DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
in fig. 3, oblique hatching impedes the clear reading of one of the arrows (MPEP 1825, PCT Rule 11.13.b).
in figs. 1-5, instead of oblique hatch lines, dark shading is used to for cross-sections (MPEP 1825, PCT Rule 11.13.b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are the following:
In claim 1, “ventilation device” is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f)
The generic placeholder is “device” and the functional limitations are “ventilation” and “configured to generate an airflow.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes a “blower,” a “pump,” or an “impeller.”
In claims 6 and 17, “externalized assembly” is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
The generic placeholder is “assembly” and the functional limitation is “configured to display the airflow.”
Structure that is used from the Specification includes a “wind blades” or a “turbine” and a “transparent lid.”
Claim Objections
Claims 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Recommend amending claim 12 to recite: “an airflow generating device.”
Claim 13 is a duplicate of claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN-212912888-U, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Li et al. (WO-2020000911-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a lid assembly (lid assembly 100, fig. 1), comprising:
an upper lid (upper surface of lid body 10, fig. 2) having a first mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 below) and a second mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 below) in a projection of the upper lid on a first plane (plane of the drawing in fig. 2), the first mounting region and the second mounting region being spaced apart from each other (the construed “first mounting region” and the “second mounting region” are spaced apart from each other, annotated fig. 2), the first plane being perpendicular to a thickness direction (depth direction (not shown) in fig. 2; the thickness direction is the height of the pot lid assembly; this height dimension is the depth direction (not shown) in fig. 2) of the upper lid and a through hole (annotated in fig. 2 below) being formed in the first mounting region; and
a ventilation device (ventilation device 20, fig. 3; the airflow generation device 22 can be a “fan,” para 0078; a fan is construed as being equivalent to a “blower”) configured to generate an airflow (para 0056) and connected to the upper lid wherein the ventilation device is disposed in the second mounting region (the ventilation device 20 is in the view window 11, fig. 2).
Huang, fig. 2 (annotated)
Huang does not explicitly disclose a first predetermined value; the through hole configured to discharge steam.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Li teaches a first predetermined value (distance L between 182 and 151 in fig. 1; the distance L is construed as being a distance between 10 mm and 60 mm, page 3; air enters through suction ports 151 and exits through steam outlet 182, pages 13-14); the through hole configured to discharge steam (“steam will be vented via the steam inlet 181, the steam line 182, and the steam outlet 182,” page 13).
Li, fig. 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Li, by using a distance L that is between 10 and 60 mm, as taught by Li, between the construed first and second mounting regions, as taught by Huang, and by venting steam, as taught by Li, through the construed through hole, as taught by Li, in order to use a distance that is optimized as a results-effective variable, because if the distance is too small, then hot steam that is intended to be discharged through outlet 182 will instead return through port 151, reducing the desired cooling of the heating chamber, and if the distance is too large, then steam that is vented exits discontinuously and in low concentrations, and because in order for the steam to exit out of the cover, there needs to be a steam outlet on the top side of the cover (Li, pages 13-14; Huang, para 0069).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Huang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first predetermined value is greater than or equal to 20 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Li teaches wherein the first predetermined value (distance L between 182 and 151 in fig. 1) is greater than or equal to 20 mm (the distance L is construed as being a distance between 10 mm and 60 mm, page 3, which overlaps with the claimed range of greater than or equal to 20 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Li, by using a distance L that is between 10 and 60 mm, as taught by Li, between the construed first and second mounting regions, as taught by Huang, in order to use a distance that is optimized as a results-effective variable, because if the distance is too small, then hot steam that is intended to be discharged through outlet 182 will instead return through port 151, reducing the desired cooling of the heating chamber, and if the distance is too large, then steam that is vented exits discontinuously and in low concentrations (Li, pages 13-14) and since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches wherein: the upper lid further has a third mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 above) spaced apart from each of the first mounting region and the second mounting region (the construed “first mounting region” and the “second mounting region” are spaced apart from the construed “third mounting region,” annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches wherein: the ventilation device comprises an airflow generating device (airflow generating device 22, fig. 3) configured to generate the airflow in an operating state (“the cooking chamber 2102 is connected to the airflow generating device 22 ,” para 0056).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches wherein the ventilation device (ventilation device 20, fig. 3) further comprises an externalized assembly (wind duct 23 and moving part 21, fig. 3; the duct 23 is “transparent,” para 0075 and is construed as being a transparent lid; the moving part is a “turbine or impeller,” para 0013) in communication with the airflow generating device (air flows and is in communication between the duct 23 and the generating device 22, para 0052), the externalized assembly being configured to display the airflow (para 0050).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches wherein the second mounting region is located between the first mounting region and the third mounting region (in the annotated fig. 2 above, the construed second mounting region is between the construed first and third mounting regions).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches wherein the externalized assembly (wind duct 23 and moving part 21, fig. 3) comprises:
