DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 1/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-17, 19-21 and 23-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-15 with respect to claims 1, 12, 23 and 28 have been considered but are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang-Fu (US PGPub 2020/0275305) in view of Xiong (US PGPub 2023/0062526) and Han (US PGPub 2021/0211926).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-17, 19-21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang-Fu (US PGPub 2020/0275305) in view of Xiong (US PGPub 2023/0062526) and Han (US PGPub 2021/0211926).
Regarding claims 1 and 23, Huang-Fu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0042, a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session), comprising:
at least one processor; at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor; and
instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (Huang-Fu, see figure 1, UE 110) to:
establish a connection with a base station, wherein the connection corresponds to a quality of service flow for communications between the UE and the base station (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0042-0043, a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session. The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description); and
communicate data in the direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0043, The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description).
Huang-Fu teaches the above yet fails to teach receive control signaling comprising a configuration for the quality of service flow in response to establishing the connection, wherein the configuration comprises a set of one or more parameters specific to a direction of the quality of service flow.
Then Xiong teaches receive control signaling comprising a configuration for the quality of service flow in response to establishing the connection (Xiong, see paragraph 0092, the RAN device may set the period in the SPS by using the received periodicity information of the QoS configuration file from the SMF entity (the periodicity information is the data packet transfer period of the interactive service data flow)), wherein the configuration comprises a set of one or more parameters specific to a direction of the quality of service flow (Xiong, see paragraph 0061, Receive a QoS configuration file from an SMF entity, the QoS configuration file including a QoS parameter corresponding to a QoS flow for an interactive service data flow, the QoS parameter including periodicity information and flow direction information, the periodicity information being used for indicating a data packet transfer period of the QoS flow, and the flow direction information being used for indicating a link direction corresponding to the periodicity information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang-Fu with Method, apparatus, computer readable medium, and electronic device for communication of Xiong, because doing so would make Huang-Fu more efficient in preventing congestion and freeze from occurring during the periodic transfer of media streams (Xiong, see paragraph 0004)
Huang-Fu in view of Xiong teaches the above yet fails to teach wherein one or more values of the set of one or more parameters indicate a guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, a maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both for one of an uplink direction or a downlink direction to indicate that the quality of service flow is unidirectional.
Then Han teaches wherein one or more values of the set of one or more parameters indicate a guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, a maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both for one of an uplink direction or a downlink direction to indicate that the quality of service flow is unidirectional (Han, see paragraph 0175, the CU-CP may alternatively implicitly indicate to the CU-UP whether the QoS flow in the mapping relationship is an uplink QoS flow, a downlink QoS flow, or a bidirectional QoS flow. In an example, the third information may include a guaranteed flow bit rate GFBR or a maximum flow bit rate MFBR of the QoS flow #1. Specifically, if an uplink guaranteed flow bit rate GFBR or an uplink maximum flow bit rate MFBR of the QoS flow #1 is greater than zero, and a downlink GFBR or a downlink MFBR is equal to zero, the QoS flow #1 is an uplink QoS flow; if the downlink GFBR or the downlink MFBR of the QoS flow #1 is greater than zero, and the uplink GFBR or the uplink MFBR is equal to zero, the QoS flow #1 is a downlink QoS flow; and if the downlink GFBR or the downlink MFBR of the QoS flow #1 is greater than zero, and the uplink GFBR or the uplink MFBR is greater than zero, the QoS flow #1 is a bidirectional QoS flow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang-Fu in view of Xiong with Data transmission method and apparatus of Han, because doing so would make Huang-Fu in view of Xiong more efficient in improving user experience by meeting transmission performance parameter of the QoS flow (Han, see paragraph 0010).
Regarding claims 2 and 24, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a flow direction parameter configured to indicate the direction of the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a quality of service identifier for the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0007, a QoS flow identifier (QFI) in the QoS flow description), and the direction of the quality of service flow is based at least in part on a mapping between the quality of service identifier and a quality of service flow characteristic configured to indicate the direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0045, A 5QI can be used as an index to determine a set of QoS parameters (referred to as 5G QoS characteristics) in a mapping table providing a mapping between 5QI values and respective QoS characteristics).
