DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 01/20/2026 has been received and considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 6, and 13 were amended, Claims 2 and 14 were cancelled, and all uncancelled claims remain pending.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-13, and 15-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 11-13, 15-19, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhateeb et al. (US 2023/0123472 A1, hereinafter “Alkhateeb”) in view of Matsumara et al. (US 2022/0360307 A1, hereinafter “Matsumara”).
As to Claim 1 and 13:
Alkhateeb describes a method to adapt beamforming based on visual data from a camera.
Specifically, Alkhateeb teaches:
A network node supporting communication at least with a wireless device (WD) and a sensor configured to provide visual information
(Paragraph 0005 of Alkhateeb describes a base station that includes visual data sensors communicating with user equipment such as “5G phones, self-driving vehicles, and virtual/augmented reality headsets” which “also use cameras” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Obtaining the visual information from the sensor
Fig. 2 and the accompanying description in paragraph 0063 show a network with a “vision-aided network node 14” that “predict[s] the beam index” using visual data. Although this does not describe a user equipment using visual information, as claimed, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this practice to the user devices equipped with cameras in paragraph 0005.
Determining a beam index based in part on the visual information from the sensor
Fig. 2 and the accompanying description in paragraph 0063 show a network with a “vision-aided network node 14” that “predict[s] the beam index” using visual data.
Determining a beam forming based on the determined beam index
Alkhateeb states the “visual data sensors” are “leverage[d]” to “predict beamforming directions” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Determining a fallback format for transmission based at least in part on the obtained visual information
Alkhateeb describes “leverag[ing] visual data sensors ... to adapt communications” which is analogous to “determining a fallback format” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Transmitting a second signal to the WD using the fallback format, the second signal transmitted to the WD using the determined beam forming
Again, Alkhateeb teaches “leverage[ing] visual data sensors” to “adapt communications (e.g., predict beamforming directions)” with a downlink device (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting a first signal to the WD, the first signal including a request for the WD to transmit a report
Determining whether the network node has received the report from the WD within a predetermined period of time
If the network node has not received the report from the WD within the predetermined period of time, entering an alternate mode of communication with the WD
The alternate mode of communication including: ... transmitting a second signal to the WD using the fallback format
However, Matsumara does describe a method for retransmitting segments of a CSI report that were not originally sent successfully.
Specifically, Matsumara teaches:
Transmitting a first signal to the WD, the first signal including a request for the WD to transmit a report
Paragraph 0057 of Matsumara describes the process for a network device to request a CSI report from a UE.
Determining whether the network node has received the report from the WD within a predetermined period of time
Paragraph 0341 of Matsumara describes a base station identifying which UCIs it has not received from a UE and instructing the UE to transmit them.
If the network node has not received the report from the WD within the predetermined period of time, entering an alternate mode of communication with the WD
Matsumara describes a base station identifying which UCIs it has not received (Matsumara, 0341) and switching DCI formats when one fails (Matsumara, 0343).
The alternate mode of communication including: ... transmitting a second signal to the WD using the fallback format
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes using an alternate DCI format to resend a UCI when its initial transmission fails.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 13 encompasses substantially the same substance as Claim 1 in the form of an apparatus claim with an additional limitation requiring:
The network node comprising processing circuit configured
Fig. 6 and the accompanying description in paragraph 0089 describe a “processing system” the network uses for “analyzing image data” (Alkhateeb, 0089, Fig. 6).
As to Claim 3 and 15:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The transmitted first signal includes a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message
The request is a Channel State Information (CSI) report request
The report is a CSI report
However, Matsumara does teach:
The transmitted first signal includes a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message
Matsumara describes requesting a CSI report using “radio resource control (RRC) information” (Matsumara, 0057).
The request is a Channel State Information (CSI) report request
Matsumara describes requesting a CSI report using “radio resource control (RRC) information” (Matsumara, 0057).
The report is a CSI report
Matsumara describes requesting a CSI report using “radio resource control (RRC) information” (Matsumara, 0057).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 15 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 3 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 4 and 16:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The alternate mode includes a User Plane Control (UPC) alternate mode
However, Matsumara does teach:
The alternate mode includes a User Plane Control (UPC) alternate mode
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes using an alternate DCI format upon failing to send a UCI with a first format, and paragraph 0432 of Matsumara clarifies the device “may ... acquire or transmit user data (user plane data)” (Matsumara, 0343, 0432).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 16 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 4 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 5 and 17:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The first signal to the WD is transmitted further using a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format, the DCI format being a DCI 0_1 format
Matsumara teaches:
The first signal to the WD is transmitted further using a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format, the DCI format being a DCI 0_1 format
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes switching from DCI 0_1 format to DCI 0_0 format, or vice versa, after a failed transmission.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 17 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 5 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 6 and 18:
Alkhateeb teaches:
The obtained visual information
Alkhateeb describes “leverag[ing] visual data sensors ... to adapt communications” (Alkhateeb, 0005).
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The determined fallback format is a format that omits at least one communication feature in order for the network node to be able to maintain communication with the WD after entering the alternate mode
The fallback format being determinable based at least in part on ... information
However, Matsumara does teach:
The determined fallback format is a format that omits at least one communication feature in order for the network node to be able to maintain communication with the WD after entering the alternate mode
Paragraph 0343 of Matsumara describes switching from DCI 0_1 format to DCI 0_0 format, or vice versa, after a failed transmission. DCI 0_0 format omits the SP-CSI-RNTI identifier from DCI format 0_1.
