DETAILED ACTION
The office action is non-final due to a new ground of rejection in response to Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/8/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 6/8/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12-17, 20, 21 and 23-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 10-12 with respect to claims 1, 12, 23 and 28 have been considered but are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang-Fu (US PGPub 2020/0275305) in view of Xu (US PGPub 2024/0056889).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12-17, 20, 21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang-Fu (US PGPub 2020/0275305) in view of Xu (US PGPub 2024/0056889).
Regarding claims 1 and 23, Huang-Fu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0042, a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session), comprising:
at least one processor; at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor; and
instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (Huang-Fu, see figure 1, UE 110) to:
establish a connection with a network entity, wherein the connection corresponds to a quality of service flow for communications between the UE and the network entity (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0042-0043, a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session. The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description);
receive control signaling comprising a configuration for the quality of service flow in response to establishing the connection (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0078, the session 101 has been established between the UE 110 and the DN 140. The PDU session modification process 400 can be initiated, and the PDU session modification command message 411 can be transmitted from SMF 132 to the UE 110), wherein the configuration comprises a set of one or more parameters specific to a direction of the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0079, the QoS rule parameter 1002 can indicate an rule operation 1003 of “modify existing QoS rule”. Based on the rule operation 1003, the QoS rule 1010 can be modified to generate a QoS rule 1020), wherein one or more values of the set of one or more parameters indicate a guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, a maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both for one of an uplink direction or a downlink direction to indicate that the quality of service flow is unidirectional (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0079, a QoS rule of a GBR QoS flow can have a corresponding QoS flow description providing sufficient parameters (e.g., 5QI, GFBR UL, GFBR DL, MFBR UL, MFBR DL, or the like) for defining the respective GBR QoS flow. The parameters 5QI, GFBR UL, GFBR DL, MFBR UL, and MFBR DL, can be referred to as QoS flow description (QFD) parameters); and
communicate data in the direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0043, The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description).
Huang-Fu teaches the above yet fails to teach wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates a maximum data burst volume associated with the quality of service flow.
Then Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates a maximum data burst volume associated with the quality of service flow (Xu, see paragraph 0033, the access-network-side device sends third information to a control plane of a core network system, where the third information indicates at least one of the following reference information determined by the access-network-side device. A reference maximum data burst volume that the access-network-side device can bear for the downlink data burst within a packet delay budget of the air interface, and the downlink data burst includes at least one data packet that belongs to a same quality of service QoS flow of a same service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang-Fu with Communication processing method for data transmission and related device of Xu, because doing so would make Huang-Fu more efficient in improving a load balancing capability of a wireless communication system (Xu, see paragraph 0005).
Regarding claims 2 and 24, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a flow direction parameter configured to indicate the direction of the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a quality of service identifier for the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0007, a QoS flow identifier (QFI) in the QoS flow description), and the direction of the quality of service flow is based at least in part on a mapping between the quality of service identifier and a quality of service flow characteristic configured to indicate the direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0045, A 5QI can be used as an index to determine a set of QoS parameters (referred to as 5G QoS characteristics) in a mapping table providing a mapping between 5QI values and respective QoS characteristics).
Regarding claims 4 and 26, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive the control signaling based at least in part on establishing the connection with the network entity, an establishment of the quality of service flow, a modification of the quality of service flow, or any combination thereof (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0042, The 5GSM procedures can include a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session, a network-initiated PDU session modification process (may be requested by a UE), and a network-initiated PDU session release process (may be requested by a UE)).
