Priority
This Application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/081544, filed Mar. 17, 2022 and claims foreign priority to PCT/CN2021/081514, filed Mar. 18, 2021 in China.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Mar. 12, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status – Response to Restriction/ Election Requirement
Claims 1-60 are currently pending.
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on Mar. 12, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). The restriction requirement was based on unity of invention for this national stage application. The Applicant traversed on the grounds that the Application contains the same technical feature (the compound of formula (I)) and thus there is no search burden. Restriction was required on the grounds that unity was broken due to a shared technical feature which does not make a contribution over the prior art (the compound of formula (I)). The Applicant did not traverse unity of invention and thus did not distinctly and specifically point out the error in the restriction requirement.
Applicant’s election of compound 4, having the structure:
in the reply filed on Mar. 12, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-3, 12, 21-33 and 47-55 read on the elected invention and are currently active and subject to examination. Claims 4-11, 13-20, 34-46 and 56-60 are withdrawn.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
“(b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.”
“The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.”
Claims 1-3, 12, 21-33, 47-53 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the compound of formula I of claim 1 because claim 1 includes contradicting definitions for the allowed members of the compound of formula I in (i) and (ii). The limitation (i) states:
Limitation (ii) states:
It is unclear what definition applies because there is a broader range or limitation followed by a narrower range or limitation.
Claims 2-3, 12, 21-33, 47-53 and 55 depend from claim 1 and do not resolve this ambiguity and are therefore also indefinite.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
“A person shall be entitled to a patent unless -
Claim(s) 1-2, 21-23, 31-33, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhong et al. (Supporting information, ACS Infectious Diseases, Vol. 5, No. 3, 326-335, Jan. 35, 2019) (of record, IDS July 24, 2024).
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula I:
Zhong teaches a compound falling within formula I:
(Zhong, p. S19, compound 60).
As in formula I of claim 1, X is N, X1, X2 and X3 are C, Y is absent, Ra, Rb and Rc are H, Ar1 is phenyl,
, R1 is C3-alkoxy, m is 1, and n, p and q are 0.
Thus, claim 1 is anticipated.
Claims 2, 21-23, 31-33, and 47 read on the above compound 60 and are therefore also anticipated.
Claim(s) 1-3, 21-23, 31-33, 47, 49 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marino et al. (WO2009097474A1) (of record, IDS Sept. 11, 2023, cite no. 3).
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula I:
Marino teaches compounds falling within formula I. For example:
Marino, Specification, p. 34, Example 12.
Id., p. 36, Example 13.
As in formula I of claim 1, X is N, X1, X2 and X3 are C, Y is absent, Ra, Rb and Rc are H, Ar1 is phenyl,
, Ar3 is phenyl, R1 is for each occurrence, C1-alkyl or halogen, wherein the alkyl is substituted with halogen, R2 is NRpRq, p is 0, n is 1, and m is 1 or 2.
Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
Claims 2-3, 21-23, 31-33, 47, and 49 read on the above compound(s) and are therefore also anticipated.
Claim 55 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound according to claim 1 and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Marino teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (Marino, Specification, p. 43-44).
Therefore, claim 55 is anticipated.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
“A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.”
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 21-25, 31-33, 47-53 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daugan et al. (US20190345138A1) in view of Harris (Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Patents, Vol. 31, p. 137-151, published Dec. 4, 2020) (of record, cite no. 12, IDS Mar. 12, 2026).
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula I:
Daugan teaches similar RIP1 kinase inhibitors largely similar to the compound of formula I. For example:
Daugan, Specification, p. 47, ex. 4;
Id., p. 89, ex. 121;
Id., p. 101, ex. 140;
Id., p. 106, ex. 148.
These compounds have typical inhibitory activity for compounds within this class—pIC50 between 6.0 and 9.0 (Id., p. 122, paragraph [0861]), which is an IC50 value between 1 nM and 1 µM.
. Compounds 4, 140 and 148 have excellent inhibitory activity for compounds of the class— pIC50 between 8.0 and 9.0 (Id., p. 122, paragraphs [0863], [0868]), which is an IC50 value between 1 and 10 nM.
These compounds differ from formula I in that there is a dihydropyrazole instead of an open chain benzylamide. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute an open chain benzylamide for dihydropyrazole and arrive at the compound of formula I because it is commonly known in the art that benzylamide is a bioisostere of dihydropyrazole in the binding pocket of the RIP1 receptor.
For example, Harris shows that the dihydropyrazole structure has been modified to give open chain analogs (e.g. compound 20 vs. compound 24):
Harris, Fig. 11, p. 144;
Harris, Fig. 12, p. 145.
Therefore, claim 1 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claims 2-3, 12, 21-25, 31-33, 47-48, 50, 51 and 53 read on the compounds 121, 140 and 148 as described in claim 1 above and are prima facie obvious for the reasons given in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 49 is directed towards the compound of claim 1, wherein R1 is independently selected from F, Cl, cyano, CF3 CF2H and CH3.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to develop a RIP1 inhibitor wherein R1 is independently selected from F, Cl, cyano, CF3 CF2H and CH3 because these substituents are commonly known in the art for RIP1 inhibitors.
For example, Daugan teaches similar RIP1 inhibitors wherein R1 is F:
Id., p. 70, ex. 78.
