DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claim 9 is amended.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on August 5, 2026 are acknowledged. The 112(b) rejection of claims 9 has been withdrawn due to the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pgs 5-9, filed August 5, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 5-7, Applicant argues that Yang fails to disclose “the air channel comprises a first part extending from an outer surface of the support to an inner surface of the support”. Specifically, Applicant argues that first groove 221a (which examiner mapped to the first part) does not form an air flow path flowing from the outside of base 220 to the inside of base 220. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments because on the Non-Final Rejection dated 5/22/2026, Examiner has mapped all of mounting assembly 200 including top cover 210 and base 220 to the support (Yang, [0046]-[0047], [0050], Figs. 1-5; The mounting assembly 200 includes a top cover 210 and a base 220, which cooperate to form a support). Looking at Figs. 4 and 9, air intake channel 13, first groove 221a, cavity 101, first airflow channel 12, the micropores in side wall 311, and buffer cavity 314 form an air channel (Yang, [0053], Figs. 4 and 9). First groove 221a is a first part extending from an outer surface of base 220 (part of the support) to an inner surface of top cover 210 (part of the support). Therefore, the device of Yang reads on the limitation: “the air channel comprises a first part extending from an outer surface of the support to an inner surface of the support”. Examiner notes that the rejection can be overcome by amending Claim 1 to recite the structure of the support more clearly.
On pg. 7, Applicant argues that in Yang, in order to get to the liquid storage cavity 130, the air has to penetrate through the micropores in the side wall portion 311 of the atomizing core 310 made of a porous ceramic material. In contrast, the present application discloses that the air channel including the first part and the second part directly reaches the liquid storage cavity without having to flow through pores. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., direct flow through the first/second part, a lack of micropores) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As Yang reads on all of the positively recited compositional and structural limitations of Claim 1, the rejection in view of Yang cannot be overcome using arguments directed to structural differences which are not claimed. As such, the arguments are unpersuasive.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 110893016 A, Cited on the IDS dated 9/8/2023, English Translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang, directed to vaporizers ([0001]-[0004]), teaches a vaporizer, configured to vaporize a liquid substrate to generate an aerosol ([0045], Figs. 1-5; Atomizer 10 (vaporizer) includes a housing 100, a mounting component 200 and an atomizing component 300. The atomizing component 300 is used to heat the liquid, represented by the aerosol generating matrix, thereby atomizing (vaporizing) the liquid to form smoke (aerosol) for the user to inhale), and comprising:
a housing, wherein a liquid storage cavity configured to store a liquid substrate is formed in the housing ([0045]-[0047], Figs. 1-5; Atomizer 10 (vaporizer) includes a housing 100. Liquid storage chamber 130 (liquid storage cavity) configured to store a liquid substrate is formed in housing 100);
a vaporization assembly, having a vaporization surface and configured to vaporize at least part of the liquid substrate to generate an aerosol ([0045], Figs. 1-5; Atomizer 10 (vaporizer) includes an atomizing component 300. [0049]-[0050], Fig. 3-4; Atomizing component 300 includes an atomizing core 310, a sealing element 320, and a heating element. Atomizing core 310 includes a side wall portion 311 and a bottom wall portion 312. The bottom surface of the bottom wall 312 is the atomizing surface 312a (vaporization surface). The heating element is disposed on the atomizing surface 312a. When the heating element generates heat, the liquid on the atomizing surface 312a will absorb the heat and atomize to form smoke. Atomizing core 310 and the heating element form a vaporization assembly);
a support, comprising a holding space in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity, wherein the vaporization assembly is at least partially accommodated in the holding space ([0046]-[0047], [0050], Figs. 1-5; The mounting assembly 200 includes a top cover 210 and a base 220, which cooperate to form a support. Top cover 210 and a base 220 form a holding space wherein the vaporization assembly (atomizing core 310 and heating element) are at least partially accommodated in the holding space. Liquid is configured to flow from liquid storage chamber 130 and through the pores of atomizing core 310 located in the holding space. Therefore, the holding space in fluid communication with the liquid storage chamber 130 through liquid inlet channel 212);
a flexible seal element, having an interference fit region, wherein the seal element is configured to provide a seal between the housing and the vaporization assembly through the interference fit region ([0046]-[0047], Figs. 1-5; Housing 100 includes a body portion 110. The mounting assembly 200 includes a top cover 210 and a base 220. A sealing plug 230 (seal element) is fitted onto the top cover 210. The sealing plug 230 provide a seal between the body part 110 (housing) and the vaporization assembly (atomizing core 310 and heating element), thereby improving the sealing performance of the liquid storage chamber 130. Sealing plug 230 is shown in Fig. 4 as having two convex ribs which form an interference fit region which directly abuts (presses against) the inner surface of body portion 110),
an air channel, configured to provide an airflow path for air to enter the liquid storage cavity, wherein the airflow path avoids the interference fit region, and the air channel comprises a first part extending from an outer surface of the support to an inner surface of the support, and a second part extending between the seal element and a surface of the support ([0053], Figs. 4 and 9; Air enters the atomizer 10 through air intake channel 13, then flows through the first groove 221a, the cavity 101, first airflow channel 12, and through the micropores in the side wall 311 of the atomizing core 310 to reach the buffer cavity 314. Air in buffer cavity 314 can flow into liquid storage cavity 130 to equalize pressure when liquid flows out of liquid storage cavity 130. Air intake channel 13, first groove 221a, cavity 101, first airflow channel 12, the micropores in side wall 311, and buffer cavity 314 form an air channel. The air channel avoids the interference region located between body portion 110 and sealing plug 230. First groove 221a is a first part extending from an outer surface of base 220 to an inner surface of top cover 210. Cavity 101 is a second part extending between sealing plug 230 (seal element) and an outer surface of top cover 210 (support)),
but does not teach the vaporizer wherein the seal element is flexible.
