DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 25 August 2026 has been entered.
The examiner fully considered the Applicant’s amendments regarding the Drawing objections, but the examiner was not persuaded. Accordingly, there are still grounds for objections for the Drawings that were filed on 25 August 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the previous Claim objections. However, the Applicant’s amendments have provided grounds for a new Claim objection.
Applicant’s amendments have provided grounds for new 35 USC 112 rejections.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the grounds of rejection under 35 USC § 103 still stand.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 25 August 2026, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 12, 15, 17, 19-20 have been amended. Claims 3, 5-7, 11, 13-14, 16, and 18 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12, 15, 17, and 19-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
in fig. 3, oblique hatching impedes the clear reading of one of the arrows (MPEP 1825, PCT Rule 11.13.b).
in figs. 1-5, instead of oblique hatch lines, dark shading is used to for cross-sections (MPEP 1825, PCT Rule 11.13.b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are the following:
In claim 1, “ventilation device” and “airflow generating device” are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f)
The generic placeholder is “device,” and the functional limitations are “ventilation,” “configured to generate an airflow,” “airflow generating,” and “configured to generate airflow.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes a “blower,” a “pump,” or an “impeller.”
In claim 1, “airflow display unit” is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
The generic placeholder is “unit,” and the functional limitation is “airflow display”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes “wind blades” or a “turbine” and a “transparent lid.”
In claim 1, the “airflow guide member” is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
The generic placeholder is “member” and the functional limitation is “airflow guide” or guiding an airflow.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Recommend amending claim 17 to recite: “the airflow generating device.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites an “airflow guide member,” but the Specification fails to disclose any structure in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to readily understand what an “airflow guide member” is or that the inventor possessed the claim subject matter at the time of filing.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the airflow generating device, the airflow display unit, and the airflow guide member are arranged to surround the second mounting region,” which is not mentioned in the original Specification or in the original set of claims. As a result, by using this limitation, the Applicant introduces new matter into the patent application.
These new rejections are provided based on the amended portion of the claim. Claims 2, 4, 8-10, 12, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim limitation “airflow guide member” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: “…a ventilation device disposed in the second mounting region…the ventilation device comprises an airflow generating device configured to generate airflow in an operating state, an airflow display unit, and an airflow guide member; and the airflow generating device, the airflow display unit, and the airflow guide member are arranged to surround the second mounting region….” It is unclear how the airflow guide member, the airflow generating device, and the airflow display unit are both in the second mounting region while also surrounding the second mounting region. There is no mention of a limitation for “surrounding” the second mounting region (see 35 USC 112a rejection). As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art could not possibly know what this limitation means because it cannot be understood in view of the Specification. For the purpose of the examination, the airflow guide member, the airflow generating device, and the airflow display unit will be interpreted as having to be “in” the second mounting region instead of “surrounding” the second mounting region.
This new rejection is provided based on the amended portion of the claim. Claims 2, 4, 8-10, 12, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN-212912888-U, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Li et al. (WO-2020000911-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a lid assembly (lid assembly 100, fig. 1), comprising:
an upper lid (upper surface of lid body 10, fig. 2) having a first mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 below), a second mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 below), and a third mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 below) in a projection of the upper lid on a first plane (plane of the drawing in fig. 2), the first mounting region and the second mounting region being spaced apart from each other (the construed “first mounting region” and the “second mounting region” are spaced apart from each other, annotated fig. 2), the first plane being perpendicular to a thickness direction (depth direction (not shown) in fig. 2; the thickness direction is the height of the pot lid assembly; this height dimension is the depth direction (not shown) in fig. 2) of the upper lid and a through hole (annotated in fig. 2 below) being formed in the first mounting region;
a control panel provided in the third mounting region (a control panel is in the construed “third mounting region,” annotated in fig. 2 below).
