Priority
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on September 11, 2023. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Furuichi (WO 2019026375 A1). This reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated September 11, 2023. Please note that, for ease of citations, the paragraphs in U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0100005 are being used, but the content between the U.S. based application and the WIPO application is the same, and the WIPO application is being relied on for the filing date.
Regarding Claim 1,
Furuichi discloses: A communication control apparatus comprising: a processing unit configured to perform processing for calculating interference power for each beam, a plurality of communication apparatuses capable of transmitting at least one beam giving the interference power to a protection target through transmission of the beam
[0192] The embodiment of the present disclosure has been described above in detail with reference to FIGS. 1 to 13. As described above, the frequency administration database 100 according to the present embodiment acquires the geolocation information of the datum point for the interference calculation of the primary system and calculates or acquires the interference acceptable amount at the datum point. Moreover, the frequency administration database 100 acquires the geolocation information, antenna information, and beam pattern information of each of the wireless nodes 300 belonging to the secondary system. The beam pattern information indicates beam patterns usable by the wireless node 300. Subsequently, on the basis of these acquired or calculated pieces of information, the frequency administration database 100 determines the permitted beam information that is information regarding a beam permitted to the wireless node 300. Then, the frequency administration database 100 notifies the wireless node 300 or the network manager 200 of the determined permitted beam information. The wireless node 300 is under the management of the network manager 200.
[0193] Thus, in the present embodiment, the information regarding the permitted beam is determined for the wireless node 300 that secondarily uses a frequency and performs beam forming. This enables flexible beam management that restrains the use of a beam against which protection of another system such as the primary system is difficult among beams usable by the wireless nodes 300 and permits the use of a beam against which the protection is possible.
Note: The “interference calculation of the primary system” is being interpreted as the calculated interference power.
and decreasing or increasing transmission power for each beam to a value at which total interference power in a case in which the plurality of communication apparatuses simultaneously transmit the beam is equal to or smaller than an interference margin indicating total allowable interference power of the protection target, on the basis of the interference margin.
[0095] A path-loss between the datum point for interference calculation of the primary system and each of the wireless nodes 300 is denoted by m.sub.g [dB]. The interference acceptable amount at the datum point is denoted by I.sub.req. The transmission power of the wireless node 300 is denoted by P [dBm]. A directional gain pointing in the direction toward the primary system is assumed to be G [dB]. The frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 to prevent a value given by subtracting the path-loss m.sub.g between the datum point and the wireless node 300 from a sum of the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless nodes 300 from exceeding the interference acceptable amount I.sub.req at the datum point. That is, the frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 that satisfy an expression (1) below.
L.sub.req≥P+G−m.sub.g (1)
[0116] Thus, even in a case where the wireless nodes 300 simultaneously transmit a plurality of beams, it is possible to protect the primary system irrespective of a combination of simultaneously transmitted beams.
[0119] It should be noted that the wireless node 300 is able to transmit the transmission signal at any transmission power equal to or lower than the permitted transmission power. The wireless node 300 may also select a plurality of permitted beams and simultaneously transmit the plurality of beams.
Note: The “interference acceptable amount” is the “interference margin”. Paragraph [0095] exbibits an equation that accounts for the transmission power, directional gain of the antenna, and the interference margin. The frequency administration databases adjusts the equation (“decreasing or increasing”) so that the power and gain do not exceed the interference margin.
Regarding Claim 2,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit calculates allowable interference power of the plurality of communication apparatuses on the basis of the interference margin of the protection target, and decreases transmission power of the beam of a first communication apparatus in which the interference power of the beam exceeds the allowable interference power among the plurality of communication apparatuses.
[0136] Specifically, on the basis of the geolocation information of the first wireless node 300 and the geolocation information of the second wireless node 300, the frequency administration database 100 first calculates a path-loss between these communication nodes. Subsequently, the frequency administration database 100 identifies beams that may adversely interfere with each other among permitted beams according to the permitted beam information of the first wireless node 300 and the permitted beam information of the second wireless node 300. For example, the frequency administration database 100 identifies, among beams transmittable from the first wireless node 300, a beam with an interference amount relative to the second wireless node 300 exceeding a predetermined threshold as the beam that may adversely interfere. For example, the predetermined threshold is acquired or calculated in a technique similar to that of the above interference acceptable amount. The frequency administration database 100 then reflects information indicating the identified beam that may adversely interfere in the permitted beam information. For example, the frequency administration database 100 deletes the information (a combination of the information indicating the beam pattern and the information indicating the transmission power) indicating the beam that may adversely interfere with the second wireless node 300 from the permitted beam information of the first wireless node 300. The same applies to the permitted beam information of the second wireless node 300.
