DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-28 filed on 07/05/2026 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 13, 18 and 19 have been amended.
Claims 26-28 have been newly added.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 07/05/2026 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 12, 13, 18, 19, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 13, and 19 would read more clearly as “temperature is between 37°C and 40°C”
Claim 12 recites “additionally comprising a display,” although amended claim 8 already recites a display. It is unclear whether the display of claim 12 refers to the same display or a distinct additional display.
Claim 18 is missing a semicolon before the “and causing the displaying…”
Claim 18 is missing a comma after “by a second sensor at the top portion of the boiler tank” before “a second temperature”
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 17, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 7, 17, and 24 detail specific formulas to calculate a length of time available for water usage at a predetermined temperature, which are not found in the prior art cited or any other prior art that was found.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12, 14-16, 18, 20-23, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinleib (US 2007/0005190 A1), in view of Porwal et al. (US 2021/0033286 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Feinleib teaches a method for determining a time length for water usage at a predetermined temperature, comprising:
in a boiler tank for holding water, the boiler tank including an oppositely disposed top portion and a bottom portion ([0032]: “As cold water enters tank 104, it immediately mixes with the water in the tank, reducing that temperature of the water at the bottom of the tank. At the same time, this colder water comes into contact with the heating element(s), causing the water to be heated. Meanwhile, entry of the cold water pushes out the hot water occupying the top of the tank”),
based on at least the measured temperatures ([0077]: “an initial tank temperature distribution condition is detected by measuring current temperatures at various locations in the tank”), a volume of the boiler tank ([0034]: “The rate of the fall off and timescale will be dependent on several parameters, including… the volume of the tank”), and, a flow rate of water at a point of use ([0034]: “The rate of the fall off and timescale will be dependent on several parameters, including the mass flow rate”; [0047]: “the modified embodiment of FIG. 4 a further includes one or more flow valves 418A with respective built-in sensors that are coupled in communication with thermal-modeling computer 402. Optionally, separate on-off type flow sensors may be used in place of built-in sensors”; [0068-0069]: “there are sensors that may be employed to detect the flow rate or on-off usage of various hot water consumers, such as washing machines, dishwashers, etc. … this could be added to the thermal model, yielding a prediction that more-accurately projecting the amount of hot water that will be available”), determining a length of time available for water usage at the point of use at the predetermined temperature ([0075]: “FIG. 10 shows a flowchart illustrating operations and logic performed to project the amount of time available for a shower, which is generally applicable to the embodiments of FIGS. 5 and 9”; [0081]: “a time at which the TMIN0) water level is projected to reach the top of hot water tank 104 is determined. This corresponds to the remaining time in the shower”); and
displaying a graphic indication corresponding to the length of time for the available water usage at the point of use at the predetermined temperature ([0081]: “The projected time is then sent to the shower monitor in a block 1012, whereupon it is displayed or otherwise provided to the showerer”; [0092]: “display 1300 will include the amount of time remaining 1302 for which adequate hot water is forecast”).
While Feinleib teaches vertically spaced sensors (FIG. 5 and [0052]: “a plurality of temperature sensors 422 are coupled to various points along the wall of tank 104”; [0053]: “the temperature sensors 422 are spaced at even vertical intervals along a tank wall”; [0054]: “By observing the rate of change and/or the measured water temperatures, the point in time at which the exiting hot water temperature falls below a threshold temperature can be projected”; [0076]: “the start of the shower can be detected by a small change in temperature at a lower temperature sensor”), Feinleib does not explicitly teach “measuring, by a first sensor at the bottom portion of the boiler tank, a first temperature (TBOT) for the water therein, and, measuring, by a second sensor at the top portion of the boiler tank, a second temperature (TTOP) for the water therein.”
