DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 09/08/2023.Claims 1-15 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by OREN KEDEM; Title: NPL document: UORA Enhancements to address RTA; Source: IEEE-SA Mentor, PISCATAWAY, NJ USA; XP 068175304; Date: 2020-11-29;
page 1-16.
As of claims 1, 8 and 14, NPL document discloses communication apparatus comprising: a transceiver (=inherent property), which in operation, receives signals from and transmits signals to at least one access point in a wireless local area network (WLAN) (page 6, UL PPDU with multiple STAs, The Basic Trigger frames shall trigger the RD initiator and at least one other STA); and
circuitry, which in operation, demodulates and decodes the signals from the at least one access point, the decoded signals comprising a WLAN transmission including a trigger frame (page 6, An RB responder that transmits a Basic Trigger frame),
wherein the circuitry, in operation, prepares a trigger-based WLAN transmission and contends for one or more spatial streams in one of one or more random access resource units (RA-RUs) in response to enhanced uplink OFDMA-based random access (enhanced UORA) being enabled for the communication apparatus (page 1: UORA Enhancements to address RTA; page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams; page 8-10, Figure 26 shows UORA procedure, UL OPDMA-based random access (UORA) allow multiple STAs to randomly access the medium in a joint TB PPDU transmission, STA has separate OBOs for each RA-RU type and group-AID, Group-AID values intended for RA-RU allocated for RTA STA. RA-RU with Group-AID could be contended only by stations members of that group).
As of claim 2, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the circuitry, in operation, once the contention succeeds, randomly selects a single spatial stream in response to capabilities of the communication apparatus and limitations of the trigger frame (page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams).
As of claim 3, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the circuitry, in operation, once the contention succeeds, selects a single spatial stream according to specific criteria in response to capabilities of the communication apparatus and limitations of the trigger frame (page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams corresponds to selects a single spatial stream; slide or page 9: RA-RU with Group-AID could be contended only by stations members of that group which corresponds to specific criteria).
As of claim 4, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the one or more spatial streams comprise one or more spatial streams with contiguous index, and where in the circuitry, in operation, once the contention succeeds, randomly selects the one or more spatial streams with contiguous index in response to capabilities of the communication apparatus and limitations of the trigger frame (See NPL Fig. 26.6 Trigger frame 1 response).
As of claim 5, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the circuitry, in operation, once the contention succeeds, selects the one or more spatial streams with contiguous index according to specific criteria in response to capabilities of the communication apparatus and limitations of the trigger frame (page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams selects a single spatial stream; slide or page 9: RA-RU with Group-AID could be contended only by stations members of that group which corresponds to specific criteria; See NPL Fig. 26.6 Trigger frame 1 response corresponds to contiguous index).
As of claim 6, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses wherein the circuitry, in operation, determines whether the communication apparatus may contend for one or more random access spatial streams, and wherein the circuitry, in operation, contends for a single spare spatial stream in an allocated RU in response to determining that the communication apparatus may contend for the one or more random access spatial streams (page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams; slide 7 or page 7: RA-RU is allocated for STAs to contend. Group-AID values intended for RA-RU allocated for RTA STA. RA-RU with Group-AID could be contended only by stations members of that group).
As of claim 7, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the circuitry, in operation, contends for the one or more RA-RUs in response to the UORA being enabled for the communication apparatus and selects a single RA-RU from the one or more RA-RUs in response to specific criteria (page or slide 9: Group-AID values intended for RA-RU allocated for RTA STA. RA-RU with Group-AID could be contended only by stations members of that group).
As of claim 9, rejection of claim 8 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the circuitry, in operation, generates, modulates and encodes a Management frame which includes a field for enabling the enhanced UORA (Figure: 26-6 shows the UORA procedure, OFDMA UORA incorporates Group-AID allocations).
As of claim 10, rejection of claim 8 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the circuitry, in operation, generates, modulates and encodes the trigger frame which includes a field for enabling the enhanced UORA (See Figure 26-6 the UORA procedure).
As of claim 11, rejection of claim 8 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses wherein the circuitry, in operation, applies blind decoding on all eligible spatial streams in the one or more RA-RUs assigned for enhanced UORA (page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams corresponds, page 10: STA has separate OBOs for each RA-RU type and group-AID).
As of claim 12, rejection of claim 8 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the circuitry, in operation, generates, modulates and encodes the trigger frame which assigns one or more spatial streams for random access in allocated Rus (page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams corresponds to assigns one or more spatial streams; slide or page 10: allocating RA-RU).
As of claim 13, rejection of claim 12 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the circuitry, in operation, applies blind decoding on all eligible ones of the one or more spatial streams (page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams corresponds).
As of claim 15, rejection of claim 14 cited above incorporated herein, in addition NPL discloses the selecting comprises selecting the one or more spatial streams in the one or more RA-RUs in response to limitations of the trigger frame and/or according to specific criteria (page 6: transmits a Basic Trigger frame and shall allocate a number of streams selects a single spatial stream; slide or page 9: RA-RU with Group-AID could be contended only by stations members of that group which corresponds to specific criteria).
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471