DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 8/27/2026. Claims 1-8, 10 and 12-18 were amended. Claim 9 was cancelled. Likewise, claims 1-8 and 10-18 remain pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (WO 2018193513) in view of Rao et al. (U.S. Patent 11,069,206) further in view of Matsuura (U.S. Patent Application Publication U.S. 20230280832 as translation for JP 2020-169709).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Nakagawa teaches an information processing apparatus (Figs.1-4-6,8; ¶025-¶039) comprising a conversion unit configured to: (¶025-¶026; vibration control unit processes and convert signal/instruction) convert a haptic signal (¶025; vibration instruction) based on first device information regarding a first haptic device,
Nakagawa does not teach anddetected by a sensor, such as an accelerometer or gyroscope of the device; and audio user inputs, such as spoken commands that may be detected by a sensor, such as a microphone of the device… In response to detection of a user input, the application may be operative to generate appropriate outputs at the device. For example, application may also be operative to cause appropriate haptic outputs to be provided by the haptic output transducer 104 in response to detection of user inputs. These user inputs, of all types, may be described as a user experience; Examiner interprets the user experiences as what haptic signals are based on & being converted from). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing apparatus with the concept wherein the conversion unit converts the haptic signal on a basis of a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal, as taught by Rao in order for automatically adjusting, by the device, a manner in which the haptic feedback is provided to a user of the device, based at least on the obtained user experiences being converted chronologically in real time points throughout said user experiences.
Nakagawa and Rao are both silent on wherein the questionnaire corresponds to a first inquiry regarding a first parameter of the converted haptic signal; and convert a conversion coefficient of the first parameter based on a questionnaire result associated with the first inquiry.
Matsuura from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein a questionnaire corresponds to a first inquiry regarding a first parameter of a converted haptic signal (¶048; sensor input driver 26 operates under the control of the MCU 22 to supply, to the sensor element 27, power required to drive, and receives an electronic signal from the sensor element 27 to convert the received electronic signal to a digital signal…sensor input driver 26 outputs converted digital signal to the MCU 22... Based on the digital signal received from the sensor input driver 26, the MCU 22 generates operation information indicative of the details of operations of the user 6 to the controller 21 and transmits the operation information to the computer 11); and convert a conversion coefficient of the first parameter based on a questionnaire result associated with the first inquiry (¶066; FIGs 2-3, the signal generation unit 33 generates a waveform signal for causing the target object to vibrate based on external parameters acquired by external parameter acquisition unit 31… signal generation unit 33 generates a waveform signal based on the internal parameters output by the internal parameter output unit 32 using, as input, external parameters acquired by the external parameter acquisition unit 31. Therefore, the generated waveform signal is based on the external parameters. For example, the signal generation unit 33 performs signal processing using, as coefficients, the internal parameters output by the internal parameter output unit 32 to generate the waveform signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing apparatus with the concept wherein the questionnaire corresponds to a first inquiry regarding a first parameter of the converted haptic signal; and convert a conversion coefficient of the first parameter based on a questionnaire result associated with the first inquiry, as taught by Matsuura in order for generating waveform signals based on internal parameters output by an internal parameter output unit using, as input, external parameters as acquired by the user.
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and Nakagawa further teaches wherein the first device information includes the first parameter (¶026; type of vibration device 20) regarding the haptic signal that is output by the first haptic device (¶026; vibration control unit 35 corrects the content of the vibration instruction according to the type of the vibration device 20 specified by the model specification unit 31, and outputs a control command for operating the vibration mechanism 21 with the corrected content to the vibration device 20).
Regarding claim 3, Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, and Nakagawa further teaches wherein the first parameter includes at least one of a peak frequency of the first haptic device, a peak acceleration of the first haptic device (¶027; application program determines content of vibration instruction (strength of vibration, frequency, etc.) on the assumption that the reference vibration device R is connected to the vibration control device 10., or a broadband acceleration of the first haptic device (feature not selected by Examiner).
