Specification
Changes to the abstract filed on 05/05/2026 are accepted.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 38 recites “the sealing element is u-shaped” which is unclear because the sealing element of applicant’s invention is not exactly a u-shape. See Fig. 6A of applicant’s drawings, the sealing element at 18 does not have the curves of the letter “u” or the same parallel lines of the letter “u”. Furthermore, there is an “O” shape at 32 which the letter “u” does not have. Therefore, it is unclear of what constitutes a “u-shape” of the sealing element 18 which appears to be an O-shape with two L-shapes extending from the O-shape. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the sealing element is
Claim 42 is unclear for the same reasons above for claim 38 and will be interpreted in the same manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13-14, 20-21, and 33-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2).
In regard to claim 13, Muchnic discloses a connecting device (Fig. 4, clamp 27 and pipelines 13 and 10 define a connecting device) comprising a first line end, a second line end (Figs. 1 and 5, first and second line ends at 10 and 13), and a connecting ring (Fig. 4, clamp 27 defines a connecting ring),
wherein the first line end has a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face (Figs. 1 and 4, first line end at 14 has a flange that defines a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face) or
a plurality of radial first widenings each with a first end face and a first rear face (On page 2, column 1, lines 32-63 to page 2, column 2, lines 1-35 describes both the first line end and the second line end can be of the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 having an interrupted flange), wherein the first widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interruption between each 29); and
the second line end has a plurality of radial second widenings each with a second end face and a second rear face (Figs. 1 and 5, at least the second line 10 can have a plurality of radial second widenings at 29 that define a second end face and a second rear face), wherein the second widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interrupted portions between 29),
wherein the connecting ring is cylindrical with an elongated shape (See image below, the dotted line defines at least a cylindrical shape with an axial elongated shape when the two halves of 27 are joined together similar to applicant’s invention, therefore, when the halves of 27 are joined together, it defines at least one cylindrical shape with an axial elongated shape to fit over pipe flanges) and comprises a first closure face or a plurality of first closure faces and a plurality of second closure faces (Fig. 4, 28 define a plurality of first closure faces on one axial side and a plurality of second closure faces an opposite axial side), wherein the plurality of first closure faces and the plurality of second closure faces are separated from one another by passage portions (Fig. 4, circumferential space between 28 define passage portions for allow 29 to pass through);
wherein the first closure face can be brought into contact with the first rear face, or the first closure faces can be brought into contact with the first rear faces (Figs. 1 and 4, the first closure faces are in contact with the first rear faces as shown in Fig. 1 in the fully assembled state);
the second closure faces can be brought into contact with the second rear faces by virtue of the fact that the second widenings are guided with an axial movement through the passage portions (Figs. 1 and 4, the second closure faces are in contact with the second rear faces after axially guiding 29 through the passage portions between 28) and then a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the first line end and/or a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the second line end (Figs. 1 and 4, relative rotation of 27 with respect to both 13 and 10 in order to form the fully assembled state);
a sealing element is connected with the first line end or the second line end (Fig. 1, end of 13 includes an axially protruding lip that contacts and fits within a recess of 10 which provides at least a sealing element connected with 10 and 13);
the first rear face and the second rear face are inclined relative to the first end face and the second end face, respectively, such that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface (Fig. 1 shows a cross-section of the rear faces relative to the end faces which the rear faces are inclined relative to the end faces, respectively, in order to define that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface); and
wherein the connecting ring is configured with a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first line end and the second line end (Fig. 1 shows the connecting ring is reasonably considered a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first and second line ends since the first and second line ends fit within the connecting ring).
Muchnic does not expressly disclose the sealing element is made from a compressible material. The seal of Muchnic is a seal formed by contact, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider other types of known and reliable seals to prevent leaks at a pipe joint.
