Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because amendments broaden the interpretation of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lv et al.(US 20230375668 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lv teaches
A measurement device comprising: (The detection apparatus in embodiments of the present disclosure can be applied to various fields such as intelligent transportation, autonomous driving, atmospheric environment monitoring, geographic mapping, and uncrewed aerial vehicle, and can complete one or more functions of target detection, distance measurement, speed measurement, target tracking, imaging recognition, and the like. (paragraph 0139))
a memory storing a program, (The memory 2303 is configured to provide storage space, and the storage space may store data such as an operating system and a computer program. (paragraph 0306))
and at least one processor configured to execute the program to perform operations comprising: (The processor 2301 in the control apparatus 230 is configured to read the computer program stored in the memory (paragraph 0307))
receiving reflected light of laser light reflected by a target object; (The second beam optical splitter 1042 may split an optical signal from the detection area into a first signal and a second signal, provide the first signal for the first beam optical splitter 1041, and provide the second signal for the image detector 103. (paragraph 0191))
and polarization-separating the received reflected light into first polarized light and second polarized light; (The first beam optical splitter is a polarization beam splitter. The polarization beam splitter can split polarized incident light into two beams of polarized light for transmission. FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of possible beam splitting of a PBS. (paragraph 0216 and fig. 11))
performing object recognition on the target object on a basis of the first polarized light and the second polarized light. (a distance of an object in the detection area may be determined, and object recognition, analysis, and the like may be performed by using a high-resolution pixel. (paragraph 0054))
Regarding claim 8, Lv teaches
The measurement device according to claim 1, further comprising: an image sensor that outputs a captured image on a basis of reception light, (the laser detector may respond to the infrared light, and the image detector is an image sensor for imaging with visible light. (paragraph 0028))
wherein the operations further comprise performing the object recognition on the target object on a basis of the first polarized light, the second polarized light, and the captured image. (Optionally, the detection result of the detection area may be a high-resolution fused image of the detection area, or a 3D image of the detection area. Based on the detection result, a distance of an object in the detection area may be determined, and object recognition, analysis, and the like may be performed by using a high-resolution pixel. (paragraph 0054))
Regarding claim 9, Lv teaches
The measurement device according to claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: performing the object recognition on the target object on a basis of recognition information based on three- dimensional information in which the target object is recognized on a basis of the first polarized light and the second polarized light and recognition information based on two-dimensional information in which the target object is recognized on a basis of the captured image. (Optionally, the detection result of the detection area may be a high-resolution fused image of the detection area, or a 3D image of the detection area. Based on the detection result, a distance of an object in the detection area may be determined, and object recognition, analysis, and the like may be performed by using a high-resolution pixel. (paragraph 0054))
Regarding claim 10, Lv teaches
The measurement device according to claim 1, wherein one of the first polarized light and the second polarized light is polarized light by a transverse electric (TE) wave, and the other is polarized light by a transverse magnetic (TM) wave. (As show in figure 11 the transverse magnetic and transverse electric waves are shown labeled as S-polarized and P-polarized light.)
Regarding claim 13, Lv teaches
A measurement method, comprising: (The detection apparatus in embodiments of the present disclosure can be applied to various fields such as intelligent transportation, autonomous driving, atmospheric environment monitoring, geographic mapping, and uncrewed aerial vehicle, and can complete one or more functions of target detection, distance measurement, speed measurement, target tracking, imaging recognition, and the like. (paragraph 0139))
receiving reflected light of laser light reflected by a target object; (The second beam optical splitter 1042 may split an optical signal from the detection area into a first signal and a second signal, provide the first signal for the first beam optical splitter 1041, and provide the second signal for the image detector 103. (paragraph 0191))
polarizations-separating the received reflected light into first polarized light and second polarized light; (The first beam optical splitter is a polarization beam splitter. The polarization beam splitter can split polarized incident light into two beams of polarized light for transmission. FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of possible beam splitting of a PBS. (paragraph 0216 and fig. 11))
and performing object recognition on the target object on a basis of first polarized light and second polarized light. (a distance of an object in the detection area may be determined, and object recognition, analysis, and the like may be performed by using a high-resolution pixel. (paragraph 0054))
Regarding claim 18, Lv teaches
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program, the program being executable by a processor to perform operations comprising: (an embodiment of the present disclosure discloses a computer-readable storage medium. The computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program. When the computer program is run on one or more processors (paragraph 0100))