Regarding claim 4, Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, and Nakagawa further teaches wherein the conversion unit is further configured to convert
Regarding claim 5, Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, and Nakagawa further teaches wherein the second device information includes a second parameter regarding the haptic signal output by the second haptic device, and the second parameter includes a peak frequency of the second haptic device (Fig 5, ¶031; candidate vibration device B may generate a vibration stronger than reference vibration device R depending on frequency… candidate vibration device B generates vibration stronger than the reference vibration device R with respect to the same input value in the frequency bands f 1 and f 3, and conversely, generates vibration weaker than the reference vibration device R in the frequency band f 2. Therefore, the vibration control unit 35 changes the content of the correction for each frequency. Specifically, among the vibration waveforms included in the vibration instruction data, the frequency components included in the frequency bands f 1 and f 3 are corrected to weaken the vibration. On the other hand, the frequency component included in the frequency band f 2 is corrected to strengthen the vibration. Accordingly, it is possible to bring the strength of the vibration of each frequency component generated by the candidate vibration device B close to the strength of the vibration assumed to be generated by the reference vibration device R).
Regarding claim 6, Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, and Nakagawa further teaches wherein the conversion unit is further confiqured to convert the haptic signal, in a case where when the peak frequency of the first haptic device is different from
Regarding claim 7, Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, and Nakagawa further teaches wherein the conversion unit is further confiqured to convert the haptic signal (see claim 1), that the strength of the vibration is defined by a single frequency and an acceleration of vibration generated by the vibration device 20 when a control command to be vibrated by the reference input voltage is input to the vibration mechanism 21 (see ¶029). Nakagawa further teaches the converting the haptic signal in a case where relative to the peak frequency of the haptic device and the peak frequency of the other haptic device, such that the peak frequency of the first haptic device coincides with the peak frequency of the second haptic device (¶031; see claim 6).
Nakagawa does not explicitly mention such relativity with peak acceleration. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the reference, would also have recognized the desirability of an improved conversion relative to a peak acceleration of the first haptic device and the peak acceleration of the second haptic signal being different from each other, such that the peak acceleration of the first haptic device coincides with the peak acceleration of the second
Regarding claim 8, Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, and Nakagawa further teaches wherein the conversion unit is further confiqured to convert the haptic signal (see claim 1), and that the strength of the vibration is defined by a single frequency and an acceleration of vibration generated by the vibration device 20 when a control command to be vibrated by the reference input voltage is input to the vibration mechanism 21 (see ¶029). Nakagawa further teaches converting the haptic signal in a case where peak frequency of the haptic device and the peak frequency of the other haptic device being different from each other, such that the peak frequency of the haptic device coincides with the peak frequency of the other haptic device (¶031; see claim 6).
Nakagawa does not explicitly mention such relativity in a case of broadband acceleration. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the reference, would also have recognized the desirability of an improved conversion relative to a broadband acceleration of the first haptic device and the broadband acceleration of the second haptic signal, such that the broadband acceleration of the first haptic device coincides with the broadband acceleration of the second
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Nakagawa teaches an information processing method (Figs.1-4-6,8; ¶025-¶039), (¶025-¶026; vibration control unit processes and converts signal/instruction), comprising converting a haptic signal (¶025; vibration instruction) based on
Nakagawa does not teach and convert the converted haptic signal based on a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal. Rao from an analogous outputting haptic signal art teaches the concept of representations of parts of haptic signals are stored with associated user experiences to which they correspond. Rao teaches the concept of convert the converted haptic signal based on a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal (processor 106 runs an operating environment of the device 100 to allow software applications to be executed by the device 100…application may receive user inputs… include one or more of: touch and/or gestural user inputs that may be detected by a touch-sensitive surface (e.g. a touch screen) of the device; kinetic user inputs, such as rotating or tilting the device that may be detected by a sensor, such as an accelerometer or gyroscope of the device; and audio user inputs, such as spoken commands that may be detected by a sensor, such as a microphone of the device… In response to detection of a user input, the application may be operative to generate appropriate outputs at the device. For example, application may also be operative to cause appropriate haptic outputs to be provided by the haptic output transducer 104 in response to detection of user inputs. These user inputs, of all types, may be described as a user experience; Examiner interprets the user experiences as what haptic signals are based on & being converted from). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing method with the concept wherein the conversion unit converts the haptic signal on a basis of a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal, as taught by Rao in order for automatically adjusting, by the device, a manner in which the haptic feedback is provided to a user of the device, based at least on the obtained user experiences being converted chronologically in real time points throughout said user experiences.