a movable component (moving part 21, fig. 3) configured to move under pushing of the airflow generated by the airflow generating device (paras 0053 and 0060); and
a transparent lid (wind duct 23, fig. 3; the duct 23 is “transparent,” para 0075) disposed above the movable component (moving part 21, fig. 3) and configured to observe movement of the movable component (para 0057).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches wherein:
the upper lid (upper surface of lid body 10, fig. 2) has a first accommodation cavity (space inside duct 23, fig. 3; para 0058), the movable component being accommodated within the first accommodation cavity (“the moving part 21 is disposed in the air duct 23,” para 0057) and the transparent lid being fixedly connected to the upper lid to close an opening at an end of the first accommodation cavity (“the second viewing window 231 of the air duct 23 is corresponding to the first viewing window 11 of the cover 10,” para 0057; construed such that the window 231 is the window 11, which is fixedly connected to the cover 10 and which closes the space above the duct 23, figs. 2-3); or
the externalized assembly (wind duct 23 and fan blade 222, fig. 6; the fan blade 222 is construed as the claimed “movable component”) further comprises a housing (housing 221, fig. 6), the housing having a second accommodation cavity (space inside housing 221, fig. 6), the movable component (fan blade 222, fig. 6) being accommodated within the second accommodation cavity (para 0063), the transparent lid being connected to the housing to close an opening at an end of the second accommodation cavity (window 2211 covers the housing 221, fig. 6), wherein the externalized assembly is fixedly connected to the upper lid (“the third viewing window 2211 of the housing 221 is corresponding to the first viewing window 11 of the cover 10,” para 0063; construed such that the window 2211 is the window 11, which is fixedly connected to the cover 10 and which closes the space above the housing 221, para 0064).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches a cooking apparatus (cooking appliance 200, fig. 7), comprising:
the lid assembly (lid assembly 100, fig. 1) according to claim 1 (please see the rejection for claim 1 above); and
a body (body of pot assembly 210, fig. 8) having a cooking cavity (cavity 2102, fig. 8) with an opening at an end of the body (opening at the top of assembly 210, fig. 8), wherein:
the lid assembly is configured to expose or close the opening of the cooking cavity (lid assembly 100 closes or covers over the assembly 210, para 0071); and
the ventilation device (ventilation device 20, fig. 3) is configured to generate an airflow to disturb gas in the cooking cavity (“ventilating” the cavity 2102 is construed as disturbing the gas in the cavity, para 0071).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches wherein the lid assembly further comprises a control panel disposed in the third mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 below).
Huang, fig. 2 (annotated)
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches wherein: the upper lid further has a third mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 above) spaced apart from each of the first mounting region and the second mounting region (the construed “first mounting region” and the “second mounting region” are spaced apart from the construed “third mounting region,” annotated fig. 2); and the lid assembly further comprises a control panel disposed in the third mounting region (annotated in fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches wherein the second mounting region is located between the first mounting region and the third mounting region (in the annotated fig. 2 above, the construed second mounting region is between the construed first and third mounting regions).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN-212912888-U, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Li et al. (WO-2020000911-A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, 10, and 14 above and further in view of Zhu et al. (CN-109549460-A, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second mounting region and the third mounting region are spaced apart from each other by a second predetermined value greater than or equal to 20 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Zhu teaches wherein the second mounting region (outer cover 30, fig. 5) and the third mounting region (panel 20, fig. 5) are spaced apart from each other by a second predetermined value greater than or equal to 20 mm (“the distance between the midpoint of each side and the inner wall of the outer cover 30 is represented by L2 …it can be… 20 mm,” para 0047).
Zhu, fig. 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Zhu, by using a distance of 20 mm, as taught by Zhu, as the distance between the construed second and third mounting regions, as taught by Huang, where the distance is a results-effective variable that should be optimized in order to avoid contact between the panel and the window 11 but the distance is not so far that the control panel is unreliably fixed to the cover 10 or so far as to detract from actual needs, e.g., the wiring between the control panel and the heater (Zhu, para 0047).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second mounting region and the third mounting region are spaced apart from each other by a second predetermined value greater than or equal to 20 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Zhu teaches wherein the second mounting region (outer cover 30, fig. 5) and the third mounting region (panel 20, fig. 5) are spaced apart from each other by a second predetermined value greater than or equal to 20 mm (“the distance between the midpoint of each side and the inner wall of the outer cover 30 is represented by L2 …it can be… 20 mm,” para 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Zhu, by using a distance of 20 mm, as taught by Zhu, as the distance between the construed second and third mounting regions, as taught by Huang, where the distance is a results-effective variable that should be optimized in order to avoid contact between the panel and the window 11 but the distance is not so far that the control panel is unreliably fixed to the cover 10 or so far as to detract from actual needs, e.g., the wiring between the control panel and the heater (Zhu, para 0047).