Regarding claims 5 and 27, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprise a first guaranteed flow bit rate, a first maximum flow bit rate, or both specific to the uplink direction in the quality of service flow, and a second guaranteed flow bit rate, a second maximum flow bit rate, or both specific to the downlink direction in the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit uplink data in the uplink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the first guaranteed flow bit rate, the first maximum flow bit rate, or both, wherein the second guaranteed flow bit rate is the guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, the second maximum flow bit rate is the maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL); or
receive downlink data in the downlink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the second guaranteed flow bit rate, the second maximum flow bit rate, or both, wherein the first guaranteed flow bit rate is the guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, the first maximum flow bit rate is the maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 6, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein:
the maximum data burst volume corresponds to a bandwidth assumption for the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL); and
the first guaranteed flow bit rate, the first maximum flow bit rate, the second guaranteed flow bit rate, the second maximum flow bit rate, or any combination thereof override the bandwidth assumption (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 9, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates the direction of the quality of service flow is the uplink direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit uplink data in the uplink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 10, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates the direction of the quality of service flow is the downlink direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive downlink data in the downlink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claims 12 and 28, Huang-Fu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0042, The 5GSM procedures can include … a network-initiated PDU session modification process (may be requested by a UE)), comprising:
at least one processor;
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor; and
instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (Huang-Fu, see figure 1, AN 120) to:
establish a connection with a user equipment (UE), wherein the connection corresponds to a quality of service flow for communications between the network entity and the UE (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0042-0043, a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session. The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description);
transmit, to the UE, control signaling comprising a configuration for the quality of service flow in response to establishing the connection (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0078, the session 101 has been established between the UE 110 and the DN 140. The PDU session modification process 400 can be initiated, and the PDU session modification command message 411 can be transmitted from SMF 132 to the UE 110), wherein the configuration comprises a set of one or more parameters specific to a direction of the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0079, the QoS rule parameter 1002 can indicate an rule operation 1003 of “modify existing QoS rule”. Based on the rule operation 1003, the QoS rule 1010 can be modified to generate a QoS rule 1020), wherein one or more values of the set of one or more parameters indicate a guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, a maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both for one of an uplink direction or a downlink direction to indicate that the quality of service flow is unidirectional (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0079, a QoS rule of a GBR QoS flow can have a corresponding QoS flow description providing sufficient parameters (e.g., 5QI, GFBR UL, GFBR DL, MFBR UL, MFBR DL, or the like) for defining the respective GBR QoS flow. The parameters 5QI, GFBR UL, GFBR DL, MFBR UL, and MFBR DL, can be referred to as QoS flow description (QFD) parameters); and
communicate data in the direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0043, The PDU session 101 can include one or more quality of service (QoS) flows 210-220 each having a QoS flow identifier (QFI), and be associated with one or more QoS rules and a QoS flow description).
Huang-Fu teaches the above yet fails to teach wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates a maximum data burst volume associated with the quality of service flow.
Then Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates a maximum data burst volume associated with the quality of service flow (Xu, see paragraph 0033, the access-network-side device sends third information to a control plane of a core network system, where the third information indicates at least one of the following reference information determined by the access-network-side device. A reference maximum data burst volume that the access-network-side device can bear for the downlink data burst within a packet delay budget of the air interface, and the downlink data burst includes at least one data packet that belongs to a same quality of service QoS flow of a same service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang-Fu with Communication processing method for data transmission and related device of Xu, because doing so would make Huang-Fu more efficient in improving a load balancing capability of a wireless communication system (Xu, see paragraph 0005).
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a flow direction parameter configured to indicate the direction of the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a quality of service identifier for the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0007, a QoS flow identifier (QFI) in the QoS flow description), and wherein the direction of the quality of service flow is based at least in part on a mapping between the quality of service identifier and a quality of service flow characteristic configured to indicate the direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0045, A 5QI can be used as an index to determine a set of QoS parameters (referred to as 5G QoS characteristics) in a mapping table providing a mapping between 5QI values and respective QoS characteristics).
Regarding claim 15, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the control signaling are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit the control signaling based at least in part on establishing the connection with the UE, an establishment of the quality of service flow, a modification of the quality of service flow, or any combination thereof (Huang-Fu, see paragraph 0042, The 5GSM procedures can include a UE-requested PDU session establishment process for establishing a PDU session, a network-initiated PDU session modification process (may be requested by a UE), and a network-initiated PDU session release process (may be requested by a UE)).
Regarding claim 16, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters comprises a first guaranteed flow bit rate, a first maximum flow bit rate, or both specific to the uplink direction in the quality of service flow, and a second guaranteed flow bit rate, a second maximum flow bit rate, or both specific to the downlink direction in the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive uplink data in the uplink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the first guaranteed flow bit rate, the first maximum flow bit rate, or both, wherein the first guaranteed flow bit rate is the guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, the first maximum flow bit rate is the maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL); or
transmit downlink data in the downlink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the second guaranteed flow bit rate, the second maximum flow bit rate, or both, wherein the first guaranteed flow bit rate is the guaranteed flow bit rate of zero, the first maximum flow bit rate is the maximum flow bit rate of zero, or both (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 17, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein:
the maximum data burst volume corresponds to a bandwidth assumption for the quality of service flow (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL); and
the first guaranteed flow bit rate, the first maximum flow bit rate, the second guaranteed flow bit rate, the second maximum flow bit rate, or any combination thereof override the bandwidth assumption (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 20, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates the direction of the quality of service flow is the uplink direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive uplink data in the uplink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Regarding claim 21, Huang-Fu in view of Xu teaches wherein the set of one or more parameters indicates the direction of the quality of service flow is the downlink direction (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL), and wherein the instructions to communicate the data are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit downlink data in the downlink direction of the quality of service flow in accordance with the set of one or more parameters (Huang-Fu, see paragraphs 0048-0053, each QoS flow description of the PDU session 101, if the QoS flow is a GBR QoS flow, may further include the following parameters: 1) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for UL; 2) Guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) for DL; 3) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for UL; 4) Maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) for DL; and 5) optionally averaging window, applicable for both UL and DL).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443