DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 5/7/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4- 6 are amended and claims 3 and 7 were cancelled. Claims 1- 2 and 4- 6 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in 5/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 7, last paragraph and page 8 first paragraph of the remarks filed on 5/7/2026, applicant argues, “That is, Melika at most teaches that request can include customer identifying information regarding a customer using a mobile device, the customer identifying information indicating approval or disapproval from a network (i.e., a license management server). However, Melika fails to teach the customer identifying information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager. In addition, Melika makes no mention of another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person. Thus, Melika fails to teach "the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person," as arranged by the above-referenced limitations. Therefore, Melika does not remedy the defects of Lal with respect to the above-referenced limitations of amended independent claim 1”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that as per the claim recitations, “..the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person” and also based on the remarks page 1 last paragraph regarding support for the amended language (i.e. [0032]… another device (e.g., the customer management server 500 or the SM server 400) may perform the processing.); Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service… the server 210 queries the database 212 (i.e. another terminal/device of a manager (i.e. manager as a #210)) for license status. Based on the license status returned in response to the query, the server 210 provides a response to the request to download the app. The response may be an authorization to download the application or a trigger that causes the download to occur automatically when the license status is valid indicating that the customer's subscription is successfully verified. Alternately, the response may prevent the download from occurring when the license status is invalid indicating that the customer's subscription status cannot be verified (e.g., subscription is expired). In some cases, the customer may be provided alternative options for accessing the application when the license status is invalid. Such alternative options can include but are not limited to: prompting the user to sign up for a subscription, renew the subscription, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements, has limited features or can be used for a limited period of time or requested to perform a task such as watching or listening to an advertisement or other promotional content, inviting a friend to sign up for the subscription service, sharing app usage related content on social media networks, or the like for a one-time or limited time use of the app; further see [0053]... subscription manager 505 can maintain a current subscription status for each user and store data relating to subscription such as customer ID, subscription ID, subscription status, subscription end date, subscription plan ID, billing cycle, billing frequency, list of apps downloaded, device ID, and the like in a customer database table associated with database 212. A subscription plan database table associated with database 212 may also be provided to store information relating to various features of subscription plans (e.g., features listed in Table 1) in association with corresponding subscription plan IDs; further see [0054]… The app manager 510 can also track and aggregate statistics relating to apps such as the number of times and date/time each app is downloaded, the number of times and date/time each application requests a license status check or license activation, and the like. Information relating to the app such as subscription plan ID, app publisher ID, price, tags, rating, restriction, number of license activations, number of license status checks, number of downloads, and the like may be stored in association with app ID in a database table associated with database 212; further see [0060].. if a user has downloaded the same app a large number of times or the same app is opened from different locations within a time period, such behavior can indicate fraud. On detecting a fraud event, certain action such as suspending the suspicious customer's subscription or invalidating the license status can be taken to stop and resolve the fraud event. The data tracked by the app consumption tracker can be stored in an app consumption database table in the database 212 in association with a customer ID; further see [0063]… Various data relating to user preferences, similarity between users, recommended applications for user, and the like can be stored in a recommendation database table in association with a customer ID in the database 212.
Now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2, 4- 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalwaney (US Pat. No. 10021558 B2), hereafter Lal in view of Melika et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0236846 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lal teaches a terminal comprising (see Fig. 1A #102 or Fig. 2 #200 can be a terminal here):
a receiver that receives, from a network, a profile that is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module and in which an active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes);
a transmitter that transmits, to the network, a request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request ); and
a processor that controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with instruction information for the request (pls refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes).
But Lal is silent about wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person.
However Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service… the server 210 queries the database 212 (i.e. another terminal/device of a manager (i.e. manager as a #210)) for license status. Based on the license status returned in response to the query, the server 210 provides a response to the request to download the app. The response may be an authorization to download the application or a trigger that causes the download to occur automatically when the license status is valid indicating that the customer's subscription is successfully verified. Alternately, the response may prevent the download from occurring when the license status is invalid indicating that the customer's subscription status cannot be verified (e.g., subscription is expired). In some cases, the customer may be provided alternative options for accessing the application when the license status is invalid. Such alternative options can include but are not limited to: prompting the user to sign up for a subscription, renew the subscription, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements, has limited features or can be used for a limited period of time or requested to perform a task such as watching or listening to an advertisement or other promotional content, inviting a friend to sign up for the subscription service, sharing app usage related content on social media networks, or the like for a one-time or limited time use of the app; further see [0053]... subscription manager 505 can maintain a current subscription status for each user and store data relating to subscription such as customer ID, subscription ID, subscription status, subscription end date, subscription plan ID, billing cycle, billing frequency, list of apps downloaded, device ID, and the like in a customer database table associated with database 212. A subscription plan database table associated with database 212 may also be provided to store information relating to various features of subscription plans (e.g., features listed in Table 1) in association with corresponding subscription plan IDs; further see [0054]… The app manager 510 can also track and aggregate statistics relating to apps such as the number of times and date/time each app is downloaded, the number of times and date/time each application requests a license status check or license activation, and the like. Information relating to the app such as subscription plan ID, app publisher ID, price, tags, rating, restriction, number of license activations, number of license status checks, number of downloads, and the like may be stored in association with app ID in a database table associated with database 212; further see [0060].. if a user has downloaded the same app a large number of times or the same app is opened from different locations within a time period, such behavior can indicate fraud. On detecting a fraud event, certain action such as suspending the suspicious customer's subscription or invalidating the license status can be taken to stop and resolve the fraud event. The data tracked by the app consumption tracker can be stored in an app consumption database table in the database 212 in association with a customer ID; further see [0063]… Various data relating to user preferences, similarity between users, recommended applications for user, and the like can be stored in a recommendation database table in association with a customer ID in the database 212.
Now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Melika with the teachings of Lal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person; greater way standardized approach can be carried out to having more control on request based communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Lal in view of Melika teaches as per claim 1, wherein the request is a request for activating the inactive profile, and theprocessor activates the inactive state of the profile in accordance with instruction information indicating approval for the request; Lal already discussed see Fig. 4B #420, 426…lines 34- 59 of col. 18…. wireless communication device processor may send a request for the selected configuration package to a network entity in block 420.... the wireless communication device processor may activate the installed configuration settings. In some examples, activation commands corresponding to the configuration settings may be included in the configuration package, and may be utilized by the wireless communication device processor…
Regarding claim 4, Lal teaches a server comprising (see Fig. 1A #102 or Fig. 2 #200 can be a terminal here and see lines 49- 64 of col. 5 for remote server as a server):
a receiver that receives a request for controlling an active or inactive state of a profile, which is transmitted from a terminal in which the profile in which the active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module; and a transmitter that transmits, to the terminal, instruction information for the request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes; now refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request; now refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes).
But Lal is silent about wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person.
However Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service… the server 210 queries the database 212 (i.e. another terminal/device of a manager (i.e. manager as a #210)) for license status. Based on the license status returned in response to the query, the server 210 provides a response to the request to download the app. The response may be an authorization to download the application or a trigger that causes the download to occur automatically when the license status is valid indicating that the customer's subscription is successfully verified. Alternately, the response may prevent the download from occurring when the license status is invalid indicating that the customer's subscription status cannot be verified (e.g., subscription is expired). In some cases, the customer may be provided alternative options for accessing the application when the license status is invalid. Such alternative options can include but are not limited to: prompting the user to sign up for a subscription, renew the subscription, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements, has limited features or can be used for a limited period of time or requested to perform a task such as watching or listening to an advertisement or other promotional content, inviting a friend to sign up for the subscription service, sharing app usage related content on social media networks, or the like for a one-time or limited time use of the app; further see [0053]... subscription manager 505 can maintain a current subscription status for each user and store data relating to subscription such as customer ID, subscription ID, subscription status, subscription end date, subscription plan ID, billing cycle, billing frequency, list of apps downloaded, device ID, and the like in a customer database table associated with database 212. A subscription plan database table associated with database 212 may also be provided to store information relating to various features of subscription plans (e.g., features listed in Table 1) in association with corresponding subscription plan IDs; further see [0054]… The app manager 510 can also track and aggregate statistics relating to apps such as the number of times and date/time each app is downloaded, the number of times and date/time each application requests a license status check or license activation, and the like. Information relating to the app such as subscription plan ID, app publisher ID, price, tags, rating, restriction, number of license activations, number of license status checks, number of downloads, and the like may be stored in association with app ID in a database table associated with database 212; further see [0060].. if a user has downloaded the same app a large number of times or the same app is opened from different locations within a time period, such behavior can indicate fraud. On detecting a fraud event, certain action such as suspending the suspicious customer's subscription or invalidating the license status can be taken to stop and resolve the fraud event. The data tracked by the app consumption tracker can be stored in an app consumption database table in the database 212 in association with a customer ID; further see [0063]… Various data relating to user preferences, similarity between users, recommended applications for user, and the like can be stored in a recommendation database table in association with a customer ID in the database 212.
