DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 09/07/2023.
Claims 1-18 are under examination.
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 09/07/2023 has been entered and considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the images are blurry. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele et al. (US 2018/0091482 A1) and Chung et al. (US 2017/0013034 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Steele et al. discloses A driving device that drives a security tool system [par. 0032, “By obscuring folder and file names with guids and implementing encryption techniques on files the directory structure”], the device comprising: a conversion processing unit for converting a path of a file reading command requested from inside of the security tool system on the basis of the folder structure conversion information [par. 0029, “The document retrieval id (or document GUID) is passed into the ISA application upon request by the processor. The application queries the database through algorithms for the previously saved metadata which will be used to locate and decrypt the encrypted file and tell the browser what type of application will be needed to open the file”].
Steele et al. does not explicitly disclose a folder structure management unit for managing folder structure conversion information of the security tool system.
However Chung et al. teaches a folder structure management unit for managing folder structure conversion information of the security tool system [par. 0064, “the electronic device 110 may map and manage a path for the file stored in the local storage space with a unique address of the content with respect to the file of the content stored in the local storage space. In this case, in step 450, the local server may read out the file of the content from the local storage space using the path mapped with the unique address of the content”, par. 0065, “files may be stored in the local storage space in an encryption scheme to protect the files of the content stored in the local storage space”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Chung et al. into the teaching of Steele et al. with the motivation for protecting content as taught by Chung et al. [Chung et al.: par. 0007].
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Steele et al. further disclose the folder structure conversion information is generated according to an encryption process previously performed by an encryption processing unit [par. 0033, “ By obscuring folder and file names with guids and implementing encryption techniques on files the directory structure becomes undecipherable and offers an improved level of protection to our clients”], and includes conversion tree structure information obtained by converting an original folder tree structure of the security tool system [par. 0037, Directory Obscuration, par. 0039, Obscure Subsequent Directories, par. 0049, Filename Obscuration].
Chung et al. further teaches the folder structure conversion information includes original folder tree structure information mapped to the conversion tree structure information [par. 0064, “the electronic device 110 may map and manage a path for the file stored in the local storage space with a unique address of the content with respect to the file of the content stored in the local storage space. In this case, in step 450, the local server may read out the file of the content from the local storage space using the path mapped with the unique address of the content”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Chung et al. into the teaching of Steele et al. with the motivation for protecting content as taught by Chung et al. [Chung et al.: par. 0007].
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Chung et al. further teaches the previously performed encryption process includes a process of mapping the original folder tree structure information to the randomly encrypted conversion tree structure [par. 0064, “the electronic device 110 may map and manage a path for the file stored in the local storage space with a unique address of the content with respect to the file of the content stored in the local storage space. In this case, in step 450, the local server may read out the file of the content from the local storage space using the path mapped with the unique address of the content”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Chung et al. into the teaching of Steele et al. with the motivation for protecting content as taught by Chung et al. [Chung et al.: par. 0007].
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Steele et al. further disclose the previously performed encryption process includes a process of mapping the original folder tree structure information to the randomly encrypted conversion tree structure [par. 0033, “ By obscuring folder and file names with guids and implementing encryption techniques on files the directory structure becomes undecipherable and offers an improved level of protection to our clients”, par. 0037, Directory Obscuration, par. 0039, Obscure Subsequent Directories, par. 0049, Filename Obscuration].
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Steele et al. further disclose the previously performed encryption process is repeatedly performed at each first cycle elapsed according to driving of the security tool system [par. 0033, “ By obscuring folder and file names with guids and implementing encryption techniques on files the directory structure becomes undecipherable and offers an improved level of protection to our clients”, par. 0037, Directory Obscuration, par. 0039, Obscure Subsequent Directories, par. 0049, Filename Obscuration].
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Steele et al. further disclose an interface providing unit for outputting a manager interface according to driving of the security tool system in order to process the previously performed encryption process, wherein the previously performed encryption process is processed according to a user's input for folder structure encryption corresponding to the manager interface [par. 0007, “in response to user attempts to upload data through a computer interface to the ISA application, folder and file names where such data is stored, are obscured with computer generated random guids; when such obscured folder and file names are obscured, files stored on the system folders are encrypted to thwart human understanding as they are collected prior to manipulation or later dissemination”].
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
Steele et al. further disclose the input for folder structure encryption includes an immediate execution command or a repetition cycle setting command of the encryption process [par. 0007, “in response to user attempts to upload data through a computer interface to the ISA application, folder and file names where such data is stored, are obscured with computer generated random guids; when such obscured folder and file names are obscured, files stored on the system folders are encrypted to thwart human understanding as they are collected prior to manipulation or later dissemination”].
Regarding claim 10, Steele et al. discloses A driving method of a driving device that drives a security tool system, the method comprising: an encryption processing step of generating conversion tree structure information by converting an original folder tree structure according to an encryption process of the security tool system [par. 0032, “By obscuring folder and file names with guids and implementing encryption techniques on files the directory structure”, par. 0033, “the obscuring and encryption processes of the present invention take place… Eb represents the stage where the file is encrypted with the key, and stage Ec represents the process of obscuring the directory in a serial manner through sub-stages Eci.-iv, which include Eci—obscuring an affiliate folder name”]; and a conversion processing step of converting a path of a file reading command requested from inside of the security tool system on the basis of the folder structure conversion information [par. 0029, “The document retrieval id (or document GUID) is passed into the ISA application upon request by the processor. The application queries the database through algorithms for the previously saved metadata which will be used to locate and decrypt the encrypted file and tell the browser what type of application will be needed to open the file”].