In the related field of pipe joints formed by a clamp against inclined surfaces, Diel teaches a known and reliable compressible seal between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp (Fig. 2, compressible seal 38 between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp 37).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the contact seal and the shape of the line ends of Muchnic for the shape of the line ends and compressible seal of Diel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable seal for clamped pipe joints as taught by Diel. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claim 14, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 13, and Muchnic further discloses wherein the connecting ring is formed by two or more ring segments (Fig. 4, both 27 define at least two ring segments to form the connecting ring).
In regard to claim 20, Muchnic and Diel disclose a method for connecting a first line end to a second line end, the method comprising:
providing the connecting device of claim 13 (See claim 13 above);
bringing the first closure face of the connecting ring into contact with the first rear face of the first widening of the first line end;
passing second widenings of the second line end through passage portions of the connecting ring; and
bringing second closure faces of the connecting ring into contact with second rear faces of the second widenings of the second line end by a relative rotational movement between the connecting ring and the first line end and/or by a relative rotational movement between the connecting ring and the second line end (See claim 13 above for the same reasons such that the structure also require the method of bringing the closure faces in contact with the rear faces, passing the second widenings through passage portions, and relative rotational movement with respect to at least one of the line ends. Also, see claim 13 above for the same reasons to combine Muchnic and Diel.).
In regard to claim 21, Muchnic and Diel disclose a method for connecting a first line end to a second line end, the method comprising:
providing the connecting device of claim 13 (See claim 13 above);
passing first widenings of the first line end through passage portions of the connecting ring;
bringing the first closure faces of the connecting ring into contact with the first rear faces of the first widenings of the first line end by a relative rotational movement between the connecting ring and the first line end;
passing the second widenings of the second line end through the second passage portions of the connecting ring; and
bringing the second closure faces of the connecting ring into contact with the second rear faces of the second widenings of the second line end by a relative rotational movement between the connecting ring and the second line end (See claim 13 above for the same reasons such that the structure also require the method of bringing the closure faces in contact with the rear faces, passing the second widenings through passage portions, and relative rotational movement with respect to at least one of the line ends. Also, see claim 13 above for the same reasons to combine Muchnic and Diel.).
In regard to claim 33, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 13, and Muchnic further discloses wherein the connecting ring comprises the first closure face (Figs. 2 and 4 show two different embodiments, which both the connecting ring of 27 comprises the first closure face), wherein the first closure face is continuous (Fig. 2 shows the embodiment where the first closure face is continuous).
In regard to claim 34, Muchnic discloses a connecting device (Fig. 4, clamp 27 and pipelines 13 and 10 define a connecting device) comprising a first line end, a second line end (Figs. 1 and 5, first and second line ends at 10 and 13), and a connecting ring (Fig. 4, clamp 27 defines a connecting ring),
wherein the first line end has a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face (Figs. 1 and 4, first line end at 14 has a flange that defines a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face) or
a plurality of radial first widenings each with a first end face and a first rear face (On page 2, column 1, lines 32-63 to page 2, column 2, lines 1-35 describes both the first line end and the second line end can be of the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 having an interrupted flange), wherein the first widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interruption between each 29); and
the second line end has a plurality of radial second widenings each with a second end face and a second rear face (Figs. 1 and 5, at least the second line 10 can have a plurality of radial second widenings at 29 that define a second end face and a second rear face), wherein the second widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interrupted portions between 29),
wherein the connecting ring comprises multiple ring segments (Fig. 4, 27 comprises two halves which define multiple ring segments similar to applicant’s invention);
each of the ring segments comprises a first closure face or a plurality of first closure faces and a plurality of second closure faces (Fig. 4, each half of 27 has 28 define a plurality of first closure faces on one axial side and a plurality of second closure faces an opposite axial side),
the plurality of second closure faces are arranged at a distance from circumferential ends of the ring segments (Fig. 4, the plurality of second closure faces are arranged at a distance from circumferential ends of the ring segments);
wherein the plurality of first closure faces and the plurality of second closure faces are separated from one another by passage portions (Fig. 4, circumferential space between 28 define passage portions for allow 29 to pass through);
wherein the first closure face can be brought into contact with the first rear face, or the first closure faces can be brought into contact with the first rear faces (Figs. 1 and 4, the first closure faces are in contact with the first rear faces as shown in Fig. 1 in the fully assembled state);
the second closure faces can be brought into contact with the second rear faces by virtue of the fact that the second widenings are guided with an axial movement through the passage portions (Figs. 1 and 4, the second closure faces are in contact with the second rear faces after axially guiding 29 through the passage portions between 28) and then a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the first line end and/or a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the second line end (Figs. 1 and 4, relative rotation of 27 with respect to both 13 and 10 in order to form the fully assembled state);
