DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schowengerdt (US 20150248012 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 2, Schowengerdt teaches a light source device (Fig. 6A, ¶61, a scanning fiber display 140 that scans light back and forth in an angular arc projected toward a single eye 58 viz. toward a same retina) comprising at least a projection optical system (144) configured to branch light (back and forth by the scanning, ¶61) emitted from a light source unit (display 140) into light in a plurality of directions (back and forth at an angle by the scanning, ¶61) and emit the light (shown by the rays exiting toward the eye), wherein the projection optical system emits the light in the plurality of directions toward an eyepiece optical unit (139) configured to receive light emitted from the projection optical system and emit the light to a retina of a user (see Figs. 5, 6A; ¶51, ¶58, ¶64 discuss retinal projection).
Regarding claim 3 and 4, Schowengerdt teaches the light source device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the projection optical system has: a light branching unit (the scanning fiber aspect of the display 140) configured to branch light emitted from the light source unit (the display aspect of the display 140) into light in a plurality of directions (¶61, Fig. 6A); and a light reflecting unit (124, having partially reflective/transmissive mirrors 124, 126, 128, 130, 132, 134; see ¶62, “The reflective surfaces (126, 128, 130, 132, 134, 136) may comprise … half silvered mirrors”) configured to reflect light in at least one direction among the light in the plurality of directions branched by the light branching unit (Fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 8, Schowengerdt teaches the light source device according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the light reflecting unit has an angular characteristic (each of 126 … 136 at an angle to the branching unit, i.e. the scanning fiber of 140) in which image light reflected by the light reflecting unit is not emitted to the light branching unit (Figs. 5 and 6A showing the light deflected solely toward the eye based on said angle; see also ¶54, angle selective coatings for the light reflecting unit in Figs. 5, ¶60, ¶62, express compatibility of the arrayed optical configurations of Figs. 5 with Fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 10, Schowengerdt teaches an image display device comprising: the light source device according to claim 1; and further discloses an eyepiece optical unit (139) configured to receive light emitted from the light source device and emit the light to a retina of a user (Fig. 6A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schowengerdt as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Schowengerdt teaches the light source device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein the projection optical system has a prism.
However, Schowengerdt explicitly shows that the scanning projection optical system may be configured as a prism without total internal reflection (¶229, Fig. 20F).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that only a straightforward modification already known to Schowengerdt would be required in order to configure the scanning fiber display of Figure 6A with a prism such that the scanning projection would be entirely predictable, e.g. for the purpose of utilizing conventional and inexpensive components to achieve the same effect.
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Schowengerdt teaches the light source device according to claim 1, and explicitly shows a plurality of light reflecting units (124, 126, 128, 130, 132, 134), but does not explicitly show wherein the projection optical system has a plurality of light branching units.
However, Schowengerdt explicitly shows that the scanning projection optical system may be configured with a plurality of light branching units (¶243, “If a set of angularly and laterally diverse beamlets is injected into a waveguide ( … may utilize a plurality of fiber scanners coming from different angles …), a number of exiting beamlets can be created at different exit angles and exit locations”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that only a straightforward modification already known to Schowengerdt would be required in order to configure the scanning fiber display of Figure 6A with a plurality of light branching units to illuminate the plurality of light reflecting units, e.g. for the purpose of scanning multiple fields of view for the purpose of expanding the viewable area.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schowengerdt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohkawa (WO 2018190007 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 9, Schowengerdt teaches the light source device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein the projection optical system further has an optical path length correction unit configured to correct an optical path length.
Ohkawa explicitly shows an analogous near eye display (Fig. 11) wherein the projection optical system further has an optical path length correction unit (30) configured to correct an optical path length (“The optical path length correction member 30 with a sufficient thickness reduces the optical path length difference of the beam with respect to the pupil of each pixel.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Ohkawa to correct deviations in optical path between the distinct beams of Schowengerdt for the purpose of preventing optical aberration of image formation to the eye.
Claim 11 and 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schowengerdt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takegawa (JP 10301055 A, of record).
Regarding claim 11 and 12, Schowengerdt teaches the image display device according to claim 10, Schowengerdt explicitly shows wherein the eyepiece optical unit has a diffractive optical element lens (¶62, “The lenses (138, 139) shown are refractive lenses, but diffractive lens elements may also be utilized”, diffractive lens elements being considered as holographic optical element lenses, well known to be a recorded hologram of a lens’ refractive effect).
Schowengerdt does not explicitly show the diffractive optical element lens is a holographic optical element lens, or wherein the light source device is disposed in a direction inclined with respect to a normal direction of a surface of the holographic optical element lens.
Takegawa explicitly shows an analogous image display device (Figs. 6, 9, 12) having a holographic optical element lens (27) wherein the light source device (26, 54, 103) is disposed in a direction inclined with respect to a normal direction of a surface of the holographic optical element lens (27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have followed the teachings of Takegawa and configured the light source device at non-normal angle with respect to the holographic lens element of the modified Schowengerdt for the purpose of reducing the size and form factor, improving cost of manufacture and comfort of the user.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schowengerdt as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Watanabe (US 20160320619 A1).
Regarding claim 13-15, Schowengerdt teaches the image display device according to claim 10, but does not explicitly show wherein the projection optical system further has a distortion correction unit configured to correct distortion of an image using a curved mirror or free-form surface lens.
Watanabe explicitly shows an analogous image display device (Fig. 1) having a projection optical system (Fig. 2) comprising distortion correction unit (L13, L32, M13) configured to correct distortion of an image (¶105) using a curved mirror (M13) and a free-form surface lens (L13, L32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the distortion correcting geometries of Watanabe to implement distortion correction in the device of Schowengerdt thus improving quality of the image for viewing by the user.
Conclusion
/COLLIN X BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872