Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments: On page 7 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Xiong and Blankenship neither alone or in combination discloses the new claim 56 as recited “A communication method performed by a terminal side apparatus, comprising: sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of supporting coverage enhancement; receiving a first message, wherein the first message is a message4 (msg4) in a random access process; and, repeatedly transmitting a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for a repetition quantity N in response to a dedicated PUCCH not being configured for the terminal side apparatus, wherein the dedicated PUCCH is configured by a network side apparatus for the terminal side apparatus via a higher layer signaling, and N is an integer greater than 1,wherein the first PUCCH carries feedback information indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4; and the repetition quantity N is indicated by first indication information.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 56 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. An updated search was conducted and a new reference was found as shown in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 56-57, 62-64, 69-71, 73-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 2021/0251016 A1) (hereafter “Xiong”) in view of Fei et al. (US 2024/0049205 A1) (“Fei”), in further view of Rico Alvarino et al. ( US 2021/0274469 A1) (“Rico”).
Regarding claim 56, A communication method performed by a terminal side apparatus, comprising:
receiving a first message, wherein the first message is a message4 (msg4) in a random access process;
Xiong [0050] FIG. 3 illustrates a random access channel (RACH) procedure in accordance with some
embodiments.
Xiong, Fig. 3, [0088]; As above, uplink coverage is typically the bottleneck considering the low transmit power at the UE side. In such cases, the embodiments herein may help improve the coverage of a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK of Msg4 transmissions (Fig. 3, Msg 4 in a random access is received by the UE)
and, repeatedly transmitting a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for a repetition quantity N in
response to a dedicated PUCCH not being configured for the terminal side apparatus,
Xiong [0092]; In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH (first PUCCH) carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof (as shown in Fig. 3, its inherent that the repetition quantity is configured by the network device as the msg 4 sent from Gnb (Network))
Xiong[0052]; Note that in this disclosure, “repetition level”, “number of repetitions”, “number of slots”, “multiple slots” and “aggregation factor” are exchangeable terms.
Xiong [0091]; Embodiments for coverage enhancement for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK of Msg4 are provided as follows. Note that the following embodiments can also apply to the case when the UE is not provided a dedicated PUCCH resource set or PUCCH configuration, and for the transmission of a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK feedback of MsgB with successRAR.
wherein the dedicated PUCCH is configured by a network side apparatus for the terminal side apparatus
via a higher layer signaling, and N is an integer greater than 1,
Xiong [0092]; In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH (first PUCCH) carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof (as shown in Fig. 3, its inherent that the repetition quantity is configured by the network device as the msg 4 sent from Gnb (Network))
Xiong[0052]; Note that in this disclosure, “repetition level”, “number of repetitions”, “number of slots”, “multiple slots” and “aggregation factor” are exchangeable terms (number of repetition= N (repetition quantity) is greater than 1).
wherein the first PUCCH carries feedback information;
Xiong [0093] In one option, a set of repetition levels for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by SIB1 or the RMSI, e.g., {2, 4, 8, 16}. Then, the 2-bit field in the DCI for scheduling Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH (first PUCCH).Alternatively, two bits in a MAC CE of Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH.
and the repetition quantity N is indicated by first indication information.
Xiong [0092] In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI ( first indication information) format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof.
Xiong does not teach PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the
msg4;
Fei teaches PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4;
Fei [0656]; a frequency location of the PUCCH resource is determined based on indication information carried in Msg4 (suitable for the case where the PUCCH needs to be transmitted based on whether the Msg4 reception is successful or not during the random access procedure).
[0264]; For example, indication information for a frequency location of the PUCCH is transmitted by the gNB to the RedCap UE through Msg4 (also known as a contention resolution message) in the fourth step of the random access procedure and the RedCap UE can determine the frequency domain resource for the PUCCH based on the indication information carried in the Msg4.
In view of Fei, Xiong is modified such that the PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4.
