DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et.
al (US 20200092692 A1) in view of Doyle (US 5,815,071).
Regarding claims 22 and 32-33, WANG et al. disclose a method/a non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored a computer program including instructions/a system for supporting vehicles, comprising a roadside radio unit, wherein the roadside radio unit is configured to:/for securing communication between a roadside radio unit and vehicles in surroundings of the roadside radio unit (see figure 1, [0081], wherein the term "RSU" constitutes a road-side radio unit, which can also be implemented as a UE), the method comprising the following steps: broadcasting a sequence of radio signals to the surroundings using the roadside radio unit, wherein each of the radio signals has a temporal assignment (see figure 6 (S605); [0166] and [0169], wherein the term "sequence number" is a temporal assignment of the radio signals); receiving a response signal from a vehicle or a stationary monitoring unit, wherein the response signal represents at least the temporal assignment of a radio signal of the radio signals that was faulty or not received by the vehicle or by the monitoring (figure 6 (S606, S608); [0171] and [0173]); and broadcasting a repeated signal using the roadside radio unit as a function of the received response signal, wherein the repeated signal represents the faulty or not- received radio
signal and is marked as a repeated signal (see figure 6 (S607, S609); [0172] and [0175]). WANG et. al do not mention wherein the roadside radio unit is configured to send an expected-value signal to the monitoring unit, the expected-value signal representing at least a temporal assignment, specified time sequence, or clocking of the radio signals, and wherein the response signal from the monitoring unit is generated at least in part based on the expected-value signal. Doyle teaches the roadside radio unit is configured to send an expected-value signal to the monitoring unit, the expected-value signal representing at least a temporal assignment, specified time sequence, or clocking of the radio signals, and wherein the response signal from the monitoring unit is generated at least in part based on the expected-value signal (see col. 6, lines 38-46: the base station is configured to monitor messages received from a given vehicle when an expected parameter value for the vehicle is changed within the base station database. If the base station does not receive a message from the given vehicle specifying the expected parameter value within a predetermined time period subsequent to authorization being provided to the vehicle to change the parameter value, then an error message is provided to the base station operator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the roadside radio unit is configured to send an expected-value signal to the monitoring unit, the expected-value signal representing at least a temporal assignment, specified time sequence, or clocking of the radio signals, and wherein the response signal from the monitoring unit is generated at least in part based on the expected-value signal. Doyle teaches the roadside radio unit is configured to send an expected-value signal to the monitoring unit, the expected-value signal representing at least a temporal assignment, specified time sequence, or clocking of the radio signals, and wherein the response signal from the monitoring unit is generated at least in part based on the expected-value signal of Doyle to the method/a non-transitory computer-readable medium of WANG et. al in order for providing a system for efficiently monitoring the parameter settings of electronic control units incorporated within commercial or fleet vehicles.
Regarding claim 34, WANG et al. also disclose the vehicle and/or the monitoring unit,
wherein the vehicle and/or the monitoring unit (see fig. 1) is configured to:
receive the broadcast radio signals of the roadside radio unit using a receiving device (see figure 6 (S605); [0166] and [0169]), and send, based on a radio signal expected in the specified time sequence not being received, the response signal, at least comprising the temporal assignment of the not-received radio signal, to the roadside radio unit using a radio-based or cable-based transmission interface, or using a mobile radio connection to a server unit (see figure 6 (S607, S609); [0172] and [0175]).
Regarding claims 41-42, WANG et al. disclose a method for monitoring a roadside radio
unit by a monitoring unit (see figure 1, [0081], wherein the term "RSU" constitutes a road-side radio unit, which can also be implemented as a UE)/a monitoring unit, the method/ the monitoring unit, comprising the following steps:
receiving a sequence of radio signals from a roadside radio unit, wherein each of the
received radio signals has at least one temporal assignment (see figure 6 (S605); [0166] and
[0169], wherein the term "sequence number" is a temporal assignment of the radio signals);
recognizing a faulty or not-received radio signal at least based on a temporal assignment
of the radio signals (see figure 6 (S606, S608); [0171] and [0173]); and generating a response
signal, wherein the response signal represents at least the temporal assignment of the recognized,
faulty or not-received radio signal (see figure 6 (S607, S609); [0172] and [0175]).