While Yang does not explicitly disclose that sealing element 230 is flexible, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vaporizer wherein the seal element is flexible because Yang discloses an additional seal element which is formed from silicone, a known flexible material (Yang, [0024], [0052]), and silicone has good heat insulation performance, preventing the heat generated on the vaporization assembly from being transferred to the housing (Yang, [0052]), and this involves a material substitution to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Yang teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein a convex rib at least partially surrounding the seal element is arranged on the seal element, and the interference fit region is defined by the convex rib ([0046]-[0047], Figs. 1-5; Sealing plug 230 is shown in Fig. 4 as having two convex ribs which form an interference fit region which directly abuts (presses against) the inner surface of body portion 110).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang teaches the vaporizer according to claim 2, wherein the seal element comprises a first seal element arranged between the support and the vaporization assembly, a first avoidance groove adjacent to the first part is arranged on the first seal element, and the second part is defined between the first avoidance groove and an inner surface of the holding space ([0049]-[0051], Fig. 3-4; Atomizing component 300 includes an atomizing core 310, a sealing element 320 (first seal element), and a heating element. The sealing element 320 simultaneously forms a covering effect on the atomizing core 310 in both the circumferential and axial directions, further improving the installation stability of the sealing element 320. First airflow channel 12 is a first avoidance groove arranged on sealing element 320 (first seal element). A cavity 101 (second part) defined between first airflow channel 12 (first avoidance groove) and an inner surface of the holding space defined between upper cover 210 and base 220).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein the second part is constructed to extend in a longitudinal direction of the vaporizer ([0053], Figs. 4 and 9; Cavity 101 (second part) is constructed to extend in a longitudinal direction of atomizer 10 (vaporizer)).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein the first part and the second part are substantially perpendicular to each other ([0053], Figs. 4 and 9; First groove 221a (first part) and cavity 101 (second part) are substantially perpendicular to each other).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang teaches the vaporizer according to claim 7, wherein the vaporization assembly comprises a liquid channel running through the vaporization assembly in a length direction, and is in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity through the liquid channel to absorb the liquid substrate ([0050], Figs. 4 and 9; Buffer cavity 314 is a liquid channel running through atomizer core 310 (vaporization assembly) in a length direction (up and down as shown in Figs. 4 and 9). Buffer cavity 314 is in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity 130 through the buffer cavity 314 (liquid channel) to absorb the liquid substrate into the pores of atomizer core 310).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang teaches the vaporizer according to claim 8, wherein the seal element comprises a first seal element arranged between the support and the vaporization assembly, a first avoidance groove adjacent to the first part is arranged on the first seal element, and the second part is defined between the first avoidance groove and an inner surface of the holding space ([0049]-[0051], Fig. 3-4; Atomizing component 300 includes an atomizing core 310, a sealing element 320 (first seal element), and a heating element. The sealing element 320 simultaneously forms a covering effect on the atomizing core 310 in both the circumferential and axial directions, further improving the installation stability of the sealing element 320. First airflow channel 12 is a first avoidance groove arranged on sealing element 320 (first seal element). A cavity 101 (second part) defined between first airflow channel 12 (first avoidance groove) and an inner surface of the holding space defined between upper cover 210 and base 220),