Therefore, claim 49 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 52 is directed towards the compound of claim 1, wherein R4 is independently selected from F and CH3.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to develop a RIP1 inhibitor wherein R4 is independently selected from F, Cl, cyano, CF3 CF2H and CH3 because these substituents are commonly known in the art for RIP1 inhibitors.
For example, Harris teaches similar RIP1 inhibitors wherein R4 is F (compound 27, Fig. 12, p. 125).
Therefore, claim 52 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 55 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound according to claim 1 and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Daugan teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the RIP1 inhibitor and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (Daugan, Specification, paragraph [0649]). Therefore, claim 55 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 21-33, 47-53 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daugan et al. (US20190345138A1) in view of Harris (Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Patents, Vol. 31, p. 137-151, published Dec. 4, 2020), as applied to claim(s) 1-3, 12, 21-25, 31-33, 47-53 and 55 above, and further in view of Wipf (Bioisosterism, p. 43-64, Feb. 14, 2008).
The rejection of claims 1-3, 12, 21-25, 31-33, 47-53 and 55 above as obvious over Daugan in view of Harris is incorporated herein by reference.
Claims 26-30 are directed towards the compound of claim 1, wherein Ar3 is triazole. As shown in the rejection of claim 1 above, Daugan teaches a compound of claim 1 wherein Ar3 is tetrazole. While Daugan does not specifically teach a compound wherein Ar3 is triazole, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute triazole for tetrazole because N is a known ring equivalent for CH.
For example, see the teachings of Wipf:
Wipf, p. 45.
Therefore, claims 26-30 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1, 21-33, 47-51, 53 and 55 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 17/998,552 (herein the ‘552 application) in view of Harris (Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Patents, Vol. 31, p. 137-151, published Dec. 4, 2020) (of record, cite no. 12, IDS Mar. 12, 2026).
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula I:
The ‘552 application claims compounds largely similar to the compounds of formula I. For example:
(‘552 application, claim 20).
These compounds differ from formula I in that there is a dihydropyrazole instead of an open chain benzylamide. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute an open chain benzylamide for dihydropyrazole and arrive at the compound of formula I because it is commonly known in the art that benzylamide is a bioisostere of dihydropyrazole in the binding pocket of the RIP1 receptor.
For example, Harris shows that the dihydropyrazole structure has been modified to give open chain analogs:
Harris, Fig. 11, p. 144;
Harris, Fig. 12, p. 145.
Therefore, claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 21-33, 47-51, and 53 read on the above compound 1 and are provisionally rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 55 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound as is claim 21 of the ‘552 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 12, 21-33 and 47-55 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,454,529 (herein “the ‘549 patent”) in view of Harris (Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Patents, Vol. 31, p. 137-151, published Dec. 4, 2020) (of record, cite no. 12, IDS Mar. 12, 2026).
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula I:
.
For example, claim 55 is directed towards the following compound of formula I of claim 1:
.
(instant claim 55).
The ‘529 patent claims largely similar compounds. For example:
(‘529, claim 26).
This compound differs from instantly claimed compound 4 in two aspects. First in that there is a dihydropyrazole instead of an open chain benzylamide. Second in that X3 is N vs. C.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute an open chain benzylamide for dihydropyrazole and C for N for X3 and arrive at the compound of formula I because it is commonly known in the art that benzylamide is a bioisostere of dihydropyrazole in the binding pocket of the RIP1 receptor as well as that X3 is C in most RIP1 inhibitors.
For example, Harris shows that the dihydropyrazole structure has been modified to give open chain analogs and that X3 is C in known RIP1 inhibitors:
Harris, Fig. 11, p. 144;
Harris, Fig. 12, p. 145.
Therefore, claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 2-3, 12, 21-33, 47-51 and 53-54 read on the above compounds and are therefore prima facie obvious and rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting for the reasons given in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 52 is directed towards the compound of claim 1, wherein R4 is F. While the ‘529 patent does not claim a compound wherein R4 is F, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to obtain a RIP1 inhibitor wherein R4 is F because such RIP1 inhibitors are commonly known in the art. For example, see compound 27 of Harris above (Harris, Fig. 12, p. 145).
Claim 55 of the instant application claims a pharmaceutical composition like claim 27 of the ‘529 application and is therefore rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole is unpatentable over the claims of the ‘529 patent in view of Harris.
Claims 1, 21-33, 47-51, 53 and 55 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of copending Application No. 18/561,308 (herein the ‘308 application) in view of Harris (Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Patents, Vol. 31, p. 137-151, published Dec. 4, 2020) (of record, cite no. 12, IDS Mar. 12, 2026). While the claims at issue are not identical they are not patentably distinct because the ‘308 application claims compounds largely similar to formula I. For example:
(‘308 application, claim 37). The compounds of the ‘308 application are nearly identical to and comparable to the compounds of the ‘552 application for the purposes of the rejection. Claims 1, 21-33, 47-51, and 53 are provisionally rejected on the same grounds as given in the provisional rejection of these claims over the ‘552 application, incorporated herein by reference.
Claim 38 of the ‘308 application claims a pharmaceutical composition as does claim 55 of the instant application and claim 55 is therefore provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/HEATHER DAHLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629