Regarding claims 4 and 26, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive the control signaling based at least in part on establishing the connection with the base station, an establishment of the quality of service flow, a modification of the quality of service flow, or any combination thereof (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0042, The 5GSM procedures can include a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session, a network-initiated PDU session modification process (may be requested by a UE), and a network-initiated PDU session release process (may be requested by a UE)).
Regarding claims 5 and 27, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprise a first guaranteed flow bit rate, a first maximum flow bit rate, or both specific to the uplink direction in the quality of service flow, and a second guaranteed flow bit rate, a second maximum flow bit rate, or both specific to the downlink direction in the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit uplink data in the uplink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the first guaranteed flow bit rate, the first maximum flow bit rate, or both, wherein the second guaranteed flow bit rate is the guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, the second maximum flow bit rate is the maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL); or
receive downlink data in the downlink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the second guaranteed flow bit rate, the second maximum flow bit rate, or both, wherein the first guaranteed flow bit rate is the guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, the first maximum flow bit rate is the maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 6, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein:
the set of one or more parameters indicates a maximum data burst volume associated with the quality of service flow, the maximum data burst volume corresponding to a bandwidth assumption for the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL); and
the first guaranteed flow bit rate, the first maximum flow bit rate, the second guaranteed flow bit rate, the second maximum flow bit rate, or any combination thereof override the bandwidth assumption (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 8, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates a first maximum data burst volume for each direction of the quality of service flow and a second maximum data burst volume specific to a first direction of the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate the data in the first direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the second maximum data burst volume (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0043, The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description. For example, the QoS flow 210 of QFI=1 is associated with QoS rules 211-212, and a QoS flow description 219, while the QoS flow 220 of QFI=2 is associated with QoS rules 221-222, and a QoS flow description 229); and
communicate the data in a second direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the first maximum data burst volume, wherein the first maximum data burst volume is a nominal value (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0043, The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description. For example, the QoS flow 210 of QFI=1 is associated with QoS rules 211-212, and a QoS flow description 219, while the QoS flow 220 of QFI=2 is associated with QoS rules 221-222, and a QoS flow description 229).
Regarding claim 9, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates the direction of the quality of service flow is the uplink direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit uplink data in the uplink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 10, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates the direction of the quality of service flow is the downlink direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive downlink data in the downlink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claims 12 and 28, Huang-Fu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0042, The 5GSM procedures can include … a network-initiated PDU session modification process (may be requested by a UE)), comprising:
at least one processor;
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor; and
instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (Huang-Fu, see figure 1, AN 120) to:
establish a connection with a user equipment (UE), wherein the connection corresponds to a quality of service flow for communications between the network entity and the UE (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0042-0043, a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session. The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description); and
communicate data in the direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0043, The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description).
Huang-Fu teaches the above yet fails to teach transmit, to the UE, control signaling comprising a configuration for the quality of service flow in response to establishing the connection, wherein the configuration comprises a set of one or more parameters specific to a direction of the quality of service flow.
Then Xiong teaches transmit, to the UE, control signaling comprising a configuration for the quality of service flow in response to establishing the connection (Xiong, see paragraph 0092, the RAN device may set the period in the SPS by using the received periodicity information of the QoS configuration file from the SMF entity (the periodicity information is the data packet transfer period of the interactive service data flow)), wherein the configuration comprises a set of one or more parameters specific to a direction of the quality of service flow (Xiong, see paragraph 0061, Receive a QoS configuration file from an SMF entity, the QoS configuration file including a QoS parameter corresponding to a QoS flow for an interactive service data flow, the QoS parameter including periodicity information and flow direction information, the periodicity information being used for indicating a data packet transfer period of the QoS flow, and the flow direction information being used for indicating a link direction corresponding to the periodicity information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang-Fu with Method, apparatus, computer readable medium, and electronic device for communication of Xiong, because doing so would make Huang-Fu more efficient in preventing congestion and freeze from occurring during the periodic transfer of media streams (Xiong, see paragraph 0004).
Huang-Fu in view of Xiong teaches the above yet fails to teach wherein one or more values of the set of one or more parameters indicate a guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, a maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both for one of an uplink direction or a downlink direction to indicate that the quality of service flow is unidirectional.
