DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 05/13/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1 and 13 were amended, claims 9-10 and 21-22 were canceled, and claims 2 and 14 were previously canceled. Claims 1, 3-8, 11-13, 15-20, and 23-24 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11-13, 15-20, and 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 11-13, 15-19, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhateeb et al. (US 2023/0123472 A1, hereinafter “Alkhateeb”) in view of Matsumara et al. (US 2022/0360307 A1, hereinafter “Matsumara”) and further in view of Marsan et al. (US 2022/0069939 A1, hereinafter “Marsan”).
As to Claim 1:
Alkhateeb describes a method to adapt beamforming based on visual data from a camera.
Specifically, Alkhateeb teaches:
A network node supporting communication at least with a wireless device (WD) and a sensor configured to provide visual information
Paragraph 0005 of Alkhateeb describes a base station that includes visual data sensors communicating with user equipment such as “5G phones, self-driving vehicles, and virtual/augmented reality headsets” which “also use cameras” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Obtaining the visual information from the sensor
Fig. 2 and the accompanying description in paragraph 0063 show a network with a “vision-aided network node 14” that “predict[s] the beam index” using visual data. Although this does not describe a user equipment using visual information, as claimed, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this practice to the user devices equipped with cameras in paragraph 0005.
Determining a beam index based in part on the visual information from the sensor
Fig. 2 and the accompanying description in paragraph 0063 show a network with a “vision-aided network node 14” that “predict[s] the beam index” using visual data.
Determining a beam forming based on the determined beam index
Alkhateeb states the “visual data sensors” are “leverage[d]” to “predict beamforming directions” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Determining a fallback format for transmission based at least in part on the obtained visual information
Alkhateeb describes “leverag[ing] visual data sensors ... to adapt communications” which is analogous to “determining a fallback format” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Transmitting a second signal to the WD using the fallback format, the second signal transmitted to the WD using the determined beam forming
Again, Alkhateeb teaches “leverage[ing] visual data sensors” to “adapt communications (e.g., predict beamforming directions)” with a downlink device (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting a first signal to the WD, the first signal including a request for the WD to transmit a report
Determining whether the network node has received the report from the WD within a predetermined period of time
If the network node has not received the report from the WD within the predetermined period of time, entering an alternate mode of communication with the WD
The alternate mode of communication including: ... transmitting a second signal to the WD using the fallback format
However, Matsumara does describe a method for retransmitting segments of a CSI report that were not originally sent successfully.
Specifically, Matsumara teaches:
Transmitting a first signal to the WD, the first signal including a request for the WD to transmit a report
Paragraph 0057 of Matsumara describes the process for a network device to request a CSI report from a UE.
Determining whether the network node has received the report from the WD within a predetermined period of time
Paragraph 0341 of Matsumara describes a base station identifying which UCIs it has not received from a UE and instructing the UE to transmit them.
If the network node has not received the report from the WD within the predetermined period of time, entering an alternate mode of communication with the WD
Matsumara describes a base station identifying which UCIs it has not received (Matsumara, 0341) and switching DCI formats when one fails (Matsumara, 0343).
The alternate mode of communication including: ... transmitting a second signal to the WD using the fallback format
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes using an alternate DCI format to resend a UCI when its initial transmission fails.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
The combination of Alkhateeb and Matsumara does not explicitly disclose:
Using a conservative modulation coding scheme (MCS) for link adaptation (LA) to conserve resources, the LA being one of an uplink (UL) LA and a downlink (DL) LA; and
Changing a current mode of LA outer loop adjustment to a conservative LA outer loop adjustment mode
However, Marsan does describe modifications to a link adaptation scheme to choose more conservative MCS to save resources and lower the average error rate.