Xiong and Fei are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, channel transmission system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the PUCCH indicating the successful transmission of msg 4 in the contention resolution message transmitted by the network showing the correct transmission of uplink message (Fei [0005]).
Xiong does not teach sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of
supporting coverage enhancement;
Rico teaches sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of
supporting coverage enhancement;
Rico [0076]; Additionally or alternatively, a maximum capability, or a reference capability, of a
UE 115 may be transmitted in radio access network (RAN) signaling, such as in a SC-MCCH or a SIB.
The received maximum capability or reference capability may then be used to determine a downlink
control information (DCI) format.
Rico [0092]; At 420, base station 105-c may identify a coverage enhancement level. The identified
coverage enhancement level may be identified based on the coverage enhancement level determined
by service provider 205-b at 405. At 425, base station 105-c may transmit to UE 115-d, and UE 115-
d may receive from base station 105-c, an indication of a targeted UE capability including the
determined coverage enhancement level.
Xiong and Rico are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, channel transmission system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the UE to transmit the indication of its capability of supporting coverage enhancement to show its capability.
Regarding claim 57, The method of claim 56, wherein the first indication information is carried in
downlink control information (DCI).
Xiong [0092] In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI ( first indication information) format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 62, he method of claim 56, wherein the terminal side apparatus is a user equipment
(UE), a chip of the UE, or a component supporting terminal side function.
Xiong [0050] FIG. 3 illustrates a random access channel (RACH) procedure in accordance with some
embodiments. The RACH procedure provides initial network access to a UE.
Regarding claim 63, A communication method performed by a network side apparatus, comprising:
sending a first message, wherein the first message is a message4 (msg4) in a random access process;
Xiong [0050] FIG. 3 illustrates a random access channel (RACH) procedure in accordance with some
embodiments.
Xiong, Fig. 3, [0088]; As above, uplink coverage is typically the bottleneck considering the low transmit power at the UE side. In such cases, the embodiments herein may help improve the coverage of a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK of Msg4 transmissions (Fig. 3, Msg 4 in a random access is received by the UE)
and, repeatedly receiving a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for a repetition quantity N in
response to a dedicated PUCCH not being configured for the terminal side apparatus,
Xiong [0092]; In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH (first PUCCH) carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof (as shown in Fig. 3, its inherent that the repetition quantity is configured by the network device as the msg 4 sent from Gnb (Network))
Xiong[0052]; Note that in this disclosure, “repetition level”, “number of repetitions”, “number of slots”, “multiple slots” and “aggregation factor” are exchangeable terms.
Xiong [0091]; Embodiments for coverage enhancement for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK of Msg4 are provided as follows. Note that the following embodiments can also apply to the case when the UE is not provided a dedicated PUCCH resource set or PUCCH configuration, and for the transmission of a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK feedback of MsgB with successRAR.
wherein the dedicated PUCCH is configured by a network side apparatus for the terminal side apparatus
via a higher layer signaling, and N is an integer greater than 1,
Xiong [0092]; In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH (first PUCCH) carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof (as shown in Fig. 3, its inherent that the repetition quantity is configured by the network device as the msg 4 sent from Gnb (Network))
Xiong[0052]; Note that in this disclosure, “repetition level”, “number of repetitions”, “number of slots”, “multiple slots” and “aggregation factor” are exchangeable terms (number of repetition= N (repetition quantity) is greater than 1).
wherein the first PUCCH carries feedback information;
Xiong [0093] In one option, a set of repetition levels for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by SIB1 or the RMSI, e.g., {2, 4, 8, 16}. Then, the 2-bit field in the DCI for scheduling Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH (first PUCCH).Alternatively, two bits in a MAC CE of Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH.
and the repetition quantity N is indicated by first indication information.
Xiong [0092] In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI ( first indication information) format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof.
Xiong does not teach PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the
msg4;
Fei teaches PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4;
Fei [0656]; a frequency location of the PUCCH resource is determined based on indication information carried in Msg4 (suitable for the case where the PUCCH needs to be transmitted based on whether the Msg4 reception is successful or not during the random access procedure).