a ventilation device (ventilation device 20, fig. 3; the airflow generation device 22 can be a “fan,” para 0078; a fan is construed as being equivalent to a “blower”) disposed in the second mounting region (the moving part 21 of the ventilation device 20 is disposed in the view window 11, fig. 2) and connected to the upper lid (sealing ring 28 seals the ventilation device 20 to the cover 10, para 0056), and configured to generate an airflow (para 0056)
wherein the second mounting region is located between the first mounting region and the third mounting region (in the annotated fig. 2 below, the construed second mounting region is between the construed first and third mounting regions)
wherein the third mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 above) is spaced apart from both the first mounting region and the second mounting region (the construed “first mounting region” and the “second mounting region” are spaced apart from the construed “third mounting region,” annotated fig. 2);
the ventilation device comprises (ventilation device 20, fig. 3) an airflow generating device (airflow generating device 22, fig. 3; the airflow generation device 22 can be a “fan,” para 0078; a fan is construed as being equivalent to a “blower”) configured to generate airflow in an operating state (“working state,” para 0053), an airflow display unit (wind duct 23 and moving part 21, fig. 3; the duct 23 is “transparent,” para 0075 and is construed as being a transparent lid; the moving part is a “turbine or impeller,” para 0013), and an airflow guide member (annotated in fig. 3 below); and the airflow generating device, the airflow display unit, and the airflow guide member are arranged to surround the second mounting region (the air duct 23 surrounds the moving part 21, which is in the construed second mounting region in annotated figs. 2-3), and the airflow flows from the airflow generating device through the airflow display unit and toward the airflow guide member (“the airflow flows from the cooking chamber 2102 to the airflow generating device 22,” para 0056; air flows from the inlet 223 to the outlet 224 in fig. 3; construed such that air ventilates and flows from the bottom to the top of fig. 3).
Huang, figs. 2 and 3 (annotated)
Huang does not explicitly disclose a first predetermined value; the through hole configured to discharge steam.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Li teaches a first predetermined value (distance L between 182 and 151 in fig. 1; the distance L is construed as being a distance between 10 mm and 60 mm, page 3; air enters through suction ports 151 and exits through steam outlet 182, pages 13-14); the through hole configured to discharge steam (“steam will be vented via the steam inlet 181, the steam line 182, and the steam outlet 182,” page 13).
Li, fig. 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Li, by using a distance L that is between 10 and 60 mm, as taught by Li, between the construed first and second mounting regions, as taught by Huang, and by venting steam, as taught by Li, through the construed through hole, as taught by Li, in order to use a distance that is optimized as a results-effective variable, because if the distance is too small, then hot steam that is intended to be discharged through outlet 182 will instead return through port 151, reducing the desired cooling of the heating chamber, and if the distance is too large, then steam that is vented exits discontinuously and in low concentrations, and because in order for the steam to exit out of the cover, there needs to be a steam outlet on the top side of the cover (Li, pages 13-14; Huang, para 0069).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first predetermined value is greater than or equal to 20 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Li teaches wherein the first predetermined value (distance L between 182 and 151 in fig. 1) is greater than or equal to 20 mm (the distance L is construed as being a distance between 10 mm and 60 mm, page 3, which overlaps with the claimed range of greater than or equal to 20 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Li, by using a distance L that is between 10 and 60 mm, as taught by Li, between the construed first and second mounting regions, as taught by Huang, in order to use a distance that is optimized as a results-effective variable, because if the distance is too small, then hot steam that is intended to be discharged through outlet 182 will instead return through port 151, reducing the desired cooling of the heating chamber, and if the distance is too large, then steam that is vented exits discontinuously and in low concentrations (Li, pages 13-14) and since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches wherein the airflow display unit (wind duct 23 and moving part 21, fig. 3) comprises:
a movable component (moving part 21, fig. 3) configured to move under pushing of the airflow generated by the airflow generating device (paras 0053 and 0060); and
a transparent lid (wind duct 23, fig. 3; the duct 23 is “transparent,” para 0075) disposed above the movable component (moving part 21, fig. 3) and configured to observe movement of the movable component (para 0057).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches wherein:
the upper lid (upper surface of lid body 10, fig. 2) has a first accommodation cavity (space inside duct 23, fig. 3; para 0058), the movable component being accommodated within the first accommodation cavity (“the moving part 21 is disposed in the air duct 23,” para 0057) and the transparent lid being fixedly connected to the upper lid to close an opening at an end of the first accommodation cavity (“the second viewing window 231 of the air duct 23 is corresponding to the first viewing window 11 of the cover 10,” para 0057; construed such that the window 231 is the window 11, which is fixedly connected to the cover 10 and which closes the space above the duct 23, figs. 2-3); or
the airflow display unit (wind duct 23 and fan blade 222, fig. 6; the fan blade 222 is construed as the claimed “movable component”) further comprises a housing (housing 221, fig. 6), the housing having a second accommodation cavity (space inside housing 221, fig. 6), the movable component (fan blade 222, fig. 6) being accommodated within the second accommodation cavity (para 0063), the transparent lid being connected to the housing to close an opening at an end of the second accommodation cavity (window 2211 covers the housing 221, fig. 6), wherein the airflow display unit is fixedly connected to the upper lid (“the third viewing window 2211 of the housing 221 is corresponding to the first viewing window 11 of the cover 10,” para 0063; construed such that the window 2211 is the window 11, which is fixedly connected to the cover 10 and which closes the space above the housing 221, para 0064).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches a cooking apparatus (cooking appliance 200, fig. 7), comprising:
the lid assembly (lid assembly 100, fig. 1) according to claim 1 (please see the rejection for claim 1 above); and
a body (body of pot assembly 210, fig. 8) having a cooking cavity (cavity 2102, fig. 8) with an opening at an end of the body (opening at the top of assembly 210, fig. 8), wherein:
the lid assembly is configured to expose or close the opening of the cooking cavity (lid assembly 100 closes or covers over the assembly 210, para 0071); and
the ventilation device (ventilation device 20, fig. 3) is configured to generate an airflow to disturb gas in the cooking cavity (“ventilating” the cavity 2102 is construed as disturbing the gas in the cavity, para 0071).
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches wherein the ventilation device (ventilation device 20, fig. 3) further comprises the airflow display unit (wind duct 23 and moving part 21, fig. 3; the duct 23 is “transparent,” para 0075 and is construed as being a transparent lid; the moving part is a “turbine or impeller,” para 0013) in communication with the airflow generating device (air flows and is in communication between the duct 23 and the generating device 22, para 0052), the airflow display unit being configured to display the airflow (para 0050).
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches wherein the airflow display unit (wind duct 23 and moving part 21, fig. 3) comprises:
a movable component (moving part 21, fig. 3) configured to move under pushing of the airflow generated by the airflow generating device (paras 0053 and 0060); and
a transparent lid (wind duct 23, fig. 3; the duct 23 is “transparent,” para 0075) disposed above the movable component (moving part 21, fig. 3) and configured to observe movement of the movable component (para 0057).