Note: Paragraph [0116] states: The deleted information indicates at least a portion of the plurality of beams not permitted to be simultaneously used among the information indicating the permitted beams included in the permitted beam information. Hence, when information is deleted, beams are not transmitted, thus decreasing the overall transmission power.
Regarding Claim 5,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit decreases transmission power of a beam having the highest interference power among the plurality of beams of the first communication apparatus.
[0051] In the conventional protection method, the maximum permissible transmission power is set in accordance with a location of the wireless node 20 of the secondary system. In this regard, assuming a situation where interference is maximized, the maximum permissible transmission power for the wireless node 20 of the secondary system is set to allow the wireless node 10 of the primary system to be protected even if the wireless node 20 of the secondary system transmits a beam in the direction toward the wireless node 10 of the primary system. For example, the maximum permissible transmission power for the wireless node 20 of the secondary system is set with reference to the beam 21A. This restrains the wireless node 20 of the secondary system from transmitting a beam such as the beam 21C that reaches the inside of the protection contour 11. However, not only that, the same maximum permissible transmission power is applied to a beam transmitted in a direction different from the direction toward the wireless node 10 of the primary system. This results in uniformly restraining transmission of even a beam, such as the beam 21B against which the primary system is protectable.
Regarding Claim 6,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processing unit decreases the transmission power by first power.
[0087] The information regarding the beam permitted to the wireless node 300 is information including one or more combinations of information indicating a permitted beam pattern and information indicating a transmission power permitted for the use of the beam pattern. Thus, the permitted transmission power is determined per permitted beam pattern, allowing the transmission power to be determined per beam direction. Consequently, it is possible to achieve flexible beam management that, for example, permits a small transmission power to a beam pointing in the direction toward the primary system and a large transmission power to a beam pointing in another direction. In addition, the large transmission power is permitted to the beam not pointing in the direction toward the primary system, allowing the wireless node 300 to provide a wireless service to a terminal device located at a further distance with an improved frequency use efficiency. It should be noted that the information indicating the transmission power permitted for the use of the permitted beam pattern may be information indicating a range of the permitted transmission power or information indicating the permitted transmission power itself. For example, information corresponding to the former is a maximum permissible transmission power. The information regarding the beam permitted to the wireless node 300 is also referred to as permitted beam information hereinafter.
Note: Since beam power is determined in the pattern, the “first power” can be the small or large transmission power.
Regarding Claim 7,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processing unit selects, from among the plurality of beams of the first communication apparatus, a beam in which a difference from the interference power of the beam having the highest interference power is smaller than second power, and decreases transmission power of the selected beam.
[0144] In a case where it is determined that the first wireless node 300 and the wireless node 300 adversely interfere with each other (Step S206/YES), the frequency administration database 100 modifies at least one of the permitted beam information of the first wireless node 300 or the permitted beam information of the second wireless node 300 (Step S208). For example, the frequency administration database 100 deletes, from one of the pieces of permitted beam information, information of the beam that may adversely interfere with the other wireless node 300. The frequency administration database 100 then notifies first wireless node 300 of the modified permitted beam information of the first wireless node 300 and notifies the second wireless node 300 of the modified permitted beam information of the second wireless node 300 (Step S210).
Note: Since the beam information from the first or second wireless node is modified, and since the second power can be from the first or second wireless node, the modification leads to a decrease in power since the “adverse interference” is the measure of the level of interference according to the transmission power.
Regarding Claim 8,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the processing unit decreases transmission power of the selected beam by third power.
