcast/SIB) with multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations (associated with different PRACH preamble groups, different RO partitions, different DMRS ports/sequences, etc.)”, [0177], lines 3-8, and [0079], lines 8-11, that implies the configuration information can include an indication of separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) that distinguish UEs types according to their capabilities (w/o Msg3 PUSCH repetition)), wherein the separate ROs indicate a request for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition ([0176] describes two UEs can be configured with different PRACH configurations, including separate PUSCH occasions and PRACH preambles, based on their capabilities, [0251], lines 5-8, states “A number of repetitions for a PRACH preamble transmission and a number of repetitions for PUSCH transmission in MsgA can be provided by a same configuration or by separate configurations from higher layers.“ [0259], lines 43-39,states “each Msg-A PUSCH configuration provides a separate (same or different) configuration of a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH, while in another option, a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH can be a common higher layer parameter for all of the multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations.” That means the configuration includes indication that the separate RACH occasions (ROs) can be linked to Msg3 PUCH repetitions for the UEs that require Msg3 PUCH repetitions, [0209], lines 3-6, [0052], lines 5-8); and encode a message that includes the configuration information for transmission to the UE (Figs. 4A and 4B illustrate the encode and decoder for encrypt and decrypt the information at the transmitting and receiving circuits, where the transmitter structure 401 can be implemented in a UE 111-116 or a gNB 101-103 , as stated in [0062]. [0063], states “information bits, such as control bits or data bits 402, are encoded by an encoder 404, rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources by a rate matcher 406 and modulated by a modulator 408. Subsequently, modulated encoded symbols and DMRS 410 are mapped to SCs 412 by SC mapping unit 414, an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) is performed by filter 416, a cyclic prefix (CP) is added by CP insertion unit 418, and a resulting signal 422 is filtered by a filter and transmitted by a radio frequency (RF) unit 420”). Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
MolavianJazi does not teach or suggest, at least: "separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) configured to distinguish UEs associated with the Msg3 PUSCH
repetition from UEs associated with no Msg3 PUSCH repetition, wherein the separate ROs indicate a request for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition," (Pages 8-9, Remarks).
In response to B) the examiner respectfully disagrees. MolavianJazi explicitly discloses at [0175], lines 1-3, states “a UE type distinction can be made based on a PRACH configuration. For example, a PRACH configuration can be used to distinguish a UE-type.” and [0178] lines 1-3 states “By using UEs configured with different PRACH configurations, the gNB 102 or network can identify and distinguish UEs from different types.” and in lines 10-14 “a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH.” and [0259], lines 30-34, states “In one example, the UE can be configured by higher layer parameters (e.g., dedicated or broadcast/SIB) with multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations (associated with different PRACH preamble groups, different RO partitions, different DMRS ports/sequences, etc.)”, [0177], lines 3-8, and [0079], lines 8-11, that implies the configuration information can include an indication of separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) that distinguish UEs types according to their capabilities (w/o Msg3 PUSCH repetition. [0176] describes two UEs can be configured with different PRACH configurations, including separate PUSCH occasions and PRACH preambles, based on their capabilities, [0251], lines 5-8, states “A number of repetitions for a PRACH preamble transmission and a number of repetitions for PUSCH transmission in MsgA can be provided by a same configuration or by separate configurations from higher layers.“ [0259], lines 43-39,states “each Msg-A PUSCH configuration provides a separate (same or different) configuration of a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH, while in another option, a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH can be a common higher layer parameter for all of the multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations.” That means the configuration includes indication that the separate RACH occasions (ROs) can be linked to Msg3 PUCH repetitions for the UEs that require Msg3 PUCH repetitions, [0209], lines 3-6, [0052], lines 5-8. Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
Applicant argues that the amended independent claims 22, 29, and 35 are in condition for allowance. (Page 9, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Applicant argues that the remaining claims, dependent claims are allowable for similar reasons (Page 9, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi (US-20210058971-A1), as field on Aug. 06, 2020 and published on Feb. 25, 2021.