a sealing element is connected with the first line end or the second line end (Fig. 1, end of 13 includes an axially protruding lip that contacts and fits within a recess of 10 which provides at least a sealing element connected with 10 and 13);
the first rear face and the second rear face are inclined relative to the first end face and the second end face, respectively, such that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface (Fig. 1 shows a cross-section of the rear faces relative to the end faces which the rear faces are inclined relative to the end faces, respectively, in order to define that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface); and
wherein the connecting ring is configured with a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first line end and the second line end (Fig. 1 shows the connecting ring is reasonably considered a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first and second line ends since the first and second line ends fit within the connecting ring).
Muchnic does not expressly disclose the sealing element is made from a compressible material. The seal of Muchnic is a seal formed by contact, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider other types of known and reliable seals to prevent leaks at a pipe joint.
In the related field of pipe joints formed by a clamp against inclined surfaces, Diel teaches a known and reliable compressible seal between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp (Fig. 2, compressible seal 38 between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp 37).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the contact seal and the shape of the line ends of Muchnic for the shape of the line ends and compressible seal of Diel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable seal for clamped pipe joints as taught by Diel. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claim 35, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 34, and Muchnic further discloses wherein the connecting ring comprises the first closure face (Figs. 2 and 4 show two different embodiments, which both the connecting ring of 27 comprises the first closure face), wherein the first closure face is continuous (Fig. 2 shows the embodiment where the first closure face is continuous).
In regard to claim 36, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 34, and Muchnic further discloses wherein the connecting ring is cylindrical with an elongated shape (See claim 13 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 37, Muchnic discloses a connecting device (Fig. 4, clamp 27 and pipelines 13 and 10 define a connecting device) comprising a first line end, a second line end (Figs. 1 and 5, first and second line ends at 10 and 13), and a connecting ring (Fig. 4, clamp 27 defines a connecting ring),
wherein the first line end has a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face (Figs. 1 and 4, first line end at 14 has a flange that defines a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face) or
a plurality of radial first widenings each with a first end face and a first rear face (On page 2, column 1, lines 32-63 to page 2, column 2, lines 1-35 describes both the first line end and the second line end can be of the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 having an interrupted flange), wherein the first widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interruption between each 29); and
the second line end has a plurality of radial second widenings each with a second end face and a second rear face (Figs. 1 and 5, at least the second line 10 can have a plurality of radial second widenings at 29 that define a second end face and a second rear face), wherein the second widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interrupted portions between 29),
wherein the connecting ring comprises a first closure face or a plurality of first closure faces and a plurality of second closure faces (Fig. 4, 28 define a plurality of first closure faces on one axial side and a plurality of second closure faces an opposite axial side), wherein the plurality of first closure faces and the plurality of second closure faces are separated from one another by passage portions (Fig. 4, circumferential space between 28 define passage portions for allow 29 to pass through);
wherein the first closure face can be brought into contact with the first rear face, or the first closure faces can be brought into contact with the first rear faces (Figs. 1 and 4, the first closure faces are in contact with the first rear faces as shown in Fig. 1 in the fully assembled state);
the second closure faces can be brought into contact with the second rear faces by virtue of the fact that the second widenings are guided with an axial movement through the passage portions (Figs. 1 and 4, the second closure faces are in contact with the second rear faces after axially guiding 29 through the passage portions between 28) and then a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the first line end and/or a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the second line end (Figs. 1 and 4, relative rotation of 27 with respect to both 13 and 10 in order to form the fully assembled state);
a sealing element is connected with the first line end or the second line end (Fig. 1, end of 13 includes an axially protruding lip that contacts and fits within a recess of 10 which provides at least a sealing element connected with 10 and 13);
the first rear face and the second rear face are inclined relative to the first end face and the second end face, respectively, such that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface (Fig. 1 shows a cross-section of the rear faces relative to the end faces which the rear faces are inclined relative to the end faces, respectively, in order to define that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface); and
wherein the connecting ring is configured with a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first line end and the second line end (Fig. 1 shows the connecting ring is reasonably considered a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first and second line ends since the first and second line ends fit within the connecting ring).