[0154] Then, on the basis of the permitted beam information of each of the wireless nodes 300A to 300C, the network manager 200 selects the wireless node 300 that is the destination of handover of the terminal device 400. For example, on the basis of the permitted beam information of each of the wireless nodes 300A and 300B, the network manager 200 recognizes that the wireless nodes 300A and 300B are each permitted to provide a beam pointing in a direction toward the cell edge 302. In addition, on the basis of the permitted beam information of each of the wireless node 300C, the network manager 200 recognizes that the wireless node 300C is not permitted to provide a beam pointing in a direction toward the cell edge 302. The network manager 200 then selects the wireless node 300A that is permitted to provide the beam pointing in the direction toward the cell edge 302, as the wireless node 300 that is the destination of handover of the terminal device 400.
Note: The third power would be from wireless node 300C, and since the beam cannot point towards the cell edge, the transmission power of the beam is reduced.
Regarding Claim 9,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 8, wherein interference power after the transmission power of the selected beam is decreased by the third power is the same as interference power of a beam with a highest interference power after transmission power of the beam with a highest interference power is decreased.
[0144] In a case where it is determined that the first wireless node 300 and the wireless node 300 adversely interfere with each other (Step S206/YES), the frequency administration database 100 modifies at least one of the permitted beam information of the first wireless node 300 or the permitted beam information of the second wireless node 300 (Step S208). For example, the frequency administration database 100 deletes, from one of the pieces of permitted beam information, information of the beam that may adversely interfere with the other wireless node 300. The frequency administration database 100 then notifies first wireless node 300 of the modified permitted beam information of the first wireless node 300 and notifies the second wireless node 300 of the modified permitted beam information of the second wireless node 300 (Step S210).
[0154] Then, on the basis of the permitted beam information of each of the wireless nodes 300A to 300C, the network manager 200 selects the wireless node 300 that is the destination of handover of the terminal device 400. For example, on the basis of the permitted beam information of each of the wireless nodes 300A and 300B, the network manager 200 recognizes that the wireless nodes 300A and 300B are each permitted to provide a beam pointing in a direction toward the cell edge 302. In addition, on the basis of the permitted beam information of each of the wireless node 300C, the network manager 200 recognizes that the wireless node 300C is not permitted to provide a beam pointing in a direction toward the cell edge 302. The network manager 200 then selects the wireless node 300A that is permitted to provide the beam pointing in the direction toward the cell edge 302, as the wireless node 300 that is the destination of handover of the terminal device 400.
Regarding Claim 12,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein there are a plurality of the protection targets, and the processing unit decreases or increases the transmission power for each beam to a value at which total interference power is equal to or smaller than the interference margin for each protection target with respect to all of the plurality of protection targets.
[0095] A path-loss between the datum point for interference calculation of the primary system and each of the wireless nodes 300 is denoted by m.sub.g [dB]. The interference acceptable amount at the datum point is denoted by I.sub.req. The transmission power of the wireless node 300 is denoted by P [dBm]. A directional gain pointing in the direction toward the primary system is assumed to be G [dB]. The frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 to prevent a value given by subtracting the path-loss m.sub.g between the datum point and the wireless node 300 from a sum of the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless nodes 300 from exceeding the interference acceptable amount I.sub.req at the datum point. That is, the frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 that satisfy an expression (1) below.
L.sub.req≥P+G−m.sub.g (1)
[0116] Thus, even in a case where the wireless nodes 300 simultaneously transmit a plurality of beams, it is possible to protect the primary system irrespective of a combination of simultaneously transmitted beams.
[0119] It should be noted that the wireless node 300 is able to transmit the transmission signal at any transmission power equal to or lower than the permitted transmission power. The wireless node 300 may also select a plurality of permitted beams and simultaneously transmit the plurality of beams.
Regarding Claim 14,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 1, comprising: a transmission unit configured to transmit information indicating the transmission power for each beam determined for the communication apparatus to the communication apparatus.
[0120] After selecting a beam to be transmitted (i.e., after selecting a beam pattern and a transmission power to be used) and before actually starting the transmission, the wireless node 300 may obtain a permission from the frequency administration database 100.
[0121] In this case, the wireless node 300 (e.g., processing section 353) first selects a beam to be transmitted on the basis of the permitted beam information. The wireless node 300 (e.g., notifying section 351) then notifies the frequency administration database 100 of information regarding the selected beam. Here, the information regarding the selected beam is information including one or more combinations of information indicating a selected beam pattern and information indicating a transmission power used for the use of the beam pattern.
Regarding Claim 15,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit specifies the beam that the communication apparatus is able to transmit on the basis of information on the communication apparatus.
