DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments made to drawings and specification have overcome all previously held objections. Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 11-12 have been amended. Claims 3-5, 8-10, and 13-15 have been canceled. Claims 16 and 17 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakharchenko (WO 2020146341 A1) in view of Oh (US 20210005016 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Zakharchenko teaches a method of encoding point cloud data (“The present disclosure is generally related to point cloud coding, and is specifically related to the high-level syntax for point cloud coding.” Paragraph 0002 and “FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an example coding system 10 that may utilize PCC video coding techniques. As shown in FIG. 1” and Figures 1&2, Video Encoder 22), the method comprising: encoding geometry data of the point cloud data (see figure 10 and “During the encoding process, encoder 22 receives a video frame or slice to be coded. The frame or slice may be divided into multiple video blocks. Motion estimation unit 42 and motion compensation unit 44 perform inter-predictive coding of the received video block relative to one or more blocks in one or more reference frames to provide temporal prediction.” Paragraph 0077); encoding attribute data of the point cloud data based on the geometry data (“The information of computer-readable medium 16 may include syntax information defined by encoder 22, which is also used by decoder 28, that includes syntax elements that describe characteristics and/or processing of blocks and other coded units, e.g., group of pictures (GOPs).” Paragraph 0071); and transmitting the encoded geometry data, the encoded attribute data, and signaling data (“Following the entropy coding by entropy coding unit 56, the encoded bitstream may be transmitted to another device (e.g., decoder 28) or archived for later transmission or retrieval.” Paragraph 0092 and see figure 2 SYNTAX ELEMENTS), wherein the encoding of the geometry data comprises: partitioning the geometry data into blocks for motion compensation based on a partition method (“During the encoding process, encoder 22 receives a video frame or slice to be coded. The frame or slice may be divided into multiple video blocks.” Paragraph 0078); and inter-prediction encoding the geometry data by applying the motion compensation to each of the blocks (“Motion estimation unit 42 and motion compensation unit 44 perform inter-predictive coding of the received video block relative to one or more blocks in one or more reference frames to provide temporal prediction. Intra-prediction unit 46 may alternatively perform intra-predictive coding of the received video block relative to one or more neighboring blocks in the same frame or slice as the block to be coded to provide spatial prediction. Encoder 22 may perform multiple coding passes, e.g., to select an appropriate coding mode for each block of video data.” Paragraph 0077), and wherein the signaling data includes information for identifying the partition method (“Syntax data associated with a CU may describe, for example, partitioning of the CU into one or more PUs. Partitioning modes may differ between whether the CU is skip or direct mode encoded, intra-prediction mode encoded, or inter-prediction (a.k.a., inter prediction) mode encoded. PUs may be partitioned to be non-square in shape. Syntax data associated with a CU may also describe, for example, partitioning of the CU into one or more TUs according to a quad-tree. A TU can be square or non-square (e.g., rectangular) in shape” paragraph 0080).
Zakharchenko does not teach wherein the signaling data includes information for identifying a size of a block that is partitioned based on the partition method.
Oh teaches wherein the signaling data includes information for identifying a size of a block that is partitioned based on the partition method (“The auxiliary patch info compressor compresses the auxiliary patch information generated in the patch generation, patch packing, and geometry generation processes described above. The auxiliary patch information may include the following parameters” paragraph 0254 and “2D spatial position and size of the patch, i.e., the horizontal size (patch 2d size u), the vertical size (patch 2d size v), the minimum horizontal value (patch 2d shift u), and the minimum vertical value (patch 2d shift u); and” paragraph 0257 and “Mapping information about each block and patch, i.e., a candidate index (when patches are disposed in order based on the 2D spatial position and size information about the patches, multiple patches may be mapped to one block in an overlapping manner In this case, the mapped patches constitute a candidate list, and the candidate index indicates the position in sequential order of a patch whose data is present in the block), and a local patch index (which is an index indicating one of the patches present in the frame). Table X shows a pseudo code representing the process of matching between blocks and patches based on the candidate list and the local patch indexes.” Paragraph 0258).
Oh is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Oh is directed towards point cloud transmission (“Embodiments provide a method for providing point cloud contents to provide a user with various services such as virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), and autonomous driving services.” Paragraph 0002). A person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the encoding and decoding system of Zakharchenko with the block based system Oh, namely integrating Oh’s explicit teaching of block size indicative auxiliary patch information together with Zakharchenko’s syntax teachings, which already include block based characteristics, with the expectation that doing so would lead to better decoding or image restoration (“Another object of the present disclosure is to provide a point cloud data transmission device, a point cloud data transmission method, a point cloud data reception device, and a point cloud data reception method for addressing latency and encoding/decoding complexity.” Paragraph 0006).