Specifically, Marsan teaches:
Using a conservative modulation coding scheme (MCS) for link adaptation (LA) to conserve resources, the LA being one of an uplink (UL) LA and a downlink (DL) LA; and
Marsan describes “MCS reduction technology” that “may be used to maximize the utility of UL resource” by “select[ing] [the] most robust MCS, with which the transfer block can still accommodate the data of the terminal device to be transmitted ... which results in a lower BLER level” (Marsan, 0033). Later, Marsan describes integrating this “reduced-MCS-oriented” MCS selection scheme into “OLLA [outer loop link adjustment]” (Marsan, 0037).
Here, “select[ing] [the] most robust MCS” maps to “using a conservative modulation scheme (MCS)”,
“OLLA” maps to “for link adaptation (LA) resources”, and
applying the reduced MCS to a “UL resource” maps to “the LA being ... uplink (UL) LA” from the list of “the LA being one of an uplink (UL) LA and a downlink (DL) LA”.
Changing a current mode of LA outer loop adjustment to a conservative LA outer loop adjustment mode
Marsan describes “MCS reduction technology” that “may be used to maximize the utility of UL resource” by “select[ing] [the] most robust MCS, with which the transfer block can still accommodate the data of the terminal device to be transmitted ... which results in a lower BLER level” (Marsan, 0033). Later, Marsan describes integrating this “reduced-MCS-oriented” MCS selection scheme into “OLLA [outer loop link adjustment]” (Marsan, 0037).
Here, using the “reduced-MCS-oriented” MCS selection scheme for “OLLA” maps to “changing a current mode of LA outer loop adjustment to a conservative LA outer loop adjustment mode”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Marsan’s method of selecting the most possible MCS that can complete transmission into Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual data. As Marsan explains, this provides the benefit of incorporating more conservative modulation schemes into outer loop adjustment which maximizes efficient resource utilization (Marsan, 0033-0037).
As to Claim 3 and 15:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The transmitted first signal includes a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message
The request is a Channel State Information (CSI) report request
The report is a CSI report
However, Matsumara does teach:
The transmitted first signal includes a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message
Matsumara describes requesting a CSI report using “radio resource control (RRC) information” (Matsumara, 0057).
The request is a Channel State Information (CSI) report request
Matsumara describes requesting a CSI report using “radio resource control (RRC) information” (Matsumara, 0057).
The report is a CSI report
Matsumara describes requesting a CSI report using “radio resource control (RRC) information” (Matsumara, 0057).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 15 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 3 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 4 and 16:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The alternate mode includes a User Plane Control (UPC) alternate mode
However, Matsumara does teach:
The alternate mode includes a User Plane Control (UPC) alternate mode
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes using an alternate DCI format upon failing to send a UCI with a first format, and paragraph 0432 of Matsumara clarifies the device “may ... acquire or transmit user data (user plane data)” (Matsumara, 0343, 0432).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 16 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 4 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 5 and 17:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The first signal to the WD is transmitted further using a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format, the DCI format being a DCI 0_1 format
However, Matsumara does teach:
The first signal to the WD is transmitted further using a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format, the DCI format being a DCI 0_1 format
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes switching from DCI 0_1 format to DCI 0_0 format, or vice versa, after a failed transmission.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 17 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 5 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 6 and 18:
Alkhateeb teaches:
The obtained visual information
Alkhateeb describes “leverag[ing] visual data sensors ... to adapt communications” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The determined fallback format is a format that omits at least one communication feature in order for the network node to be able to maintain communication with the WD after entering the alternate mode
The fallback format being determinable based at least in part on ... information
However, Matsumara does teach:
The determined fallback format is a format that omits at least one communication feature in order for the network node to be able to maintain communication with the WD after entering the alternate mode
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes switching from DCI 0_1 format to DCI 0_0 format, or vice versa, after a failed transmission. DCI 0_0 format omits the SP-CSI-RNTI identifier from DCI format 0_1.