Porwal further teaches measuring, by a first sensor at the bottom portion of the boiler tank, a first temperature (TBOT) for the water therein ([0038]: “Temperature sensor 158-2 is located toward the bottom end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the bottom end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point”), and, measuring, by a second sensor at the top portion of the boiler tank, a second temperature (TTOP) for the water therein ([0037]: “Temperature sensor 158-1 is located toward the top end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the top end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the method of Feinleib to incorporate the teachings of Porwal so as to include measuring a first sensor at the bottom portion of the boiler tank, a first temperature for the water therein, and, measuring, by a second sensor at the top portion of the boiler tank, a second temperature for the water therein. Doing so would allow temperature measurements to be compared with the aim of identifying faulty sensors ([0038]: “Since heat rises, the temperature measured by temperature sensor 158-2 should be no greater than the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 158-1. If this event occurs, the controller 104 can determine that temperature sensor 158-1 and/or temperature sensor 158-2 are faulty and require maintenance and/or replacement”).
Regarding claim 3, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the method of claim 1.
While Feinleib teaches vertically spaced sensors (FIG. 5 and [0053]: “the temperature sensors 422 are spaced at even vertical intervals along a tank wall”), Feinleib does not explicitly teach “wherein the measuring the temperature at the bottom portion of the boiler tank and the top portion of the boiler tank is at oppositely disposed vertically oriented ends of the boiler tank.”
Porwal further teaches wherein the measuring the temperature at the bottom portion of the boiler tank and the top portion of the boiler tank is at oppositely disposed vertically oriented ends of the boiler tank ([0037-0038]: “Temperature sensor 158-1 is located toward the top end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the top end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point… Temperature sensor 158-2 is located toward the bottom end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the bottom end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point”).
Regarding claim 4, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the method of claim 1.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the boiler tank includes a non-stratified boiler tank ([0029]: “under a steady state condition, the temperature of the water in the tank is somewhat even, as shown in FIG. 2 a, wherein the density of the particles represent the relative temperature of the water”).
Regarding claim 5, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the method of claim 1.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the boiler tank includes a stratified boiler tank ([0032-0033]: “As cold water enters tank 104, it immediately mixes with the water in the tank, reducing that temperature of the water at the bottom of the tank. At the same time, this colder water comes into contact with the heating element(s), causing the water to be heated. Meanwhile, entry of the cold water pushes out the hot water occupying the top of the tank… colder water is denser than warmer water, causing the colder water to fall to the bottom of the tank”).
Regarding claim 6, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the method of claim 1.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the point of use includes a shower ([0035]: “the temperature of an exemplary shower 114 is controlled by a cold water valve 116 and a hot water valve 118, with the flow rates for each of cold water flowing through a cold water pipe 102A and hot water flowing through a hot water pipe 112A mixing to form shower water exiting a shower head 120”).
Regarding claim 8, Feinleib teaches an apparatus for determining a time length for water usage at a predetermined temperature, comprising:
a non-transitory storage medium for storing the received at least one first water temperature and the at least one second water temperature ([0084]: “The circuit configuration includes a processor 1200 coupled to (volatile) memory 1202, timer 1204, a communication interface 1206, and non-volatile (NV) memory 1208 via a bus 1209”; [0072]: “the sensed temperatures of the water at a set of locations are recorded for each respective data point sets, effectively taking a temperature-distribution 'snapshot' at each point in time. In one embodiment, these snapshots are digitally stored in a lookup table in a block 912”);
a computerized processor in communication with the receiver and the non-transitory storage medium ([0084]: “The circuit configuration includes a processor 1200 coupled to (volatile) memory 1202, timer 1204, a communication interface 1206, and non-volatile (NV) memory 1208 via a bus 1209”), the processor programmed to:
determine a length of time available for water usage at a point of use at the predetermined temperature ([0075]: “FIG. 10 shows a flowchart illustrating operations and logic performed to project the amount of time available for a shower, which is generally applicable to the embodiments of FIGS. 5 and 9”; [0081]: “a time at which the TMIN0) water level is projected to reach the top of hot water tank 104 is determined. This corresponds to the remaining time in the shower”), based on at least the received at least one first temperature and the at least one second temperature ([0077]: “an initial tank temperature distribution condition is detected by measuring current temperatures at various locations in the tank”), a volume of the boiler ([0034]: “The rate of the fall off and timescale will be dependent on several parameters, including… the volume of the tank”), and, a flow rate of water at the point of use ([0034]: “The rate of the fall off and timescale will be dependent on several parameters, including the mass flow rate”; [0047]: “the modified embodiment of FIG. 4 a further includes one or more flow valves 418A with respective built-in sensors that are coupled in communication with thermal-modeling computer 402. Optionally, separate on-off type flow sensors may be used in place of built-in sensors”; [0068-0069]: “there are sensors that may be employed to detect the flow rate or on-off usage of various hot water consumers, such as washing machines, dishwashers, etc. … this could be added to the thermal model, yielding a prediction that more-accurately projecting the amount of hot water that will be available”); and
a display for a graphic indication corresponding to the length of time for the available water usage at the point of use at the predetermined temperature ([0081]: “The projected time is then sent to the shower monitor in a block 1012, whereupon it is displayed or otherwise provided to the showerer”; [0092]: “display 1300 will include the amount of time remaining 1302 for which adequate hot water is forecast”).