Nakagawa does not teach and converting the converted haptic signal based on a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal, wherein the questionnaire corresponds to a first inquiry regarding a first parameter of the converted haptic signal; and convert a conversion coefficient of the first parameter based on a questionnaire result associated with the first inquiry. Rao from an analogous outputting haptic signal art teaches the concept of representations of parts of haptic signals are stored with associated user experiences to which they correspond. Rao teaches the concept of convert the converted haptic signal based on a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal (processor 106 runs an operating environment of the device 100 to allow software applications to be executed by the device 100…application may receive user inputs… include one or more of: touch and/or gestural user inputs that may be detected by a touch-sensitive surface (e.g. a touch screen) of the device; kinetic user inputs, such as rotating or tilting the device that may be detected by a sensor, such as an accelerometer or gyroscope of the device; and audio user inputs, such as spoken commands that may be detected by a sensor, such as a microphone of the device… In response to detection of a user input, the application may be operative to generate appropriate outputs at the device. For example, application may also be operative to cause appropriate haptic outputs to be provided by the haptic output transducer 104 in response to detection of user inputs. These user inputs, of all types, may be described as a user experience; Examiner interprets the user experiences as what haptic signals are based on & being converted from). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing method with the concept wherein the conversion unit converts the haptic signal on a basis of a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal, as taught by Rao in order for automatically adjusting, by the device, a manner in which the haptic feedback is provided to a user of the device, based at least on the obtained user experiences being converted chronologically in real time points throughout said user experiences.
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Nakagawa teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer cause the computer to execute operations, the operations (Figs.1-4-6,8; (¶025-¶026; vibration control unit processes and converts signal/instruction; also see ¶025-¶039) comprising: converting a haptic signal (¶025; vibration instruction) on first device information regarding a first haptic device, wherein the first haptic device outputs the haptic signal (¶026; vibration control unit 35 corrects the content of the vibration instruction according to the type of the vibration device 20 specified by the model specification unit 31, and outputs a control command for operating the vibration mechanism 21 with the corrected content to the vibration device 20. This correction is for absorbing a difference in vibration characteristics of each candidate vibration device).
Nakagawa does not teach and converting the converted haptic signal based on a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal. Rao from an analogous outputting haptic signal art teaches the concept of representations of parts of haptic signals are stored with associated user experiences to which they correspond. Rao teaches the concept of convert the converted haptic signal based on a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal (processor 106 runs an operating environment of the device 100 to allow software applications to be executed by the device 100…application may receive user inputs… include one or more of: touch and/or gestural user inputs that may be detected by a touch-sensitive surface (e.g. a touch screen) of the device; kinetic user inputs, such as rotating or tilting the device that may be detected by a sensor, such as an accelerometer or gyroscope of the device; and audio user inputs, such as spoken commands that may be detected by a sensor, such as a microphone of the device… In response to detection of a user input, the application may be operative to generate appropriate outputs at the device. For example, application may also be operative to cause appropriate haptic outputs to be provided by the haptic output transducer 104 in response to detection of user inputs. These user inputs, of all types, may be described as a user experience; Examiner interprets the user experiences as what haptic signals are based on & being converted from). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s non-transitory computer-readable medium with the concept wherein the conversion unit converts the haptic signal on a basis of a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal, as taught by Rao in order for automatically adjusting, by the device, a manner in which the haptic feedback is provided to a user of the device, based at least on the obtained user experiences being converted chronologically in real time points throughout said user experiences.