Regarding Claim 22 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi teaches an apparatus to be implemented in a next generation Node B (gNB) (Figs. 1-2, [0040]-[0045] and [0212], lines 12-16, describe a method designed to support efficient data transmission for the next generation (gNB) for fast communication with the UE), the apparatus comprising: memory to store configuration information for a Msg3 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition by a user equipment (UE); (Figs. 2-3, [0010], [0056] and [0059], the memory is connected to the processor and stores various pieces of information associated with an operation of the processor, ”the processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116), which includes all activities for Msg3 PUSCH), and processor circuitry, coupled with the memory to: retrieve the configuration information from memory (Figs. 2-3, [0053]-[0057], lines 1-6, the figures show the processor, transceiver, and memory coupled for performing the method of the invention. the UE, by the processor, can store, execute, retrieve any stored configuration information in the memory to perform a specific operation), wherein the configuration information includes an indication of separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) configured to distinguish UEs associated with the Msg3 PUSCH repetition from UEs associated with no Msg3 PUSCH repetition ([0175], lines 1-3, states “a UE type distinction can be made based on a PRACH configuration. For example, a PRACH configuration can be used to distinguish a UE-type.” and [0178] lines 1-3 states “By using UEs configured with different PRACH configurations, the gNB 102 or network can identify and distinguish UEs from different types.” and in lines 10-14 “a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH.” and [0259], lines 30-34, states “In one example, the UE can be configured by higher layer parameters (e.g., dedicated or broadcast/SIB) with multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations (associated with different PRACH preamble groups, different RO partitions, different DMRS ports/sequences, etc.)”, [0177], lines 3-8, and [0079], lines 8-11, that implies the configuration information can include an indication of separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) that distinguish UEs types according to their capabilities (w/o Msg3 PUSCH repetition)), wherein the separate ROs indicate a request for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition ([0176] describes two UEs can be configured with different PRACH configurations, including separate PUSCH occasions and PRACH preambles, based on their capabilities, [0251], lines 5-8, states “A number of repetitions for a PRACH preamble transmission and a number of repetitions for PUSCH transmission in MsgA can be provided by a same configuration or by separate configurations from higher layers.“ [0259], lines 43-39,states “each Msg-A PUSCH configuration provides a separate (same or different) configuration of a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH, while in another option, a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH can be a common higher layer parameter for all of the multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations.” That means the configuration includes indication that the separate RACH occasions (ROs) can be linked to Msg3 PUCH repetitions for the UEs that require Msg3 PUCH repetitions, [0209], lines 3-6, [0052], lines 5-8); and encode a message that includes the configuration information for transmission to the UE (Figs. 4A and 4B illustrate the encode and decoder for encrypt and decrypt the information at the transmitting and receiving circuits, where the transmitter structure 401 can be implemented in a UE 111-116 or a gNB 101-103 , as stated in [0062]. [0063], states “information bits, such as control bits or data bits 402, are encoded by an encoder 404, rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources by a rate matcher 406 and modulated by a modulator 408. Subsequently, modulated encoded symbols and DMRS 410 are mapped to SCs 412 by SC mapping unit 414, an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) is performed by filter 416, a cyclic prefix (CP) is added by CP insertion unit 418, and a resulting signal 422 is filtered by a filter and transmitted by a radio frequency (RF) unit 420”).
Regarding claim 23 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the apparatus of claim 22.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the Msg3 PUSCH repetition is associated with a four-step RACH procedure ([0075], lines 1-6, [0101], a four-step RA procedure, also known as a Type-1 (L1) random access procedure, includes the transmission of a PRACH preamble (Msg1), the attempt to receive a random access response (RAR or Msg2), and the transmission of a contention resolution message (Msg3), which can be included with power ramping to improve the successful decoding by the gNB).
Regarding claim 24 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teach the apparatus of claim 22.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information includes an indication of: a PRACH root sequence index ([0084], lines 1-6, depicts the PRACH root sequence index can be a part of configuration), a restricted set configuration([0144], lines 19-22 and [0215], lines 22-30, includes restriction in the specification such as NR-Light UEs/RedCap UEs), a Msg1 frequency start and Msg1 frequency division multiplexing (FDM) ([0083], lines 3-6, define the starting frequency resources, each RACH resource may contain a number of FDMed ROs as indicated by parameter msg1-FDM ), a zero-correlation zone configuration, or a total number of preambles available for a request of a Msg3 PUSCH repetition.
Regarding claim 25 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the apparatus of claim 22. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration includes an indication of parameter for an association between a synchronization signal block (SSB) and an RO ([0085], lines 1-8, discusses how the association between SSBs and ROs as a part of the configuration of PRACH).
Regarding claim 26 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the apparatus of claim 22.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a plurality of PRACH formats ([0079], lines 5-19, [0195], lines 11-17, describe different formats can be included for the PRACH which are mapped to special configurations,).