While Feinleib teaches a receiver for receiving at least one first water temperature from a first sensor in communication with a lower portion of a boiler tank, and 2) at least one second water temperature from a second sensor in communication with a higher portion of a boiler tank ([0085]: “temperature sensor interface may comprise respective interfaces, or may be multiplexed to receive signals from a plurality of temperature sensors 422”; [0052]: “a plurality of temperature sensors 422 are coupled to various points along the wall of tank 104”; [0053]: “the temperature sensors 422 are spaced at even vertical intervals along a tank wall”; [0054]: “By observing the rate of change and/or the measured water temperatures, the point in time at which the exiting hot water temperature falls below a threshold temperature can be projected”; [0076]: “the start of the shower can be detected by a small change in temperature at a lower temperature sensor”), Feinleib does not explicitly teach “a receiver for receiving 1) at least one first water temperature (TBOT) from a first sensor in communication with a bottom portion of a boiler tank, and 2) at least one second water temperature (TTOP) from a second sensor in communication with a top portion of the boiler tank.”
Porwal further teaches a receiver for receiving ([0094]: “The temperature sensors 158 can measure temperature based on instructions received by the controller 104. Once the temperatures are measured, the temperature sensors 158 can send the measurements to the controller 104”) 1) at least one first water temperature (TBOT) from a first sensor in communication with a bottom portion of a boiler tank ([0094]: “another temperature sensor 158 (e.g., temperature sensor 158-2) can measure a temperature of the water toward the bottom end of the tank 195”), and 2) at least one second water temperature (TTOP) from a second sensor in communication with a top portion of the boiler tank ([0094]: “one temperature sensor 158 (e.g., temperature sensor 158-1) can measure a temperature of the water toward the top end of the tank 195”).
The reasons to combine Porwal with Feinleib are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
While Feinleib teaches vertically spaced sensors (FIG. 5 and [0053]: “the temperature sensors 422 are spaced at even vertical intervals along a tank wall”), Feinleib does not explicitly teach “wherein the at least one first sensor is at or proximate to the bottom portion of the boiler tank, and, the at least one second sensor is at or proximate to the top portion of the boiler tank.”
Porwal further teaches wherein the at least one first sensor is at or proximate to the bottom portion of the boiler tank, and, the at least one second sensor is at or proximate to the top portion of the boiler tank ([0037-0038]: “Temperature sensor 158-1 is located toward the top end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the top end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point… Temperature sensor 158-2 is located toward the bottom end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the bottom end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point”).
Regarding claim 10, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are in communication with the receiver ([0085]: “temperature sensor interface may comprise respective interfaces, or may be multiplexed to receive signals from a plurality of temperature sensors 422”).
Regarding claim 11, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
While Feinleib teaches vertically spaced sensors (FIG. 5 and [0053]: “the temperature sensors 422 are spaced at even vertical intervals along a tank wall”), Feinleib does not explicitly teach “wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are oppositely disposed from each other at the vertically oriented top and bottom ends of the boiler tank.”
