DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive to the extent they apply to the current rejection. In regards to the 112 rejection, applicant’s argument in response to this claim amounts to applicant admitted prior art as something can’t be traditional without be known prior art, however, that still does not provide a way to determine whether a fixation is a standard fixation/traditional or not, just that standard fixation doesn’t require additional screw or assembly web and the pgpug provided recites is just an exempli gratis which is merely one example so it is not limited to that. Applicant’s argument to the standard fixation is that it is essentially defined as excluding non-traditional fixations which is an indefinite negative limitation 2173.05(i). As to the multiple punches per die, Kramer teaches this feature.
The examiner notes per applicant’s arguments on 8/13/25, claim 1 has been interpreted as requiring that the plurality of working bores within each die insert must be on the same circular arc/
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “wherein a number of lower punches or upper punches is a positive integer multiple of a number of die inserts” and the claim also recites “wherein a number of lower punches or upper punches is a positive integer multiple greater than one of a number of die inserts,” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
The dependent claims inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1.
The term “standard fixation” in claim 4 renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to what standard the fixation is held or how one would determine whether the standard is met.
This was interpreted to mean any configuration that allowed an insert to be placed within the recess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, 14, 17-20, 24, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US 2008/0145468) and alternatively view of Han (CN 202573048).
As to claims 1 and 25, Kramer teaches a tableting device [Abstract Fig 3] comprising a rotary turret with a rotation axis [Abstract Fig 3] including: - an upper receptacle body (5) provided with reciprocating upper punches (7),- a lower receptacle body (2) provided with reciprocating lower punches (4), - a die table (10), - die inserts (20);wherein the die table (10) is provided with receiving recesses (12), in which the die inserts are arranged [Fig 1, 3]; wherein the die insert (20) and the receiving recesses (12) have a complementary form [Fig 1,3]; wherein each die insert (20) comprises at least one circular arc outer surface with a die insert outer diameter (N) [0019, 0020, Fig 3], the at least one outer surface facing an inner surface of the corresponding receiving recess [Fig 1], wherein each die insert (20) comprises a plurality of working bores (the bore approximate to 11) [Fig 1, 3], in which a directly adjacent upper punches (7) respectively reciprocate in use, and in which a corresponding pair of directly adjacent lower punches (4) respectively reciprocate in use [Fig 2]. Kramer teaches a die insert (11) comprises a multiple working bores (11), in which a pair of directly adjacent upper punches (7) respectively reciprocate in use, and in which a corresponding pair of directly adjacent lower punches (4) respectively reciprocate in use [Fig 2] and the number of lower punches and upper punches is a positive integer multiple greater than one of a number of die inserts [Fig 2, 3]. Kramer teaches that a circular arc of the rotation axis passes through a center of the bores of the respective die insert and the plurality of working bores are substantially equally spaced about the rotation axis [Fig 3].
Changing the shape of die insert from circular arc cylindrical shape to a circular cylindrical shape would just be a change in shape generally recognized to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04.
Alternatively, Han teaches a rotary tableting press [Abstract, 0002, 0004] wherein each modular circular cylindrical die insert contains 4 bores ie a pair a bores and 2 further bores that are arranged around the same pitch circle wherein 1 pair is disposed along the circular arc centered at the rotation axis and substantially equally spaced about the rotation axis as this allows for more tablets to be produced simultaneously [0010, 0022, Fig 2, 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Kramer and had the die insert be shaped as a circular cylindrical shape, as suggested by Han, as this had proven successful at producing tablets and provided the die insert modularly. Moreover, this is just combining prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2143 A.
As to claim 2, Kramer teaches each upper (7) or lower (4) punch comprises a single tip (the top(9) and bottom (8) edges of the punches that are received in the bore) adapted to reciprocate within the corresponding working bore [0017]
As to claim 3, Kramer teaches each upper or lower punch is a single piece [Fig 2].
As to claim 4, Kramer teaches a die insert fixed with the recess of the table [Fig 1, 0020, 0022]. As it is not noted to be unconventional, it is presumably standard tooling.
Alternatively, Han teaches a rotary tableting press [Abstract, 0002, 0004] wherein each modular circular cylindrical die insert contains 4 bores ie a pair a bores and 2 further bores that are arranged around the same pitch circle wherein 1 pair is disposed along the circular arc centered at the rotation axis and substantially equally spaced about the rotation axis as this allows for more tablets to be produced simultaneously [0010, 0022, Fig 2, 5]. The die insert is a standard fixation [Fig 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Kramer and had the die insert be shaped as a circular cylindrical shape, as suggested by Han, as this had proven successful at producing tablets and provided the die insert modularly. Moreover, this is just combining prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2143 A.
As to claim 5, Kramer teaches teaches the plurality of working bores is a pair of through bores opening on an upper and a lower face of the corresponding die insert [Fig 1, 3].
As to claim 6, Kramer teaches the die table comprises an upper and a lower face, wherein each die insert upper face is flush with the die table upper face [Fig 1].
As to claim 7 and 8, Kramer teaches a rotary tablet press [abstract] wherein the die contains cutouts sections (12 but also lower one above 29) ie a recess/annular outer groove positioned between 2 outer surfaces with the same outer diameter [0019-0021], as this configuration had proven successful in a rotary press and allowed for the inserts to be rotated 180 degrees [0019-0021].
As to claim 10 and 11, Kramer teaches each die insert contains multiple bores, but, omission of an element and its function, in this case the extra bores in Kramer and their capacity to make tablets, is generally recognized to be obvious see MPEP 2144.04 II A.
As to claim 14, Kramer teaches the barrel diameter of the punches is less than 45% of the die insert outer diameter [Fig 3]
As to claim 17, Kramer teaches each die insert is a single piece [Fig 1, 0018, 0019]. Furthermore, making something integral is generally thought to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 18, Kramer teaches the die insert is adapted to be inserted in a direction parallel to the rotation axis [Fig 1, 0020].