[0264]; For example, indication information for a frequency location of the PUCCH is transmitted by the gNB to the RedCap UE through Msg4 (also known as a contention resolution message) in the fourth step of the random access procedure and the RedCap UE can determine the frequency domain resource for the PUCCH based on the indication information carried in the Msg4.
In view of Fei, Xiong is modified such that the PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4.
Xiong and Fei are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, channel transmission system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the PUCCH indicating the successful transmission of msg 4 in the contention resolution message transmitted by the network showing the correct transmission of uplink message (Fei [0005]).
Xiong does not teach sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of
supporting coverage enhancement;
Rico teaches sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of
supporting coverage enhancement;
Rico [0076]; Additionally or alternatively, a maximum capability, or a reference capability, of a
UE 115 may be transmitted in radio access network (RAN) signaling, such as in a SC-MCCH or a SIB.
The received maximum capability or reference capability may then be used to determine a downlink
control information (DCI) format.
Rico [0092]; At 420, base station 105-c may identify a coverage enhancement level. The identified
coverage enhancement level may be identified based on the coverage enhancement level determined
by service provider 205-b at 405. At 425, base station 105-c may transmit to UE 115-d, and UE 115-
d may receive from base station 105-c, an indication of a targeted UE capability including the
determined coverage enhancement level.
Xiong and Rico are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, channel transmission system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the UE to transmit the indication of its capability of supporting coverage enhancement to show its capability.
Regarding claim 64, The method of claim 63, wherein the first indication information is carried in
downlink control information (DCI).
Xiong [0092] In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI ( first indication information) format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 69, The method of claim 63, wherein the terminal side apparatus is a user equipment (UE), a chip of the UE, or a component supporting terminal side function.
Xiong [0050] FIG. 3 illustrates a random access channel (RACH) procedure in accordance with some
embodiments. The RACH procedure provides initial network access to a UE.
Regarding claim 70, A terminal side (Xiong, Fig. 2, Ref. 200) apparatus, comprising: a memory (Xiong,
Fig. 2, Ref. 204) with computer instructions stored thereon; and a processor (Xiong,
Fig. 2, Ref. 202) coupled to the memory, wherein the processor, when executing the computer
instructions is enabled to perform the following steps:
receiving a first message, wherein the first message is a message4 (msg4) in a random access process;
Xiong [0050] FIG. 3 illustrates a random access channel (RACH) procedure in accordance with some
embodiments.
Xiong, Fig. 3, [0088]; As above, uplink coverage is typically the bottleneck considering the low transmit power at the UE side. In such cases, the embodiments herein may help improve the coverage of a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK of Msg4 transmissions (Fig. 3, Msg 4 in a random access is received by the UE)
and, repeatedly transmitting a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for a repetition quantity N in
response to a dedicated PUCCH not being configured for the terminal side apparatus,
Xiong [0092]; In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH (first PUCCH) carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof (as shown in Fig. 3, its inherent that the repetition quantity is configured by the network device as the msg 4 sent from Gnb (Network))
Xiong[0052]; Note that in this disclosure, “repetition level”, “number of repetitions”, “number of slots”, “multiple slots” and “aggregation factor” are exchangeable terms.
Xiong [0091]; Embodiments for coverage enhancement for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK of Msg4 are provided as follows. Note that the following embodiments can also apply to the case when the UE is not provided a dedicated PUCCH resource set or PUCCH configuration, and for the transmission of a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK feedback of MsgB with successRAR.
wherein the dedicated PUCCH is configured by a network side apparatus for the terminal side apparatus
via a higher layer signaling, and N is an integer greater than 1,
Xiong [0092]; In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH (first PUCCH) carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof (as shown in Fig. 3, its inherent that the repetition quantity is configured by the network device as the msg 4 sent from Gnb (Network))
Xiong[0052]; Note that in this disclosure, “repetition level”, “number of repetitions”, “number of slots”, “multiple slots” and “aggregation factor” are exchangeable terms (number of repetition= N (repetition quantity) is greater than 1).
wherein the first PUCCH carries feedback information;
Xiong [0093] In one option, a set of repetition levels for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by SIB1 or the RMSI, e.g., {2, 4, 8, 16}. Then, the 2-bit field in the DCI for scheduling Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH (first PUCCH).Alternatively, two bits in a MAC CE of Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH.
and the repetition quantity N is indicated by first indication information.