Nakagawa and Rao are both silent on wherein the questionnaire corresponds to a first inquiry regarding a first parameter of the converted haptic signal; and convert a conversion coefficient of the first parameter based on a questionnaire result associated with the first inquiry.
Matsuura from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein a questionnaire corresponds to a first inquiry regarding a first parameter of a converted haptic signal (¶048; sensor input driver 26 operates under the control of the MCU 22 to supply, to the sensor element 27, power required to drive, and receives an electronic signal from the sensor element 27 to convert the received electronic signal to a digital signal…sensor input driver 26 outputs converted digital signal to the MCU 22... Based on the digital signal received from the sensor input driver 26, the MCU 22 generates operation information indicative of the details of operations of the user 6 to the controller 21 and transmits the operation information to the computer 11); and convert a conversion coefficient of the first parameter based on a questionnaire result associated with the first inquiry (¶066; FIGs 2-3, the signal generation unit 33 generates a waveform signal for causing the target object to vibrate based on external parameters acquired by external parameter acquisition unit 31… signal generation unit 33 generates a waveform signal based on the internal parameters output by the internal parameter output unit 32 using, as input, external parameters acquired by the external parameter acquisition unit 31. Therefore, the generated waveform signal is based on the external parameters. For example, the signal generation unit 33 performs signal processing using, as coefficients, the internal parameters output by the internal parameter output unit 32 to generate the waveform signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s non-transitory computer-readable medium with the concept wherein the questionnaire corresponds to a first inquiry regarding a first parameter of the converted haptic signal; and convert a conversion coefficient of the first parameter based on a questionnaire result associated with the first inquiry, as taught by Matsuura in order for generating waveform signals based on internal parameters output by an internal parameter output unit using, as input, external parameters as acquired by the user.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (WO 2018193513) in view of Rao et al. (U.S. Patent 11,069206) further in view of Matsuura (U.S. Patent Application Publication U.S. 2023/0280832 as translation for JP 2020-169709) and still further in view of in view of Kies et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2015/0324049).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura in combination teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Kies from an analogous art teaches methods, systems, etc. for adjusting the manner in which haptic feedback is provided to a user based on obtained physical characteristics of the user (¶001; also see ¶078, Fig 6; input devices may include any device that accepts input from a user or the surrounding of the computing device 600. Examples may include a keyboard, keypad, mouse, touch input, microphones 622, cameras 624, and/or display devices 660) and also teaches the concept wherein the conversion unit converts the haptic signal on a basis of a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal (¶036; device 100 may obtain stable physical characteristics associated with a user, which may include age, gender, finger size, and/or visual impairments; Examiner notes that the physical characteristics may be obtained from input devices is implied). Kies further teaches wherein the questionnaire is held together with an attribute of a user who has answered the questionnaire, and the conversion unit converts the haptic signal on a basis of the questionnaire result held for each attribute (¶036; device 100 may obtain stable physical characteristics associated with a user, which may include age, gender, finger size, and/or visual impairments). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing apparatus with the concept wherein the conversion unit converts the haptic signal on a basis of a questionnaire regarding the converted haptic signal, as taught by Kies in order for automatically adjusting, by the device, a manner in which the haptic feedback is provided to a user of the device, based at least on the obtained stable physical characteristics.
Regarding claim 11, Nakagawa, Rao, Matsuura and Kies in combination teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 10, and Kies further teaches wherein the attribute includes at least one of content including the haptic signal and user (¶047; the standard vibration-based haptic feedback 230 exemplifies the feedback provided when the stable physical characteristic (SPC) detection module 308 determines that the obtained values for the various stable physical characteristics are average or close to average… and the haptic feedback settings do not need to be automatically adjusted… OR the increased intensity vibration-based haptic feedback 260 exemplifies the feedback provided when the SPC detection module 308 determines that the obtained stable physical characteristics represent a diminished sensitivity to haptic feedback for the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing apparatus with the concept wherein the attribute includes at least one of content including the haptic signal and user, as taught by Kies in order for automatically adjusting, by the device, a manner in which the haptic feedback is provided to the user.