[0121] In this case, the wireless node 300 (e.g., processing section 353) first selects a beam to be transmitted on the basis of the permitted beam information. The wireless node 300 (e.g., notifying section 351) then notifies the frequency administration database 100 of information regarding the selected beam. Here, the information regarding the selected beam is information including one or more combinations of information indicating a selected beam pattern and information indicating a transmission power used for the use of the beam pattern.
Regarding Claim 16,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the processing unit specifies the beam that can be transmitted by the communication apparatus by sampling the inside of a beam motion area of the communication apparatus.
[0119] The wireless node 300 (e.g., processing section 353) transmits a beam on the basis of the permitted beam information. If described in detail, the wireless node 300 selects a combination to be used among from combinations of the information indicating a permitted beam pattern and the information indicating a transmission power permitted for the use of the permitted beam pattern included in the permitted beam information. The wireless node 300 then forms a beam on the basis of the information indicating the beam pattern according to the selected combination and transmits a transmission signal at the transmission power according to the combination with use of the beam. In a case where the information indicating the beam pattern is the precoding matrix, the weight matrix, or the steering vector, the wireless node 300 forms the beam by multiplying the transmission signal by these matrices. In a case where the information indicating the beam pattern is a combination of the elevation angle, the azimuth angle, and the beam width of the antenna, the wireless node 300 forms the beam by physically moving the antenna in accordance these parameters. It should be noted that the wireless node 300 is able to transmit the transmission signal at any transmission power equal to or lower than the permitted transmission power. The wireless node 300 may also select a plurality of permitted beams and simultaneously transmit the plurality of beams.
Note: The “beam motion area” is being interpreted as elevation and azimuth angles.
Regarding Claim 17,
Furuichi discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit calculates interference power given to the protection target through simultaneous transmission of two or more beams when the communication apparatus is able to transmit the two or more beams simultaneously.
[0095] A path-loss between the datum point for interference calculation of the primary system and each of the wireless nodes 300 is denoted by m.sub.g [dB]. The interference acceptable amount at the datum point is denoted by I.sub.req. The transmission power of the wireless node 300 is denoted by P [dBm]. A directional gain pointing in the direction toward the primary system is assumed to be G [dB]. The frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 to prevent a value given by subtracting the path-loss m.sub.g between the datum point and the wireless node 300 from a sum of the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless nodes 300 from exceeding the interference acceptable amount I.sub.req at the datum point. That is, the frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 that satisfy an expression (1) below.
L.sub.req≥P+G−m.sub.g (1)
[0116] Thus, even in a case where the wireless nodes 300 simultaneously transmit a plurality of beams, it is possible to protect the primary system irrespective of a combination of simultaneously transmitted beams.
[0119] It should be noted that the wireless node 300 is able to transmit the transmission signal at any transmission power equal to or lower than the permitted transmission power. The wireless node 300 may also select a plurality of permitted beams and simultaneously transmit the plurality of beams.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Furuichi discloses: A communication control method comprising: calculating interference power for each beam, a plurality of communication apparatuses capable of transmitting at least one beam giving the interference power to a protection target through transmission of the beam
[0192] The embodiment of the present disclosure has been described above in detail with reference to FIGS. 1 to 13. As described above, the frequency administration database 100 according to the present embodiment acquires the geolocation information of the datum point for the interference calculation of the primary system and calculates or acquires the interference acceptable amount at the datum point. Moreover, the frequency administration database 100 acquires the geolocation information, antenna information, and beam pattern information of each of the wireless nodes 300 belonging to the secondary system. The beam pattern information indicates beam patterns usable by the wireless node 300. Subsequently, on the basis of these acquired or calculated pieces of information, the frequency administration database 100 determines the permitted beam information that is information regarding a beam permitted to the wireless node 300. Then, the frequency administration database 100 notifies the wireless node 300 or the network manager 200 of the determined permitted beam information. The wireless node 300 is under the management of the network manager 200.
[0193] Thus, in the present embodiment, the information regarding the permitted beam is determined for the wireless node 300 that secondarily uses a frequency and performs beam forming. This enables flexible beam management that restrains the use of a beam against which protection of another system such as the primary system is difficult among beams usable by the wireless nodes 300 and permits the use of a beam against which the protection is possible.