Xiong [0092] In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI ( first indication information) format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof.
Xiong does not teach PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the
msg4;
Fei teaches PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4;
Fei [0656]; a frequency location of the PUCCH resource is determined based on indication information carried in Msg4 (suitable for the case where the PUCCH needs to be transmitted based on whether the Msg4 reception is successful or not during the random access procedure).
[0264]; For example, indication information for a frequency location of the PUCCH is transmitted by the gNB to the RedCap UE through Msg4 (also known as a contention resolution message) in the fourth step of the random access procedure and the RedCap UE can determine the frequency domain resource for the PUCCH based on the indication information carried in the Msg4.
In view of Fei, Xiong is modified such that the PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4.
Xiong and Fei are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, channel transmission system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the PUCCH indicating the successful transmission of msg 4 in the contention resolution message transmitted by the network showing the correct transmission of uplink message (Fei [0005]).
Xiong does not teach sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of
supporting coverage enhancement;
Rico teaches sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of
supporting coverage enhancement;
Rico [0076]; Additionally or alternatively, a maximum capability, or a reference capability, of a
UE 115 may be transmitted in radio access network (RAN) signaling, such as in a SC-MCCH or a SIB.
The received maximum capability or reference capability may then be used to determine a downlink
control information (DCI) format.
Rico [0092]; At 420, base station 105-c may identify a coverage enhancement level. The identified
coverage enhancement level may be identified based on the coverage enhancement level determined
by service provider 205-b at 405. At 425, base station 105-c may transmit to UE 115-d, and UE 115-
d may receive from base station 105-c, an indication of a targeted UE capability including the
determined coverage enhancement level.
Xiong and Rico are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, channel transmission system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the UE to transmit the indication of its capability of supporting coverage enhancement to show its capability.
Regarding claim 73, A network side (Xiong,
Fig. 2, Ref. 200) apparatus, comprising: a memory (Xiong,
Fig. 2, Ref. 204) with computer instructions stored thereon; and a processor (Xiong,
Fig. 2, Ref. 202) coupled to the memory, wherein the processor, when executing the computer
instructions is enabled to perform the following steps:
sending a first message, wherein the first message is a message4 (msg4) in a random access process;
Xiong [0050] FIG. 3 illustrates a random access channel (RACH) procedure in accordance with some
embodiments.
Xiong, Fig. 3, [0088]; As above, uplink coverage is typically the bottleneck considering the low transmit power at the UE side. In such cases, the embodiments herein may help improve the coverage of a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK of Msg4 transmissions (Fig. 3, Msg 4 in a random access is received by the UE)
and, repeatedly receiving a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for a repetition quantity N in
response to a dedicated PUCCH not being configured for the terminal side apparatus,
Xiong [0092]; In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH (first PUCCH) carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof (as shown in Fig. 3, its inherent that the repetition quantity is configured by the network device as the msg 4 sent from Gnb (Network))
Xiong[0052]; Note that in this disclosure, “repetition level”, “number of repetitions”, “number of slots”, “multiple slots” and “aggregation factor” are exchangeable terms.