Regarding claim 27 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the apparatus of claim 22.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information is to indicate an initial uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UE ([0094], lines 1-7, indicates the initial UL BWP is an essential part of the RedCap UEs during a random access and initial access procedure. [0274]-[0275], illustrate NR-Light UEs or reduced capability (RedCap) UEs may have specific configuration for UL BWPs, [0151], lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 28 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the apparatus of claim 27.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information includes a PRACH preamble partitioning for the RedCap UE ([0118], lines 2-10, [0163]-[0164], [0179], lines 31-34 include PRACH preamble petitioning based on coverage enhancement and power class for NR-Light UEs or reduced capability (RedCap) UEs to enhance the coverage and avoid the collisions).
Regarding claim 29 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors cause a next-generation NodeB (gNB) to (Figs. 1-2, [0040]-[0045] and [0212], lines 12-16, describe a method designed to support efficient data transmission for the next generation (gNB) for fast communication with the UE. Figs. 2-3, [0010], [0056] and [0059], the memory is connected to the processor and stores various pieces of information associated with an operation of the processor, figures show the processor, transceiver, and memory coupled for performing the method of the invention, ”the processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116”), determine configuration information for a Msg3 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with a four-step RACH procedure by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5,[0121], [0259], [0131], lines 1-4, the UE determines configuration information for Msg3 repetition based on higher-layer signaling, such as SIBs or RRC, UE calculates the transmission power for Msg3 repletion based on its configuration and measurements. [0075], lines 1-6, [0101], a four-step RA procedure, also known as a Type-1 (L1) random access procedure, includes the transmission of a PRACH preamble (Msg1), the attempt to receive a random access response (RAR or Msg2), and the transmission of a contention resolution message (Msg3), which can be included with power ramping to improve the successful decoding by the gNB), wherein the configuration information includes an indication of separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) configured to distinguish UEs associated with the Msg3 PUSCH repetition from UEs associated with no Msg3 PUSCH repetition, ([0175], lines 1-3, states “a UE type distinction can be made based on a PRACH configuration. For example, a PRACH configuration can be used to distinguish a UE-type.” and [0178] lines 1-3 states “By using UEs configured with different PRACH configurations, the gNB 102 or network can identify and distinguish UEs from different types.” and in lines 10-14 “a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH.” and [0259], lines 30-34, states “In one example, the UE can be configured by higher layer parameters (e.g., dedicated or broadcast/SIB) with multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations (associated with different PRACH preamble groups, different RO partitions, different DMRS ports/sequences, etc.)”, [0177], lines 3-8, and [0079], lines 8-11, that implies the configuration information can include an indication of separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) that distinguish UEs types according to their capabilities (w/o Msg3 PUSCH repetition)), wherein the separate ROs indicate a request for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition ([0176] describes two UEs can be configured with different PRACH configurations, including separate PUSCH occasions and PRACH preambles, based on their capabilities, [0251], lines 5-8, states “A number of repetitions for a PRACH preamble transmission and a number of repetitions for PUSCH transmission in MsgA can be provided by a same configuration or by separate configurations from higher layers.“ [0259], lines 43-39,states “each Msg-A PUSCH configuration provides a separate (same or different) configuration of a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH, while in another option, a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH can be a common higher layer parameter for all of the multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations.” That means the configuration includes indication that the separate RACH occasions (ROs) can be linked to Msg3 PUCH repetitions for the UEs that require Msg3 PUCH repetitions, [0209], lines 3-6, [0052], lines 5-8); and encode a message that includes the configuration information for transmission to the UE (Figs. 4A and 4B illustrate the encode and decoder for encrypt and decrypt the information at the transmitting and receiving circuits, where the transmitter structure 401 can be implemented in a UE 111-116 or a gNB 101-103 , as stated in [0062]. [0063], states “information bits, such as control bits or data bits 402, are encoded by an encoder 404, rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources by a rate matcher 406 and modulated by a modulator 408. Subsequently, modulated encoded symbols and DMRS 410 are mapped to SCs 412 by SC mapping unit 414, an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) is performed by filter 416, a cyclic prefix (CP) is added by CP insertion unit 418, and a resulting signal 422 is filtered by a filter and transmitted by a radio frequency (RF) unit 420).
