DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Korenaga et al. (EP 1785452 , IDS document ) . Regarding claim 1, Korenaga et al. teach a composition comprising a calcium carbonate with a composition as claimed, which is at least partially surface treated with a compound (Abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0011], [0014], [0015], [0049] and [0050]) comprising a first component containing a subcomponent as claimed ( Abstract; paragraphs [0006], [0013], [0024]-[0028]; silicic acid ) and a second component comprising second component members as claimed ( paragraphs [0034], [0035], [0036], [0038] and [0051] ). As to claim 2, the components are “associated with” each other as claimed under a reasonable interpretation (e.g. utilized together to form a modified calcium carbonate). As to claim 3, Korenaga et al. teach precipitated calcium carbonate (paragraphs [0014] and [0015]). As to claim 4, Korenaga et al. teach a BET as claimed (paragraphs [0029] and [0030]). As to claim 5, Korenaga et al. teach a precursor as claimed ( paragraphs [0006], [0013], [0024]-[0028]; e.g. sodium silicate). As to claim 6, Korenaga et al. teach the second component is as claimed ( paragraphs [0034], [0035], [0036], [0038] and [0051 ). As to claim s 7 and 8 , Korenaga et al. further teach an aliphatic carboxylic acid layer as claimed (paragraphs [0017] and [0018]). As to claim 9, the materials are “associated with” each other as claimed. Regarding claim 10, Korenaga et al. teach the method as claimed to produce the treated composition ( paragraphs [0005]-[0015], [0024]-[0028] , [0049] and [0050] for the first layer; paragraphs [0034]-[0038] and [0051] for the second layer). As to claim 11 , Korenaga et al. teach a BET as claimed (paragraphs [0029] and [0030]). As to claim 12 , Korenaga et al. teach a precursor as claimed (paragraphs [0006], [0013], [0024]-[0028]; e.g. sodium silicate). As to claim 13 , Korenaga et al. further teach an aliphatic carboxylic acid layer as claimed (paragraphs [0017] and [0018]). As to claim 14, Korenaga et al. teach adding the treated composition to a polymer/rubber (Abstract; paragraphs [0038]-[0045]). As to claims 16 and 18, Korenaga et al. teach the groups as claimed ( paragraphs [0034], [0035], [0036], [0038] and [0051] ). Claim s 1-6, 10-12, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams (US 4,167,423) . Regarding claim 1, Williams teaches a composition comprising a calcium carbonate with a composition as claimed, which is at least partially surface treated with a compound comprising a first component containing a subcomponent as claimed (col. 1, line 65-col. 2 ,line 20; col. 3, l i ne 14-col. 8, line 42) and a second component comprising second component members as claimed (silane coupling agents) ( col. 8, line 5-col. 12, line 35; Examples 12, 13 and 19 ). As to claim 2, the materials are “associated” with each other as claimed. As to claim 3, Williams teaches precipitated materials (col. 2, lines 24-32). As to claim 4, Williams teaches the claimed and disclosed composition. It follows that the same materials have the same properties. As to claim 5, Williams teaches silicates as claimed (col. 1, line 65-col. 2, line 20). As to claim 6, the second component as claimed (col. 8, line 5-col. 12, line 35). Regarding claim 10, Williams teaches the method as claimed to produce the treated composition (Examples 13 and 19 ). As to claim 11 , Williams teaches the claimed and disclosed composition. It follows that the same materials have the same properties. As to claim 12, Williams teaches a precursor as claimed (col. 3, line 14-col. 8, line 42). As to claim 14, Williams teaches polymer composites containing the treated composition (col. 1, line 65-col. 2, line 20; col. 13, line 10-col. 14, line 39) . As to claims 16 and 18, Williams teaches the groups as claimed (col. 8, line 5-col. 12, line 35). As to claims 17 and 1 9 , Williams teaches the claimed and disclosed composition. It follows that the same materials have the same properties. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korenaga et al. (EP 1785452) , as applied to claims 1-14, 16 and 18 above . As to claims 17 and 19, Korenaga et al. teach BET values that overlap/encompass the claimed range (paragraphs [0029] and [0030]). The ranges of Korenaga et al. render the claimed range prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05 II). Claim s 7-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 4,167,423), as applied to claims 1-6, 10-12, 14 and 16-19 above, and further in view of Moseley et al. (US 2014/0287185) . As to claims 7-9 and 13, Williams teaches the composition and method as claimed. Williams does not teach coating with aliphatic carboxylic acid/stearic acid as claimed. However, Moseley et al. (paragraphs [0014]-[0017]) teach an analogous composition and method wherein the filler/calcium carbonate is coated with aliphatic carboxylic acid/stearic acid as claimed . Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Williams and Moseley et al. and to have coated the calcium carbonate of Williams with an aliphatic carboxylic acid/stearic acid as claimed , as suggested by Moseley et al., for the purpose, as suggested by Moseley et al. of hydrophobizing the surface of the calcium carbonate particles and facilitating further treatment/usage of the calcium carbonate particles. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references disclose analogous and applicable compositions and methods that should be considered prior to replying to the Office Action. Antonen (US 4,592,928 ; col. 5, lines 46-64; calcium carbonate, ethyl polysilicate, and dimethylvinylsiloxy endblocked PDMS formed together, and then added to a siloxane copolymer). Kulkarni et al. (US 4,374,178 ; Abstract; col. 1, line 40-col. 5, line 47; Examples 1, 2, 3 and 4; similar to Williams set forth above); Berger (US 4,151,154 ; Abstract; col. 2, line 44-col. 11, line 14 disclosing coated calcium carbonate; col. 12, line 50-col. 13, line 15 disclosing polymer compositions that can be utilized, including silicone resins and rubbers); Hara (US 2024/0150612 ; paragraphs [0017]-[0019] and [0081]); Mei et al. (US 2003/0027897 ; Abstract; paragraphs [0014]-[0037], [0051]); and Ulzheimer et al. (US 2006/0140048 ; Abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0010], [0015]-[0019]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Jeff Wollschlager whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8937 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 7:00-3:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Christina Johnson can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1176 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742