Muchnic does not expressly disclose the sealing element is made from a compressible material. The seal of Muchnic is a seal formed by contact, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider other types of known and reliable seals to prevent leaks at a pipe joint.
Muchnic also does not expressly disclose the sealing element extends to an inner surface of the first line end or the second line end.
In the related field of pipe joints formed by a clamp against inclined surfaces, Diel teaches a known and reliable compressible seal between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp (Fig. 2, compressible seal 38 between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp 37), and the compressible seal extends to an inner surface of the first line end or the second line end (See image below, both line ends for the seal has a groove which is reasonably considered an inner surface relative to the indicated outer surface. The seal has a bulging round portion that fits in the indicated inner surface.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the contact seal and the shape of the line ends of Muchnic for the shape of the line ends and compressible seal of Diel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable seal for clamped pipe joints as taught by Diel. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claim 38, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 37, and Diel further discloses wherein the sealing element is radially angled (Fig. 2, seal 38 is at least radially angled at at least one angle since it is a circular component. See claim 37 above for the same reasons to combine Muchnic and Diel.).
In regard to claim 39, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 37, and Muchnic further discloses wherein the connecting ring is cylindrical with an elongated shape (See claim 13 above for the same reasons).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2), and further in view of Reiku GmbH (DE 202007012036 U1, hereinafter “Reiku”).
Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein the ring segments can be connected to one another utilizing a cable tie.
In the related field of connecting rings with at least two halves, Reiku teaches a connecting ring utilizing a cable tie to keep two halves of the connecting ring together (Figs. 2 and 3, connecting ring defined by the halves at 3 and 5 and a cable tie at 13) in order to have the advantage of utilizing a commercially available product and cost-effective (In [0004] of the English translation discloses cable ties are common, commercially available, and cost-effective).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connecting ring of Muchnic in view of Diel to include at least one cable tie to provide additional support of keeping the ring halves connected together with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of utilizing a commercially available product and cost-effective product for keeping ring halves together as taught by Reiku.
Claims 17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2) and further in view of Vsl Int Ag (CH 677395 A5, hereinafter “Vsl”).
In regard to claim 17, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 13, but do not expressly disclose wherein the connecting ring is manufactured from a thermoplastic material.
In the related field of connecting ring with at least two halves, Vsl teaches a connecting ring made of two halves (Figs. 1 and 2, sleeve 1 defines a connecting ring and is made of two halves at 4 and 5) can be manufactured of a thermoplastic material such as polyethylene in order to have the advantage of at least a material suitable for a known and reliable method of injection molding (Page 4, second paragraph, of the English translation discloses the connecting ring can be made of polyethylene and advantageously by injection molding).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the connecting ring of Muchnic in view of Diel to be made of a thermoplastic such as polyethylene with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a material suitable for a known and reliable method of injection molding as taught by Vsl.
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the connecting ring of Muchnic in view of Diel to be made of a known material such as thermoplastic with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of pliability, lightweight, durable, and chemical resistant as disclosed at https://kydex.com/about-thermoplastics/benefits-of-thermoplastics/.
