DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0201873) in view of Samec et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0152278).
Regarding claim 1, Crocker et al. teaches present invention also contemplates a system for alcohol oxidation reaction on lignin comprising a lignin-containing biomass in contact with the catalyst which meets the preamble method for the catalyzed decomposition of lignin (paragraph 12). Crocker et al. teaches method can comprise the step of contacting a lignin-containing biomass substrate with the catalyst of the invention in a reactor vessel a the method may further include a hydrolysis step with an aqueous acid or a base following oxidation of the lignin-biomass and the method may further feature a solvent in the reactor vessel which meets the limitation providing a reaction mixture A comprising lignin, a catalyst and a solvent (paragraph 13 and 14). Crocker et al. teaches method can be carried out in a temperature range of between 20 and 250° C which meets the limitation of heating the reaction mixture A so as to obtain a mixture B comprising a product mix, the catalyst and the solvent (paragraph 13). Crocker et al. teaches the LDH may be comprised of metals such as platinum and nickel which meets the limitation of a basic carrier material, platinum and nickel. Crocker et al. does not teach the weight percentage for platinum and nickel.
Samec et al. teaches a method of depolymerizing lignin from biomass using a transition metal catalyst (paragraph 1). Samec et al. teaches a method of preparing the composition by depolymerizing lignin comprising providing biomass in particulate form, the biomass containing lignin, a solvent mixture comprising an organic solvent and water, and a transition metal catalyst which meets the limitation of method for the catalyzed decomposition of lignin, comprising providing a reaction mixture A comprising lignin, a catalyst and a solvent (paragraph 15). Samec et al. teaches heating the mixture to at least 80° C which meets the limitation of heating the reaction mixture A so as to obtain a mixture B comprising a product mix, the catalyst and the solvent (paragraph 15). Samec et al. teaches the catalyst is a platinum doped with nickel and teaches the amount of catalyst is 0.5 mol % or more which meets the limitation of platinum at a weight percentage of 1 - 10 wt.% and- nickel at a weight percentage of 0 - 5 wt.% (paragraph 57). Samec et al. teaches treating the biomass, for example wood chips or sawdust, in an organic solvent in the presence of a transition metal catalyst at an elevated temperature the present inventors found that the obtained depolymerized lignin had a molecular weight of less than 900 g/mol while the control method lacking the catalyst resulted in lignin having a molecular weight of 6000 g/mol (paragraphs 46-50). Samec et al. teaches the present invention may easily be integrated into a pulping process involving an organosolv process leaving not only depolymerized lignin but also high quality cellulose and hemi cellulose (paragraph 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use catalyst platinum doped with nickel and teaches the amount of catalyst is 0.5 mol % or more for the method of catalyzed decomposition of lignin taught by Crocker et al. because the catalyst efficiently depolymerizes lignin.
Regarding claim 2, Samec et al. teaches organosolv, pyrolysis oils or hydrogenated lignin etc. (paragraph 7 and 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use organosolv, pyrolysis oils or hydrogenated lignin etc. or more for the method of catalyzed decomposition of lignin taught by Crocker et al. because the catalyst efficiently depolymerizes lignin.
Regarding claim 3, Crocker et al. teaches a solvent mixture comprising an organic solvent such as alcohol and water (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 4, Samec et al. teaches catalyst is present in the reaction mixture A in an amount of less than 30 wt.%o based on the total amount of catalyst and lignin (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 5, Crocker et al. teaches method can be carried out in a temperature range of between 20 and 250° C which meets the limitation wherein the reaction mixture A is heated to a reaction temperature of below 400 °C (paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 6, Crocker et al. teaches catalyst can be in contact with the substrate for a period of time from 1 minute to 72 hours which meets the limitation of wherein the reaction temperature in method step b) is maintained over a period of less than 240 min (paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 7, Crocker et al. teaches waste generated by different industries that use plant matter which encompasses wherein the product mix contains less than 30 wt.%o of a coke fraction (paragraph 4).
Regarding claims 8- 10, Crocker et al. teaches the product mix comprises at least one monomeric product containing a phenolic building block and wherein the product mix comprises at least one oligomeric product of which the monomer building blocks contain a phenolic building block and wherein at least 50 wt.% of the lignin used in the reaction mixture A is converted into monomeric and oligomeric products (paragraphs 16-19; Figures 1-4).
Regarding claims 11-13, Crocker et al. teaches a layered double hydroxide (LDH) structures with tunable ion structures comprising two or more metals, selected from first row transition metals (V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu and Zn), as well as main group metals such as Li, Mg, Al, and Ga (paragraph 23 and 24).
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 04/04/2026