Note: The “interference calculation of the primary system” is being interpreted as the calculated interference power.
and performing processing for decreasing or increasing transmission power for each beam to a value at which total interference power in a case in which the plurality of communication apparatuses simultaneously transmit the beam is equal to or smaller than an interference margin indicating total allowable interference power of the protection target, on the basis of the interference margin.
[0095] A path-loss between the datum point for interference calculation of the primary system and each of the wireless nodes 300 is denoted by m.sub.g [dB]. The interference acceptable amount at the datum point is denoted by I.sub.req. The transmission power of the wireless node 300 is denoted by P [dBm]. A directional gain pointing in the direction toward the primary system is assumed to be G [dB]. The frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 to prevent a value given by subtracting the path-loss m.sub.g between the datum point and the wireless node 300 from a sum of the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless nodes 300 from exceeding the interference acceptable amount I.sub.req at the datum point. That is, the frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 that satisfy an expression (1) below.
L.sub.req≥P+G−m.sub.g (1)
[0116] Thus, even in a case where the wireless nodes 300 simultaneously transmit a plurality of beams, it is possible to protect the primary system irrespective of a combination of simultaneously transmitted beams.
[0119] It should be noted that the wireless node 300 is able to transmit the transmission signal at any transmission power equal to or lower than the permitted transmission power. The wireless node 300 may also select a plurality of permitted beams and simultaneously transmit the plurality of beams.
Note: The “interference acceptable amount: is the “interference margin”. Paragraph [0095] exbibits an equation that accounts for the transmission power, directional gain of the antenna, and the interference margin. The frequency administration databases adjusts the equation (“decreasing or increasing”) so that the power and gain do not exceed the interference margin.
Regarding Claim 20,
Furuichi discloses: A communication apparatus comprising: a transmission unit configured to selectively transmit a plurality of beams
[0119] It should be noted that the wireless node 300 is able to transmit the transmission signal at any transmission power equal to or lower than the permitted transmission power. The wireless node 300 may also select a plurality of permitted beams and simultaneously transmit the plurality of beams.
a reception unit configured to receive information indicating transmission power for each beam
[0087] The information regarding the beam permitted to the wireless node 300 is information including one or more combinations of information indicating a permitted beam pattern and information indicating a transmission power permitted for the use of the beam pattern. Thus, the permitted transmission power is determined per permitted beam pattern, allowing the transmission power to be determined per beam direction. Consequently, it is possible to achieve flexible beam management that, for example, permits a small transmission power to a beam pointing in the direction toward the primary system and a large transmission power to a beam pointing in another direction. In addition, the large transmission power is permitted to the beam not pointing in the direction toward the primary system, allowing the wireless node 300 to provide a wireless service to a terminal device located at a further distance with an improved frequency use efficiency. It should be noted that the information indicating the transmission power permitted for the use of the permitted beam pattern may be information indicating a range of the permitted transmission power or information indicating the permitted transmission power itself. For example, information corresponding to the former is a maximum permissible transmission power. The information regarding the beam permitted to the wireless node 300 is also referred to as permitted beam information hereinafter.
and a processing unit configured to control transmission power of the beam transmitted by the transmission unit on the basis of the information.
[0122] The frequency administration database 100 (e.g., second acquiring section 132) acquires the information regarding the beam selected by each of the wireless nodes 300 on the basis of the permitted beam information. Subsequently, on the basis of the information regarding the beam selected by the wireless node 300, the frequency administration database 100 (e.g., determining section 134) determines whether or not the beam selected by the wireless node 300 is permitted to be used. For example, the frequency administration database 100 determines whether or not the selected beam is permitted to be used by evaluating whether or not the beam (i.e., the beam pattern and the transmission power) selected by the wireless node 300 is effective, whether or not the beam adversely affects another system, or the like. The frequency administration database 100 (e.g., notifying section 135) then notifies the wireless node 300 of information indicating whether or not the beam selected by the wireless node 300 is permitted to be used.