With respect to claim 2, Zakharchenko and Oh teach the method of claim 1. Oh further wherein the point cloud data is captured by a lidar comprising one or more lasers (“Alternatively, the depth information may be extracted through LiDAR, which uses a radar system that measures the location coordinates of a reflector by emitting a laser pulse and measuring the return time. A shape of the geometry consisting of points in a 3D space may be extracted from the depth information, and an attribute representing the color/reflectance of each point may be extracted from the RGB information.” Paragraph 0117).
With respect to claim 6, Zakharchenko and Oh render obvious all claim limitations in consideration of claim 1, because claim 6 is directed towards a device configured to do the method of claim 1. Additionally, Zakharchenko teaches a geometry encoder (see figure 2 element 56 and figure 10 and “FIG. 10 is an embodiment of a method 1000 of point cloud coding (PCC) implemented by an encoder (e.g., entropy encoding unit 56).” Paragraph 00134), attribute encoder (see figure 2 SYNTAZ ELEMENTS), transmitter (see figure 1 element 16), splitter (see figure 2 element 48), and inter-predictor (see figure 2 elements 42 and 44).
With respect to claim 7, Zakharchenko and Oh teach the device of claim 6 and render obvious all claim limitations in consideration of claim 2, because claim 7 is directed towards a device configured to do the method of claim 2.
With respect to claim 11, Zakharchenko teaches a method of decoding point cloud data (see figure 9 and figures 1 and 3 element 28), the method comprising: receiving geometry data, attribute data, and signaling data (“During the decoding process, decoder 28 receives an encoded video bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video slice and associated syntax elements from encoder 22” paragraph 0095); decoding the geometry data based on the signaling data (see figure 9 element 902 and 904, and “During the decoding process, decoder 28 receives an encoded video bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video slice and associated syntax elements from encoder 22. Entropy decoding unit 70 of the decoder 28 entropy decodes the bitstream to generate quantized coefficients, motion vectors or intra-prediction mode indicators, and other syntax elements. Entropy decoding unit 70 forwards the motion vectors and other syntax elements to motion compensation unit 72. Decoder 28 may receive the syntax elements at the video slice level and/or the video block level.” Paragraph 0095 ); and decoding the attribute data based on the signaling data and the decoded geometry data (see figure 9 element 902 and “During the decoding process, decoder 28 receives an encoded video bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video slice and associated syntax elements from encoder 22. Entropy decoding unit 70 of the decoder 28 entropy decodes the bitstream to generate quantized coefficients, motion vectors or intra-prediction mode indicators, and other syntax elements. Entropy decoding unit 70 forwards the motion vectors and other syntax elements to motion compensation unit 72. Decoder 28 may receive the syntax elements at the video slice level and/or the video block level.” Paragraph 0095), wherein the decoding of the geometry data comprises partitioning reference data for the geometry data into blocks for motion compensation based on a partition method (“When the video frame is coded as an inter-coded (e.g., B, P, or GPB) slice, motion compensation unit 72 produces predictive blocks for a video block of the current video slice based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements received from entropy decoding unit 70.” Paragraph 0096); and inter prediction decoding the geometry data by applying the motion compensation to each of the blocks based on the signaling data (“Motion compensation unit 72 determines prediction information for a video block of the current video slice by parsing the motion vectors and other syntax elements, and uses the prediction information to produce the predictive blocks for the current video block being decoded. For example, motion compensation unit 72 uses some of the received syntax elements to determine a prediction mode (e.g., intra- or inter-prediction) used to code the video blocks of the video slice, an inter-prediction slice type (e.g., B slice, P slice, or GPB slice), construction information for one or more of the reference picture lists for the slice, motion vectors for each inter-encoded video block of the slice, inter-prediction status for each inter- coded video block of the slice, and other information to decode the video blocks in the current video slice.” Paragraph 0097), and wherein the signaling data includes information for identifying the partition method (“For example, motion compensation unit 72 uses some of the received syntax elements to determine a prediction mode (e.g., intra- or inter-prediction) used to code the video blocks of the video slice, an inter-prediction slice type (e.g., B slice, P slice, or GPB slice), construction information for one or more of the reference picture lists for the slice, motion vectors for each inter-encoded video block of the slice, inter-prediction status for each inter- coded video block of the slice, and other information to decode the video blocks in the current video slice.” Paragraph 0097)
Zakharchenko does not teach wherein the signaling data includes information for identifying a size of a block that is partitioned based on the partition method.