receiving reflected light of laser light reflected by a target object; (The second beam optical splitter 1042 may split an optical signal from the detection area into a first signal and a second signal, provide the first signal for the first beam optical splitter 1041, and provide the second signal for the image detector 103. (paragraph 0191))
polarization-separating the received reflected light into first polarized light and second polarized light; (The first beam optical splitter is a polarization beam splitter. The polarization beam splitter can split polarized incident light into two beams of polarized light for transmission. FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of possible beam splitting of a PBS. (paragraph 0216 and fig. 11))
and performing object recognition on the target object on a basis of first polarized light and second polarized light. (a distance of an object in the detection area may be determined, and object recognition, analysis, and the like may be performed by using a high-resolution pixel. (paragraph 0054))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7, 11-12, 15-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv et al.(US 20230375668 A1) in view of Hinderling et al.(US 20180156895 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: determining a reception timing of the reflected light on a basis of the first polarized light and the second polarized light; but Lv does teach and performing the object recognition according to the reception timing. (a distance of an object in the detection area may be determined, and object recognition, analysis, and the like may be performed by using a high-resolution pixel. (paragraph 0054))
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining a reception timing of the reflected light on a basis of the first polarized light and the second polarized light; (As is schematically explained in FIG. 1b, the distance is ascertained from the runtime T.sub.f as the time difference between the starting time of the emission of a light pulse 4 and the receiving time of the backscattered light pulse 4′. (paragraph 0102 and fig. 1b))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 3, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach performing determination on a basis of a comparison result of intensity of the first polarized light and intensity of the second polarized light.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches performing determination on a basis of a comparison result of intensity of the first polarized light and intensity of the second polarized light. (a first intensity of a part of the first received partial signal is measured, a second intensity of a part of the second received partial signal is measured, based on the first intensity and the second intensity, a first comparison value is derived (paragraph 0067))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 4, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach performing identification of whether or not the target object is a highly reflective object on a basis of the comparison result, and performing the determination depending on a result of the identification.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches performing identification of whether or not the target object is a highly reflective object on a basis of the comparison result, and performing the determination depending on a result of the identification. (The knowledge about a polarization identifier can be utilized here, since, for example, in the case of metallic surfaces or surfaces having strong gloss such as pipes, at which the laser beam reflects away and is incident on a white wall, the degree of polarization DOP is very high (>65%). The reflective surface may thus be identified. (paragraph 0063))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 5 Lv further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: performing identification of whether the target object is a highly reflective object or a high transmittance object, or neither the highly reflective object nor the high transmittance object on a basis of the comparison result, and performing the determination depending on a result of the identification. (The point cloud information may be used to obtain information such as a distance, a speed, a reflectivity, and reflection intensity of the detection area. (paragraph 0049) obtaining the reflectivity and the reflection intensity is tantamount to determining if an object is highly reflective, transmittance or neither.)
Regarding claim 7, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: determining, in a case where the target object is identified as neither the highly reflective object nor the high transmittance object, that a reception time of reflected light having a highest signal level out of the reflected light is the reception timing.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining, in a case where the target object is identified as neither the highly reflective object nor the high transmittance object, that a reception time of reflected light having a highest signal level out of the reflected light is the reception timing. (The ascertainment of the receiving time is performed in this case by the analysis of a feature of the signal pulse s(t), for example, by way of exceeding a signal threshold or by way of sampling of the signal pulse, wherein after identification of the coding of the associated transmitted signal of a received signal from a defined curve point of the sampled and digitized signal, for example, the inflection points, the curve maxima (paragraph 0102))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 11, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving reflected light of the laser light reflected by the target object, the laser light being modulated by pulse modulation.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving reflected light of the laser light reflected by the target object, the laser light being modulated by pulse modulation. (In a first step, the signal, often modulated as a pulse (paragraph 0009))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success for easier signal interpretation.