Regarding Claim 21,
Furuichi discloses: A communication control apparatus comprising: a processing unit configured to calculate interference power for each beam, a plurality of communication apparatuses capable of transmitting at least one beam giving the interference power to a protection target through transmission of the beam
[0192] The embodiment of the present disclosure has been described above in detail with reference to FIGS. 1 to 13. As described above, the frequency administration database 100 according to the present embodiment acquires the geolocation information of the datum point for the interference calculation of the primary system and calculates or acquires the interference acceptable amount at the datum point. Moreover, the frequency administration database 100 acquires the geolocation information, antenna information, and beam pattern information of each of the wireless nodes 300 belonging to the secondary system. The beam pattern information indicates beam patterns usable by the wireless node 300. Subsequently, on the basis of these acquired or calculated pieces of information, the frequency administration database 100 determines the permitted beam information that is information regarding a beam permitted to the wireless node 300. Then, the frequency administration database 100 notifies the wireless node 300 or the network manager 200 of the determined permitted beam information. The wireless node 300 is under the management of the network manager 200.
[0193] Thus, in the present embodiment, the information regarding the permitted beam is determined for the wireless node 300 that secondarily uses a frequency and performs beam forming. This enables flexible beam management that restrains the use of a beam against which protection of another system such as the primary system is difficult among beams usable by the wireless nodes 300 and permits the use of a beam against which the protection is possible.
a processing unit configured to determine transmission power for each beam allowed for the communication apparatus on the basis of an interference margin indicating total allowable interference power of the protection target, and the interference power
[0095] A path-loss between the datum point for interference calculation of the primary system and each of the wireless nodes 300 is denoted by m.sub.g [dB]. The interference acceptable amount at the datum point is denoted by I.sub.req. The transmission power of the wireless node 300 is denoted by P [dBm]. A directional gain pointing in the direction toward the primary system is assumed to be G [dB]. The frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 to prevent a value given by subtracting the path-loss m.sub.g between the datum point and the wireless node 300 from a sum of the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless nodes 300 from exceeding the interference acceptable amount I.sub.req at the datum point. That is, the frequency administration database 100 determines the transmission power P and the directional gain G of the wireless node 300 that satisfy an expression (1) below.
L.sub.req≥P+G−m.sub.g (1)
[0116] Thus, even in a case where the wireless nodes 300 simultaneously transmit a plurality of beams, it is possible to protect the primary system irrespective of a combination of simultaneously transmitted beams.
[0119] It should be noted that the wireless node 300 is able to transmit the transmission signal at any transmission power equal to or lower than the permitted transmission power. The wireless node 300 may also select a plurality of permitted beams and simultaneously transmit the plurality of beams.
and a transmission unit configured to transmit information indicating the transmission power of each beam to the communication apparatus
[0136] Specifically, on the basis of the geolocation information of the first wireless node 300 and the geolocation information of the second wireless node 300, the frequency administration database 100 first calculates a path-loss between these communication nodes. Subsequently, the frequency administration database 100 identifies beams that may adversely interfere with each other among permitted beams according to the permitted beam information of the first wireless node 300 and the permitted beam information of the second wireless node 300. For example, the frequency administration database 100 identifies, among beams transmittable from the first wireless node 300, a beam with an interference amount relative to the second wireless node 300 exceeding a predetermined threshold as the beam that may adversely interfere. For example, the predetermined threshold is acquired or calculated in a technique similar to that of the above interference acceptable amount. The frequency administration database 100 then reflects information indicating the identified beam that may adversely interfere in the permitted beam information. For example, the frequency administration database 100 deletes the information (a combination of the information indicating the beam pattern and the information indicating the transmission power) indicating the beam that may adversely interfere with the second wireless node 300 from the permitted beam information of the first wireless node 300. The same applies to the permitted beam information of the second wireless node 300.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Furuichi in view of Furuichi (WO 2020008800 A1), herein referred to as “Furuichi II”. Please note that, for ease of citations, the paragraphs in U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0274357 are being used, but the content between the U.S. based application and the WIPO application is the same, and the WIPO application is being relied on for the filing date.
Regarding Claim 3,
Furuichi does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 3.
