DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendment filed on 11/1/2023, in which claims 4, 6, 7, 10-16, 23, 26, 31, 32 and 34 are amended. No claims are newly added or canceled.
Claims 1-34 are pending in the application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a National Stage Application of PCT/JP2022/010839, filed on 3/11/2022. The instant application claims foreign priority to JP 2021-040647 filed on 3/12/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application on 9/8/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 1/30/2024, 4/18/2025, 6/26/2025 and 9/16/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, except where noted. Accordingly, the IDS documents have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, First Paragraph
Claims 1-25 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), because the specification, while being enabling for preparing certain saccharides, specifically those in dependent claim 23, using the claimed deprotection reaction, with a subset of lambda3-iodanes, specifically those in dependent claim 4, does not reasonably provide enablement for preparing any R-OH substrate using the claimed deprotection reaction with any lambda3-iodane. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. With respect to the claimed method, attention is directed to In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 where the court set forth the eight factors to consider when assessing if a disclosure would have required undue experimentation. (1) the nature of the invention; (2) the state of the prior art; (3) the relative skill of those in the art; (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (5) the breadth of the claims; (6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary. All of the Wands factors have been considered and those most relevant to the cited claims are discussed below. All of the Wands factors have been considered with regard to the instant claims, with the most relevant factors discussed below. Nature of the invention: The rejected invention is drawn to method for preparing an R-OH product by reacting an R-O-Ph-O(C1-C5 alkyl) intermediate with a lambda3-iodane, in an aqueous fluorous alcohol. Relative skill of those in the art: The relative skill of those in the art is high. Breadth of claims/Existence of working examples: The claims are broad with respect to the nature of the R-OH starting product, the R-O-Ph-O(C1-C5 alkyl) intermediate and the lambda3-iodane. The genus of compounds having the claimed “R” group encompasses any product having an -OH group and any intermediate bearing an -O-Ph-O(C1-C5 alkyl) group. In contrast the working examples are limited to sugars having the O-Ph-O(C1-C5 alkyl) group at the 1-position or the anomeric position, further wherein either i) a hydroxy group at a carbon adjacent to the carbon at the 1-position or the anomeric position in the sugar is protected with an acyl group; ii) an amino group at a carbon adjacent to the carbon at the 1-position or the anomeric position in the sugar is protected with an imide group, an acyl group, or a carbamate group; or iii) a carbon adjacent to the carbon at the 1-position or anomeric position in the sugar has an azide group (N₃). The genus of lambda3-iodane includes any trivalent, hypervalent iodine compound, including PhICl₂, PhI(OH)OTs and PhI(OAc)₂, whereas the instant working examples are limited to iodanes of formula R¹-I(OR²)₂, wherein R¹ is an unsubstituted or substituted phenyl group, and R² is selected from the group consisting of H, acetyl, trifluoroacetyl, tosyl, methanesulfonyl, and a combinations thereof.
Predictability or unpredictability of the art: In the field of organic synthesis, it is established that protection/deprotection strategies are designed to range from generic to very specific in terms of the types of functional groups and reaction conditions applicable to a desired synthetic outcome. Even taking into account the subset of hydroxyl group protection/deprotection strategies, one of skill in the art is not able to predict a priori, that a particular protection/deprotection approach will be applicable to any compound bearing a hydroxyl group. In the instant case, one of skill in the art would not be able to reasonably predict that any compound bearing a hydroxyl group could be prepared by reacting any compound bearing an -O-Ph-O(C1-C5 alkyl), with any lambda3-iodane.
Quantity of experimentation: One of skill in the art would have to conduct a myriad number of experiments comprising trial and error deprotection reactions with a representative number of compounds bearing an -O-Ph-O(C1-C5 alkyl), with a representative number of lambda3-iodanes, under a wide range of reaction conditions, to determine if the claimed method can be used in the fully claimed scope to produce any product having a deprotected -OH group. Genetech, 108 F.3d at 1366, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”. Therefore, in view of the Wands factors as discussed above, e.g., the breadth of the claims, the amount of guidance provided, the unpredictability of the art and the limited working examples, one of skill in the art would be burdened with undue experimentation to practice the invention commensurate in the scope of the claims, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen et al. (Chem. Eur. J., 2010, IDS), in view of Kurbatova et al. (Front. Immuno. , 2020, PTO-892).
Pedersen discloses the saccharide 33a/33b obtained by a reaction converting an -O-Ph-OMe group at the anomeric position of a sugar (27a/27b), to a hydroxyl group at the anomeric position of said sugar (33a/33b), using the deprotection conditions of PhI(OC(O)-CF3)2 + BF3·OEt2 in a methylene chloride/water solvent. (Scheme 4) Pedersen also discloses that the saccharide 33a/33b is a mimic of the capsular saccharide of Streptococcus pneumoniae. (Abstract)
Pedersen does not teach conjugating saccharide 33a/33b with a protein.
Kurbatova et al. discloses that capsular saccharides of S. pneumoniae are conjugated to proteins, including receptors, cytokines and antibodies, as a means of formulating vaccines. (p. 2, Col. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the S. pneumoniae capsular saccharide mimic of Pedersen could be conjugated to a protein, based on the teaching of Kurbatova, that such conjugation is effective for preparing vaccines.
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 and 23-25 of the instant application are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 33-35 of copending application 18/549949. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: The method of ‘949 anticipates the instant method.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Independent claim 1 would be allowable if the limitations of dependent claims 4 and 23 were incorporated into claim 1, as per the attached proposed examiners amendment. The closest applicable prior art is that of Pedersen et al. (Chem. Eur. J., 2010, IDS). Pedersen discloses a reaction to convert an -O-Ph-OMe group at the anomeric position of a sugar (27a/27b), to a hydroxyl group at the anomeric position of said sugar (33a/33b), using the deprotection conditions of PhI(OC(O)-CF3)2 + BF3·OEt2 in a methylene chloride/water solvent. (Scheme 4)
Pedersen does not disclose performing the above deprotection in a fluorous alcohol solvent. One of ordinary skill in the art could readily envision substituting methylene chloride with a fluorous alcohol, with a reasonable expectation of equivalent results. However, the instant specification presents evidence of unexpected results showing that the yield of deprotected sugars is unexpectedly improved in fluorous alcohol solvents in direct comparison to yields in methylene chloride solvents. Such unexpected results overcomes a prima facie case of obviousness, making the proposed claim 1 novel and non-obvious over Pedersen et al. Moreover, the narrowing of claim scope as proposed, would overcome the rejection for lack of enablement because the working examples show sufficient support for enablement of the proposed claim 1.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DALE R MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693