Now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Melika with the teachings of Lal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person; greater way standardized approach can be carried out to having more control on request based communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 5, Lal teaches communication system comprising: a terminal including (see Fig. 1A #102 or Fig. 2 #200 can be a terminal here):
a receiver that receives, from a network, a profile that is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module and in which an active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes);
a transmitter that transmits, to the network, a request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request ); and
a processor that controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with instruction information for the request (pls refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes); and a server including a receiver that receives a request for controlling an active or inactive state of a profile, which is transmitted from a terminal in which the profile in which the active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module; and a transmitter that transmits, to the terminal, instruction information for the request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes; now refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request; now refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes).
But Lal is silent about wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person.
However Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service… the server 210 queries the database 212 (i.e. another terminal/device of a manager (i.e. manager as a #210)) for license status. Based on the license status returned in response to the query, the server 210 provides a response to the request to download the app. The response may be an authorization to download the application or a trigger that causes the download to occur automatically when the license status is valid indicating that the customer's subscription is successfully verified. Alternately, the response may prevent the download from occurring when the license status is invalid indicating that the customer's subscription status cannot be verified (e.g., subscription is expired). In some cases, the customer may be provided alternative options for accessing the application when the license status is invalid. Such alternative options can include but are not limited to: prompting the user to sign up for a subscription, renew the subscription, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements, has limited features or can be used for a limited period of time or requested to perform a task such as watching or listening to an advertisement or other promotional content, inviting a friend to sign up for the subscription service, sharing app usage related content on social media networks, or the like for a one-time or limited time use of the app; further see [0053]... subscription manager 505 can maintain a current subscription status for each user and store data relating to subscription such as customer ID, subscription ID, subscription status, subscription end date, subscription plan ID, billing cycle, billing frequency, list of apps downloaded, device ID, and the like in a customer database table associated with database 212. A subscription plan database table associated with database 212 may also be provided to store information relating to various features of subscription plans (e.g., features listed in Table 1) in association with corresponding subscription plan IDs; further see [0054]… The app manager 510 can also track and aggregate statistics relating to apps such as the number of times and date/time each app is downloaded, the number of times and date/time each application requests a license status check or license activation, and the like. Information relating to the app such as subscription plan ID, app publisher ID, price, tags, rating, restriction, number of license activations, number of license status checks, number of downloads, and the like may be stored in association with app ID in a database table associated with database 212; further see [0060].. if a user has downloaded the same app a large number of times or the same app is opened from different locations within a time period, such behavior can indicate fraud. On detecting a fraud event, certain action such as suspending the suspicious customer's subscription or invalidating the license status can be taken to stop and resolve the fraud event. The data tracked by the app consumption tracker can be stored in an app consumption database table in the database 212 in association with a customer ID; further see [0063]… Various data relating to user preferences, similarity between users, recommended applications for user, and the like can be stored in a recommendation database table in association with a customer ID in the database 212.
Now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Melika with the teachings of Lal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person; greater way standardized approach can be carried out to having more control on request based communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 6, Lal teaches a communication method comprising (see Fig. 1A #102 or Fig. 2 #200 can be a terminal here and see lines 49- 64 of col. 5 for remote server as a network):
receiving a request for controlling an active or inactive state of a profile, which is transmitted from a terminal in which the profile in which the active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module to a network; and transmitting, from the network to the terminal, instruction information for the request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes; now refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request; now refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes).
But Lal is silent about wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person.
However Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service… the server 210 queries the database 212 (i.e. another terminal/device of a manager (i.e. manager as a #210)) for license status. Based on the license status returned in response to the query, the server 210 provides a response to the request to download the app. The response may be an authorization to download the application or a trigger that causes the download to occur automatically when the license status is valid indicating that the customer's subscription is successfully verified. Alternately, the response may prevent the download from occurring when the license status is invalid indicating that the customer's subscription status cannot be verified (e.g., subscription is expired). In some cases, the customer may be provided alternative options for accessing the application when the license status is invalid. Such alternative options can include but are not limited to: prompting the user to sign up for a subscription, renew the subscription, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements, has limited features or can be used for a limited period of time or requested to perform a task such as watching or listening to an advertisement or other promotional content, inviting a friend to sign up for the subscription service, sharing app usage related content on social media networks, or the like for a one-time or limited time use of the app; further see [0053]... subscription manager 505 can maintain a current subscription status for each user and store data relating to subscription such as customer ID, subscription ID, subscription status, subscription end date, subscription plan ID, billing cycle, billing frequency, list of apps downloaded, device ID, and the like in a customer database table associated with database 212. A subscription plan database table associated with database 212 may also be provided to store information relating to various features of subscription plans (e.g., features listed in Table 1) in association with corresponding subscription plan IDs; further see [0054]… The app manager 510 can also track and aggregate statistics relating to apps such as the number of times and date/time each app is downloaded, the number of times and date/time each application requests a license status check or license activation, and the like. Information relating to the app such as subscription plan ID, app publisher ID, price, tags, rating, restriction, number of license activations, number of license status checks, number of downloads, and the like may be stored in association with app ID in a database table associated with database 212; further see [0060].. if a user has downloaded the same app a large number of times or the same app is opened from different locations within a time period, such behavior can indicate fraud. On detecting a fraud event, certain action such as suspending the suspicious customer's subscription or invalidating the license status can be taken to stop and resolve the fraud event. The data tracked by the app consumption tracker can be stored in an app consumption database table in the database 212 in association with a customer ID; further see [0063]… Various data relating to user preferences, similarity between users, recommended applications for user, and the like can be stored in a recommendation database table in association with a customer ID in the database 212.
Now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Melika with the teachings of Lal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from another terminal of a manager, whose information is associated with the information regarding the managed person; greater way standardized approach can be carried out to having more control on request based communication in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Inoue et al. (US Pat. No. 7103663 B2) teaches right management server manages usage of a content on a parent terminal and a child terminal. The right management server includes content usage right database that stores right information indicating a usage rule of a content for each terminal ID or user ID, and a parental control information management unit that acquires, from the parent terminal or the parent user, parental control information that is an instruction to put a restriction on usage of a content on the child terminal or by a child user, and stores the parental control information in a parental control information database. The right management server also includes a license ticket generation unit that acquires a license ticket issuance request from the child terminal or the child user, generates a license ticket that is information for permitting usage of the content on the child terminal or by the child user, under a usage rule with a restriction indicated by the parental control information which is held in the parental control information management unit, and sends the license ticket to the child terminal or the child user; see abstract.
Reference Schropfer et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0326550 A1) teaches in [0122] The user associated with the parent account can approve a request for a third-party website to be given access by the child. For example, the child account holder can request access to a sensitive system, such as money transfer, or purchase approval, but would need the parent or supervisor to allow the transaction to continue by responding appropriately on the mobile device; further see [0123] The user associated with the parent account can approve attempted purchases by the child account. For example, if the child account attempts to make a purchase, the parent account can be notified thereof, and approval requested 3910. This can be implemented where the child account has already logged in to 3PWebsite 150, and payment needs to be approved based on credentials on file with 3PWebsite 150. The parent may thus approve 3922, actuate a button 3950 via voice or haptic measures to carry out an instruction, disapprove 3920, or instruct that such requests always be blocked 3930; further see [0124] The user associated with the parent account can monitor activity associated with the parent account, as well as activity in one or more child accounts. As seen in FIG. 40, this can be accomplished via a history screen in the app. The activity history of the parent account 4010 can be displayed, as well as that of the child account 4020. In FIG. 40 is seen one child account, where a user with access to the parent account can see the activity log of the parent and child accounts.
Reference Day, II et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0232414 A9) teaches in [0143] about FIG. 3C shows four views of a mobile application sign in and settings process. A password view 340 can include user accessible fields for accepting and e-mail and password as shown. Alternatively other credential systems can be used. For example, a user can access the system using credentials associated with a social network account. The password view can accomplish functions similar to that of the introduction view 310, for example. Clicking a sign in button can provide a user access to a bifurcated user choice screen 344, allowing a user to choose who will use the device: a child or a parent. This can allow a single application software download that can function in either child mode or parent mode, depending on a selection in a process as indicated here in FIG. 3C, and/or in FIGS. 31 and 32, for example. Selection of a “my child” control button can result in the my child view 346; selection of a “parent/guardian” button can result in the parent/guardian view 348. Each option allows entry of a name, a save button, and a log out button. The my child option initiates a process that protects the device and tracks its activity. The parent/guardian option initiates a process that provides notifications to the device of protected services associated with children's devices on the same account.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479