However, Furuichi II discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the communication control apparatus calculates a residual interference margin obtained by removing the allowable interference power of a second communication apparatus having an interference power of the beam equal to or lower than the allowable interference power among the plurality of communication apparatuses from the interference margin of the protection target
[0129] <3-2. Calculation Example of Residual Interference Margin>
[0130] Next, an example of distribution of the residual interference margin will be described. As has been described by using FIG. 1, a residual interference margin (a residual interference quantity) may be generated in the secondary system. FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram for describing the residual interference margin generated in the communication system 2. FIG. 10 indicates the total interference quantity set for each of the two communication control apparatuses 40 (the communication control apparatuses 40.sub.1 and 40.sub.2). Furthermore, FIG. 10 indicates the interference quantity (applied interference quantity) given to a prescribed protection point of the communication system 1 by the communication devices 20 (the communication devices 20.sub.1 to 20.sub.5) under control of the two communication control apparatuses 40. The interference quantity acquired by subtracting the interference quantities of the communication devices 20 from the total interference quantity of each of the two communication control apparatuses 40 is the residual interference margin.
Note: By subtracting the interference quantities form both devices, their interference power would be made equal.
calculates an allowable interference power allocable to the first communication apparatus on the basis of the residual interference margin
[0129] <3-2. Calculation Example of Residual Interference Margin>
[0130] Next, an example of distribution of the residual interference margin will be described. As has been described by using FIG. 1, a residual interference margin (a residual interference quantity) may be generated in the secondary system. FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram for describing the residual interference margin generated in the communication system 2. FIG. 10 indicates the total interference quantity set for each of the two communication control apparatuses 40 (the communication control apparatuses 40.sub.1 and 40.sub.2). Furthermore, FIG. 10 indicates the interference quantity (applied interference quantity) given to a prescribed protection point of the communication system 1 by the communication devices 20 (the communication devices 20.sub.1 to 20.sub.5) under control of the two communication control apparatuses 40. The interference quantity acquired by subtracting the interference quantities of the communication devices 20 from the total interference quantity of each of the two communication control apparatuses 40 is the residual interference margin.
and further decreases the transmission power of the beam of the first communication apparatus when the interference power by the beam of the first communication apparatus after decreasing the transmission power exceeds the calculated allowable interference power.
[0066] Then, when the interference estimated value exceeds the distributed interference quantity of the corresponding communication device 20, the communication control apparatus rejects the communication device 20 to make radio transmission with the desired maximum transmission power. At this time, the distributed interference quantity distributed to the rejected communication device 20 may become a part or whole of the residual interference margin (the residual interference quantity).
[0129] <3-2. Calculation Example of Residual Interference Margin>
[0130] Next, an example of distribution of the residual interference margin will be described. As has been described by using FIG. 1, a residual interference margin (a residual interference quantity) may be generated in the secondary system. FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram for describing the residual interference margin generated in the communication system 2. FIG. 10 indicates the total interference quantity set for each of the two communication control apparatuses 40 (the communication control apparatuses 40.sub.1 and 40.sub.2). Furthermore, FIG. 10 indicates the interference quantity (applied interference quantity) given to a prescribed protection point of the communication system 1 by the communication devices 20 (the communication devices 20.sub.1 to 20.sub.5) under control of the two communication control apparatuses 40. The interference quantity acquired by subtracting the interference quantities of the communication devices 20 from the total interference quantity of each of the two communication control apparatuses 40 is the residual interference margin.
Furuichi and Furuichi II are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furuichi to include the concept of calculating a residual interference margin as taught by Furuichi II so as to promote more reliable communications within the network.
Regarding Claim 10,
Furuichi does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 10.
However, Furuichi II discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit decreases transmission power of all beams whose interference power exceeds the allowable interference power among the plurality of beams of the first communication apparatus.
[0066] In the prior example, the communication control apparatus calculates the maximum acceptable transmission power of each of the communication devices 20 based on the distributed interference quantity that is distributed to each of the communication devices 20, and notifies the calculated maximum acceptable transmission power to each of the communication devices 20. However, as another approach, the communication device 20 may notify the maximum transmission power desired by itself (referred to as a desired maximum transmission power hereinafter) to the communication control apparatus. In that case, after receiving information on the desired maximum transmission power from the communication device 20, the communication control apparatus calculates an estimated value of the interference that may occur when the desired maximum transmission power is applied to the communication device 20. Then, when the interference estimated value exceeds the distributed interference quantity of the corresponding communication device 20, the communication control apparatus rejects the communication device 20 to make radio transmission with the desired maximum transmission power. At this time, the distributed interference quantity distributed to the rejected communication device 20 may become a part or whole of the residual interference margin (the residual interference quantity).