Oh teaches wherein the signaling data includes information for identifying a size of a block that is partitioned based on the partition method (“The auxiliary patch info compressor compresses the auxiliary patch information generated in the patch generation, patch packing, and geometry generation processes described above. The auxiliary patch information may include the following parameters” paragraph 0254 and “2D spatial position and size of the patch, i.e., the horizontal size (patch 2d size u), the vertical size (patch 2d size v), the minimum horizontal value (patch 2d shift u), and the minimum vertical value (patch 2d shift u); and” paragraph 0257 and “Mapping information about each block and patch, i.e., a candidate index (when patches are disposed in order based on the 2D spatial position and size information about the patches, multiple patches may be mapped to one block in an overlapping manner In this case, the mapped patches constitute a candidate list, and the candidate index indicates the position in sequential order of a patch whose data is present in the block), and a local patch index (which is an index indicating one of the patches present in the frame). Table X shows a pseudo code representing the process of matching between blocks and patches based on the candidate list and the local patch indexes.” Paragraph 0258 and “In the geometry reconstruction, the geometry video and/or geometry image are reconstructed from the decoded video data and/or decoded image data based on the occupancy map, auxiliary data and/or mesh data.” Paragraph 0434).
Oh is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Oh is directed towards point cloud transmission (“Embodiments provide a method for providing point cloud contents to provide a user with various services such as virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), and autonomous driving services.” Paragraph 0002). A person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the encoding and decoding system of Zakharchenko with the block based system Oh, namely integrating Oh’s explicit teaching of block size indicative auxiliary patch information together with Zakharchenko’s syntax teachings, which already include block based characteristics, with the expectation that doing so would lead to better decoding or image restoration (“Another object of the present disclosure is to provide a point cloud data transmission device, a point cloud data transmission method, a point cloud data reception device, and a point cloud data reception method for addressing latency and encoding/decoding complexity.” Paragraph 0006).
With respect to claim 12, Zakharchenko and Oh teach the method of claim 11, Oh further teaches wherein the point cloud data is captured by a lidar comprising one or more lasers on a transmitting side (“Alternatively, the depth information may be extracted through LiDAR, which uses a radar system that measures the location coordinates of a reflector by emitting a laser pulse and measuring the return time. A shape of the geometry consisting of points in a 3D space may be extracted from the depth information, and an attribute representing the color/reflectance of each point may be extracted from the RGB information.” Paragraph 0117).
With respect to claim 16, Zakharchenko and Oh render obvious all limitations in consideration of claim 11 , due to claim 16 being directed towards a device configured to perform the method of claim 11. Additionally, Zakharchenko teaches a receiver (see figure 1 element 16); a geometry decoder (see figures 1 and 3 element 28 and element 70); and an attribute decoder (see figure 3 SYNTAX ELEMENTS); a splitter (see figure 3 element 72) and an inter-predictor (see figure 3 element 72).
With respect to claim 17, Zakharchenko and Oh teach the device of claim 16 and render obvious all limitations in consideration of claim 12 due to claim 17 being directed towards a device configured to perform the method of claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12 applicant’s arguments are considered moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. On pages 10-12 applicant argues against the use of Schwarz. Due to the amended limitations changing the scope of the claims, the rejections were updated and the current rejection now includes Zakharchenko and Oh. Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding Schwarz are considered moot. Applicant additionally argues that the deficiencies of Schwarz cannot be cured using Aflaki or Oh. Since the rejection no longer includes Schwarz nor Aflaki this argument is also moot. Similarly, the argument made on page 11, that Aflaki fails to cure the deficiencies of Oh has also been rendered moot.
On page 12 the applicant argues that since claims 1, 6 and 11 are allowable, their dependents should also be allowable. This argument is made moot due to claims 1, 6, and 11 still being rejected.
With regards to claims 16 and 17, on page 12, the applicant introduces two new claims and argues that they are allowable due to the above-mentioned arguments. The examiner disagrees rejecting in a similar manner to amended claims 11 and 12 due to their substantial similarities to the new claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Riguer (US 20180247387 A1) directed to graphic compression utilizing inter-prediction and encoding a parameter specifying the partition method.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA COLETTE WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677