DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I in the reply filed on 8 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be serious burden to search and examine the entire claim set since “the subject matter of claims 1 - 11 is sufficiently related such that a thorough and complete search for the subject matter of the elected claims would necessarily encompass a thorough and complete search for the subject matter of the non-elected claims”. This is not found persuasive. It is pointed out that, contrary to what applicant suggests, the examination burden is not limited exclusively to a prior art search but also includes the effort required to apply the art by making and discussing all appropriate grounds of rejection. Multiple inventions, such as those in the present application, normally require additional reference material and further discussion for each additional invention examined. Concurrent examination of multiple inventions would thus typically involve a significant burden even if all searches were coextensive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wickenhaver (US 5,328,095).
Regarding claim 1, Wickenhaver teaches a coating device (fig. 1), comprising:
a coating gun (10) including a coating gun body (11) provided with a jet (12) and a cartridge (31) detachably attached to the coating gun body (col. 4, ln. 13-16) and housing a first coating liquid (“P”);
a transport body (19) to which the coating gun is attached (fig. 1) to move the coating gun to a predetermined coating position (col. 3, ln. 61-62); and
a relay tube (26) provided to the transport body (figs. 1, 3) to connect a coating liquid supply source disposed in a position away from the coating gun and the coating gun so that a second coating liquid supplied from the coating liquid supply source can flow therethrough (element 26 is an “air supply line”, see col. 4, ln. 6; therefore, it is considered to be capable of performing this function),
wherein the cartridge includes a lead-out tube (41) leading out the first coating liquid housed in the cartridge (fig. 4), and
formed in the coating gun is a mixing space where the first coating liquid housed in the cartridge and the second coating liquid supplied from the coating liquid supply source are mixed is formed on a downstream side of the relay tube and the lead-out tube (col. 5, ln. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Wickenhaver teaches the coating device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the first coating liquid corresponding to a change of a coating form of a coating target is housed in the cartridge (col. 5, ln. 7), and the second coating liquid used in common even when the coating form of the coating target is changed is supplied via the relay tube (figs. 1, 3 – when the paint container 31 is switched the relay tube 26 will still be supplying the same liquid).
Regarding claim 3, Wickenhaver teaches the coating device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the cartridge houses a base compound as the first coating liquid (col. 4, ln. 42 – “paint”), and a cure agent is supplied as the second coating liquid via the relay tube (element 26 is an “air supply line”, see col. 4, ln. 6; therefore, it is considered to be capable of performing this function).
Regarding claim 4, Wickenhaver teaches the coating device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the coating gun body is provided with the mixing space (col. 5, ln. 1-2 – the internal space in the head and nozzle of the gun body) and a second coating liquid flow path (21) leading a second coating liquid supplied from the coating liquid supply source via the relay tube toward the mixing space (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Wickenhaver teaches the coating device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the cartridge includes a container body housing the first coating liquid (col. 4, ln. 13; fig. 4), and the lead-out tube leads the first coating liquid in the container body toward the mixing space while the cartridge is attached to the coating gun body (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Wickenhaver teaches the coating device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein formed in the coating gun body is a washing liquid flow path through which a washing liquid, which washes at least a part of a flow path through which the first coating liquid flows, flows (col. 4, ln. 62-67).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sandison et al. (US 5,713,519).
Regarding claim 1, Sandison teaches a coating device (110, fig. 5), comprising:
a coating gun (112) including a coating gun body (130) provided with a jet (168) and a cartridge (120) detachably attached to the coating gun body (col. 7, ln. 58—col. 8, ln. 6) and housing a first coating liquid (116F, see col. 7, ln. 1-3);
a transport body (132) to which the coating gun is attached (fig. 5) to move the coating gun to a predetermined coating position (col. 3, ln. 61-62); and
a relay tube (115) provided to the transport body (fig. 5) to connect a coating liquid supply source disposed in a position away from the coating gun and the coating gun so that a second coating liquid supplied from the coating liquid supply source can flow therethrough (element 115 is a “hose” for “pressurized fluid”, see col. 6, ln. 47-48; therefore, it is considered to be capable of performing this function),
wherein the cartridge includes a lead-out tube (122) leading out the first coating liquid housed in the cartridge (fig. 5), and
formed in the coating gun is a mixing space where the first coating liquid housed in the cartridge and the second coating liquid supplied from the coating liquid supply source are mixed is formed on a downstream side of the relay tube and the lead-out tube (fig. 7 – space downstream of 178).
Regarding claim 7, Sandison teaches the coating device described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the cartridge includes a container body (116) housing the first coating liquid (col. 6, ln. 50-51), formed in the cartridge is the mixing space in which the first coating liquid and the second coating liquid are mixed (figs. 5, 7) and a second coating liquid flow path (174) leading the second coating liquid supplied from the coating liquid supply source via the relay tube toward the mixing space (fig. 7), the lead-out tube leads the first coating liquid in the container body toward the mixing space (fig. 11), and the first coating liquid and the second coating liquid mixed in the mixing space are supplied to the jet while the cartridge is attached to the coating gun body (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wickenhaver in view of Yamauchi (US 2014/0151462).
Regarding claim 8, Wickenhaver discloses the coating device described regarding claim 1, and but not further wherein the coating gun includes a bell cup in which the jet is formed.
Yamauchi teaches a coating device (1, see fig. 1) comprising a coating gun (2) including a coating gun body (fig. 1) provided with a jet (7) and wherein the coating gun includes a bell cup in which the jet is formed (par. 70).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coating device of Wickenhaver to include a bell cup in which the jet is formed, as taught by Yamauchi, since this was known to atomize the paint into “countless paint particles” (Yamauchi, par. 70).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Seitz (US 2005/0040257), Matsunaga et al. (US 2020/0230630), and Kishimoto et al (US 2010/0307408) all disclose coating devices having elements of the claimed invention.
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752