Furuichi and Furuichi II are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furuichi to include the concept of decreasing transmission power of all beams whose interference power exceeds the allowable interference power as taught by Furuichi II so as to promote more reliable communications within the network.
Regarding Claim 11,
Furuichi does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Furuichi II discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing unit decreases transmission power of all beams whose interference power exceeds the allowable interference power by fourth power.
[0066] In the prior example, the communication control apparatus calculates the maximum acceptable transmission power of each of the communication devices 20 based on the distributed interference quantity that is distributed to each of the communication devices 20, and notifies the calculated maximum acceptable transmission power to each of the communication devices 20. However, as another approach, the communication device 20 may notify the maximum transmission power desired by itself (referred to as a desired maximum transmission power hereinafter) to the communication control apparatus. In that case, after receiving information on the desired maximum transmission power from the communication device 20, the communication control apparatus calculates an estimated value of the interference that may occur when the desired maximum transmission power is applied to the communication device 20. Then, when the interference estimated value exceeds the distributed interference quantity of the corresponding communication device 20, the communication control apparatus rejects the communication device 20 to make radio transmission with the desired maximum transmission power. At this time, the distributed interference quantity distributed to the rejected communication device 20 may become a part or whole of the residual interference margin (the residual interference quantity).
[0078] The communication system 2 may include a plurality of communication devices 20, terminal devices 30, and communication control apparatuses 40, respectively. In the example of FIG. 4, the communication system 1 includes communication devices 20.sub.1, 20.sub.2, 20.sub.3, 20.sub.4, 20.sub.5, and the like as the communication devices 20. Furthermore, the communication system 2 includes terminal devices 30.sub.1, 30.sub.2, 30.sub.3, 30.sub.4, and the like as the terminal devices 30. Furthermore, the communication system 1 includes communication control apparatuses 40.sub.1, 40.sub.2, and the like as the communication control apparatuses 40.
Note: The fourth power is contained in the collection of devices in Figure 4.
Furuichi and Furuichi II are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furuichi to include the concept of decreasing transmission power of all beams whose interference power exceeds the allowable interference power as taught by Furuichi II so as to promote more reliable communications within the network.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Furuichi in view of Furuichi II, held further in view of Hannan (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0264591).
Regarding Claim 4,
Furuichi in view of Furuichi II does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Hannan discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processing unit calculates allowable interference power allocable to the first communication apparatus by dividing the residual interference margin by the number of the first communication apparatuses.
[0008] Q comprises a value of an allowed interference power limit associated with the protected area, and N comprises a value representing a total number of authorized radios operating in the neighborhood.
[0024] Given values for Q and N, then an acceptable average interference power limit for any transmissions from each of the N radios can be expressed as Q/N (i.e., Q divided by N). For example, the actual interference signal power, P.sub.I, contributed by any one radio to the cumulative interference signal power received at a protection point 114 is computable by the SAS 130 utilizing a function.
Furuichi in view of Furuichi II and Hannan are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furuichi in view of Furuichi II to include the concept of dividing the residual interference margin by the number of devices as taught by Hannan so as to promote more reliable communications within the network.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Furuichi in view of Furuichi II, held further in view of Wireless Innovation Forum “Test and Certification for Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS); Conformance and Performance Test Technical Specification; SAS as Unit Under Test (UUT),” Document WINNF-TS-0061, Version V1.5.1, October 7, 2019, herein referred to as “WINNF”. This reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated September 11, 2023.
Regarding Claim 13,
Furuichi in view of Furuichi II does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 13.
However, WINNF discloses: The communication control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processing unit iterates calculation of the residual interference margin and decreasing transmission power of the beam of the first communication apparatus until all interference powers of the plurality of beams of the first communication apparatus become equal to or smaller than the allowable interference power.
WINNF-TS-0112-V1.9.0
Note: Per this reference and Applicant’s specification at paragraph [0014], IAP stands for iterative allocation process. Since the IMG must be less than the total interference, the transmission power is decreased.
Furuichi in view of Furuichi II and WINNF are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furuichi in view of Furuichi II to include the concept of iterating the calculation of the residual interference margin as taught by WINNF so as to promote more reliable communications within the network.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411