Regarding claim 30 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 29.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information includes an indication of: a PRACH root sequence index ([0084], lines 1-6, depicts the PRACH root sequence index can be a part of configuration), a restricted set configuration([0144], lines 19-22 and [0215], lines 22-30, includes restriction in the specification such as NR-Light UEs/RedCap UEs), a Msg1 frequency start and Msg1 frequency division multiplexing (FDM) ([0083], lines 3-6, define the starting frequency resources, each RACH resource may contain a number of FDMed ROs as indicated by parameter msg1-FDM ), a zero-correlation zone configuration, or a total number of preambles available for a request of a Msg3 PUSCH repetition.
Regarding claim 31 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 29.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration includes an indication of parameter for an association between a synchronization signal block (SSB) and an RO ([0085], lines 1-8, discusses how the association between SSBs and ROs as a part of the configuration of PRACH).
Regarding claim 32 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 29.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a plurality of PRACH formats ([0079], lines 5-19, [0195], lines 11-17, describe different formats can be included for the PRACH which are mapped to special configurations).
Regarding claim 33 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 29.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information is to indicate an initial uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UE ([0094], lines 1-7, indicates the initial UL BWP is an essential part of the RedCap UEs during a random access and initial access procedure. [0274]-[0275], illustrate NR-Light UEs or reduced capability (RedCap) UEs may have specific configuration for UL BWPs, [0151], lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 34 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 33.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information includes a PRACH preamble partitioning for the RedCap UE ([0118], lines 2-10, [0163]-[0164], [0179], lines 31-34 include PRACH preamble petitioning based on coverage enhancement and power class for NR-Light UEs or reduced capability (RedCap) UEs to enhance the coverage and avoid the collisions)
Regarding claim 35, MolavianJazi teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a next-generation NodeE (gNE) to (Figs. 1-2, [0040]-[0045] and [0212], lines 12-16, describe a method designed to support efficient data transmission for the next generation (gNB) for fast communication with the UE. Figs. 2-3, [0010], [0056] and [0059], the memory is connected to the processor and stores various pieces of information associated with an operation of the processor, figures show the processor, transceiver, and memory coupled for performing the method of the invention, ”the processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116”), determine configuration information for a Msg3 physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5, [0121], [0259], [0131], lines 1-4, the UE determines configuration information for Msg3 repetition based on higher-layer signaling, such as SIBs or RRC, UE calculates the transmission power for Msg3 repletion based on its configuration and measurements), wherein the configuration information includes an indication of shared random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) associated with the Msg3 PUSCH repetition for UEs requesting the Msg3 PUSCH repetition and UEs not requesting the Msg3 PUSCH repetition ([0118], lines 11-17, [0083], lines 1-3, [0085], lines 12-14, [0159], lines 11-16, the configuration information specifies shared RACH occasions to enable the repetitions including: reusing Rel-15 ROs and/or configuring additional/extended/replicated ROs in time and/or frequency, where configuration of additional/extended/replicated ROs across different CE levels can be arbitrary or in a nested/scalable manner), and wherein the configuration information includes an indication of separate physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles associated with the shared RACH ROs for the UEs requesting the Msg3 PUSCH repetition and the UEs not requesting the Msg3 PUSCH repetition ([0175], lines 1-3, states “a UE type distinction can be made based on a PRACH configuration. For example, a PRACH configuration can be used to distinguish a UE-type.” and [0178] lines 1-3 states “By using UEs configured with different PRACH configurations, the gNB 102 or network can identify and distinguish UEs from different types.” and in lines 10-14 “a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH.” and [0259], lines 30-34, states “In one example, the UE can be configured by higher layer parameters (e.g., dedicated or broadcast/SIB) with multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations (associated with different PRACH preamble groups, different RO partitions, different DMRS ports/sequences, etc.)”, [0177], lines 3-8, and [0079], lines 8-11, that implies the configuration information can include an indication of separate random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) that distinguish UEs types according to their capabilities (w/o Msg3 PUSCH repetition. [0176] describes two UEs can be configured with different PRACH configurations, including separate PUSCH occasions and PRACH preambles, based on their capabilities, [0251], lines 5-8, states “A number of repetitions for a PRACH preamble transmission and a number of repetitions for PUSCH transmission in MsgA can be provided by a same configuration or by separate configurations from higher layers.