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Nakagawa, Rao, Matsuura and Kies in combination teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, and Kies further teaches wherein the questionnaire includes a second inquiry regarding a specific scene of content including the haptic signal (¶047; the standard vibration-based haptic feedback 230 exemplifies the feedback provided when the stable physical characteristic (SPC) detection module 308 determines that the obtained values for the various stable physical characteristics are average or close to average..). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing apparatus with the concept wherein the questionnaire includes a questionnaire regarding a specific scene of content including the haptic signal, as taught by Kies in order for automatically adjusting, by the device, a manner in which the haptic feedback is provided to the user
Regarding claim 13, Nakagawa, Rao, Matsuura and Kies in combination teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 12, and Kies further teaches wherein the specific scene includes an event regarding a vibration expression
Regarding claim 14, Nakagawa, Rao, Matsuura and Kies in combination teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 13, and Kies further teaches wherein the questionnaire presents to a user, occurrence of whether or not a delay between the specific scene and the vibration expression (¶048; mobile device provides user with haptic feedback in response to user touching a key on the virtual keyboard displayed on the mobile device). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing apparatus with the concept wherein the questionnaire presents whether or not a delay is caused between the specific scene and the vibration expression to a user, as taught by Kies in order for automatically adjusting, by the device, a manner in which the haptic feedback is provided to the user.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (WO 2018193513) in view of Matsuura (U.S. Patent Application Publication U.S. 2023/0280832 as translation for JP 2020-169709) and further in view of Harvey et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2020/0057502).
Regarding claim 15, Nakagawa, Rao and Matsuura teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but all are silent on wherein the first device information includes position information of a vibration device that is mounted on the first haptic device.
Harvey from an analogous art teaches a system for deriving a haptic drive signal for driving a haptic actuator (¶001), and also teaches wherein the device information includes position information of a vibration device that is mounted on the haptic device (¶090; drive circuit further comprises a transformation unit 225 having a transfer function which is derived one or more characterization parameters. The characterization parameters may be derived from device-specific data, such as data relating to the mounting position of the haptic actuator and/or the characteristics of the haptic actuator and/or the characteristics of the host device. The haptic waveform h.sub.d derived by the haptics amplifier is passed through the transformation unit which transforms or modifies the waveform according to a transfer function of the transformation unit in order to produce a device specific waveform h.sub.d′. The device specific waveform h.sub.d′ forms the drive signal of the haptic actuator 104). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing apparatus with the concept wherein the device information includes position information of a vibration device that is mounted on the haptic device, as taught by Harvey in order to in order to produce a device specific waveform relating to the mounting position of the haptic actuator.
Regarding claim 16, Nakagawa, Rao, Matsuura and Harvey in combination teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 15, and Harvey further teaches wherein a conversion unit is further configured to convert a haptic signal based on position information (¶090; drive circuit with transformation unit 225 having a transfer function which is derived one or more characterization parameters. The characterization parameters may be derived from data relating to the mounting position of the haptic actuator and/or the characteristics of the haptic actuator and/or the characteristics of the host device. The haptic waveform h.sub.d derived by the haptics amplifier is passed through the transformation unit which transforms or modifies the waveform according to a transfer function of the transformation unit in order to produce a device specific waveform h.sub.d′. The device specific waveform h.sub.d′ forms the drive signal of the haptic actuator 104). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Nakagawa’s information processing apparatus with the concept wherein the conversion unit converts the haptic signal on a basis of the position information, as taught by Harvey in order to in order to produce a device specific waveform relating to the mounting position of the haptic actuator.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s prior art arguments to claims 1-18 have been fully considered but are moot because the independent claims were amended by Applicant to include new features that were never previously presented. Therefore, the scope of claims 1-8 and 10-18, were changed. However, another prior art is applied to reject these claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685