Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 17 be found allowable, claim 29 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Specification
The abstract is objected to because it uses phrases which can be implied, such as “is disclosed”. A suggestion is to delete the phrase. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. In this case, the abstract includes both “means” and “said”.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13-14 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2).
In regard to claim 13, Muchnic discloses a connecting device (Fig. 4, clamp 27 and pipelines 13 and 10 define a connecting device) comprising a first line end, a second line end (Figs. 1 and 5, first and second line ends at 10 and 13), and a connecting ring (Fig. 4, clamp 27 defines a connecting ring),
wherein the first line end has a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face (Figs. 1 and 4, first line end at 14 has a flange that defines a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face) or
a plurality of radial first widenings each with a first end face and a first rear face (On page 2, column 1, lines 32-63 to page 2, column 2, lines 1-35 describes both the first line end and the second line end can be of the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 having an interrupted flange), wherein the first widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interruption between each 29); and
the second line end has a plurality of radial second widenings each with a second end face and a second rear face (Figs. 1 and 5, at least the second line 10 can have a plurality of radial second widenings at 29 that define a second end face and a second rear face), wherein the second widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interrupted portions between 29),
wherein the connecting ring comprises a first closure face or a plurality of first closure faces and a plurality of second closure faces (Fig. 4, 28 define a plurality of first closure faces on one axial side and a plurality of second closure faces an opposite axial side), wherein the plurality of first closure faces and the plurality of second closure faces are separated from one another by passage portions (Fig. 4, circumferential space between 28 define passage portions for allow 29 to pass through);
wherein the first closure face can be brought into contact with the first rear face, or the first closure faces can be brought into contact with the first rear faces (Figs. 1 and 4, the first closure faces are in contact with the first rear faces as shown in Fig. 1 in the fully assembled state);
the second closure faces can be brought into contact with the second rear faces by virtue of the fact that the second widenings are guided with an axial movement through the passage portions (Figs. 1 and 4, the second closure faces are in contact with the second rear faces after axially guiding 29 through the passage portions between 28) and then a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the first line end and/or a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the second line end (Figs. 1 and 4, relative rotation of 27 with respect to both 13 and 10 in order to form the fully assembled state);
a sealing element is connected with the first line end or the second line end (Fig. 1, end of 13 includes an axially protruding lip that contacts and fits within a recess of 10 which provides at least a sealing element connected with 10 and 13);
the first rear face and the second rear face are inclined relative to the first end face and the second end face, respectively, such that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface (Fig. 1 shows a cross-section of the rear faces relative to the end faces which the rear faces are inclined relative to the end faces, respectively, in order to define that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface); and
wherein the connecting ring is configured with a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first line end and the second line end (Fig. 1 shows the connecting ring is reasonably considered a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first and second line ends since the first and second line ends fit within the connecting ring).
Muchnic does not expressly disclose the sealing element is made from a compressible material. The seal of Muchnic is a seal formed by contact, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider other types of known and reliable seals to prevent leaks at a pipe joint.
In the related field of pipe joints formed by a clamp against inclined surfaces, Diel teaches a known and reliable compressible seal between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp (Fig. 2, compressible seal 38 between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp 37).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the contact seal and the shape of the line ends of Muchnic for the shape of the line ends and compressible seal of Diel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable seal for clamped pipe joints as taught by Diel. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claim 14, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 13, and Muchnic further discloses wherein the connecting ring is formed by two or more ring segments (Fig. 4, both 27 define at least two ring segments to form the connecting ring).
In regard to claim 20, Muchnic and Diel disclose a method for connecting a first line end to a second line end, the method comprising:
providing the connecting device of claim 13 (See claim 13 above);
bringing the first closure face of the connecting ring into contact with the first rear face of the first widening of the first line end;
passing second widenings of the second line end through passage portions of the connecting ring; and
bringing second closure faces of the connecting ring into contact with second rear faces of the second widenings of the second line end by a relative rotational movement between the connecting ring and the first line end and/or by a relative rotational movement between the connecting ring and the second line end (See claim 13 above for the same reasons such that the structure also require the method of bringing the closure faces in contact with the rear faces, passing the second widenings through passage portions, and relative rotational movement with respect to at least one of the line ends. Also, see claim 13 above for the same reasons to combine Muchnic and Diel.).
