DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flaig et al., Characterisation of the key aroma compounds in a Longjing green tea infusion (Camellia sinensis) by the sensomics approach and their quantitative changes during processing of the tea leaves, European Food Research and Technology (2020) 246:2411-2425 (FLAIG) (see IDS of 5/16/2025).
FLAIG teaches a tea infusion (i.e., beverage) obtained from Camellia sinesis tea leaves (i.e., solid composition of Sencha tea leaves) (see pg. 2413, Preparation of the green tea beverage) comprising 133 ug/L dimethyl sulphide to 1 ug/l of 1-penten-3-one (i.e., a 133:1 ratio). (z)-3-hexenol is also present. (see pg. 2420, Table 4).
Powdered compositions can also be prepared (pg. 2415, Quantitation of aroma compounds in the homogenized tea leaves)
Given the extract comprises the compounds in a ratio as claimed, the compounds are considered to be present in that same ratio in the solid composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FLAIG.
As to claim 5, FLAIG does not specifically teach a ratio of not less than 150. However, FLAIG does teach that these compounds are potent aroma compounds (see pg. 2420, Table 4). It would have been obvious to vary the amount compounds present based on the desired aroma.
The applicant is also respectfully reminded that while food items are patentable, the culinary creativity of chefs is not the type of creativity which meets the standards for patentability. See General Mills v. Pillsbury Co.,378 F.2d 666 (8th Cir.1967) (first commercially successful one step mix for angel food cakes is not patentable because of nonobviousness standard since alleged invention is only the exact proportion of an already known leavening agent). In this regard, courts have taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In re Levin, 178 F.2d 945, 948 (C.C.P.A.1949) (butter substitute not patentable).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FLAIG as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0263454 (SUGIYMA).
Claim 4 depends from claim 3. While claim 4 recites “further comprising” dextrins, claim 4 is considered to limit claim 3 as the linear dextrins and cyclic dextrins are two types of dextrins.
FLAIG teaches a tea composition but silent as to dextrins.
SUGIAYMA teaches that a carbohydrate sweetener such as maltodextrin (i.e., a linear dextrin) [0076] can be added and bitterness suppressor such as a cyclodextrin can be added to tea products [0078].
Thus, it would have been obvious to add a linear dextrin for sweetness and a cyclodextrin as a suppressor, as taught by SUGIYMAMA.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791