Claims 12, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN-212912888-U, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Li et al. (WO-2020000911-A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, 10-11, and 14 above and further in view of Gong et al. (CN-112806828-A, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control panel is configured to control the airflow generating device to operate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Gong teaches wherein the control panel (control unit 206, fig. 2) is configured to control the airflow generating device to operate (the control unit initiates a command signal for the ventilation component if the freshness of the aged material is lower than a predetermined standard, para 0029).
Gong, fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Gong, by using the construed control panel to control the ventilation device 20, as taught by Huang, when the freshness of the aged material is lower than a predetermined standard, as taught by Gong, in order to ventilate based on the type of rice, because the ventilation time should be adjusted based on the type of rice to improve the efficiency of removing rice odor substances (Gong, para 0071).
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches wherein: the ventilation device comprises an airflow generating device (airflow generating device 22, fig. 3) configured to generate the airflow in an operating state (“the cooking chamber 2102 is connected to the airflow generating device 22 ,” para 0056).
Huang does not explicitly disclose the control panel is configured to control the airflow generating device to operate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cooking apparatuses, Gong teaches the control panel (control unit 206, fig. 2) is configured to control the airflow generating device to operate (the control unit initiates a command signal for the ventilation component if the freshness of the aged material is lower than a predetermined standard, para 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Huang, in view of the teachings of Gong, by using the construed control panel to control the ventilation device 20, as taught by Huang, when the freshness of the aged material is lower than a predetermined standard, as taught by Gong, in order to ventilate based on the type of rice, because the ventilation time should be adjusted based on the type of rice to improve the efficiency of removing rice odor substances (Gong, para 0071).
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches wherein the ventilation device (ventilation device 20, fig. 3) further comprises an externalized assembly (wind duct 23 and moving part 21, fig. 3; the duct 23 is “transparent,” para 0075 and is construed as being a transparent lid; the moving part is a “turbine or impeller,” para 0013) in communication with the airflow generating device (air flows and is in communication between the duct 23 and the generating device 22, para 0052), the externalized assembly being configured to display the airflow (para 0050).
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches wherein the externalized assembly (wind duct 23 and moving part 21, fig. 3) comprises:
a movable component (moving part 21, fig. 3) configured to move under pushing of the airflow generated by the airflow generating device (paras 0053 and 0060); and
a transparent lid (wind duct 23, fig. 3; the duct 23 is “transparent,” para 0075) disposed above the movable component (moving part 21, fig. 3) and configured to observe movement of the movable component (para 0057).
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches wherein:
the upper lid (upper surface of lid body 10, fig. 2) has a first accommodation cavity (space inside duct 23, fig. 3; para 0058), the movable component being accommodated within the first accommodation cavity (“the moving part 21 is disposed in the air duct 23,” para 0057) and the transparent lid being fixedly connected to the upper lid to close an opening at an end of the first accommodation cavity (“the second viewing window 231 of the air duct 23 is corresponding to the first viewing window 11 of the cover 10,” para 0057; construed such that the window 231 is the window 11, which is fixedly connected to the cover 10 and which closes the space above the duct 23, figs. 2-3); or
the externalized assembly (wind duct 23 and fan blade 222, fig. 6; the fan blade 222 is construed as the claimed “movable component”) further comprises a housing (housing 221, fig. 6), the housing having a second accommodation cavity (space inside housing 221, fig. 6), the movable component (fan blade 222, fig. 6) being accommodated within the second accommodation cavity (para 0063), the transparent lid being connected to the housing to close an opening at an end of the second accommodation cavity (window 2211 covers the housing 221, fig. 6), wherein the externalized assembly is fixedly connected to the upper lid (“the third viewing window 2211 of the housing 221 is corresponding to the first viewing window 11 of the cover 10,” para 0063; construed such that the window 2211 is the window 11, which is fixedly connected to the cover 10 and which closes the space above the housing 221, para 0064).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Linnewiel et al. (US-9353954-B2) teach ventilation of coking devices.
Gill et al. (US-20190231127-A1) teach a cooking device that includes a ventilation device.
Luo et al. (US-20240115067-A1) teach an application similar to the Instant Application
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/4/2026