As to claim 19, Kramer teaches the outer surface encircles the plurality of working bores [Fig 3].
As to claim 20, Kramer teaches the inner surface is a closed surface as the inner surface of the die table [Fig 1] as the inner surface to which the die is inserted is not accessible once inserted.
Alternatively, Han teaches a rotary tableting press [Abstract, 0002, 0004] wherein each modular circular cylindrical die insert contains 4 bores ie a pair a bores and 2 further bores that are arranged around the same pitch circle wherein 1 pair is disposed along the circular arc centered at the rotation axis and substantially equally spaced about the rotation axis as this allows for more tablets to be produced simultaneously [0010, 0022, Fig 2, 5]. The die table has a closed surface [Fig 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Kramer and had the die table be closed, as suggested by Han, as this had proven successful at producing tablets and provided the die insert modularly. Moreover, this is just combining prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2143 A.
As to claim 24, Kramer teaches the center of each part of the working bores on each die insert is disposed along the circular arc centered at the rotation axis [Fig 3].
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US 2008/0145468) and alternatively view of Han (CN 202573048), as applied to claims 1-8, 10-11, 14, 17-20, 24, 25 above, and in further view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
The combination of Kramer and Han teach the standard fixation as explained above, but as standard fixation are “traditionally used” this was the conventional method [Page 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Kramer and utilized standard fixations, as suggested by AAPA, as this configuration was the conventional way of incorporating die inserts.
Claims 9, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US 2008/0145468) and alternatively view of Han (CN 202573048), as applied to claims 1-8, 10-11, 14, 17-20, 24, 25 above, and in further view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
As to claims 9 and 13, Han does not explicitly state each die insert (40) has an outer lateral surface, the dimensions of which meet the requirements of standard ISO 18084:2011(E) and wherein the diameter of the at least one outer surface (44, 46) is a value selected from 38.1, 30.16, 24 or 21 mm.
On Page 9 of specification applicant provides that ISO 18084:2011(E) is prior art, indeed the standard was published in 2011 and such dimensions are noted as standard tooling. AAPA notes that ISO 18084:2011(E) teaches the diameter of the at least one outer surface (44, 46) is a value selected from 38.1, 30.16, 24 or 21 mm [Table 2, Page 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Han and had the die insert (40) has an outer lateral surface, the dimensions of which meet the requirements of standard ISO 18084:2011(E) and wherein the diameter of the at least one outer surface (44, 46) is a value selected from 38.1, 30.16, 24 or 21 mm, as suggested by AAPA, in order to meet the dimensions of standard tooling.
As to claim 14, Han teaches a barrel portion that is less than 45% of the die insert outer diameter, see above.
Alternatively, On Page 9 of specification applicant provides that ISO 18084:2011(E) is prior art, indeed the standard was published in 2011 and such dimensions are noted as standard tooling. AAPA notes that ISO 18084:2011(E) teaches each upper or lower punch comprises a barrel portion for guiding said punch in the respective upper or lower receptacle body, said barrel portion comprising a cylindrical outer surface with a barrel diameter (D1), wherein the barrel diameter is approximately 49% of the die insert outer diameter (N). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Han and the barrel diameter be 49% of the die insert outer diameter, as suggested by AAPA, in order to meet the dimensions of standard tooling. 49% is so close to 45% that one of ordinary skill the art would expect them to have the same properties, see MPEP 2144.05 I.
As to claim 16, Han does not explicitly state the diameter of the lower or upper punch tip is lower than or equal to the barrel diameter (D1).
On Page 9 of specification applicant provides that ISO 18084:2011(E) is prior art, indeed the standard was published in 2011 and such dimensions are noted as standard tooling. AAPA notes that ISO 18084:2011(E) teaches the diameter of the lower or upper punch tip is lower than or equal to the barrel diameter [Table 1, Table 2 Page 9,10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Han and had the diameter of the lower or upper punch tip is lower than or equal to the barrel diameter (D1), as suggested by AAPA, in order to meet the dimensions of standard tooling.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US 2008/0145468) and alternatively view of Han (CN 202573048), as applied to claims 1-8, 10-11, 14, 17-20, 24, 25 above, and in further view of Facchini (IT 1238958).
As to claim 12, Kramer teaches the recesses have inner circular cylindrical inner surface but does not explicitly state each receiving recess, the inner surface is a first circular cylindrical inner surface positioned above a second circular cylindrical inner surface of said recess, said first and second surfaces having the same diameter.
Facchini teaches the rotary tablet punch device [Abstract] the recess contains 2 separate surfaces with the same diameter [Fig 3] which allows for a feeding channel that feeds material to the bores to form into tablets [0023-0025]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Kramer and had each receiving recess (32), the inner surface is a first circular cylindrical inner surface (34) positioned above a second circular cylindrical inner surface (36) of said recess (32), said first (34) and second (36) surfaces having the same diameter, as suggested by Kramer, in order to provide a feeding channel to provide material to be tableted.
Claims 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer (US 2008/0145468) and alternatively view of Han (CN 202573048), as applied to claims 1-8, 10-11, 14, 17-20, 24, 25 above, and in further view of Schikowski (US 2009/0269433).
As to claims 15 and 23, Kramer does not explicitly state the barrel diameter (D1) is less than 14 mm, more preferably less than 12.5 mm.
Schikowski teaches a punch for a rotary press wherein the shaft, ie barrel portion is less than 12 mm [0022] as punches with these dimensions lowered noise emission and wear [0015]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Kramer and had the barrel diameter be 12 mm, as suggested by Schikowski, in order to lower noise emission and wear.
Conclusion
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759