Porwal further teaches wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are oppositely disposed from each other at the vertically oriented top and bottom ends of the boiler tank ([0037-0038]: “Temperature sensor 158-1 is located toward the top end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the top end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point… Temperature sensor 158-2 is located toward the bottom end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the bottom end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point”).
Regarding claim 12, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Feinleib further teaches additionally comprising a display and a transmitter, the transmitter in communication with the processor, and for transmitting the length of time of available water usage at the predetermined temperature ([0063]: “In a block 710, this time value is transmitted to the shower monitor/interface. This transmission can be via a wired communication link or a wireless link, as discussed above. Upon receiving the time value, corresponding information is displayed on the shower control/monitor interface”; [0092]: “display 1300 will include the amount of time remaining 1302 for which adequate hot water is forecast”).
Regarding claim 14, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the boiler tank includes a non-stratified boiler tank ([0029]: “under a steady state condition, the temperature of the water in the tank is somewhat even, as shown in FIG. 2 a, wherein the density of the particles represent the relative temperature of the water”).
Regarding claim 15, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the boiler tank includes a stratified boiler tank ([0032-0033]: “As cold water enters tank 104, it immediately mixes with the water in the tank, reducing that temperature of the water at the bottom of the tank. At the same time, this colder water comes into contact with the heating element(s), causing the water to be heated. Meanwhile, entry of the cold water pushes out the hot water occupying the top of the tank… colder water is denser than warmer water, causing the colder water to fall to the bottom of the tank”).
Regarding claim 16, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the point of use includes a shower ([0035]: “the temperature of an exemplary shower 114 is controlled by a cold water valve 116 and a hot water valve 118, with the flow rates for each of cold water flowing through a cold water pipe 102A and hot water flowing through a hot water pipe 112A mixing to form shower water exiting a shower head 120”).
Regarding claim 18, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches a computer usable non-transitory storage medium having a computer program embodied thereon ([0084]: “Circuit details of one embodiment a thermal-modeling computer 402 are shown in FIG. 12. The circuit configuration includes a processor 1200 coupled to (volatile) memory 1202, timer 1204, a communication interface 1206, and non-volatile (NV) memory 1208 via a bus 1209”) for causing a suitably programmed system to determine a time length for water usage at a predetermined temperature, by performing the following steps when such program is executed by the system, the steps comprising:
in a boiler tank for holding water, the boiler tank including an oppositely disposed top portion and a bottom portion ([0032]: “As cold water enters tank 104, it immediately mixes with the water in the tank, reducing that temperature of the water at the bottom of the tank. At the same time, this colder water comes into contact with the heating element(s), causing the water to be heated. Meanwhile, entry of the cold water pushes out the hot water occupying the top of the tank”),
based on at least the measured temperatures ([0077]: “an initial tank temperature distribution condition is detected by measuring current temperatures at various locations in the tank”), a volume of the boiler tank ([0034]: “The rate of the fall off and timescale will be dependent on several parameters, including… the volume of the tank”), and, a flow rate of water at a point of use ([0034]: “The rate of the fall off and timescale will be dependent on several parameters, including the mass flow rate”; [0047]: “the modified embodiment of FIG. 4 a further includes one or more flow valves 418A with respective built-in sensors that are coupled in communication with thermal-modeling computer 402. Optionally, separate on-off type flow sensors may be used in place of built-in sensors”; [0068-0069]: “there are sensors that may be employed to detect the flow rate or on-off usage of various hot water consumers, such as washing machines, dishwashers, etc. … this could be added to the thermal model, yielding a prediction that more-accurately projecting the amount of hot water that will be available”), determining a length of time available for water usage at the point of use at the predetermined temperature ([0075]: “FIG. 10 shows a flowchart illustrating operations and logic performed to project the amount of time available for a shower, which is generally applicable to the embodiments of FIGS. 5 and 9”; [0081]: “a time at which the TMIN0) water level is projected to reach the top of hot water tank 104 is determined. This corresponds to the remaining time in the shower”) and
causing the displaying of a graphic indication corresponding to the length of time for the available water usage at the point of use at the predetermined temperature ([0081]: “The projected time is then sent to the shower monitor in a block 1012, whereupon it is displayed or otherwise provided to the showerer”; [0092]: “display 1300 will include the amount of time remaining 1302 for which adequate hot water is forecast”).