Xiong [0091]; Embodiments for coverage enhancement for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK of Msg4 are provided as follows. Note that the following embodiments can also apply to the case when the UE is not provided a dedicated PUCCH resource set or PUCCH configuration, and for the transmission of a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK feedback of MsgB with successRAR.
wherein the dedicated PUCCH is configured by a network side apparatus for the terminal side apparatus
via a higher layer signaling, and N is an integer greater than 1,
Xiong [0092]; In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH (first PUCCH) carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof (as shown in Fig. 3, its inherent that the repetition quantity is configured by the network device as the msg 4 sent from Gnb (Network))
Xiong[0052]; Note that in this disclosure, “repetition level”, “number of repetitions”, “number of slots”, “multiple slots” and “aggregation factor” are exchangeable terms (number of repetition= N (repetition quantity) is greater than 1).
wherein the first PUCCH carries feedback information;
Xiong [0093] In one option, a set of repetition levels for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by SIB1 or the RMSI, e.g., {2, 4, 8, 16}. Then, the 2-bit field in the DCI for scheduling Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH (first PUCCH).Alternatively, two bits in a MAC CE of Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH.
and the repetition quantity N is indicated by first indication information.
Xiong [0092] In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI ( first indication information) format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof.
Xiong does not teach PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the
msg4;
Fei teaches PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4;
Fei [0656]; a frequency location of the PUCCH resource is determined based on indication information carried in Msg4 (suitable for the case where the PUCCH needs to be transmitted based on whether the Msg4 reception is successful or not during the random access procedure).
[0264]; For example, indication information for a frequency location of the PUCCH is transmitted by the gNB to the RedCap UE through Msg4 (also known as a contention resolution message) in the fourth step of the random access procedure and the RedCap UE can determine the frequency domain resource for the PUCCH based on the indication information carried in the Msg4.
In view of Fei, Xiong is modified such that the PUCCH indicating whether the terminal side apparatus successfully receives the msg4.
Xiong and Fei are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, channel transmission system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the PUCCH indicating the successful transmission of msg 4 in the contention resolution message transmitted by the network showing the correct transmission of uplink message (Fei [0005]).
Xiong does not teach sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of
supporting coverage enhancement;
Rico teaches sending first information indicating the terminal side apparatus has capabilities of
supporting coverage enhancement;
Rico [0076]; Additionally or alternatively, a maximum capability, or a reference capability, of a
UE 115 may be transmitted in radio access network (RAN) signaling, such as in a SC-MCCH or a SIB.
The received maximum capability or reference capability may then be used to determine a downlink
control information (DCI) format.
Rico [0092]; At 420, base station 105-c may identify a coverage enhancement level. The identified
coverage enhancement level may be identified based on the coverage enhancement level determined
by service provider 205-b at 405. At 425, base station 105-c may transmit to UE 115-d, and UE 115-
d may receive from base station 105-c, an indication of a targeted UE capability including the
determined coverage enhancement level.
Xiong and Rico are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, channel transmission system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the UE to transmit the indication of its capability of supporting coverage enhancement to show its capability.
Regarding claim 71, The terminal side apparatus of claim 70, wherein the first indication information is
carried in downlink control information (DCI).
Xiong [0092] In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI ( first indication information) format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 74, The network side apparatus of claim 73, wherein the first indication information is carried in downlink control information (DCI).
Xiong [0092] In one embodiment, a repetition level of the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by a higher layer via MSI, RMSI, OSI or RRC signaling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI ( first indication information) format 1_0 for scheduling Msg4, by a MAC CE of Msg4, or a combination thereof.
Claims 58-59, 61, 65-66, 68, 72, 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Fei further view of Rico in further view of Blankenship et al. (US 2019/0045552 A1)( hereafter “Blankenship”).
Regarding claim 58, The method of claim 56, wherein the first indication information is carried in a
system message.
Blankenship [0052]; To determine an appropriate number of PUCCH repetitions from the number of repetitions of data channel, the TBS/MCS index of data channel may also be considered. For a given number of data channel repetitions, a higher MCS/TBS index (i.e. large data packet)( first indication information comprises a first index) would imply that relatively fewer PUCCH repetitions are required (indicating the repetition quantity N, and indicates a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS))An example mapping is provided in the table below. Here ‘MCS/TBS index 0-7’ corresponds to the lowest MCS/TBS values and ‘MCS/TBS index 8-15’ corresponds to the highest MCS/TBS values. It is also possible to use the TBS value (in number of bits) instead of the MCS/TBS index.