wherein the first seal element comprises a side wall opposite to the liquid channel in the length direction, and the first avoidance groove is located on an outer surface of the side wall ([0049]-[0051], Fig. 3-4; Atomizing component 300 includes an atomizing core 310, a sealing element 320 (first seal element), and a heating element. A side wall of sealing element 320 is directly opposite to the buffer cavity 314 in the length direction. A cavity 101 (first avoidance groove) is located on an outer surface of the side wall of sealing element 320).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang, directed to vaporizers ([0001]-[0004]), teaches a vaporizer, configured to vaporize a liquid substrate to generate an aerosol ([0045], Figs. 1-5; Atomizer 10 (vaporizer) includes a housing 100, a mounting component 200 and an atomizing component 300. The atomizing component 300 is used to heat the liquid, represented by the aerosol generating matrix, thereby atomizing (vaporizing) the liquid to form smoke (aerosol) for the user to inhale), and comprising:
a housing, wherein a liquid storage cavity configured to store a liquid substrate is formed in the housing ([0045]-[0047], Figs. 1-5; Atomizer 10 (vaporizer) includes a housing 100. Liquid storage chamber 130 (liquid storage cavity) configured to store a liquid substrate is formed in housing 100);
a vaporization assembly, having a vaporization surface and configured to vaporize at least part of the liquid substrate to generate an aerosol ([0045], Figs. 1-5; Atomizer 10 (vaporizer) includes an atomizing component 300. [0049]-[0050], Fig. 3-4; Atomizing component 300 includes an atomizing core 310, a sealing element 320, and a heating element. Atomizing core 310 includes a side wall portion 311 and a bottom wall portion 312. The bottom surface of the bottom wall 312 is the atomizing surface 312a (vaporization surface). The heating element is disposed on the atomizing surface 312a. When the heating element generates heat, the liquid on the atomizing surface 312a will absorb the heat and atomize to form smoke. Atomizing core 310 and the heating element form a vaporization assembly);
a support, configured to at least partially hold the vaporization assembly, and having a liquid guide hole for the liquid substrate in the liquid storage cavity to flow to the vaporization assembly ([0046]-[0047], [0050]-[0051], Figs. 1-6, 8; The mounting assembly 200 includes a top cover 210 and a base 220, which cooperate to form a support. Top cover 210 and a base 220 form a holding space wherein the vaporization assembly (atomizing core 310 and heating element) are at least partially accommodated in the holding space. Liquid is configured to flow from liquid storage chamber 130 through the liquid inlet channel 212 (liquid guide hole) to atomizing core 310);
a second seal element, having an interference fit region, wherein the second seal element is configured to provide a seal between the housing and the support through the interference fit region ([0046]-[0047], Figs. 1-5; Housing 100 includes a body portion 110. The mounting assembly 200 includes a top cover 210 and a base 220. A sealing plug 230 (second seal element) is fitted onto the top cover 210. The sealing plug 230 provide a seal between the body part 110 (housing) and the vaporization assembly (atomizing core 310 and heating element), thereby improving the sealing performance of the liquid storage chamber 130. Sealing plug 230 is shown in Fig. 4 as having two convex ribs which form an interference fit region which directly abuts (presses against) the inner surface of body portion 110); and
an air channel, configured to provide an airflow path for air to enter the liquid storage cavity, wherein the airflow path avoids the interference fit region, and the air channel comprises a third part extending between the second seal element and a surface of the support, and a fourth part extending from an outer surface of the support to the liquid guide hole ([0053], Figs. 4 and 9; Air enters the atomizer 10 through air intake channel 13, then flows through the first groove 221a, the cavity 101, first airflow channel 12, and through the micropores in the side wall 311 of the atomizing core 310 to reach the buffer cavity 314. Air in buffer cavity 314 can flow into liquid storage cavity 130 to equalize pressure when liquid flows out of liquid storage cavity 130. Air intake channel 13, first groove 221a, cavity 101, first airflow channel 12, the micropores in side wall 311, and buffer cavity 314 form an air channel. The air channel avoids the interference region located between body portion 110 and sealing plug 230. Cavity 101 is a third part extending between sealing plug 230 (second seal element) and an outer surface of base 320 (support). First airflow channel 12 and buffer cavity 314 form a fourth part extending from an outer surface of upper cover 210 (support) to liquid inlet channel 212 (liquid guide hole)),
but does not teach the vaporizer wherein the seal element is flexible.