In regard to claim 27, Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 14, and Muchnic, Diel, and Vsl disclose wherein the connecting ring is manufactured from a thermoplastic material (See claim 17 above for the same reasons).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2) and further in view of Riley et al. (US 4,556,082 hereinafter “Riley”).
Muchnic and Diel disclose the connecting device of claim 13, but do not expressly disclose wherein the connecting device comprises at least one sheath, which encloses the connecting ring at a radial distance.
In the related field of pipe fittings, Riley teaches a universal thermal insulation jacket as a sheath which encloses a fitting at a radial distance from an exterior of the fitting (Fig. 1, sheath at 24 which have drawstrings at 30 and 31 to allow the sheath to be universal and conform to different shapes to enclose a fitting at a radial distance from an exterior of the fitting) in order to have at least the advantage of thermal insulation (In 1:50-68 to 2:1-15 discloses at least the advantage of thermal insulation for valves or pipe fittings).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connecting device of Muchnic in view of Diel to include at least one sheath, which encloses the connecting ring at a radial distance with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of thermal insulation as taught by Riley.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Diel (US 9,404,586 B2) and Reiku (DE 202007012036 U1) and further in view of Vsl (CH 677395 A5).
Muchnic, Diel and Reiku disclose the connecting device of claim 15 (See claim 15 above for the same reasons), and Muchnic, Diel and Vsl disclose wherein the connecting ring is manufactured from a thermoplastic material (See claim 17 above for the same reasons to combine Muchnic, Diel, and Vsl. Therefore, Muchnic in view of Diel, Reiku, and Vsl disclose the connecting ring is manufactured from a thermoplastic material).
Claims 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchnic (US 2,020,156) in view of Taylor (US 9,410,630 B1).
In regard to claim 40, Muchnic discloses a connecting device (Fig. 4, clamp 27 and pipelines 13 and 10 define a connecting device) comprising a first line end, a second line end (Figs. 1 and 5, first and second line ends at 10 and 13), and a connecting ring (Fig. 4, clamp 27 defines a connecting ring),
wherein the first line end has a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face (Figs. 1 and 4, first line end at 14 has a flange that defines a radial first widening with a first end face and a first rear face) or
a plurality of radial first widenings each with a first end face and a first rear face (On page 2, column 1, lines 32-63 to page 2, column 2, lines 1-35 describes both the first line end and the second line end can be of the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 having an interrupted flange), wherein the first widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interruption between each 29); and
the second line end has a plurality of radial second widenings each with a second end face and a second rear face (Figs. 1 and 5, at least the second line 10 can have a plurality of radial second widenings at 29 that define a second end face and a second rear face), wherein the second widenings are separated from one another by interruption portions (Fig. 5, interrupted portions between 29),
wherein the connecting ring comprises a first closure face or a plurality of first closure faces and a plurality of second closure faces (Fig. 4, 28 define a plurality of first closure faces on one axial side and a plurality of second closure faces an opposite axial side), wherein the plurality of first closure faces and the plurality of second closure faces are separated from one another by passage portions (Fig. 4, circumferential space between 28 define passage portions for allow 29 to pass through);
wherein the first closure face can be brought into contact with the first rear face, or the first closure faces can be brought into contact with the first rear faces (Figs. 1 and 4, the first closure faces are in contact with the first rear faces as shown in Fig. 1 in the fully assembled state);
the second closure faces can be brought into contact with the second rear faces by virtue of the fact that the second widenings are guided with an axial movement through the passage portions (Figs. 1 and 4, the second closure faces are in contact with the second rear faces after axially guiding 29 through the passage portions between 28) and then a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the first line end and/or a relative rotational movement is carried out between the connecting ring and the second line end (Figs. 1 and 4, relative rotation of 27 with respect to both 13 and 10 in order to form the fully assembled state);
a sealing element is connected with the first line end or the second line end (Fig. 1, end of 13 includes an axially protruding lip that contacts and fits within a recess of 10 which provides at least a sealing element connected with 10 and 13);
the first rear face and the second rear face are inclined relative to the first end face and the second end face, respectively, such that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface (Fig. 1 shows a cross-section of the rear faces relative to the end faces which the rear faces are inclined relative to the end faces, respectively, in order to define that the first line end comprises a first inclined surface and the second line end comprises a second inclined surface); and
wherein the connecting ring is configured with a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first line end and the second line end (Fig. 1 shows the connecting ring is reasonably considered a female shape complementary to the shape of the connected first and second line ends since the first and second line ends fit within the connecting ring).