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches wherein:
the upper lid (upper surface of lid body 10, fig. 2) has a first accommodation cavity (space inside duct 23, fig. 3; para 0058), the movable component being accommodated within the first accommodation cavity (“the moving part 21 is disposed in the air duct 23,” para 0057) and the transparent lid being fixedly connected to the upper lid to close an opening at an end of the first accommodation cavity (“the second viewing window 231 of the air duct 23 is corresponding to the first viewing window 11 of the cover 10,” para 0057; construed such that the window 231 is the window 11, which is fixedly connected to the cover 10 and which closes the space above the duct 23, figs. 2-3); or
the airflow display unit (wind duct 23 and fan blade 222, fig. 6; the fan blade 222 is construed as the claimed “movable component”) further comprises a housing (housing 221, fig. 6), the housing having a second accommodation cavity (space inside housing 221, fig. 6), the movable component (fan blade 222, fig. 6) being accommodated within the second accommodation cavity (para 0063), the transparent lid being connected to the housing to close an opening at an end of the second accommodation cavity (window 2211 covers the housing 221, fig. 6), wherein the airflow display unit is fixedly connected to the upper lid (“the third viewing window 2211 of the housing 221 is corresponding to the first viewing window 11 of the cover 10,” para 0063; construed such that the window 2211 is the window 11, which is fixedly connected to the cover 10 and which closes the space above the housing 221, para 0064).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN-212912888-U, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Li et al. (WO-2020000911-A1) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above and further in view of Zhu et al. (CN-109549460-A, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second mounting region and the third mounting region are spaced apart from each other by a second predetermined value greater than or equal to 20 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Zhu teaches wherein the second mounting region (outer cover 30, fig. 5) and the third mounting region (panel 20, fig. 5) are spaced apart from each other by a second predetermined value greater than or equal to 20 mm (“the distance between the midpoint of each side and the inner wall of the outer cover 30 is represented by L2 …it can be… 20 mm,” para 0047).
Zhu, fig. 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Zhu, by using a distance of 20 mm, as taught by Zhu, as the distance between the construed second and third mounting regions, as taught by Huang, where the distance is a results-effective variable that should be optimized in order to avoid contact between the panel and the window 11 but the distance is not so far that the control panel is unreliably fixed to the cover 10 or so far as to detract from actual needs, e.g., the wiring between the control panel and the heater (Zhu, para 0047).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second mounting region and the third mounting region are spaced apart from each other by a second predetermined value greater than or equal to 20 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Zhu teaches wherein the second mounting region (outer cover 30, fig. 5) and the third mounting region (panel 20, fig. 5) are spaced apart from each other by a second predetermined value greater than or equal to 20 mm (“the distance between the midpoint of each side and the inner wall of the outer cover 30 is represented by L2 …it can be… 20 mm,” para 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Zhu, by using a distance of 20 mm, as taught by Zhu, as the distance between the construed second and third mounting regions, as taught by Huang, where the distance is a results-effective variable that should be optimized in order to avoid contact between the panel and the window 11 but the distance is not so far that the control panel is unreliably fixed to the cover 10 or so far as to detract from actual needs, e.g., the wiring between the control panel and the heater (Zhu, para 0047).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN-212912888-U, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Li et al. (WO-2020000911-A1) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above and further in view of Gong et al. (CN-112806828-A, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control panel is configured to control the airflow generating device to operate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Gong teaches wherein the control panel (control unit 206, fig. 2) is configured to control the airflow generating device to operate (the control unit initiates a command signal for the ventilation component if the freshness of the aged material is lower than a predetermined standard, para 0029).
Gong, fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Gong, by using the construed control panel to control the ventilation device 20, as taught by Huang, when the freshness of the aged material is lower than a predetermined standard, as taught by Gong, in order to ventilate based on the type of rice, because the ventilation time should be adjusted based on the type of rice to improve the efficiency of removing rice odor substances (Gong, para 0071).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 25 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Drawings
Page 7 of the arguments states that amendments were made to the drawings; however, no amendments were made to the drawings filed 25 August 2026.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Page 10 of the arguments appears to suggest that the “airflow display unit” overcomes the Huang (CN212912888U) reference. This argument was not found to be persuasive because the “airflow display unit” is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as being a transparent lid and blades/ turbine. Huang teaches a transparent duct 23 and a moving part 21 for a ventilation device 20, which can be construed as the claimed “airflow display unit.” This structure from Huang was identified in the rejection for claim 6 in the previous Office action. Moreover, the ventilation device 20 that is taught by Huang appears to be the same externalized assembly 122 that is disclosed in the Instant Application.
For the above reasons, rejections to the pending claims are respectfully sustained by the examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/4/2026