While Yang does not explicitly disclose that sealing element 230 is flexible, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vaporizer wherein the seal element is flexible because Yang discloses an additional seal element which is formed from silicone, a known flexible material (Yang, [0024], [0052]), and silicone has good heat insulation performance, preventing the heat generated on the vaporization assembly from being transferred to the housing (Yang, [0052]), and this involves a material substitution to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 11, Yang teaches an electronic vaporization device, comprising a vaporizer configured to vaporize a liquid substrate to generate an aerosol, and a power supply mechanism configured to supply power to the vaporizer, wherein the vaporizer comprises the vaporizer according to claim 1 ([0059], The present invention also provides an electronic atomizing device (electronic vaporization device), which includes a power supply component (power supply mechanism) and an atomizer 10 as described in the above embodiments (vaporizer according to claim 1). The power supply component is installed at the bottom of the base 220 in a detachable manner. The power supply component is connected to the heating element on the atomizing surface 312a through an electrode 400, so that the power supply component can supply power to the heating element).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang teaches the vaporizer according to claim 2, wherein the second part is constructed to extend in a longitudinal direction of the vaporizer ([0053], Figs. 4 and 9; Cavity 101 (second part) is constructed to extend in a longitudinal direction of atomizer 10 (vaporizer)).
Regarding Claim 13, Yang teaches the vaporizer according to claim 2, wherein the first part and the second part are substantially perpendicular to each other ([0053], Figs. 4 and 9; First groove 221a (first part) and cavity 101 (second part) are substantially perpendicular to each other).
Regarding Claim 14, Yang teaches an electronic vaporization device, comprising a vaporizer configured to vaporize a liquid substrate to generate an aerosol, and a power supply mechanism configured to supply power to the vaporizer, wherein the vaporizer comprises the vaporizer according to claim 2 ([0059], The present invention also provides an electronic atomizing device (electronic vaporization device), which includes a power supply component (power supply mechanism) and an atomizer 10 as described in the above embodiments (vaporizer according to claim 2). The power supply component is installed at the bottom of the base 220 in a detachable manner. The power supply component is connected to the heating element on the atomizing surface 312a through an electrode 400, so that the power supply component can supply power to the heating element).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 110893016 A, Cited on the IDS dated 9/8/2023, English Translation provided by Examiner) as applied to Claim 3, and further in view of Murphy (US 2022/0007717 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang does not teach the vaporizer wherein two convex edges are arranged on the first seal element, and the first avoidance groove is formed by a gap between the at least two convex edges.
Murphy, directed to vaporizers ([0001]), teaches a vaporizer ([0088], Figs. 1a, 1b; Electronic cigarette 100) comprising
an airflow channel ([0093], Fig. 3; Electronic cigarette 100 comprises a cartridge assembly 140; and [0107], Fig. 5; Cartridge 140 comprises a vapour groove configured to allow air and vapor to pass through),
wherein two convex edges are arranged on the airflow channel, and a first avoidance groove is formed by a gap between the at least two convex edges ([0112], Fig. 4c; Vapour groove 147 (airflow channel) can comprise an airflow diverter 148 configured to create turbulence inside the vapour channel. As seen in FIG. 4c, the airflow diverter 148 can be a protrusion 148 extending in the transverse direction in relation to the vapour groove 147. The protrusion 148 can be provided with a hemispherical (convex) shape. Vapour groove 147 may comprise multiple protrusions 148 (convex edges) at different axial length of the cartridges to further enhance the turbulence. The protrusions 148 (convex edges) for an avoidance groove therebetween).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vaporizer of Yang wherein two convex edges are arranged on the first seal element, and the first avoidance groove is formed by a gap between the at least two convex edges similarly taught by Murphy because Yang and Murphy are directed to vaporizer, the avoidance groove of the first seal element of Yang is an airflow channel (Yang, [0049]-[0051], Fig. 3-4; First airflow channel 12 is a first avoidance groove arranged on sealing element 320 (first seal element)), Murphy demonstrates that convex edges within an airflow channel introduce turbulent flow to the air/vapor flowing through the channel, which would improve the temperature uniformity and the consistency of the air/vapor passing through the channel (Murphy, [0112]), and this involves combining prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 5, Yang in view of Murphy teaches the vaporizer according to claim 4, but does not teach the vaporizer wherein a protruding height of the convex rib is greater than or equal to a protruding height of the at least two convex edges.
The precise difference between the protruding heights of the convex rib and the convex edges would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because: 1) the sealing performance of the flexible sealing element is a variable which can be modified by the protruding height of the convex rib (Yang, [0046]-[0047]); and 2) the degree of turbulence within the first avoidance groove is a variable which can be modified by the protruding height of the at least two convex edges (Murphy, [0112]). As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed difference between the protruding heights of the convex rib and the convex edges cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized difference between the protruding heights by routine experimentation to obtain the desired sealing performance and turbulence, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.05, II).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755