Porwal further teaches measuring by a first sensor at the bottom portion of the boiler tank, a first temperature (TBOT) for the water therein ([0038]: “Temperature sensor 158-2 is located toward the bottom end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the bottom end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point”), and, measuring, by a second sensor at the top portion of the boiler tank a second temperature (TTOP) for the water therein ([0037]: “Temperature sensor 158-1 is located toward the top end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the top end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point”).
The reasons to combine Porwal with Feinleib are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the computer usable non-transitory storage medium of claim 18.
While Feinleib teaches vertically spaced sensors (FIG. 5 and [0053]: “the temperature sensors 422 are spaced at even vertical intervals along a tank wall”), Feinleib does not explicitly teach “wherein the measuring the bottom of the boiler tank and the top of the boiler tank are at oppositely disposed vertically oriented ends of the boiler tank.”
Porwal further teaches wherein the measuring the bottom of the boiler tank and the top of the boiler tank are at oppositely disposed vertically oriented ends of the boiler tank ([0037-0038]: “Temperature sensor 158-1 is located toward the top end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the top end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point… Temperature sensor 158-2 is located toward the bottom end (e.g., approximately ¼ the height of the tank 195 from the bottom end of the tank 195) and measures the temperature of the water (e.g., heated water, unheated water, mixture of heated water and unheated water) in the tank 195 at that point”).
Regarding claim 21, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the computer usable non-transitory storage medium of claim 18.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the boiler tank includes a non-stratified boiler tank ([0029]: “under a steady state condition, the temperature of the water in the tank is somewhat even, as shown in FIG. 2 a, wherein the density of the particles represent the relative temperature of the water”).
Regarding claim 22, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the computer usable non-transitory storage medium of claim 18.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the boiler tank includes a stratified boiler tank ([0032-0033]: “As cold water enters tank 104, it immediately mixes with the water in the tank, reducing that temperature of the water at the bottom of the tank. At the same time, this colder water comes into contact with the heating element(s), causing the water to be heated. Meanwhile, entry of the cold water pushes out the hot water occupying the top of the tank… colder water is denser than warmer water, causing the colder water to fall to the bottom of the tank”).
Regarding claim 23, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the computer usable non-transitory storage medium of claim 18.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the point of use includes a shower ([0035]: “the temperature of an exemplary shower 114 is controlled by a cold water valve 116 and a hot water valve 118, with the flow rates for each of cold water flowing through a cold water pipe 102A and hot water flowing through a hot water pipe 112A mixing to form shower water exiting a shower head 120”).
Regarding claim 25, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the method of claim 1.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the boiler tank is oriented one of vertically or horizontally (FIGS. 1, 4, 4a, and 5 show a vertically oriented boiler tank; [0080]: “ the flow rate can be determined by observing the vertical change in the TMIN water level over a pre-determined time interval (e.g., seconds)”).
Regarding claim 26, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the method of claim 1.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the determining a length of time available for water usage at the point of use at the predetermined temperature is performed in real time (The iterative loop performs the determining of a length of time available for water usage while the shower is ongoing, as shown in [0060]: “the flow rate leaving the hot water tank is continuously monitored”; [0064]: “The loop continues in blocks 712 and 714, wherein the flow rate and temperature measurements are updated, respectively. Then, a determination is made in decision block 716 to whether the shower is over”; [0065]: “If the shower is determined to be ongoing, the logic loops back to block 706 to being the next iteration of the operations of blocks 706, 708, 710, 712, and 714”).