In regard to claim 21, Muchnic and Diel disclose a method for connecting a first line end to a second line end, the method comprising:
providing the connecting device of claim 13 (See claim 13 above);
passing first widenings of the first line end through passage portions of the connecting ring;
bringing the first closure faces of the connecting ring into contact with the first rear faces of the first widenings of the first line end by a relative rotational movement between the connecting ring and the first line end;
passing the second widenings of the second line end through the second passage portions of the connecting ring; and
bringing the second closure faces of the connecting ring into contact with the second rear faces of the second widenings of the second line end by a relative rotational movement between the connecting ring and the second line end (See claim 13 above for the same reasons such that the structure also require the method of bringing the closure faces in contact with the rear faces, passing the second widenings through passage portions, and relative rotational movement with respect to at least one of the line ends. Also, see claim 13 above for the same reasons to combine Muchnic and Diel.).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2), and further in view of Reiku GmbH (DE 202007012036 U1, hereinafter “Reiku”).
Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein the ring segments can be connected to one another utilizing a cable tie.
In the related field of connecting rings with at least two halves, Reiku teaches a connecting ring utilizing a cable tie to keep two halves of the connecting ring together (Figs. 2 and 3, connecting ring defined by the halves at 3 and 5 and a cable tie at 13) in order to have the advantage of utilizing a commercially available product and cost-effective (In [0004] of the English translation discloses cable ties are common, commercially available, and cost-effective).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connecting ring of Muchnic in view of Diel to include at least one cable tie to provide additional support of keeping the ring halves connected together with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of utilizing a commercially available product and cost-effective product for keeping ring halves together as taught by Reiku.
Claims 17, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2) and further in view of Vsl Int Ag (CH 677395 A5, hereinafter “Vsl”).
In regard to claims 17 and 29, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 13, but do not expressly disclose wherein the connecting ring is manufactured from a thermoplastic material.
In the related field of connecting ring with at least two halves, Vsl teaches a connecting ring made of two halves (Figs. 1 and 2, sleeve 1 defines a connecting ring and is made of two halves at 4 and 5) can be manufactured of a thermoplastic material such as polyethylene in order to have the advantage of at least a material suitable for a known and reliable method of injection molding (Page 4, second paragraph, of the English translation discloses the connecting ring can be made of polyethylene and advantageously by injection molding).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the connecting ring of Muchnic in view of Diel to be made of a thermoplastic such as polyethylene with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a material suitable for a known and reliable method of injection molding as taught by Vsl.
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the connecting ring of Muchnic in view of Diel to be made of a known material such as thermoplastic with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of pliability, lightweight, durable, and chemical resistant as disclosed at https://kydex.com/about-thermoplastics/benefits-of-thermoplastics/.
In regard to claim 27, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 14, and Muchnic, Diel, and Vsl disclose wherein the connecting ring is manufactured from a thermoplastic material (See claim 17 above for the same reasons).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2) and further in view of Riley et al. (US 4,556,082 hereinafter “Riley”).
Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 13, but do not expressly disclose wherein the connecting device comprises at least one sheath, which encloses the connecting ring at a radial distance.
In the related field of pipe fittings, Riley teaches a universal thermal insulation jacket as a sheath which encloses a fitting at a radial distance from an exterior of the fitting (Fig. 1, sheath at 24 which have drawstrings at 30 and 31 to allow the sheath to be universal and conform to different shapes to enclose a fitting at a radial distance from an exterior of the fitting) in order to have at least the advantage of thermal insulation (In 1:50-68 to 2:1-15 discloses at least the advantage of thermal insulation for valves or pipe fittings).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connecting device of Muchnic in view of Diel to include at least one sheath, which encloses the connecting ring at a radial distance with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of thermal insulation as taught by Riley.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2) and Reiku (DE 202007012036 U1) and further in view of Vsl (CH 677395 A5).
Muchnic, Diel and Reiku disclose the connecting device of claim 15 (See claim 15 above for the same reasons), and Muchnic, Diel and Vsl disclose wherein the connecting ring is manufactured from a thermoplastic material (See claim 17 above for the same reasons to combine Muchnic, Diel, and Vsl. Therefore, Muchnic in view of Diel, Reiku, and Vsl disclose the connecting ring is manufactured from a thermoplastic material).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered with respect to claims 13-15, 17, 19-21, and 27-29 but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same references applied in the prior rejection of record for all teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the updated rejection that includes the prior art Diel that teaches a known and reliable compressible seal for pipe ends having inclined surfaces for a clamp.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679