NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Eolotec GMBH (DE 202017007278 U1, cited by Applicants, hereinafter “Eolotec”).
Regarding Claim 1, Eolotec teaches a method of monitoring a condition of a pitch bearing of a wind turbine (fig.1-5; element 6), the pitch bearing comprising a first ring (fig.4; element 24) attached to a blade of the wind turbine and a second ring (fig.4; element 28) attached to a hub of the wind turbine ([0001]; [0062]; [0063]), the method comprising: mounting a displacement sensor (fig.4-6; element 14) to the pitch bearing to measure a distance ([0012]: “For the measurement, at least one contactless (distance) sensor is attached to the blade bearing or in the immediate vicinity”) between the first ring and the second ring ([0058]; [0062]-[0063]); rotating the first ring relative to the second ring over an angular range ([0046]; [0053]); and recording an angular position of the first ring relative to the second ring ([0043]; [0053]; Claims 12&17: “the distance measurements are set at different angles of rotation and measured angles of rotation is used for the evaluation”) and a distance (fig.4-6; element “A”) measured by the displacement sensor (fig.4-6; element 14) while rotating the first ring relative to the second ring over the angular range ([0043]; [0046]).
Regarding Claim 2, the method of claim 1 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the first ring is an inner ring and the second ring is an outer ring of the pitch bearing (Fig.4; [0012]).
Regarding Claim 3, the method of claim 1 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the displacement sensor is mounted to measure a distance parallel to a rotational axis of the pitch bearing (Fig.4; [0012]).
Regarding Claim 4, the method of claim 1 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the step of recording is carried out while a main rotor of the wind turbine is stationary ([0061] discloses that the rotor blade can be brought out of the wind when the wind speed is too high. Furthermore, recording while the wind turbine rotor is stationary would avoid any load variations resulting from rotation of the wind turbine rotor from interfering with the displacement measurements, as mentioned in [0054]).
Regarding Claim 5, the method of claim 1 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the recorded angular position is derived from a measurement of: a gravity vector; an elapsed time and a rotation rate; or a detected position of the second ring relative to the first ring (the measurements in Eolotec are performed depending on angular rotation ranges of the relatively rotating first and second rings, as mentioned in [0046]).
Regarding Claim 6, the method of claim 1 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches the method comprising determining a variation in the measured distance over the angular range and estimating a condition of the pitch bearing based on the variation (mentioned in [0043] that small variations in the measured distance characterizing False Brinelling can be detected).
Regarding Claim 7, Eolotec teaches a method of determining a condition of a pitch bearing of a wind turbine (fig.1-5; element 6), the pitch bearing comprising a first ring (fig.4; element 24) attached to a blade of the wind turbine and a second ring (fig.4; element 28) attached to a hub of the wind turbine ([0001]; [0062]; [0063]), the method comprising: providing a recording of an angular position of the first ring relative to the second ring and a distance between the first ring and the second ring over an angular range ([0043]; [0053]; Claims 12&17: “the distance measurements are set at different angles of rotation and measured angles of rotation is used for the evaluation”); determining a variation in the distance (fig.4-6; element “A”) over the angular range ([0043]; [0046]); and estimating a condition of the pitch bearing based on the variation [0069].
Regarding Claim 8, the method of claim 7 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein estimating a condition of the pitch bearing comprises comparing the variation in the measured distance with one or more of: a previously stored variation in measured distance for the pitch bearing; a modelled variation in distance for the pitch bearing; a recorded variation in measured distance for one or more other pitch bearings of the same type ([0015] and [0069] respectively teaches that the condition monitoring is based on the comparison with previously measured data variations or measured distances obtained under the same load, temperature or rotation angle conditions.).
Regarding Claim 9, the method of claim 8 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the one or more other pitch bearings of the same type are part of the same wind turbine and/or another wind turbine ([0015] and [0069] respectively teaches that the condition monitoring is based on the comparison with previously measured data variations or measured distances obtained under the same load, temperature or rotation angle conditions.).
Regarding Claim 10, the method of claim 7 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein determining a variation in the measured distance over the angular range comprises determining a quality value from one or more of: a peak to peak value of the measured displacement over the angular range; an RMS value of the measured displacement over the angular range; a measure of deviation from a mean value of the measured displacement over the angular range; and a kurtosis value of the measured displacement over the angular range ([0038] discloses that that the deviation is measured using a mean value of the measured distance over a certain time, that an increase of the averaged distance with time can show a progressive damage of the pitch bearing. The comparison of the measured values with reference values and possible bearing replacement are mentioned in paragraphs [0068] and [0069]. The reference values can be considered as threshold values and the bearing replacement implicitly requires a notification in order to be able to exchange the pitch bearing. Thus, the limitations are implicitly taught by Eolotec.).
Regarding Claim 11, the method of claim 10 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein estimating a condition of the pitch bearing comprises comparing the quality value to a predetermined threshold value ([0038] discloses that that the deviation is measured using a mean value of the measured distance over a certain time, that an increase of the averaged distance with time can show a progressive damage of the pitch bearing. The comparison of the measured values with reference values and possible bearing replacement are mentioned in paragraphs [0068] and [0069]. The reference values can be considered as threshold values and the bearing replacement implicitly requires a notification in order to be able to exchange the pitch bearing. Thus, the limitations are implicitly taught by Eolotec.).