“ [0259], lines 43-39,states “each Msg-A PUSCH configuration provides a separate (same or different) configuration of a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH, while in another option, a number of repetitions for MsgA PUSCH can be a common higher layer parameter for all of the multiple Msg-A PUSCH configurations.” That means the configuration includes indication that the separate RACH occasions (ROs) can be linked to Msg3 PUCH repetitions for the UEs that require Msg3 PUCH repetitions, [0209], lines 3-6, [0052], lines 5-8); wherein a selection of a preamble from the separate PRACH preambles indicates a request for the Msg3 PUSCH repetition ([0178] states “In one example, a SIB can provide separate PRACH preambles for legacy/Rel-16 UEs compared to PRACH preambles for non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs so that the gNB 102 can identify the UE type and avoid mixing the two UE types in a same Msg2 PDSCH“, which implies that separate PRACH preambles can be configured for different types of UEs, such as non-legacy UEs, reduced-capability UEs, or NR-Light UEs. [0075], lines 1-6, [0104], lines 1-7, [0178], lines 10-14, [0259], describes different examples of separate PRACH preambles linked to shared RACH ROs for UEs that required them, [0116], lines 7-9, [0085], lines 12-14, [0083], lines 1-3, [0251], lines 5-9); and encode a message that includes the configuration information for transmission to the UE (Figs. 4A and 4B illustrate the encode and decoder for encrypt and decrypt the information at the transmitting and receiving circuits, where the transmitter structure 401 can be implemented in a UE 111-116 or a gNB 101-103 , as stated in [0062]. [0063], states “information bits, such as control bits or data bits 402, are encoded by an encoder 404, rate matched to assigned time/frequency resources by a rate matcher 406 and modulated by a modulator 408. Subsequently, modulated encoded symbols and DMRS 410 are mapped to SCs 412 by SC mapping unit 414, an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) is performed by filter 416, a cyclic prefix (CP) is added by CP insertion unit 418, and a resulting signal 422 is filtered by a filter and transmitted by a radio frequency (RF) unit 420).
Regarding claim 36 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 35.
MolavianJazi teach wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a total number of contention-based random access (CBRA) preambles and a total number of contention-free random access (CFRA) preambles ([0084], [0085], lines 5-14, a PRACH preamble transmission, for both CBRA and CFRA modes, the R is number of CBRA preambles which are mapped to SSBs and ROs, where R < 64. [0077] and [0086], lines 1-3, 64 preambles are available in each PRACH occasion, which includes both CBPA and CFRA).
Regarding claim 37 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 36.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the PRACH preambles for the UEs requesting the Msg3 PUSCH repetition are allocated after the CBRA preambles ([0104], lines 1-5, [0085], lines 5-8, [0074], the CBRA preambles are allocated first, and they are given priority over preambles for Msg3 PUSCH repetition, which describe the R contention based preambles per SS/PBCH block per valid PRACH occasion for Type-2 random access procedure start after the ones for Type-1 random access procedure. [0074], lines 1-5, describes the preambles are allocated first, as they are associated with contention-based random access procedures, [0075], lines 1-8 and [0102], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 38 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 36.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the CERA preambles are associated with a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure ([0074]-[0075], illustrate the CBRA can be associated with both two-step and four-step RACH procedures depending on the network configurations and UE capabilities).
Regarding claim 39 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 35.
MolavianJazi further teaches, wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a set of PRACH preambles associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([0216], [0161], lines 1-3, [0166], lines 14-17, [0077], the information in the configuration provided by the network includes an indication of the set of PRACH preambles associated with each SSB, [0196], lines 1-3, [0085], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 40 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 35.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information is to indicate an initial uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) for a reduced capability (RedCap) UE ([0094], lines 1-7, indicates the initial UL BWP is an essential part of the RedCap UEs during a random access and initial access procedure. [0274]-[0275], illustrate NR-Light UEs or reduced capability (RedCap) UEs may have specific configuration for UL BWPs, [0151], lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 41 (Previously Presented), MolavianJazi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 40.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration information includes a PRACH preamble partitioning for the RedCap UE ([0118], lines 2-10, [0163]-[0164], [0179], lines 31-34 include PRACH preamble petitioning based on coverage enhancement and power class for NR-Light UEs or reduced capability (RedCap) UEs to enhance the coverage and avoid the collisions).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Kim et al. (US-20210112590-A1), Li et al (US-20190387546-A1), Ko et al. (US-20200196356-A1), Jeon et al. (US-20200314917-A1), Wang et al. (WO-2020032637-A1) , Liu et al. (WO-2020075775-A1) and Christoffersson et al. (WO-2021064223-A1) teach methods for performing a random access procedure in a WCS.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463