DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 2/5/2025. The amendment has been entered and considered.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 26, 27, 30-33, 36, 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. “Yuan” US 2024/0114467 in view of Li et al. “Li” US 2024/0314704.
Regarding claims 21 and 32, Yuan teaches a computer readable medium (Paragraph 17) and a user equipment (UE) comprising:
memory (Paragraph 16 teaches a UE has memory) to store a downlink control information (DCI) received from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) (a DCI is sent to the UE which can indicate a single-TRP transmission or multiple TRP transmission mode; Paragraph 60);
and one or more processors to (paragraph 16 teaches one or more processors):
identify, in the DCI, an indication of whether the UE is to operate in accordance with a single-TRP physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) mode or a multi-TRP PUSCH mode (a DCI is sent to the UE which can indicate a single-TRP transmission or multiple TRP transmission mode; Paragraph 60. Thus the UE would receive the DCI and identify which mode to operate in);
identify, based on the indication, one or more resources for PUSCH transmission (for a TRP PUSCH transmission, the resources to be used (SRS) are indicated in the DCI as well, thus the UE would identify the PUSCH resources/parameters as claimed; Paragraph 74).
Wherein the indication indicates an interpretation of a plurality of SRS SRI fields or PINL fields within the DCI to determine transmission parameters with respect to repetitions (multiple SRS SRI information is within the DCI. These resources are with respect to the resources used for transmission; Paragraph 74. Paragraph 45 further teaches SRI values associated with sets of parameters as well).
While Yuan talks about the UE receiving the resources to use for PUSCH repetition transmissions, Yuan does not expressly disclose transmitting a first and second PUSCH repetition. Li teaches the ability to use multi-TRP or single-TRP based PUSCH transmissions; Paragraph 60. Based on the resources received from the base station, the UE has the ability to transmit a first PUSCH repetition and a second PUSCH repetition using the resources provided; Paragraphs 59 and 61. The first repetition goes to the first TRP and the second repetition goes to the second TRP. Li also discusses SRS SRI fields with respect to multiple PUSCH (i.e. first and second repetitions); Paragraphs 66-68 and Figure 4. Li also talks about the use of PINL (See table 1)).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include transmitting a first and second PUSCH repetition on the resources as taught by Li.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that a UE can transmit first and second repetitions on a first and second beam corresponding to first and second TRPs as taught by Li; Paragraphs 59 and 61.
Regarding claim 22, Yuan teaches identifying one or more resources based on operating in a codebook or non-codebook base scheme (Paragraph 74 teaches non-codebook based PUSCH with respect to the DCI and resources).
Regarding claim 26, Yuan does not disclose a SpatialRelationInfo parameter associated with the SRS resource for the repetitions; however, Li teaches spatialrelationinfo for SRS based beam indications with PUSCH repetitions; Paragraphs 86-88.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include Spatialrellation information with respect to SRS for repetitions as taught by Li.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that resource information can be the same for a TRP and the spatial relation of a resource based on the index as taught by Li; Paragraphs 86-88.
Regarding claims 27 and 36, While Yuan teaches the single and multi-TRP mode shown in claim 21, Yuan does not disclose a same SRS set applied to the first and second repetition or a first and second set applied to a respective first and second repetition; however, Li teaches spatialrelationinfo for SRS based beam indications with PUSCH repetitions; Paragraphs 86-88. Thus one can see the SRS value is the same for the repetitions. The Examiner notes the claim language does not state the first and second SRS sets are different, therefore, even in the multi-TRP mode, the SRS set can be the same for the first and second repetitions
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include Spatialrellation information with respect to SRS for repetitions as taught by Li.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that resource information can be the same for a TRP and the spatial relation of a resource based on the index as taught by Li; Paragraphs 86-88.
Regarding claim 30, Yuan teaches a SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl field indicating a power to be used for a repetition transmission (SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl field for indicating power control sets to be applied to the repetitions; Paragraph 74).
Regarding claims 31 and 38, While Yuan teaches the single and multi-TRP mode shown in claim 21, Yuan does not expressly teach a same power for a first and second repetition or a first and second power for a first and second repetition respectively. Li teaches a power control field being 0 or 1 for the repetitions; Paragraphs 76-77. Thus one can see the repetitions can both be the value of 0, or 1, or any combination. Further, the Examiner notes the claim language does not state the first and second powers are different, therefore, even in the multi-TRP mode, the powers can be the same for the first and second repetitions).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include power levels associated with the repetitions as taught by Li.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can assign a power level for a given repetition based on an operating mode as taught by Li; Paragraphs 76-77.
Regarding claim 39, Yuan teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
One or more processors and a CRM (paragraph 16 teaches one or more processors and a CRM (Paragraph 17)) to cause the UE to
identify, in the DCI received from a first TRP, an indication of whether the UE is to operate in accordance with a single-TRP physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) mode or a multi-TRP PUSCH mode (a DCI is sent from a TRP/base station to the UE which can indicate a single-TRP transmission or multiple TRP transmission mode; Paragraph 60. Thus the UE would receive the DCI and identify which mode to operate in);
identify, based on the indication, one or more resources for PUSCH transmission (for a TRP PUSCH transmission, the resources to be used (SRS) are indicated in the DCI as well, thus the UE would identify the PUSCH resources; Paragraph 74).