The fallback format being determinable based at least in part on ... information
Matsumara states that “[i]n the DL UCI (for example, DCI format 0_1 or 0_0), a field indicating the ID of the UCI that has failed to be detected may be defined” (Matsumara, 0343).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 18 covers substantially the same information as Claim 6 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 7 and 19:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The determined fallback format includes at least one of a DCI 0_0 format for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduling and a DCI 1_0 for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduling
However, from the list of:
The determined fallback format includes at least one of a DCI 0_0 format for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduling and a DCI 1_0 for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduling
Matsumara at least teaches:
The determined fallback format includes ... a DCI 0_0 format for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduling
Matsumara describes switching DCI formats after a failed transmission to “retransmit the indicated UCI on the PUSCH scheduled by the UL DCI” (Matsumara, 0343-0344).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 19 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 7 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 11 and 23:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
Freezing current UL and DL filters after entering the alternate mode of communication
However, Matsumara does teach:
Freezing current UL and DL filters after entering the alternate mode of communication
Paragraph 0353 of Matsumara describes “retransmitt[ing]” using “frequency resources of the allocated PUSCH”, which is analogous to “freezing current UL and DL filters”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 23 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 11 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 12 and 24:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a success indicator signal from the WD
However, Matsumara does teach:
Receiving a success indicator signal from the WD
Paragraph 0344 of Matsumara describes retransmitting a UCI, and this retransmission can be considered analogous to a “success indicator signal”.
Exiting the alternate mode of communication between the network node and the WD after receiving the success indicator signal from the WD
Fig. 35 in Matsumara shows an example of a base station prompting a UE to retransmit UCI. This shows “the UE’s shift from retransmitting UCI #2 (“UCI #2 (RETRANSMIT)) to sending a new transmission, UCI #4, which is analogous to “exiting the alternate mode of communication between the network node and the WD after receiving the success indicator signal from the WD”.
Claim 24 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 12 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 13:
Alkhateeb teaches:
A network node supporting communication at least with a wireless device (WD) and a sensor configured to provide visual information
(Paragraph 0005 of Alkhateeb describes a base station that includes visual data sensors communicating with user equipment such as “5G phones, self-driving vehicles, and virtual/augmented reality headsets” which “also use cameras” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
The network node comprising processing circuit configured
Fig. 6 and the accompanying description in paragraph 0089 describe a “processing system” the network uses for “analyzing image data” (Alkhateeb, 0089, Fig. 6).
Obtaining the visual information from the sensor
Fig. 2 and the accompanying description in paragraph 0063 show a network with a “vision-aided network node 14” that “predict[s] the beam index” using visual data. Although this does not describe a user equipment using visual information, as claimed, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this practice to the user devices equipped with cameras in paragraph 0005.
Determining a beam index based in part on the visual information from the sensor
Fig. 2 and the accompanying description in paragraph 0063 show a network with a “vision-aided network node 14” that “predict[s] the beam index” using visual data.
Determining a beam forming based on the determined beam index
Alkhateeb states the “visual data sensors” are “leverage[d]” to “predict beamforming directions” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Determining a fallback format for transmission based at least in part on the obtained visual information
Alkhateeb describes “leverag[ing] visual data sensors ... to adapt communications” which is analogous to “determining a fallback format” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Causing a transmission of a second signal to the WD using the fallback format, the second signal transmitted to the WD using the determined beam forming
Again, Alkhateeb teaches “leverage[ing] visual data sensors” to “adapt communications (e.g., predict beamforming directions)” with a downlink device (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
Cause transmission of a first signal to the WD, the first signal including a request for the WD to transmit a report
Determine whether the network node has received the report from the WD within a predetermined period of time
If the network node has not received the report from the WD within the predetermined period of time, enter an alternate mode of communication with the WD
The alternate mode of communication including: ... causing a transmission of a second signal to the WD using the fallback format
However, Matsumara does describe a method for retransmitting segments of a CSI report that were not originally sent successfully.
Specifically, Matsumara teaches:
Cause transmission of a first signal to the WD, the first signal including a request for the WD to transmit a report
Paragraph 0057 of Matsumara describes the process for a network device to request a CSI report from a UE.
