DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4, 7, and 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 6, 2026
Applicant's election with traverse of Set I species A in the reply filed on April 6, 2026 is acknowledged. In a phone call on April 14, 2026 Applicant further elected Species D from Set II. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the special technical feature is not known in the art. This is not found persuasive because the claims have been amended to include a feature not present at the time of the original restriction so the limitation was not able to be addressed in the original restriction requirement. As such the original requirement is proper. Additionally, as shown below in the rejection, the amended features are known an do not make a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sealing member must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Pg. 9 line 27 “plunger 9” should be “plunger 11.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the direction of its extension lacks antecedent basis Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fields (US 3,311,268).
With regard to claims 1, 5, and 11, Fields teaches a drip chamber for a fluid administration system, comprising: a reservoir (Fig. 3 member 20) comprising an inlet orifice at a top end region for inserting a fluid (Fig. 3 member 19), and an outlet orifice at a bottom end region (Fig. 3 member 23a in a bottom sidewall of the reservoir), wherein the bottom end region is located in gravitational direction opposite and below the top end region, and a plunger element moveably arranged (Fig. 3 members 29 and 24 move vertically) within the reservoir between a first position in the top end region and a second position in the bottom end region, wherein the plunger element comprises a fluid conducting channel for regulating the flow of fluid from the inside of the reservoir to the outlet orifice when the plunger element is located in the second position (Fig. 3 channel through 24 connected to 27), wherein depending on a position of the plunger element within the reservoir, a passage to the outlet orifice is closed, partially closed, or fully opened (Fig. 3 due to the tapered/rounded tip at 29 the orifice may be partially closed during insertion of 29 into portion 18).
With regard to claim 2, alternatively the reservoir is considered to include both portions 20 and 30, the outlet orifice is considered as 30a, the channel in 24 extends from 27 to a port opening to 30a (Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 6, alternatively the reservoir is considered to include both portions 20 and 30, the outlet orifice is considered as 30a which forms a nozzle connecting the remainder of tube 30 (Fig. 3).
With regard to claims 12, 13, and 15, Fields teaches a method to operate a drip chamber for a fluid administration system, the method comprising: connecting a fluid container (Fig. 1 member 9) comprising a fluid to an inlet orifice (Fig. 3 member 19) at a top end region of a reservoir (Fig. 3 member 20) to allow a fluid stream inside the reservoir, wherein the reservoir further comprises an outlet orifice at a bottom end region (Fig. 3 member 23a), wherein the bottom end region is located in gravitational direction opposite and below the top end region, moving a plunger element within the reservoir from a first position in the top end region to a second position in the bottom end region of the reservoir (see Figs. 2 and 3, vertical movement), wherein the plunger element comprises a fluid conducting channel for regulating the flow of fluid from the inside of the reservoir to the outlet orifice when the plunger element is located in the second position (Fig. 3 channel through 24 connected to 27), wherein depending on a position of the plunger element within the reservoir, a passage to the outlet orifice is closed, partially closed, or fully opened (Fig. 3 due to the tapered/rounded tip at 29 the orifice may be partially closed during insertion of 29 into portion 18).
With regard to claim 14, see Fig. 13, inlet port at 27 outlet port in 30a. 24 extends through the material of the plunger to open the passage.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2006/0249541 A1).
With regard to claims 1, 2, 5, and 11, Wang teaches a drip chamber for a fluid administration system, comprising: a reservoir (Fig. 1 member 31) comprising an inlet orifice at a top end region for inserting a fluid (Fig. 1 member 34), and an outlet orifice at a bottom end region (Fig. 1 within 35 which is a bottom sidewall), wherein the bottom end region is located in gravitational direction opposite and below the top end region, and a plunger element moveably arranged (Fig. 31 37 moves vertically) within the reservoir between a first position in the top end region and a second position in the bottom end region, wherein the plunger element comprises a fluid conducting channel for regulating the flow of fluid from the inside of the reservoir to the outlet orifice when the plunger element is located in the second position (see transition Figs. 1 to Fig. 2, channels 38, inlet end outlet ports at either end which open to the outlet orifice), wherein depending on a position of the plunger element within the reservoir, a passage to the outlet orifice is closed, partially closed, or fully opened (Fig. 2 as 39 moves away from 37 there would be a positions where the passage is partially closed).
With regard to claim 6, nozzle 21 connects to tubing 20 (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 8, it is not numbered but the plunger is shown to have ribs on the side, as evident by the notch in the side, which comprises a sealing member (Fig. 2).
With regard to claims 9 and 20, the driving member includes 35 and 43 which form a handle, 35 extends into the bottom half of the reservoir which extends it into the bottom end region (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fields (US 3,311,268) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rondeau (US 2011/0125103 A1).
With regard to claim 10, Fields does not disclose a filter. However, Rondeau teaches placing a filter within a plunger element in a drip chamber for controlling flow ([0053]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a filter in Fields as Rondeau teaches it is beneficial to provide filtering.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2006/0249541 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rondeau (US 2011/0125103 A1).
With regard to claim 10, Wang does not disclose a filter. However, Rondeau teaches placing a filter within a plunger element in a drip chamber for controlling flow ([0053]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a filter in Wang as Rondeau teaches it is beneficial to provide filtering.
With regard to claims 3 and 16, the outlet port of 38 extends at least partly around a circumferential surface of 38 as it is adjacent the circumference. The outlet orifice is circular, regarding claim 16 the increasing width is optionally recited. Wang does not disclose the outlet port to have an increasing width, the full cross-section of the opening is not shown. However, Rondeau teaches passages for flow through a plunger element which have an increasing width in a radially outward direction (Fig. 4 passages 45). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use passages in Wang as shaped in Rondeau as this would yield the same result of passing fluid. Further, Rondeau teaches varying shapes and dimensions to control flow ([0045]). As such one of ordinary skill would be able to determine the shape needed for desired flow it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783