Wherein the indication indicates an interpretation of a plurality of SRS SRI fields or PINL fields within the DCI to determine transmission parameters with respect to repetitions (multiple SRS SRI information is within the DCI. These resources are with respect to the resources used for transmission; Paragraph 74. Paragraph 45 further teaches SRI values associated with sets of parameters as well).
While Yuan talks about the UE receiving the resources to use for PUSCH repetition transmissions, Yuan does not expressly disclose transmitting a first and second PUSCH repetition. Li teaches the ability to use multi-TRP or single-TRP based PUSCH transmissions; Paragraph 60. Based on the resources received from the base station, the UE has the ability to transmit a first PUSCH repetition and a second PUSCH repetition using the resources provided; Paragraphs 59 and 61. The first repetition goes to the first TRP and the second repetition goes to the second TRP. Li also discusses SRS SRI fields with respect to multiple PUSCH (i.e. first and second repetitions); Paragraphs 66-68 and Figure 4. Li also talks about the use of PINL (See table 1)).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yuan to include transmitting a first and second PUSCH repetition on the resources as taught by Li.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that a UE can transmit first and second repetitions on a first and second beam corresponding to first and second TRPs as taught by Li; Paragraphs 59 and 61.
Regarding claim 40, Yuan teaches identifying one or more resources based on operating in a codebook or non-codebook base scheme (Paragraph 74 teaches non-codebook based PUSCH with respect to the DCI and resources).
Claim(s) 23, 28, 29, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Li and further in view of Matsumura et al. “Matsumura” US 2023/0397226.
Regarding claims 23 and 33, the prior art does not disclose the indication is a 2-bit indication; however, Matsumura teaches a muti-TRP system wherein SRS resources are instructed by a 2-bit field in DCI; Paragraphs 75-76.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to have the indication be a 2-bit indication as taught by Matsumura.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can be instructed on what SRS resources to be used as taught by Matsumura; Paragraph 75.
Regarding claims 28 and 37, the prior art does not disclose the resources include a PINL field indicating a TPMI to be used with a first or second repetition; however, Matsumura teaches determining a precoder for the PUSCH transmission based on a TPMI; Paragraphs 66-67.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to have the TPMI field for the repetitions as taught by Matsumura.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can can properly determine the precoder for the PUSCH transmissions as taught by Matsumura; Paragraph 66.
Regarding claim 29, While Yuan teaches the single and multi-TRP mode shown in claim 21, the prior art does not disclose a same TPMI for a first and second repetitions or a first and second TPMI for a respective first and second repetition; however, Matsumura teaches determining a precoder for the PUSCH transmission based on a TPMI; Paragraphs 66-67. Thus one can see there is a TPMI value that is applied to the repetitions. The Examiner notes the claim language does not state the first and second TPMI are different, therefore, even in the multi-TRP mode, the TPMI can be the same for the first and second repetitions
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to have the TPMI field for the repetitions as taught by Matsumura.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can can properly determine the precoder for the PUSCH transmissions as taught by Matsumura; Paragraph 66.
Claim(s) 24, 25, 34, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Li and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. “Khoshnevisan” US 2023/0354205.
Regarding claims 24 and 34, the prior art teaches the single-TRP mode (see claim 21); however, the prior art does not expressly disclose that the first and second repetition are sent to the same TRP. Khoshnevisan teaches transmitting one or more repetitions to a first TRP or one or more repetitions to a second TRP; Paragraph 46. Thus one can see a plurality (i.e. first and second) repetitions are sent to the save TRP.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending a first and second repetition to the same TRP as taught by Khoshnevisan.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE has the option to send repetitions to one or a plurality of TRPs as taught by Khoshnevisan; Paragraph 46.
Regarding claims 25 and 35, the prior art teaches the multi-TRP mode (see claim 21); however, the prior art does not expressly disclose that the first and second repetition are sent to the same TRP. Khoshnevisan teaches transmitting one or more repetitions to a first TRP or one or more repetitions to a second TRP; Paragraph 46. Thus one can see a plurality (i.e. first and second) repetitions are sent to the save TRP.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending a first and second repetition to the same TRP as taught by Khoshnevisan.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE has the option to send repetitions to one or a plurality of TRPs as taught by Khoshnevisan; Paragraph 46.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues the prior art does not teach or suggest the amended limitation because Yuan does not teach the mode indication itself dictates an interpretation of SRI/PINL fields to determine specific parameters for separate repetitions.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the newly formed rejection, Yuan teaches multiple SRS SRI information is within the DCI. These resources are with respect to the resources used for transmission; Paragraph 74. Paragraph 45 further teaches SRI values associated with sets of parameters as well. As the information in the DCI are tied to the mode, these fields would also be tied to determinations for parameters/mode indications). Li also discusses SRS SRI fields with respect to multiple PUSCH (i.e. first and second repetitions); Paragraphs 66-68 and Figure 4. Li also talks about the use of PINL (See table 1)). Therefore, the combination of references properly reads on the amended limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411