DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A heating element in claim 1 wherein heating is a functional language with the term element being a generic placeholder for means.
A heating element is interpreted as a heating plate or a heating coil as disclosed in the specification or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites for a water intake duct of the steam bubble retention device that “runs into” the suction opening, but it is unclear what structure or arrangement would constitute such arrangement. For purposes of examination, the recited “runs into” is interpreted as the water intake duct that “is directed toward” the suction opening. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wentzel (DE 3012590).
Wentzel discloses the device claimed including a heating chamber (1), a water inlet (4), a water outlet (8; also, see Figure 1) having an outlet duct with an suction opening (shown by its opened end) through which hot water is supplied thereto wherein in the suction opening is arranged within the heating chamber at a distance to a bottom of the heating chamber and facing a top side of the heating chamber, a heating element (5) for heating the water in the heating chamber, the water outlet further comprising a steam bubble retention device (shown by a deflection shell 10) that forms a water intake duct (shown by its concave channel) that runs or is directed toward the suction opening and prevents steam bubbles to flow through the suction opening of the outlet duct (also, see para 0013 of the English translation).
With respect to claim 6, Wentzel discloses the steam bubble retention device shaped in a circular dome shape forming an intake duct/channel that encloses an end region of the outlet duct of the water outlet wherein an intake opening is located below the suction opening of the water outlet.
With respect to claim 8, Wentzel discloses an upper end of the intake duct that further include a vent hole (13) where the gas/bubble can be let out.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harney (US 2,784,291).
Harney discloses the device claimed including a heating chamber (12), a water inlet (26), a water outlet (44) having an outlet duct with an suction opening (shown by its opened end) through which hot water is supplied thereto wherein the suction opening is arranged within the heating chamber at a distance to a bottom of the heating chamber and facing a top side of the heating chamber, a heating element (46) for heating the water in the heating chamber, the water outlet further comprising a steam bubble retention device that forms a water intake duct (40) that runs or is directed toward the suction opening wherein steam bubbles are prevented from flowing through the suction opening of the outlet duct. It is also noted that such retention or prevention of the steam bubbles is deemed as an inherent characteristic or function of the steam bubble retention device that is formed of the same substantially same structure including a water intake duct. Also, see MPEP 2112.01.
With respect to claim 6, Harney discloses that the steam bubble retention device is shaped as a hat-shaped tubular intake duct (which is shown by a bell-shaped hood) that encloses an end region of the outlet duct (44) wherein an intake opening of the intake duct is located at a distance below the suction opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wentzel (DE 3012590) in view of Abraham (US 2012/0051724).
Wentzel discloses the heating device claimed including the water outlet that is coupled with the steam bubble retention device having the intake duct having an opening/channel but does not show the intake opening of the intake duct that is located below the heating element.
Abraham discloses it is known to provide a water outlet (16) having an outlet duct (16) that is situated below a heating element, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Wentzel to provide the water outlet at a lower position below the heating element as taught by Abraham, as alternative water outlet location, which would predictably include the steam bubble retention device having its intake opening located wherein the water outlet is situation which would predictably be below the heating element so that heated water without gas bubble is supplied to the water outlet as desired.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wentzel (DE 3012590) in view of McKay (US 2021/0052106).
Wentzel discloses the heating device claimed except for a pumping device connected to the outlet duct as claimed.
McKay discloses it is known to provide a pumping device (92) connected to a water outlet duct (112).
In view of McKay, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Wentzel with the outlet duct having a pumping device that is known to more effectively deliver water out of the heating chamber to the water outlet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761