The fallback format being determinable based at least in part on ... information
Matsumara states that “[i]n the DL UCI (for example, DCI format 0_1 or 0_0), a field indicating the ID of the UCI that has failed to be detected may be defined” (Matsumara, 0343).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 18 covers substantially the same information as Claim 6 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 7 and 19:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
The determined fallback format includes at least one of a DCI 0_0 format for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduling and a DCI 1_0 for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduling
However, from the list of:
The determined fallback format includes at least one of a DCI 0_0 format for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduling and a DCI 1_0 for Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduling
Matsumara at least teaches:
The determined fallback format includes ... a DCI 0_0 format for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduling
Matsumara describes switching DCI formats after a failed transmission to “retransmit the indicated UCI on the PUSCH scheduled by the UL DCI” (Matsumara, 0343-0344).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
As to Claim 11 and 23:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
Freezing current UL and DL filters after entering the alternate mode of communication
However, Matsumara does teach:
Freezing current UL and DL filters after entering the alternate mode of communication
Paragraph 0353 of Matsumara describes “retransmitt[ing]” using “frequency resources of the allocated PUSCH”, which is analogous to “freezing current UL and DL filters”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adaptive beamforming based on visual sensing data to the scenario described in Matsumara where a requested report has not been received. The visual sensing data can help optimize transmission parameters to enable successful transmission of the report.
Claim 23 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 11 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 12 and 24:
Alkhateeb does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a success indicator signal from the WD
However, Matsumara does teach:
Receiving a success indicator signal from the WD
Paragraph 0344 of Matsumara describes retransmitting a UCI, and this retransmission can be considered analogous to a “success indicator signal”.
Exiting the alternate mode of communication between the network node and the WD after receiving the success indicator signal from the WD
Fig. 35 in Matsumara shows an example of a base station prompting a UE to retransmit UCI. This shows “the UE’s shift from retransmitting UCI #2 (“UCI #2 (RETRANSMIT)) to sending a new transmission, UCI #4, which is analogous to “exiting the alternate mode of communication between the network node and the WD after receiving the success indicator signal from the WD”.
Claim 23 encompasses substantially the same subject matter as Claim 11 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhateeb (US 2023/0123472 A1) in view of Matsumara (US 2022/0360307 A1) and further in view of Laghate (US 2022/0286882 A1, hereinafter “Laghate”).
As to Claim 8 and 20:
The combination of Alkhateeb and Matsumara does not explicitly disclose:
The report is a P2 report, the P2 report being requested for network node beam refinement and tracking
However, Laghate does describe methods for beam selection using CSI reports.
Specifically, Laghate teaches:
The report is a P2 report, the P2 report being requested for network node beam refinement and tracking
Paragraph 0091 of Laghate describes a “CSI-RS P2 and a report”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Alkhateeb’s method for adapting beamforming based on an image to resend the P2 reports described in Laghate. The P2 reports can also benefit from improved beamforming if they fail to send.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhateeb (US 2023/0123472 A1) in view of Matsumara (US 2022/0360307 A1) and further in view of Berliner et al. (US 2021/0036800 A1, hereinafter “Berliner”).
As to Claim 9 and 21:
The combination of Alkhateeb and Matsumara does not explicitly disclose:
Adjusting at least a modulation coding scheme (MCS) for link adaptation (LA) after entering the alternate mode of communication, the LA being one of an uplink (UL) LA and a downlink (DL) LA
However, Berliner does describe a scheme to minimize error during a downlink beam switch.
Specifically, Berliner teaches:
Adjusting at least a modulation coding scheme (MCS) for link adaptation (LA) after entering the alternate mode of communication, the LA being one of an uplink (UL) LA and a downlink (DL) LA
Berliner states that “the base station may further adjust the MCS utilizing an outer-loop link adaptation process or channel state feedback (CSF) provided by the UE after the beam switch” (Berliner, 0006).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Berliner’s method for adjusting a modulation and coding scheme with Alkhateeb’s practice of adapting beamforming based on an image. If communication is altered, the modulation and coding scheme will likely need to change accordingly.
Claim 21 encompasses substantially the same limitations as Claim 9 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 10 and 22:
The combination of Alkhateeb and Matsumara does not explicitly disclose:
After entering the alternate mode of communication: determining a current mode of link adaptation (LA) outer loop adjustment; and selecting a mode of LA outer loop adjustment different from the current mode of LA outer loop adjustment
However, Berliner does teach:
After entering the alternate mode of communication: determining a current mode of link adaptation (LA) outer loop adjustment; and selecting a mode of LA outer loop adjustment different from the current mode of LA outer loop adjustment
Berliner states that “the base station may further adjust the MCS utilizing an outer-loop link adaptation process or channel state feedback (CSF) provided by the UE after the beam switch” (Berliner, 0006).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Berliner’s method for adjusting a modulation and coding scheme with Alkhateeb’s practice of adapting beamforming based on an image. If communication is altered, the modulation and coding scheme will likely need to change accordingly.
Claim 22 encompasses substantially the same limitations as Claim 10 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Han et al. (US 2019/0037530 A1) describes selecting a beam index for beamforming based on non-visual sensor data.
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477