Steele et al. does not explicitly disclose a folder structure management step of managing folder structure conversion information of the security tool system on the basis of the conversion tree structure information.
However Chung et al. teaches a folder structure management step of managing folder structure conversion information of the security tool system on the basis of the conversion tree structure information [par. 0064, “the electronic device 110 may map and manage a path for the file stored in the local storage space with a unique address of the content with respect to the file of the content stored in the local storage space. In this case, in step 450, the local server may read out the file of the content from the local storage space using the path mapped with the unique address of the content”, par. 0065, “files may be stored in the local storage space in an encryption scheme to protect the files of the content stored in the local storage space”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Chung et al. into the teaching of Steele et al. with the motivation for protecting content as taught by Chung et al. [Chung et al.: par. 0007].
Regarding claim 11, it recites limitations like claim 2. The reason for the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 12, it recites limitations like claim 3. The reason for the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 13, it recites limitations like claim 4. The reason for the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 14, it recites limitations like claim 5. The reason for the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 15, it recites limitations like claim 6. The reason for the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 16, it recites limitations like claim 7. The reason for the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated herein.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele et al. (US 2018/0091482 A1) and Chung et al. (US 2017/0013034 A1) as applied to claims 1-7 and 10-16 above, and further in view of Cao et al. (US 2022/0317905 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Steele et al. and Chung et al. discloses the folder structure management unit stores and manages the folder structure conversion information.
They do not explicitly disclose stores and manages the folder structure conversion information on a random-access memory of the security tool system.
However Cao et al. teaches stores and manages the folder structure conversion information on a random-access memory of the security tool system [par. 0137, “the memory includes a RAM memory for storing a logic-to-physical (L2P) mapping table that includes an entry mapping logical addresses of the file to physical addresses of the file, and a NAND flash memory”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Cao et al. into the teaching of Steele et al. and Chung et al. with the motivation is for an enhancement on a data storage system. For example, systems and methods are provided for improving read and write efficiencies of the data storage system as taught by Cao et al. [Cao et al.: par. 0004].
Regarding claim 17, it recites limitations like claim 8. The reason for the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele et al. (US 2018/0091482 A1), Chung et al. (US 2017/0013034 A1) and Cao et al. (US 2022/0317905 A1) as applied to claims 8 and 17 above, and further in view of Nukada et al. (US 2011/0087833 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated.
Cao et al. disclose the folder structure conversion information is stored on the random-access memory in a volatile manner [par. 0137, “the memory includes a RAM memory for storing a logic-to-physical (L2P) mapping table that includes an entry mapping logical addresses of the file to physical addresses of the file, and a NAND flash memory”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Cao et al. into the teaching of Steele et al. and Chung et al. with the motivation is for an enhancement on a data storage system. For example, systems and methods are provided for improving read and write efficiencies of the data storage system as taught by Cao et al. [Cao et al.: par. 0004].
They do not explicitly disclose the folder structure conversion information is generated when the security tool system is booted.
However Nukada et al. teaches the folder structure conversion information is generated when the security tool system is booted [claim 6, “directs the processor to execute boot processing of the information processing apparatus, and being accessed by using a first access path in a tree structure or by using a second access path based on a first conversion table representing a correspondence between the first access path and second access path; directing the processor to generate a second conversion table representing a correspondence between the second access path and the third access path”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Nukada et al. into the teaching of Steele et al., Chung et al. and Cao et al. with the motivation to create the physical path-logical path correspondence table as taught by Nukada et al. [Nukada et al.: par. 0065].
Regarding claim 18, it recites limitations like claim 9. The reason for the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20160267279 A1 WEB APPLICATION PERPETUALLY ENCRYPTED OBSCURED FILESYSTEM
US 9432192 B1 Content Aware Hierarchical Encryption For Secure Storage Systems
US 20160132536 A1 UNIFIED DATA OBJECT MANAGEMENT SYSTEM AND THE METHOD
US 20160050295 A1 METHODS AND APPARATUS TO ACCESS PROCESS DATA STORED ON A SERVER
US 20140325686 A1 TERMINAL APPARATUS AND METHOD FOR PLAYING MULTIMEDIA CONTENT ENCRYPTED BASED ON DRM
US 20140241522 A1 ENCRYPTED DATA PROCESSING
US 20130305039 A1 CLOUD FILE SYSTEM
US 20130262862 A1 HIGH PRIVACY OF FILE SYNCHRONIZATION WITH SHARING FUNCTIONALITY
US 20110149708 A1 INFORMATION PROCESSING APPARATUS, INFORMATION RECORDING MEDIUM, INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD, AND COMPUTER PROGRAM
US 20110082869 A1 DEVICE AND METHOD FOR PROCESSING INFORMATION
US 20100017373 A1 ENCODER, DECODER, THEIR METHODS, PROGRAMS THEREOF, AND RECORDING MEDIA HAVING PROGRAMS RECORDED THEREON
US 20090299973 A1 INFORMATION SEARCHING APPARATUS, INFORMATION MANAGING APPARATUS, INFORMATION SEARCHING METHOD, INFORMATION MANAGING METHOD, AND COMPUTER PRODUCT
US 20060212457 A1 Systems And Methods For Efficiently Storing And Accessing Data Storage System Paths
US 6378071 B1 File Access System For Efficiently Accessing A File Having Encrypted Data Within A Storage Device
/JASON CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431