DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 11/25/2025, claims 3 and 7 are cancelled, claims 1- 2, 4- 6 are amended. Claims 1- 2, 4- 6 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 11/25/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent claim; hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed, therefor examiner has considered a new reference Melika et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0236846 A1). Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service…;now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2, 4- 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalwaney (US Pat. No. 10021558 B2), hereafter Lal in view of Melika et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0236846 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lal teaches a terminal comprising (see Fig. 1A #102 or Fig. 2 #200 can be a terminal here):
a receiver that receives, from a network, a profile that is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module and in which an active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes);
a transmitter that transmits, to the network, a request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request ); and
a processor that controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with instruction information for the request (pls refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes). But Lal is silent about wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from a manager associated with the information regarding the managed person; however Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service…;now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Melika with the teachings of Lal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from a manager associated with the information regarding the managed person; greater way standardized approach can be carried out to having more control on request based communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Lal in view of Melika teaches as per claim 1, wherein the request is a request for activating the inactive profile, and theprocessor activates the inactive state of the profile in accordance with instruction information indicating approval for the request; Lal already discussed see Fig. 4B #420, 426…lines 34- 59 of col. 18…. wireless communication device processor may send a request for the selected configuration package to a network entity in block 420.... the wireless communication device processor may activate the installed configuration settings. In some examples, activation commands corresponding to the configuration settings may be included in the configuration package, and may be utilized by the wireless communication device processor…
Regarding claim 4, Lal teaches a server comprising (see Fig. 1A #102 or Fig. 2 #200 can be a terminal here and see lines 49- 64 of col. 5 for remote server as a server):
a receiver that receives a request for controlling an active or inactive state of a profile, which is transmitted from a terminal in which the profile in which the active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module; and a transmitter that transmits, to the terminal, instruction information for the request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes; now refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request; now refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes). But Lal is silent about wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the terminal controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from a manager associated with the information regarding the managed person; however Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service…;now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Melika with the teachings of Lal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the terminal controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from a manager associated with the information regarding the managed person; greater way standardized approach can be carried out to having more control on request based communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 5, Lal teaches communication system comprising: a terminal including (see Fig. 1A #102 or Fig. 2 #200 can be a terminal here):
a receiver that receives, from a network, a profile that is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module and in which an active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes);
a transmitter that transmits, to the network, a request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request ); and
a processor that controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with instruction information for the request (pls refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes); and a server including a receiver that receives a request for controlling an active or inactive state of a profile, which is transmitted from a terminal in which the profile in which the active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module; and a transmitter that transmits, to the terminal, instruction information for the request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes; now refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request; now refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes). But Lal is silent about wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from a manager associated with the information regarding the managed person; however Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service…;now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Melika with the teachings of Lal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the processor controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from a manager associated with the information regarding the managed person; greater way standardized approach can be carried out to having more control on request based communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 6, Lal teaches a communication method comprising (see Fig. 1A #102 or Fig. 2 #200 can be a terminal here and see lines 49- 64 of col. 5 for remote server as a network):
receiving a request for controlling an active or inactive state of a profile, which is transmitted from a terminal in which the profile in which the active or inactive state is able to be externally controlled is configured in an embedded subscriber identity module to a network; and transmitting, from the network to the terminal, instruction information for the request for controlling the active or inactive state of the profile (…wireless communication device (e.g., 102, 200) may be configured with one or more eUICC 352 capable of storing multiple SIM profiles, including an enabled SIM profile. SIM profiles may be controlled over-the-air (OTA) by a Subscription Manager 354…;see lines 4- 12 of col. 15 ; also refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5 wireless communication device configured with a eUICC may connect with a remote server using an initial provisioning profile to request access to a network. The remote server, which may be a subscription manager or other network entity (i.e. network here), provides a SIM profile to the mobile communication device. The SIM profile may be derived from information provided to the remote server by a mobile network operator (MNO), and may be stored on the remote server. The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes; now refer to Fig. 4A wherein after step 410 (i.e. that is downloading or installing new profile), pls refer to #418, 420 of Fig. 4B regarding sending request; now refer to #424 and 426 of Fig. 4B; further refer to lines 49- 64 of col. 5…The SIM profile may be downloaded by the wireless communication device, and saved in a eUICC. The wireless communication device may subsequently enable the SIM profile to enable communication on a wireless network (e.g., a mobile network operator (MNO)). In various examples, the remote server may authenticate the wireless communication device, confirming that the device is authorized to connect to the network operator, by any of a variety of existing authentication processes). But Lal is silent about wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the terminal controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from a manager associated with the information regarding the managed person; however Melika teaches in Fig. 2A wherein terminal can be a mobile device and server can be a network part; now refer to [0028]…. The license management server 210 of the subscription service platform 150 receives from a customer (i.e. managed person) using a mobile device 110, a download request to download an application. The request can include information that can be used to identify the customer or subscription associated with the request (hereinafter "customer identifying information". Such customer identifying information can include, but is not limited to: customer identification (ID), device ID, login credentials or access tokens associated with third-party services such as FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOOGLE, etc., biometric signature, voice signature, or any other information, identification or code that can be used to authenticate a user and grant access to use the app or the subscription service…;now refer to [0029]…. if the customer's subscription plan allows for download of 50 applications a month, and the customer has already downloaded the maximum allowed for the month, the server 210 can deny the download request and in some cases, provide the customer alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to purchase the requested app separately, upgrade to a subscription plan that allows download of the app, or any other alternative options described in this disclosure. Similarly, if the customer's subscription plan does not meet the requirements to download the requested app (e.g., the price of the app is above the subscription plan limit), the customer can be provided alternative options for accessing the app such as an option to upgrade to another subscription plan, purchase the app separately, download a version of the app that includes advertisements…; further see [0066].. even if the user is subscribed to a subscription plan but the requested app is not authorized for download under that subscription plan as determined at decision block 715, the server 210 can send a notification to the user at block 730 to requesting the user to upgrade to a subscription plan that allows the download of the app or purchase the app a la carte. In some instances, even if the subscription is valid, the server 210 can request the user to upgrade an expiring payment card so that the subscription does not expire, or provide some feedback in the form of rating or tags for apps before allowing the download to occur. (i.e. this way processor of mobile device of a customer has a control of whether upgrade/provide feedback/upgrade payment card/other way to have control to download requested app.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Melika with the teachings of Lal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the request includes information regarding a managed person that is a user of the terminal, and the terminal controls the active or inactive state of the profile in accordance with the instruction information indicating approval or disapproval from a manager associated with the information regarding the managed person; greater way standardized approach can be carried out to having more control on request based communication in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479