Blankenship [0064] Use, as a reference point, the max number of repetitions of the MPDCCHs which schedules RAR/Msg4, R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. RAR and Msg4 are two consecutive DL messages in RACH procedure, and their MPDCCH use the same R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max is provided to the UE via the “mPDCCH-NumRepetition-RA” field (first indication indicates the repetition quantity N) carried in SIB of RRC signaling (system message).
In view of Blankenship, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information with a first index
indicating repetition N and the first MCS.
Xiong and Blankenship are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting the number of PUCCH repetitions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the first message (msg4) to carry the
repetition quantity of PUCCH to increase the coverage enhancement level allowing improved flexibility
and adaptability to different coverage scenarios (Blankenship [0012]).
Regarding claim 59, The method of claim 58, wherein before receiving a first message, the method
further comprising: receiving the system message comprising the first indication information.
Blankenship [0052]; To determine an appropriate number of PUCCH repetitions from the number of repetitions of data channel, the TBS/MCS index of data channel may also be considered. For a given number of data channel repetitions, a higher MCS/TBS index (i.e. large data packet)( first indication information comprises a first index) would imply that relatively fewer PUCCH repetitions are required (indicating the repetition quantity N, and indicates a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS))An example mapping is provided in the table below. Here ‘MCS/TBS index 0-7’ corresponds to the lowest MCS/TBS values and ‘MCS/TBS index 8-15’ corresponds to the highest MCS/TBS values. It is also possible to use the TBS value (in number of bits) instead of the MCS/TBS index.
Blankenship [0064] Use, as a reference point, the max number of repetitions of the MPDCCHs which schedules RAR/Msg4, R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. RAR and Msg4 are two consecutive DL messages in RACH procedure, and their MPDCCH use the same R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max is provided to the UE via the “mPDCCH-NumRepetition-RA” field (first indication indicates the repetition quantity N) carried in SIB of RRC signaling (system message).
In view of Blankenship, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information with a first index
indicating repetition N and the first MCS.
Xiong and Blankenship are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting the number of PUCCH repetitions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the first message (msg4) to carry the
repetition quantity of PUCCH to increase the coverage enhancement level allowing improved flexibility
and adaptability to different coverage scenarios (Blankenship [0012]).
Regarding claim 61, The method of claim 58, wherein the system message is a system information
block (SIB).
Blankenship [0064] Use, as a reference point, the max number of repetitions of the MPDCCHs which schedules RAR/Msg4, R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. RAR and Msg4 are two consecutive DL messages in RACH procedure, and their MPDCCH use the same R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max is provided to the UE via the “mPDCCH-NumRepetition-RA” field (first indication indicates the repetition quantity N) carried in SIB of RRC signaling (system message).
In view of Blankenship, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information with a first index
indicating repetition N and the first MCS.
Xiong and Blankenship are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting the number of PUCCH repetitions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the first message (msg4) to carry the
repetition quantity of PUCCH to increase the coverage enhancement level allowing improved flexibility
and adaptability to different coverage scenarios (Blankenship [0012]).
Regarding claim 65, The method of claim 63, wherein the first indication information is carried in a system message.
Blankenship [0052]; To determine an appropriate number of PUCCH repetitions from the number of repetitions of data channel, the TBS/MCS index of data channel may also be considered. For a given number of data channel repetitions, a higher MCS/TBS index (i.e. large data packet)( first indication information comprises a first index) would imply that relatively fewer PUCCH repetitions are required (indicating the repetition quantity N, and indicates a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS))An example mapping is provided in the table below. Here ‘MCS/TBS index 0-7’ corresponds to the lowest MCS/TBS values and ‘MCS/TBS index 8-15’ corresponds to the highest MCS/TBS values. It is also possible to use the TBS value (in number of bits) instead of the MCS/TBS index.