Regarding claim 27, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the computerized processor programmed to determine the length of time available for water usage at the point of use at the predetermined temperature, performs the determining in real time (The iterative loop performs the determining of a length of time available for water usage while the shower is ongoing, as shown in [0060]: “the flow rate leaving the hot water tank is continuously monitored”; [0064]: “The loop continues in blocks 712 and 714, wherein the flow rate and temperature measurements are updated, respectively. Then, a determination is made in decision block 716 to whether the shower is over”; [0065]: “If the shower is determined to be ongoing, the logic loops back to block 706 to being the next iteration of the operations of blocks 706, 708, 710, 712, and 714”).
Regarding claim 28, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the computer usable non-transitory storage medium of claim 18.
Feinleib further teaches wherein the determining a length of time available for water usage at the point of use at the predetermined temperature is performed in real time (The iterative loop performs the determining of a length of time available for water usage while the shower is ongoing, as shown in [0060]: “the flow rate leaving the hot water tank is continuously monitored”; [0064]: “The loop continues in blocks 712 and 714, wherein the flow rate and temperature measurements are updated, respectively. Then, a determination is made in decision block 716 to whether the shower is over”; [0065]: “If the shower is determined to be ongoing, the logic loops back to block 706 to being the next iteration of the operations of blocks 706, 708, 710, 712, and 714”).
Claims 2, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinleib (US 2007/0005190 A1), in view of Porwal et al. (US 2021/0033286 A1), and in view of Brunoli (US 2013/0146154 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the method of claim 1.
Feinleib does not explicitly teach “wherein the predetermined temperature is between 37°C to 40°C.”
Brunoli further teaches wherein the predetermined temperature is between 37°C to 40°C ([0022-0023]: “the temperature sensor is a thermistor device that detects a predetermined threshold water temperature. In the above embodiment the temperature activated shower controller is initiated when the thermistor detects a specific water temperature of between 30°C. and 50°C. and more preferably at a temperature of 40°C”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the method of Feinleib in view of Porwal to incorporate the teachings of Brunoli so as to include the predetermined temperature being between 37°C to 40°C. Doing so would allow the temperature to be set to any value between 30° and 50°, including the range of 37° to 40° with the aim of allowing a user to shower for a certain length of time at their preferred temperature (Brunoli, [0041]: “Before the shower cycle begins, the latching solenoid valve (not shown) begins in the open position to allow full water flow, which enables the user to feel the flowing water for the preferred shower temperature… If no input is made after a pre-determined length of time (for example thirty (30) seconds), the microprocessor unit will automatically select a default shower time setting (for example six (6) minutes)”).
Regarding claim 13, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Brunoli further teaches wherein the predetermined temperature is between 37°C to 40°C ([0022-0023]: “the temperature sensor is a thermistor device that detects a predetermined threshold water temperature. In the above embodiment the temperature activated shower controller is initiated when the thermistor detects a specific water temperature of between 30°C. and 50°C. and more preferably at a temperature of 40°C”).
The reasons to combine Brunoli into Feinleib in view of Porwal are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 19, Feinleib in view of Porwal teaches the computer usable non-transitory storage medium of claim 18.
Feinleib does not explicitly teach “wherein the predetermined temperature is between 37°C to 40°C.”
Brunoli further teaches wherein the predetermined temperature is between 37°C to 40°C ([0022-0023]: “the temperature sensor is a thermistor device that detects a predetermined threshold water temperature. In the above embodiment the temperature activated shower controller is initiated when the thermistor detects a specific water temperature of between 30°C. and 50°C. and more preferably at a temperature of 40°C”).
The reasons to combine Brunoli into Feinleib in view of Porwal are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amended claims, filed 07/05/2026, have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 and 112. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/05/2026, regarding the prior art rejections have been fully considered. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 has been withdrawn. Applicant argued that Porwal does not teach determining a length of time available for water usage based on a flow rate at the point of use. In the new grounds of rejection, Feinleib is relied upon for the point-of-use flow rate, the determination of the available time at the point of use, and the associated display. Porwal is relied upon for the claimed top and bottom sensor arrangement. Accordingly, the asserted deficiency in Porwal does not apply to the new combination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2005/0004712 A1: Monitoring hot water conditions at a shower outlet and indicating the remaining available hot water time
US 6,029,094 A: Measuring water flow rate at a shower
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117