DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “a third sensor of said one or more sensors”. Claim 8 depends from claim 5 which recites “one or more sensors”. The scope of claim 8 is unclear because it is not clear if claim 8 requires at least 3 sensors, where the third sensor is a magnetic sensor, or if claim 8 requires one or more sensors, where one of the sensors is a magnetic sensor.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the computer processor” in line 3, and “the human or pet" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 12 calls for a needle-free injector as defined in claim 1, for use with the automatic needle-free injector container unit system of claim 1. The scope of this claim is unclear because claim 1 recites “an automatic needle-free injector container unit system” and therefore, it is not clear what portion of that comprises the recited “needle-free injector as defined in claim 1” and how any part of that would be an additional element for use with the automatic needle-free injector container unit system of claim 1 which presumably includes all of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancaster, Jr. et al (US 4,758,227) in view of Johnston, Jr. et al (US 7,850,665) in view of Azar et al (US 8,066,662).
Regarding claim 1, Lancaster discloses an automatic injector container unit system (fig. 1), comprising an injector 34 for injecting a medicament from a cartridge to a user (col. 2, lines 57-62; fig. 1), an injector movement mechanism 38/70 for automatically and reversibly positioning the injector to one or more of a home position where the injector is retracted and positioned away from contact with the user (as shown in fig. 1), and an injecting position where the injector is in proximity to the user for injection of the medication (abstract; col. 3, lines 27-56), and a container for housing the injector and the injector movement mechanism (as shown in fig. 5).
Claim 1 differs from Lancaster in calling for the injector to be a needle-free injector. Lancaster discloses needle injectors for injecting into a bird. Johnston teaches that injector such for birds can be needle injectors or needle-free injectors (col. 4, lines 61-65). Lancaster recognizes potential drawbacks of using needles for injections are accidentally injuring or killing the bird or injury to the user (col. 1, lines 12-16). Needle-free injections are also known to be less likely to spread infection between individuals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the injector of Lancaster to be a needle-free injector as taught by Johnston because Johnston teaches that needle-free injectors can be used in a system in place of a needle injector, and needle-free injectors avoid drawbacks of needle injectors such as injury to the bird or the user and spread of infection.
Claim 1 further calls for the needle-free injector to comprise a cartridge chamber for receiving the cartridge. As noted above, Johnston teaches the use of needle-free injectors in place of needle injectors, but fails to disclose the specific structure of a needle-free injector. Azar teaches a needle-free injector wherein the injector 200 comprises a cartridge chamber for receiving the cartridge 260 (fig. 2A; col. 5, lines 56-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-free injector of Lancaster in view of Johnston to include a cartridge chamber for receiving the cartridge as taught by Azar to provide an injector that can inject multiple doses to facilitate fast and reliable injection to multiple individuals.
Regarding claim 2, Azar further teaches that the system includes a computer processor (implied) in connection with a user interface 140 for controlling the injector system (col. 5, lines 11-15; fig. 1) allowing the user to input injection parameters such as volume and speed of injection to increase injection safety. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as discussed with regard to claim 1 above to include a computer processor in communication with a user interface to control the injection and injector movement as taught by Azar to allow the user to input injection parameters to increase the safety of the device and reduce user error.
Regarding claim 3, Azar teaches that the cartridge comprises the medicament for injection by the needle-free injector (fig. 2A). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-free injector of Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar discussed above to include medicament in the cartridge as taught by Azar to provide an injector that can inject multiple doses to facilitate fast and reliable injection to multiple individuals.
Regarding claim 4, Azar teaches that the medicament is a vaccine for providing doses to a large number of individuals (col. 6, lines 50-53). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as discussed above to include a vaccine in the medicament cartridge as taught by Azar so that the injector that can inject multiple doses to facilitate fast and reliable vaccination to multiple individuals.
Regarding claim 5, Azar further teaches that the system comprises one or more sensors to sense the temperature of the stored medicament to ensure that the medicament remains at a safe temperature (col. 5, lines 28-30). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-free injector of Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as discussed above with regard to claim 1 to include a sensor as taught by Azar to monitor the temperature of the stored medicament to ensure the medicament remains within a safe temperature.
Regarding claim 9, Lancaster discloses a horizontal arm 58 having the injector thereon for moving the injector from the first position to the second position (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Azar teaches that the container is temperature controlled to provide storage of the medicament at a safe temperature (col. 5, lines 25-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-free injector of Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as discussed above to a temperature controlled container as taught by Azar to ensure that all the medicament doses are given at a safe temperature. The term preferably in the claim is interpreted to mean that the element listed thereafter is optional.
Regarding claim 13, the system taught by Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as discussed above with regard to claim 1 is interpreted to be a portable kiosk.
Regarding claim 14, Azar teaches that the medicament is a vaccine for providing doses to a large number of individuals (col. 6, lines 50-53). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as discussed above to include a vaccine in the medicament cartridge as taught by Azar so that the injector that can inject multiple doses to facilitate fast and reliable vaccination to multiple individuals.
Regarding claim 15, Azar teaches that the container is refrigerated (col. 5, lines 28-30: cooled). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle-free injector of Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as discussed above to be a refrigerated container as taught by Azar to ensure that all the medicament doses are given at a safe temperature. The term preferably in the claim is interpreted to mean that the element listed thereafter is optional.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anquetil et al (US 2021/077728).
Claim 11 differs from the teachings above in calling for a user interface in communication with the computer processor for allowing a user to input information of the human or pet to be given the medicament. Anquetil teaches a system for giving needle-free injections to a human or pet wherein the system includes a user interface in communication with the computer to allow the user to input information regarding the human or pet to automatically update medical records for future reference (page 11, para. 0116). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lancaster in view of Johnston in view of Azar as discussed above to include a user interface in communication with a computer for allowing the user to input information on the human or pet receiving the injection as taught by Anquetil to allow the medical records to be updated automatically.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LAURA A. BOUCHELLE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783