Blankenship [0064] Use, as a reference point, the max number of repetitions of the MPDCCHs which schedules RAR/Msg4, R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. RAR and Msg4 are two consecutive DL messages in RACH procedure, and their MPDCCH use the same R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max is provided to the UE via the “mPDCCH-NumRepetition-RA” field (first indication indicates the repetition quantity N) carried in SIB of RRC signaling (system message).
In view of Blankenship, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information with a first index
indicating repetition N and the first MCS.
Xiong and Blankenship are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting the number of PUCCH repetitions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the first message (msg4) to carry the
repetition quantity of PUCCH to increase the coverage enhancement level allowing improved flexibility
and adaptability to different coverage scenarios (Blankenship [0012]).
Regarding claim 66, The method of claim 65, wherein before receiving a first message, the method
further comprising: receiving the system message comprising the first indication information.
Blankenship [0052]; To determine an appropriate number of PUCCH repetitions from the number of repetitions of data channel, the TBS/MCS index of data channel may also be considered. For a given number of data channel repetitions, a higher MCS/TBS index (i.e. large data packet)( first indication information comprises a first index) would imply that relatively fewer PUCCH repetitions are required (indicating the repetition quantity N, and indicates a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS))An example mapping is provided in the table below. Here ‘MCS/TBS index 0-7’ corresponds to the lowest MCS/TBS values and ‘MCS/TBS index 8-15’ corresponds to the highest MCS/TBS values. It is also possible to use the TBS value (in number of bits) instead of the MCS/TBS index.
Blankenship [0064] Use, as a reference point, the max number of repetitions of the MPDCCHs which schedules RAR/Msg4, R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. RAR and Msg4 are two consecutive DL messages in RACH procedure, and their MPDCCH use the same R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max is provided to the UE via the “mPDCCH-NumRepetition-RA” field (first indication indicates the repetition quantity N) carried in SIB of RRC signaling (system message).
In view of Blankenship, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information with a first index
indicating repetition N and the first MCS.
Xiong and Blankenship are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting the number of PUCCH repetitions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the first message (msg4) to carry the
repetition quantity of PUCCH to increase the coverage enhancement level allowing improved flexibility
and adaptability to different coverage scenarios (Blankenship [0012]).
Regarding claim 68, The method of claim 65, wherein the system message is a system information
block (SIB).
Blankenship [0064] Use, as a reference point, the max number of repetitions of the MPDCCHs which schedules RAR/Msg4, R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. RAR and Msg4 are two consecutive DL messages in RACH procedure, and their MPDCCH use the same R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max is provided to the UE via the “mPDCCH-NumRepetition-RA” field (first indication indicates the repetition quantity N) carried in SIB of RRC signaling (system message).
In view of Blankenship, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information with a first index
indicating repetition N and the first MCS.
Xiong and Blankenship are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting the number of PUCCH repetitions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the first message (msg4) to carry the
repetition quantity of PUCCH to increase the coverage enhancement level allowing improved flexibility
and adaptability to different coverage scenarios (Blankenship [0012]).
Regarding claim 72, The terminal side apparatus of claim 70, wherein the first indication information is carried in a system message.
Blankenship [0052]; To determine an appropriate number of PUCCH repetitions from the number of repetitions of data channel, the TBS/MCS index of data channel may also be considered. For a given number of data channel repetitions, a higher MCS/TBS index (i.e. large data packet)( first indication information comprises a first index) would imply that relatively fewer PUCCH repetitions are required (indicating the repetition quantity N, and indicates a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS))An example mapping is provided in the table below. Here ‘MCS/TBS index 0-7’ corresponds to the lowest MCS/TBS values and ‘MCS/TBS index 8-15’ corresponds to the highest MCS/TBS values. It is also possible to use the TBS value (in number of bits) instead of the MCS/TBS index.
Blankenship [0064] Use, as a reference point, the max number of repetitions of the MPDCCHs which schedules RAR/Msg4, R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. RAR and Msg4 are two consecutive DL messages in RACH procedure, and their MPDCCH use the same R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max is provided to the UE via the “mPDCCH-NumRepetition-RA” field (first indication indicates the repetition quantity N) carried in SIB of RRC signaling (system message).