Muchnic does not expressly disclose the sealing element is made from a compressible material. The seal of Muchnic is a seal formed by contact, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider other types of known and reliable seals to prevent leaks at a pipe joint.
Muchnic also does not expressly disclose the sealing element comprising a sealing protrusion in a center portion of the sealing element.
In the related field of pipe joints formed by a clamp against inclined surfaces, Taylor teaches a known and reliable compressible seal between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp (Fig. 5, compressible seal 240 between two line ends having respective inclined surfaces for a clamp at 226) and the sealing element comprising a sealing protrusion in a center portion of the sealing element (Figs. 4A-4B shows the sealing element 240 can have the protrusions 246 and 248 to be located at a center portion of the sealing element such that L1 and L2 are equal).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the contact seal and the shape of the line ends of Muchnic for the shape of the line ends and compressible seal of Taylor with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable seal for clamped pipe joints as taught by Taylor. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claim 41, Muchnic and Taylor disclose the connecting device of claim 37, and Taylor further discloses wherein the sealing element extends to an inner surface of the first line end or the second line end (Fig. 5, the protrusions of 240 extend to an inner surface of the first line end and the second line end. See claim 37 above for similar reasoning.).
In regard to claim 42, Muchnic and Taylor disclose the connecting device of claim 37, and Taylor further discloses wherein the sealing element is radially angled (Fig. 5, seal 240 is at least radially angled at at least one angle since it is a circular component. See claim 40 above for the same reasons to combine Muchnic and Taylor.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Muchnic does not disclose the connecting ring is cylindrical with an elongated shape as required by newly amended claim 13, however, the Examine respsectfully disagree because the two halves of the connecting ring of Muchnic is similar to applicant’s invention such that when the two halves are joined, at least an inner circumferential surface of the connecting ring of Muchnic defines a cylindrical shape which is at least axially elongated to fit at least two flanges of two pipes to be joined. See the updated rejection above. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Muchnic’s plurality of spaced flange portions 28 are provided at circumferential ends which does not meet the requirement of new claim 34 that requires a distance from circumferential ends of the ring segments, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because while some of the plurality of closure faces of Muchnic begin at the circumferential ends, zero is considered “a distance” which the plurality of closure faces of Muchnic can be reasonably considered as at a zero distance from the circumferential ends or more. If applicant intended the claimed “a distance” to be more than zero, then it must be claimed. It is noted that the crux of applicant’s invention with regard to the plurality of closure faces is having a plurality of closure faces and not the location relative to the circumferential ends absent sufficient facts and evidence from applicant’s specification. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider various orientations of the plurality of closure faces which Muchnic also discloses to be at various distances relative to the circumferential ends. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and the claimed relative orientation lacks criticality in light of applicant’s specification.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Muchnic does not disclose new claims 37 and 40, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree for the reasons above in the updated rejection. See the updated rejection above such that Muchnic in view of Diel discloses claim 37 and Muchnic in view of Taylor discloses claim 40. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Uhlenkamp et al. (US 10,641,394 B2), Abe et al. (US 5,749,586), and Grun (US 2002/0041099 A!) disclose clamped joints having sealing elements of various shapes with at least one protrusion similar to applicant’s invention of a sealing element with at least one protrusion.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679