Determine whether the network node has received the report from the WD within a predetermined period of time
Paragraph 0341 of Matsumara describes a base station identifying which UCIs it has not received from a UE and instructing the UE to transmit them.
If the network node has not received the report from the WD within the predetermined period of time, enter an alternate mode of communication with the WD
Matsumara describes a base station identifying which UCIs it has not received (Matsumara, 0341) and switching DCI formats when one fails (Matsumara, 0343).
The alternate mode of communication including: ... causing a transmission of a second signal to the WD using the fallback format
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes using an alternate DCI format to resend a UCI when its initial transmission fails.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
The combination of Alkhateeb and Matsumara does not explicitly disclose:
Using a conservative modulation coding scheme (MCS) for link adaptation (LA) to conserve resources, the LA being one of an uplink (UL) LA and a downlink (DL) LA; and
Changing a current mode of LA outer loop adjustment to a conservative LA outer loop adjustment mode
However, Marsan does describe modifications to a link adaptation scheme to choose more conservative MCS to save resources and lower the average error rate.
Specifically, Marsan teaches:
Using a conservative modulation coding scheme (MCS) for link adaptation (LA) to conserve resources, the LA being one of an uplink (UL) LA and a downlink (DL) LA; and
Marsan describes “MCS reduction technology” that “may be used to maximize the utility of UL resource” by “select[ing] [the] most robust MCS, with which the transfer block can still accommodate the data of the terminal device to be transmitted ... which results in a lower BLER level” (Marsan, 0033). Later, Marsan describes integrating this “reduced-MCS-oriented” MCS selection scheme into “OLLA [outer loop link adjustment]” (Marsan, 0037).
Here, “select[ing] [the] most robust MCS” maps to “using a conservative modulation scheme (MCS)”,
“OLLA” maps to “for link adaptation (LA) resources”, and
applying the reduced MCS to a “UL resource” maps to “the LA being ... uplink (UL) LA” from the list of “the LA being one of an uplink (UL) LA and a downlink (DL) LA”.
Changing a current mode of LA outer loop adjustment to a conservative LA outer loop adjustment mode
Marsan describes “MCS reduction technology” that “may be used to maximize the utility of UL resource” by “select[ing] [the] most robust MCS, with which the transfer block can still accommodate the data of the terminal device to be transmitted ... which results in a lower BLER level” (Marsan, 0033). Later, Marsan describes integrating this “reduced-MCS-oriented” MCS selection scheme into “OLLA [outer loop link adjustment]” (Marsan, 0037).
Here, using the “reduced-MCS-oriented” MCS selection scheme for “OLLA” maps to “changing a current mode of LA outer loop adjustment to a conservative LA outer loop adjustment mode”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Marsan’s method of selecting the most possible MCS that can complete transmission into Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual data. As Marsan explains, this provides the benefit of incorporating more conservative modulation schemes into outer loop adjustment which maximizes efficient resource utilization (Marsan, 0033-0037).
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhateeb (US 2023/0123472 A1) in view of Matsumara (US 2022/0360307 A1) and Marsan (US 2022/0069939 A1) and further in view of Laghate et al. (US 2022/0286882 A1, hereinafter “Laghate”).
As to Claim 8 and 20:
The combination of Alkhateeb, Matsumara, and Marasn does not explicitly disclose:
The report is a P2 report, the P2 report being requested for network node beam refinement and tracking
However, Laghate does describe methods for beam selection using CSI reports.
Specifically, Laghate teaches:
The report is a P2 report, the P2 report being requested for network node beam refinement and tracking
Paragraph 0091 of Laghate describes a “CSI-RS P2 and a report”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adapting beamforming based on an image to resend the P2 reports described in Laghate. The P2 reports can also benefit from improved beamforming if they fail to send.
Claim 20 introduces the same new subject matter as Claim 8 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477