DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 8/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 18 and 20-22 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2013/0209318, hereinafter Garland in view of DE 102017127191, hereinafter Skowaisa.
Regarding claim 18, Garland teaches a hydrocarbon processing plant (figure 1) comprising: a network of tubes (item 20), wherein one tube of said network of tubes has a refill-opening (the opening covered by item 27); a catalyst arranged in said one tube (paragraph [0022]); a plug (item 27) arranged in the refill-opening and closing said refill-opening (figure 2).
Garland fails to teach the plug at least partially made of a refractory material and a radar emitting device, wherein the radar emitting device is arranged outside said one tube, said radar emitting device orientated such that radar waves emitted by said radar emitting device propagate through said plug and in the direction of said catalyst; and wherein said plug material is permeable to radar waves.
Skowaisa teaches a plug which an integrated radar sensor which is made from a refractory material (Skowaisa, items 11 and 12) with the radar emitting device is arranged outside said one tube (Skowaisa, figure 1), said radar emitting device orientated such that radar waves emitted by said radar emitting device propagate through said plug and in the direction of said catalyst (Skowaisa, figure 1); and wherein said plug material is permeable to radar waves (Skowaisa, figure 1) so that the fill level of the device can be measured which is insensitive to pressure, temperature and chemical influences (Skowaisa, page 2, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the plug and radar device of Skowaisa as the plug in Garland because it would allow for the fill level of the tubes to be measured which is insensitive to pressure, temperature and chemical influences (Skowaisa, page 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 20, modified Garland teaches a radar receiving device (Skowaisa, page 2, paragraph 5) for receiving an echo of the radar waves reflected by said catalyst to determine the level of said catalyst (Skowaisa, page 2, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 21, modified Garland teaches a flange (Skowaisa, item 18 and page 4, paragraph 4) arranged between said radar transmitting emitting device and said plug (Skowaisa, figure 1), wherein said flange comprises: a cylindrical portion (Skowaisa, figure 1); and a rim portion distal to the top of said tube relative to said cylindrical portion (Skowaisa, figure 1); and wherein refractory material is arranged in said cylindrical portion (Skowaisa, figure 1).
Regarding claim 22, modified Garland teaches a lid (Skowaisa, item 18) arranged on said rim portion for closing said flange (Skowaisa, figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-8, filed 8/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18 under 102(a)(1) and 18-22 under 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Garland and Skowaisa.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796