Then Han teaches wherein one or more values of the set of one or more parameters indicate a guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, a maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both for one of an uplink direction or a downlink direction to indicate that the quality of service flow is unidirectional (Han, see paragraph 0175, the CU-CP may alternatively implicitly indicate to the CU-UP whether the QoS flow in the mapping relationship is an uplink QoS flow, a downlink QoS flow, or a bidirectional QoS flow. In an example, the third information may include a guaranteed flow bit rate GFBR or a maximum flow bit rate MFBR of the QoS flow #1. Specifically, if an uplink guaranteed flow bit rate GFBR or an uplink maximum flow bit rate MFBR of the QoS flow #1 is greater than zero, and a downlink GFBR or a downlink MFBR is equal to zero, the QoS flow #1 is an uplink QoS flow; if the downlink GFBR or the downlink MFBR of the QoS flow #1 is greater than zero, and the uplink GFBR or the uplink MFBR is equal to zero, the QoS flow #1 is a downlink QoS flow; and if the downlink GFBR or the downlink MFBR of the QoS flow #1 is greater than zero, and the uplink GFBR or the uplink MFBR is greater than zero, the QoS flow #1 is a bidirectional QoS flow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang-Fu in view of Xiong with Data transmission method and apparatus of Han, because doing so would make Huang-Fu in view of Xiong more efficient in improving user experience by meeting transmission performance parameter of the QoS flow (Han, see paragraph 0010).
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a flow direction parameter configured to indicate the direction of the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a quality of service identifier for the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0007, a QoS flow identifier (QFI) in the QoS flow description), and wherein the direction of the quality of service flow is based at least in part on a mapping between the quality of service identifier and a quality of service flow characteristic configured to indicate the direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0045, A 5QI can be used as an index to determine a set of QoS parameters (referred to as 5G QoS characteristics) in a mapping table providing a mapping between 5QI values and respective QoS characteristics).
Regarding claim 15, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the control signaling are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit the control signaling based at least in part on establishing the connection with the UE, an establishment of the quality of service flow, a modification of the quality of service flow, or any combination thereof (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0042, The 5GSM procedures can include a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session, a network-initiated PDU session modification process (may be requested by a UE), and a network-initiated PDU session release process (may be requested by a UE)).
Regarding claim 16, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a first guaranteed flow bit rate, a first maximum flow bit rate, or both specific to the uplink direction in the quality of service flow, and a second guaranteed flow bit rate, a second maximum flow bit rate, or both specific to the downlink direction in the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive uplink data in the uplink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the first guaranteed flow bit rate, the first maximum flow bit rate, or both, wherein the first guaranteed flow bit rate is the guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, the first maximum flow bit rate is the maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL); or
transmit downlink data in the downlink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the second guaranteed flow bit rate, the second maximum flow bit rate, or both, wherein the first guaranteed flow bit rate is the guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, the first maximum flow bit rate is the maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 17, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein:
the set of one or more parameters indicates a maximum data burst volume associated with the quality of service flow, the maximum data burst volume corresponding to a bandwidth assumption for the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL); and
the first guaranteed flow bit rate, the first maximum flow bit rate, the second guaranteed flow bit rate, the second maximum flow bit rate, or any combination thereof override the bandwidth assumption (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 19, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates a first maximum data burst volume for each direction of the quality of service flow and a second maximum data burst volume specific to a first direction of the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
communicate the data in the first direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the second maximum data burst volume (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0043, The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description. For example, the QoS flow 210 of QFI=1 is associated with QoS rules 211-212, and a QoS flow description 219, while the QoS flow 220 of QFI=2 is associated with QoS rules 221-222, and a QoS flow description 229); and
communicate the data in a second direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the first maximum data burst volume, wherein the first maximum data burst volume is a nominal value (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0043, The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description. For example, the QoS flow 210 of QFI=1 is associated with QoS rules 211-212, and a QoS flow description 219, while the QoS flow 220 of QFI=2 is associated with QoS rules 221-222, and a QoS flow description 229).
Regarding claim 20, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates the direction of the quality of service flow is the uplink direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive uplink data in the uplink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 21, Huang-Fu in view of Xiong and Han teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates the direction of the quality of service flow is the downlink direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit downlink data in the downlink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443