In view of Blankenship, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information with a first index
indicating repetition N and the first MCS.
Xiong and Blankenship are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting the number of PUCCH repetitions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the first message (msg4) to carry the
repetition quantity of PUCCH to increase the coverage enhancement level allowing improved flexibility
and adaptability to different coverage scenarios (Blankenship [0012]).
Regarding claim 75, The method of claim 73, wherein the first indication information is carried in a
system message.
Blankenship [0052]; To determine an appropriate number of PUCCH repetitions from the number of repetitions of data channel, the TBS/MCS index of data channel may also be considered. For a given number of data channel repetitions, a higher MCS/TBS index (i.e. large data packet)( first indication information comprises a first index) would imply that relatively fewer PUCCH repetitions are required (indicating the repetition quantity N, and indicates a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS))An example mapping is provided in the table below. Here ‘MCS/TBS index 0-7’ corresponds to the lowest MCS/TBS values and ‘MCS/TBS index 8-15’ corresponds to the highest MCS/TBS values. It is also possible to use the TBS value (in number of bits) instead of the MCS/TBS index.
Blankenship [0064] Use, as a reference point, the max number of repetitions of the MPDCCHs which schedules RAR/Msg4, R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. RAR and Msg4 are two consecutive DL messages in RACH procedure, and their MPDCCH use the same R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max. R.sub.MPDCCH, RAR,max is provided to the UE via the “mPDCCH-NumRepetition-RA” field (first indication indicates the repetition quantity N) carried in SIB of RRC signaling (system message).
In view of Blankenship, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information with a first index
indicating repetition N and the first MCS.
Xiong and Blankenship are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting the number of PUCCH repetitions.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to allow the first message (msg4) to carry the
repetition quantity of PUCCH to increase the coverage enhancement level allowing improved flexibility
and adaptability to different coverage scenarios (Blankenship [0012]).
Claim 60, 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Fei in further view of Rico in further view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0145165 A1) (hereafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 60, The method of claim 57, wherein the first information is carried in one field of the
DCI.
Yang teaches the first indication information is carried in one field of downlink control information (DCI);
Yang [0045]; It may be understood that, the offset used to indicate the first MCS index, to be specific, a quantity of bits of the second MCS index, is less than a quantity of bits used to indicate a first MCS index value.
Yang [0108] In the LTE system, the network device notifies the terminal device of a modulation order and TBS information by using an MCS index value in an MCS field in the DCI (one field of the DCI). An MCS field in a DCI format 0 may be used to indicate a modulation order and a TBS in a PUSCH, and an MCS field in a DCI format 1A may be used to indicate a modulation order and a TBS in a PDSCH.
In view of Yang, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information is carried in a first portion of bits in an MCS field of downlink control information (DCI);
Xiong in view of Blankenship in view of Chung and Yang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting repetition of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to describe the first index of MCS with more detail regarding to the occupied number of bits.
Regarding claim 67, The method of claim 64, wherein the first information is carried in one field of the
DCI.
Yang [0045]; It may be understood that, the offset used to indicate the first MCS index, to be specific, a quantity of bits of the second MCS index, is less than a quantity of bits used to indicate a first MCS index value.
Yang [0108] In the LTE system, the network device notifies the terminal device of a modulation order and TBS information by using an MCS index value in an MCS field in the DCI (one field of the DCI). An MCS field in a DCI format 0 may be used to indicate a modulation order and a TBS in a PUSCH, and an MCS field in a DCI format 1A may be used to indicate a modulation order and a TBS in a PDSCH.
In view of Yang, Xiong is modified such that the first indication information is carried in a first portion of bits in an MCS field of downlink control information (DCI);
Xiong in view of Blankenship in view of Chung and Yang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmitting repetition of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong in the manner described above to describe the first index of MCS with more detail regarding to the occupied number of bits.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478