Regarding claim 12, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving reflected light of the laser light reflected by the target object, the laser light being modulated by a frequency continuously-modulated wave.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving reflected light of the laser light reflected by the target object, the laser light being modulated by a frequency continuously-modulated wave. (Instead of the light pulses, a continuously modulated transmitted signal is often also used. (paragraph 0101))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 15, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 13 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach determining a reception timing of the reflected light on a basis of the first polarized light and the second polarized light; but Lv does teach and performing the object recognition according to the reception timing. (a distance of an object in the detection area may be determined, and object recognition, analysis, and the like may be performed by using a high-resolution pixel. (paragraph 0054))
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches determining a reception timing of the reflected light on a basis of the first polarized light and the second polarized light; (As is schematically explained in FIG. 1b, the distance is ascertained from the runtime T.sub.f as the time difference between the starting time of the emission of a light pulse 4 and the receiving time of the backscattered light pulse 4′. (paragraph 0102 and fig. 1b))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 16, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 13 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach further comprising: performing determination on a basis of a comparison result of intensity of the first polarized light and intensity of the second polarized light.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches further comprising: performing determination on a basis of a comparison result of intensity of the first polarized light and intensity of the second polarized light. (a first intensity of a part of the first received partial signal is measured, a second intensity of a part of the second received partial signal is measured, based on the first intensity and the second intensity, a first comparison value is derived (paragraph 0067))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 17, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 13 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach further comprising: performing identification of whether the target object is a highly reflective object or a high transmittance object, or neither the highly reflective object nor the high transmittance object on a basis of the comparison result, and performing the determination depending on a result of the identification.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches further comprising: performing identification of whether the target object is a highly reflective object or a high transmittance object, or neither the highly reflective object nor the high transmittance object on a basis of the comparison result, and performing the determination depending on a result of the identification. (The knowledge about a polarization identifier can be utilized here, since, for example, in the case of metallic surfaces or surfaces having strong gloss such as pipes, at which the laser beam reflects away and is incident on a white wall, the degree of polarization DOP is very high (>65%). The reflective surface may thus be identified. (paragraph 0063))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 19, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 18 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: determining a reception timing of the reflected light on a basis of the first polarized light and the second polarized light; but Lv does teach and performing the object recognition according to the reception timing. (a distance of an object in the detection area may be determined, and object recognition, analysis, and the like may be performed by using a high-resolution pixel. (paragraph 0054))
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining a reception timing of the reflected light on a basis of the first polarized light and the second polarized light; (As is schematically explained in FIG. 1b, the distance is ascertained from the runtime T.sub.f as the time difference between the starting time of the emission of a light pulse 4 and the receiving time of the backscattered light pulse 4′. (paragraph 0102 and fig. 1b))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 20, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 18 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: performing determination on a basis of a comparison result of intensity of the first polarized light and intensity of the second polarized light.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches wherein the operations further comprise: performing determination on a basis of a comparison result of intensity of the first polarized light and intensity of the second polarized light. (a first intensity of a part of the first received partial signal is measured, a second intensity of a part of the second received partial signal is measured, based on the first intensity and the second intensity, a first comparison value is derived (paragraph 0067))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Regarding claim 21, Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 18 as previously stated, however Lv fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: performing identification of whether the target object is a highly reflective object or a high transmittance object, or neither the highly reflective object nor the high transmittance object on a basis of the comparison result, and performing the determination depending on a result of the identification.
In the same field of endeavor, Hinderling teaches wherein the operations further comprise: performing identification of whether the target object is a highly reflective object or a high transmittance object, or neither the highly reflective object nor the high transmittance object on a basis of the comparison result, and performing the determination depending on a result of the identification. (The knowledge about a polarization identifier can be utilized here, since, for example, in the case of metallic surfaces or surfaces having strong gloss such as pipes, at which the laser beam reflects away and is incident on a white wall, the degree of polarization DOP is very high (>65%). The reflective surface may thus be identified. (paragraph 0063))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Hinderling into the invention of Lv. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of Lv and Hinderling would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv et al.(US 20230375668 A1) in view of Hinderling et al.(US 20180156895 A1) in further view of Okuni et al.(US 20200300975 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lv teaches all of the elements of claim 5 as previously stated, however modified Lv fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: selecting, in a case where the target object is identified as the high transmittance object, the reception timing depending on mode setting from a first time of a temporally earliest peak among peaks corresponding to the high transmittance object and a second time of a peak after the first time.
In the same field of endeavor, Okuni teaches wherein the operations further comprise: selecting, in a case where the target object is identified as the high transmittance object, the reception timing depending on mode setting from a first time of a temporally earliest peak among peaks corresponding to the high transmittance object and a second time of a peak after the first time. (the selection unit 114 determines, as ToF, an average value of the first light receiving time t.sub.R4 and the last light receiving time (paragraph 0084))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Okuni into the invention of Hinderling. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose distance measuring methods. The combination of modified Lv and Okuni would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to improve object recognition accuracy.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648