Regarding Claim 12, the method of claim 11 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches the method comprising providing a notification output if the quality value exceeds the predetermined threshold value ([0038] discloses that that the deviation is measured using a mean value of the measured distance over a certain time, that an increase of the averaged distance with time can show a progressive damage of the pitch bearing. The comparison of the measured values with reference values and possible bearing replacement are mentioned in paragraphs [0068] and [0069]. The reference values can be considered as threshold values and the bearing replacement implicitly requires a notification in order to be able to exchange the pitch bearing. Thus, the limitations are implicitly taught by Eolotec.).
Regarding Claim 13, the method of claim 7 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the method is performed upon being triggered by an event ([0068]-[0069] disclose that the method for determining the condition of the bearing can be based on time and change of the measured distance, and (Claim 15, [0044]-[0046]) disclose that the condition can occur during pitching).
Regarding Claim 14, the method of claim 13 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the event is time-based or detection of a pitching operation of the pitch bearing ([0068]-[0069] disclose that the method for determining the condition of the bearing can be based on time and change of the measured distance, and (Claim 15, [0044]-[0046]) disclose that the condition can occur during pitching).
Regarding Claim 15, the method of claim 14 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein pitching operation of the pitch bearing is detected by a rotation sensor configured to detect rotation of the first ring relative to the second ring ([0068]-[0069] disclose that the method for determining the condition of the bearing can be based on time and change of the measured distance, and (Claim 15, [0044]-[0046]) disclose that the condition can occur during pitching).
Regarding Claim 16, Eolotec teaches a method of determining a condition of a pitch bearing of a wind turbine (fig.1-5; element 6), the pitch bearing comprising a first ring (fig.4; element 24) attached to a blade of the wind turbine and a second ring (fig.4; element 28) attached to a hub of the wind turbine ([0001]; [0062]; [0063]), the method comprising: monitoring displacement of the first ring in an axial direction with a displacement sensor, the axial direction being parallel to a rotational axis of the pitch bearing ([0043]; [0053]; Claims 12&17: “the distance measurements are set at different angles of rotation and measured angles of rotation is used for the evaluation”); upon detection of a triggering event, recording the displacement over a set period to provide a recorded displacement ([0068] discloses time dependent event, [0046] discloses regarding measurements performed over angular ranges and [0069] discloses regarding change of the measured displacements); determining a variation in displacement over time from the recorded displacement ([0068]: “comparison with previous measurement or reference measurement are carried out”); and estimating a condition of the pitch bearing based on the variation [0069].
Regarding Claim 17, the method of claim 16 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the triggering event is one or more of: a time-based event; a measure of rotation of the first ring; and a measure of displacement by the displacement sensor outside a preset threshold ([0068] discloses that the triggering event for determining the condition of the bearing can be a based time dependent event, a measure of rotation of the first ring ([0046]) or a change of the measured displacements [0069].).
Regarding Claim 18, the method of claim 16 is taught by Eolotec.
Eolotec further teaches wherein the set period for recording is defined by a set time period, a number of samples or a measure of rotation of the first ring [0068].
Regarding Claim 20, Eolotec teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon program instructions executable by a processor of a device to cause the device to perform ([0071]-[0072]: “a measuring system is created by the components sensor 14, measuring surface 20,
evaluation unit and control unit” which implicitly comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon program instructions executable by a processor of a device) the method according to claim 7 as taught by Eolotec.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is drawn to a computer program. Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include: Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as “data per se”) or a computer program per se (often referred to as “software per se”) when claimed as a product without any structural recitations (MPEP 2106.03).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon, are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Weaver (US 2011/0200425 A1) teaches a method of deploying offshore wind turbine assemblies includes mounting a wind turbine assembly horizontally on a vessel and transporting the wind turbine assembly to an offshore site. The wind turbine assembly is raised to a vertical condition at the site and attached to anchor weights. Blades are attached to the turbine head after the wind turbine assembly is in the vertical condition. In one embodiment, the wind turbine assembly can include a tower including tapered lower and upper sections joined together at their respective wide ends, a turbine head connected to the upper section, and a platform connected to the lower section. The platform includes a buoy tank partially filled with ballast to provide mass and buoyancy. A wave piercing cowling is rotatively attached to the lower section. The turbine head can include an adjustable journal bearing, scabbard blade mounts, and a gearless induction generator with flux adjusting capabilities [Abstract].
Becker et al. (US 2011/0049886 A1) teaches a method and a device for measuring the loading on rotor blades, especially of wind power plants with swiveling rotor blades, the loading of the rotor blades being determined by way of deformation of a bearing ring of the swiveling rotor blade takes place economically with proximity sensors, but can also take place advantageously with fiber optic sensors. With an electronic evaluation device, the deformation of the bearing ring is referenced to the loading of the rotor blade [Abstract].
Contact Information
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855