WANG et. al do not mention wherein the monitoring unit is configured to receive, from the roadside radio unit, an expected-value signal to the monitoring unit, the expected-value signal representing at least a temporal assignment, specified time sequence, or clocking of the radio signals, and wherein the response signal is generated at least in part based on the expected-value signal.
Doyle teaches the monitoring unit is configured to receive, from the roadside radio unit, an expected-value signal to the monitoring unit, the expected-value signal representing at least a temporal assignment, specified time sequence, or clocking of the radio signals, and wherein the response signal is generated at least in part based on the expected-value signal (see col. 6, lines 38-46: the base station is configured to monitor messages received from a given vehicle when an expected parameter value for the vehicle is changed within the base station database. If the base station does not receive a message from the given vehicle specifying the expected parameter value within a predetermined time period subsequent to authorization being provided to the vehicle to change the parameter value, then an error message is provided to the base station operator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the monitoring unit is configured to receive, from the roadside radio unit, an expected-value signal to the monitoring unit, the expected-value signal representing at least a temporal assignment, specified time sequence, or clocking of the radio signals, and wherein the response signal is generated at least in part based on the expected-value signal of Doyle to the method/a non-transitory computer-readable medium of WANG et. al in order for providing a system for efficiently monitoring the parameter settings of electronic control units incorporated within commercial or fleet vehicles.
Regarding claims 23 and 35, WANG et al. also disclose wherein the reception of the
response signal is checked for plausibility based on a time of the reception of the response signal
and/or the temporal assignment of the faulty or not-received radio signal (see pars. [0172]-
[0175]).
Regarding claims 24 and 36, WANG et al. also disclose wherein the repeated signal is
loaded from a memory of the roadside radio unit as a function of the response signal (see claim
3: hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) continuous retransmission; automatic repeat request
(ARQ) continuous retransmission; HARQ feedback and an HARQ retransmission; a combination
of the HARQ retransmission, ARQ feedback and ARQ retransmission; or a combination of the
HARQ feedback, the HARQ retransmission, the ARQ feedback and the ARQ retransmission).
Regarding claim 25, WANG et al. also disclose wherein a last broadcast radio signal is
sent as the repeated signal (see pars. [0172]-[0175]).
Regarding claims 26 and 37, WANG et al. also disclose wherein the repeated signal is
broadcast with an increased transmit power in comparison to the broadcast of the sequence of
radio signals (see [0128] and [0194]).
Regarding claims 27 and 38, WANG et al. also disclose wherein the transmit power for
broadcasting the sequence of radio signals to the surroundings is adjusted as a function of the
received response signal (see [0128] and [0194]).
Regarding claims 28-31, WANG et al. also disclose wherein the repeated signal is
broadcast with a different modulation method or a different resource block in semi-persistent
scheduling (see fig. 8 (S804-805) and pars. 0187-0188); wherein the repeated signal is broadcast
at a different radio frequency or using a mobile radio connection to a server unit (see fig. 8
(S804-805) and pars. 0187-0188); wherein a radio frequency for broadcasting the sequence of
radio signals to the surroundings is adjusted as a function of the received response signal or the
sequence of radio signals are broadcast using a mobile radio connection to a server unit (see fig.
8 (S804-805) and pars. 0187-0188); wherein the roadside radio unit is restarted, or switched off,
or problem information is automatically sent to a server unit, as a function of the response signal
or of a sequence of response signals of the monitoring unit or of the vehicle (see fig. 8 (S804 -
805) and pars. 0187-0188).
Regarding claim 39, WANG et al. also disclose wherein the transmitting device of the
roadside radio unit is configured to broadcast the repeated signal at a different radio frequency in
comparison to the broadcast of the radio signals or to send the repeated signal to a server unit
using a mobile radio connection (see fig. 8 (S804-805) and pars. 0187-0188).
Regarding claim 40, WANG et al. also disclose wherein the transmitting device of the
roadside radio unit is configured to adjust a radio frequency for broadcasting the sequence of
radio signals to surroundings as a function of the received response signal or to send the
sequence of radio signals using a mobile radio connection to a server unit as a function of the
received response signal.
Conclusion
/DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643